You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2017 01 11Article 500040

Mahama rejected rent allowance and begged for house - Majority Leader

Read Comments Comments (81)

• Nana Kofi 7 years ago

That Mahama must go to Hell. I don't want to hear his name.

• Socrates 7 years ago

Nothing else can we accept the promised was to reduced.

• Ben 7 years ago

Can Nana fulfill all his promises at once? You sound like one of the stupid NDC people

• JUSTICE NSIAH 7 years ago

Mr. Kyei Mensah Bonsu, please whether you were in the minority or not is not the issue. Parliament approved for the former President John Mahama to be housed instead of the rent subsidy.Parliament's work and decisions are bas ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

There are folks who have made it their sworn mandate to disgrace Mahama any which way they could, protocol or no protocol. So, we on the contrary have collectively asked Mahama to let it go since we can afford him another ab ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

recycled material

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

SO GREEDY MAHAMA ENJOYED 2 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTIES BELONGING TO REPUBLIC OF GHANA WHEN PRESIDENT, THAT IS THE FLAGTSTAFF HOUSE & VICE PRESIDENT RESIDENT! EEEEI ASEM KESIYE. I SUSPECT FLAGSTAFF RESIDENCE WAS WHERE HE ENTERTAINE ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

MAHAMA'S ACT OF CHANGING THE RECOMMENDATIONS MADE BY THE CONSTITUTIONAL & LEGAL POWERED ADHOC COMMITEE CONSTITUTES 1ST DEGREE FELONY OF INTENT TO COMMIT FRAUD & THEFT & HIS AFTERMATH ACTIONS OF SEEKING TO TAKE THE HOUSE CONST ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

EX PRES MAHAMA WAS SO CONFIDENT OF A SECOND TERM HE CONNIVED WITH THE COMITEE ON EX GRATIA TO GIVE HIM 40% OF HIS SALARY AS EX GRATIA HOUSING ALLOWANCE FOR HIS FIRST TERM SO THAT HE CAN CONTINUE TO ENJOY THE VEEP RESIDENCE AN ...

• True Say 7 years ago

Careful how you vilify the ex president. Using the term 'begged' for the house is a bridge too far. Respect Mahama today, for in a few years - four, eight, time will tell- it will be the turn of the current president to be th ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

very stupid , ghana as a country per our constitution must provide the out going prez a house, so if he chose to stay at his residence is a big favour to the taxpayer ,
    besides upon taking the presidential office and chose t ...

• Talented 7 years ago

Rogue Lawyer, this is well said but this policy must be totally abrogated as a developing economy. Even in the advanced economies they don't give ex presidents houses. They pay for their own houses. When are Africans going to ...

• Kwadjoe, USA 7 years ago

I'm not sure about Canada but in the US, ex-presidents are provided accommodation, among a litany of benefits, including secret service protection. Enough is enough, he earned it and the constitution guarantees it. South Kore ...

• Atta 7 years ago

Stop lying, in the US the ex presidents buy their own houses. The federal government only gives them security and pays them pension. Let's stop justifying a wrong policy

• kk 7 years ago

What do u mean by he earned it?

• OWEN NEW YORK 7 years ago

Obama,the American president recently bought his personal house from his retirement package. Why should John Mahama be given a house ? Since independence time, how many ex-presidents have been given a house besides J.J Rawlin ...

i hope you can read and write and have professional certificate unlike your idol Akuffu Addo , what does the constitution said about outgoing president ? tell me which president of this country had moved an inch from where ...

• Hohoho, montreal 7 years ago

Do you have the proof where the money is saved?

• kk 7 years ago

He was supposed to vacate the place when he became president but did not.
    He occupied that house and that of the flgstaff house, how greedy he can be on that.
    One thing u must understand is, that house he want to keep isva ...

• True Say 7 years ago

My brother, your grammar and spellings are neither here nor there. What's your certificate for? I'm still positive you could've done a better job with the president's speech. Alas, the state of our affairs.

• vagabond 7 years ago

You are mad do you think to be a president is by eating koko and kose.u should learn to respect idiot

• rossi nii 7 years ago

Re-read your own comment and see who is stupid indeed! If the constitution approves of a house for a president , did it also say the president chooses just any state property as his benefit? You have overused the word STUPID ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

He and Mills, together with Tony Aidoo, alongside babies with sharp teeth stopped at nothing in throwing Kuffour out of Accra. Today, they are crying wolf. Mahama is homeless.

get your facts right, prof mills would never ever engaged in that stupidity, why do jj rawlingse hated prof mills ?, - the k4 office saga was initiated by the ga youth ( Titus glover people) - by a reason best known to the ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

Do you remember Okujeto Ablakwa's 24hr ultimatum? You are yet to recover from the shock of Dec 7 2016. Your mahama is became greedy beyond imagination.

what had mahama personally stolen from you ?
    his greatest sin was constructing your kyebi road, and gave you water to drink, ? or that of the modern SHS schools he built for you?
    very ungrateful persons like you and your ...

• # MAHAMA IS OUT ! 7 years ago

So Mahama NDC Parliament did not accept their Own committee agreement ? and instead gave a house to Mahama ? This is Crazy insane !. The New Parliament must reverse this and follow the committee agreement.

The Presidential Transition Laws Must be changed permanently to avoid this from happening in the Future !.

• agoli 7 years ago

so if parliament approved of it then what is the noise for.

• francis 7 years ago

This mahama is sick. Very greedy and after all the loot he still pressed for a permanent accommodation . In fact Mahama and the NDC came just for their own well being and not for Ghana . Mahama is a thief and will not stop st ...

That is Why Nana Addo and Parliament Must Change the Constitution and the Transition Laws to Permanently STOP this INSANITY !.

• Shame unto blockheads 7 years ago

Francis GET a life
    NPP IS NOT GOING TO RULE GHANA FOREVER MIND YOU GUYS

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

See Osei Mensah stupid argument! So it means that if you're in minority everything that get pass are not correct unless you're in Majority?. At first he was saying that Parliament never approved Mahama's request but now they ...

• Mamuna Nkwantabisa 7 years ago

So kyei mensah, what's your take on this thorny issue; are you in favor of mahama grabbing the govt bungalow or the Nana-led govt rejecting the request?
    Our candid opinion is Maa'ma shd take the 40% monthly rent allowance a ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

This is all much ado about nothing. When the late Obetsebi Lamptey bought the Government bungalow he was living in, you found it to be normal.Trying to divert attention from the Mother of all Plagiarisms.

• Kwadjoe, USA 7 years ago

Enough is enough, leave this issue alone. The government is wealthy enough to construct a modern official house for the current and future vice presidents. He served Ghana and the constitution grants him such a benefit. What ...

• Kwasi Kwansah 7 years ago

The choice still remains with government which house to allocate to the outgoing president. It is not his nor parliament's to decide. That is why there should be no flexing of muscles. It should be by negotiation

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

If NPP give that Bungalow to Useless thief John Dramani Mahama who starve our wards,steal our girls sanitary pads money and collapse our NHIS so we die from our ailments and he enjoy our house then they should kiss 2020 good ...

• Ali Mahama 7 years ago

I did not know Mahama is such a block-headed bull.Having piled a Collosal Debt of over 120 Billion Dallors on the Nation,he had the effrontery to take a pen to write to beg for a house from Akuffo Addo whom he criticisied f ...

• J J Poter 7 years ago

SO FROM THE MUCH STOLEN AMOUNT ABD BENEFITS HE CANNOT AFFORD A HOUSE OF HIS CHOICE.
    DID HE CONSIDERED EX- PREZ KUFFOUR BY EJECTING HIM FROM HIS RESIDENCE. SOME EVEN SAID KUFFOUR IS NOT A NATIVE OF ACCRA AND SHOULD LEAVE.
    M ...

• eric 7 years ago

ghana as a country is nt serious why must u give an outgoing president a hse wz. he/she staying in de bush bfr taking power

• CharlesP 7 years ago

Build, buy, rent-those are the options available. You can't demand a house because you were once president. Your employer is under no obligation to house you, unless it is a condition attached to your contract of service.

• eric 7 years ago

black people really tink black

• Ben 7 years ago

Mahama is showing his real character as greedy and a thief.

• Yussif 7 years ago

If this has been considered already that's a shame if Npp does not take care it ll exit power just like Mahama,the NDC re string traps for Npp and we re failing to notice it,all those stupid Chiefs and whoever statesman it wa ...

• law 7 years ago

some of u guys are more stupid and loots at your various endeavors than mahama. Are u saints? Is lyk u can read,write and understand.Mahama just made an appeal not a dictated request so what's your bif? Continue insulting him ...

• Adiza 7 years ago

Kick Mahama out of the residence it is no longer his residence. Mahama is now a squatter. Total disgrace to the country. rent your own with your retirement money. This is what every President does. The state should not pay fo ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Emma 7 years ago

The formal president is entitle to a house or housing allowance but he has requested to use his official residence instead. I don't see any crime requesting for something you are entitle to have . The only issue is the choice ...

• COCKEREL 7 years ago

What is wrong with Mahama opting for a house instead of rent?Was it against the transitional provisions?The majority leader's portrayal of Mahama as a beggar is unacceptable and uncalled for.Mahama was exercising his right to ...

• ONIPANUA 7 years ago

When you have fools in charge that is what happens.The majority leader is just a fool.Portraying Mahama as a beggar shows how stupid and foolish he is.And such a person is in parliament.Mahama has chosen a house instead of re ...

• TONY 7 years ago

Majority Leader, you let me down. Whether you are in opposition or not since Parliament approved, you are part of it. Your comment and those coming from NPP leadership is sending a wrong signal to the Gambian President.

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

True,trying to ridicule the former President but all these show how backward they are.Uncivilized people. The pot calling the kettle black.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Ghanaian writers must becareful of their choice of words for their writing as not tasteful how they uses choice words on context; it doesn't exemplify maturity;

• Aba 7 years ago

Ex president want to accept what de committee recommended for his salary an reject de one abt his accommodation

• emeka 7 years ago

this guy is sick on the head

• Daddy 7 years ago

This guy is gradually loosing my respect. Hatred for the ex president is been displayed here

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

Mahama do not qualify for any x'gratia simple because he was voted out of power for some reasons.

• BB 7 years ago

Didn't he have a house before becoming a president???

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

WITHOUT FREEBE HE CANT PAY RENT AND UTILITY BILLS LIKE EVERYONE ELSE EH, HOPELESS BEING.

Ghana a Case of "Animal Farm". So if you are not a member of NPP heads you loose, feet you loose. If an agreement is approved by an NPP majority it is a law, but if it is approved by NDC or a majority of another party its not ...

• Conscience 7 years ago

Your president is being rediculed internationally for stealing speeches and you're here chasing an accomplished man, a man who have gained international honour. Correct the shameful image your president just received by plagi ...

• IRON LION ZION 7 years ago

Someone should tell Mahama the thief to go sleep in his hotel in Dubai. Fool... He thought in the flimsiest of his mind that the end would never come. Lesson to all

• concerned observer 7 years ago

You reap what you sow.

• vagabond 7 years ago

Am Nigerian living in Ghana in fact Ghanians do not have respect for there ex president john mahama .allow him to ocuppy the place he want that is the dignity of his office.bad people

• chigri 7 years ago

To hell with you and your ........

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

In any case there is no denial that his request to occupy the house was approved by Parliament, hence the decision not to vacate. As an astute legislator Hon Kyei Mensa Bonsu ought to defend the approval given by parliament a ...

• Ayaroo 7 years ago

The reason why I just can never be an NPP supporter is that,they are so egocentric that they care less about others wellbeings.We are waiting to see their next move of incompetence since the inauguration speach has set their ...

• Omanbapa 7 years ago

Most npp members especially the parlamentarians like Mensah Bonsu and others are hypocrates crooks who are hidding behind the seen critizising the out going president of this and that all evil.

Their day wil come

• ESI 7 years ago

Now the law about accommodation for ex presidents is very clear.
    there is nothing like monthly rent allowance. the state is to provide a fitting residence for presidents when hey leave office.
    SO KYEI MENSAH BONSU IS JUST ...

• T man 7 years ago

Wish JM bad. Will come to you. Gentle man JM. The wise man will never let him leave where he is. Nana is his father he has always respect out of politics. Waste not you energy. No saint is seen in his own country. Just luve y ...

• J.b Danquah 7 years ago

Some people only think of today ,but when they are passing comment in their thinking that they are wise and calling People stupid and co ,but in actual sense they are rather stupid ,first where was he supposed to live ,second ...

• the one 7 years ago

so Mahama was right, parliament did approved it after all. kyei mensah parliament is parliament whether NDC or NPP was in minority. parliament approved, Nana accepted and you turned around and behaved like you know nothing ab ...

• NANA 7 years ago

I AM DISSAPPOINTED IF THOSE WORDS CAME FROM MAJORITY LEADER OF PARLIAMENT, HE HAS NO RESPECT FPR LEADERS, I DONOT THINK OUR PRESIDENT WILL BE HAPPY WITH THE SAYINGS, MATURE PEOPLE WILL NO THAT THERE ARE CERTAIN THINGS ARE JUS ...

• ATTA KOJO 7 years ago

IF WE WENT DEMOCRACY THEN WE SHOULD TREAT OUR X WITH FULL RESPECT.

• bobo 7 years ago

We call this Majority leader. Such stupidity

• Mr. John 7 years ago

Mahama is indeed very greedy.

• DATE 7 years ago

NOT A SURPRISE STATEMENT FROM THE HON
    MEMBER OF THE NOW MAJORITY LEADER OF THE HOUSE

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Was that greedy thief John Dramani Mahama homeless living under bridge with his family when he enter into politics?Why should we provide houses to politicians?All over the world no president get house after living office.It i ...

• dog plus 7 years ago

wicked npp, don't forget you will one day be in opposition

• Chantal 7 years ago

Nana addo to go to hell I dont want tohrar hisname eother