You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2016 11 10Article 485448

Ghana should adopt Electoral College system - Kofi Bentil

Read Comments Comments (60)

Having a wife and children does not make you responsible.

• Concerned 7 years ago

This man did not say why we should adopt the US system or the mere fact it's American makes it better.What we need is our own system. UNION GOV

• MANNERS 7 years ago

He is out of his goddamn brain. Even USA is trying hard to debunk these electoral colleges and go for Popular Votes. What is so special of Electorates. Not everything of America should be copied. Free and Fair elections with ...

• Kanawu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE SYSTEM HAS FAILED AMERICANS BUT THERE IS NO WAY OUT. WHY DO WE HAVE TO ADOPT THAT. WHY DO WE HAVE SO MANY PEOPLE IN GHANA WHO ARE HAILED AS SMART BUT IN ACTUAL FACT, THEY DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TA ...

• atwei 7 years ago

The writer has no information about the electoral college system in the US. Even the US is fighting over this system and desires to scrap it. It is obsolete and Americans are demonstrating today. Please leave us in Ghana i ...

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

MAHAMA IS BARAWO BANZA
    Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London ...

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

IGNORE THE UNTHINKING IMITATOR! WHAT IS TO GAINED BY FOOLISHLY COPYING THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE SYSTEM BECAUSE USA USE IT? WE DO NOT HAVE THEIR HISTORY AND CULTURE.

For some people anything American is good. A system the Americans are calling flawed and are presently debating its effectiveness in electing their president, you want us to adopt it.
    Prior to the election of Bush in 2000, ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

The American Electoral system is a very bad system.The Presidential Candidate with the popular vote does not win.A small state can determine who gets into Office.
    It has happened in America about four times.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

That particular guy,Bentil, I doubt how he became a lawyer,he talks like he is yet to enter the classroom.
    The American system,a so called system to protect smaller states is a very bad system which cannot be practiced in an ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Our system ensures that the winner get 50% plus of the votes cast which is a clear majority of the voters. It's much better than getting elected with a minority of votes.
    The electoral college approaches this principle by en ...

The Electoral College system is a bad system because one state can determine who gets to be president.Winner of the Popular votes will not count.
    An example was the Algore Fiasco in Florida,when Bush was declared the winner.

• J. A. KRONFUOR 7 years ago

WE THE PEOPLE OF GHANA WILL ELECT OUR OWN PREZ. FUCK OFF WITH YOUR ELITE CORRUPT MIIND.

• 3fo the carpenter 7 years ago

Ghanaians should have their own mind and stop copying blindly. Stupid suggestion for Electoral College.Americans are fighting for One vote One count.

• Berchie 7 years ago

This guy can't be serious. Why should a candidate with the most popular votes lose an election? And, you call that democracy?

ITS NOT DEMOCRACY.THE PERSON WITH THE MAJORITY VOTES LOOSES AND ITS A SHAME.

• 3fo the carpenter 7 years ago

If you ghanaians want Electoral College, might as well throw away your so called Democracy since as stupid as you are folks in government will be there due to corruption.

• Olusco London 7 years ago

This is a stupid and rubbish suggestion .How can we adopt such a stupid idea and you call this a democracy ?

• Pelicles 7 years ago

We love to copy what someone is doing or had done. To think and do something on our own, is a big challenge because we cannot think. That is the posture of a looser, a vagabond, truant and a despicable fool and this man is a ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

That guy does not think,he doesn't even have a clue how that system works if he does he would not have made that comment,it is a useless system at least in terms of Africa or third world countries,we don't need that in Ghana.

• DJ kofi 7 years ago

That will be a good news for us!

• Obroni 7 years ago

Are you disturbed? Even Trump called the system rigged, now that's is your goal? Ask people of Togo if they would prefer what they have and gave them papa and son or 1 man 1 vote?

• Thomas Agyemang 7 years ago

Its about time you STOP this kind of trash. Even simple 50+ 1 concept we can't understand. As simple as it is. Now u talking about college system. Massa if u have had some banku and okro and u r full. Go sleep.

• Frank 7 years ago

How do you understand by electoral college, and house does that fit into a country like Ghana?

• Evans 7 years ago

Ha ha ha. Kofi Bentil just wanted to say something. This is the unfortunate situation we have find ourselves in where the so called experts come up with suggestions without any scientific/logical reasoning. Just talk, cheap u ...

• Papa Nii 7 years ago

There is nothing wrong with our system but there is something wrong with some of our people including Kofi Bentil. Any time he wants to be heard he goes hyperbolic.It isn't as if the American system is being used for the fir ...

• BRASS 7 years ago

WHEN THE UNITED STATES IS THE ONLY COUNTRY THAT PRACTISES THIS ANACHRONISTIC SYSTEM THAT HAS ON A FEW OCCASIONS ENSURED THAT WINNERS OF THE POPULAR VOTES HAVE LOST THE PRESIDENCY TO THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE HE THIS SELF-OPINIONA ...

• ABA 7 years ago

KWASEA, EVEN AMERICANS WANT TO GET RID OF IT

• BlackC 7 years ago

Start dealing with today's elections using modern technology and systems instead of fixation with systems that were implemented in an age where there was no ways of communication so the citizenry was even less informed.

• Champion's Corner 7 years ago

when americans are planning to protest the electoral college system because it is outdated, you are now asking Ghanaians to use it. Mtcheew

• Odikro 7 years ago

Do we have to copy for the sake of copying? What are the advantages of a president ruling with minority votes? You can go practice that in your village.

• KO 7 years ago

Does Bentil understand the electoral college? Trump got 47.5% of the vote less than 50% and less than 47.6% Hillary got and he is President. How undemocratic is that? In our case in Ghana more than half of voters should agree ...

• nuertey_ asamoah.TX USA 7 years ago

Hi kofi bentil, as much as i acknowledge & respect most of your views on serious dabates, i beg to differ on the your view on the electoral votes. The system can be rigged and it was rigged this time around.
    It isn't only t ...

• GaBaa 7 years ago

Why should it be so, what minority regions do yo want to protect.

• NPP 7 years ago

What America does is not always right. The electoral college system is flawed. The popular vote system is better than the electoral system, which could bias the members of the electoral college.

• Nobody 7 years ago

What do you know about the Electoral College? It's baseless.

• Danny B. The Bronx 7 years ago

I DONT THINK YOU REALLY KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT. TALK TO AL GORE AND MRS CLINTON. BOTH WON THE POPULAR VOTES BUT LOST THE ELECTION.

• Kojo Morovia 7 years ago

I do not understand why the media has been taken over by idiots who waste precious space to abuse the opportunity to be idiots.

• METHINKS 7 years ago

Something those who have had it for centuries literally want to runaway from????
    Don't know what is wrong with some of these guys.

• Nii Nmai, Dallas,TX, U. S. A 7 years ago

America pee the whole world scramble for a cup to collect the pee and drink. Why should Ghana adopt the electoral college? Mr. Bentil would have helped us lot if he had assigned a reason why we should adopt this system that t ...

• Kofi Gbagbladza 7 years ago

If we adopt electoral vote system in Ghana, then Npp will never win power. Even if Ashanti Region has the highest electoral vote they will still lode

• King Kalawa 7 years ago

UNLESS WE HAVE TALL AND HANDSOME OPPOSITION LEADER OF THE MAJOR OPPOSITION PARTY,I DONT THINK IT IS A GOOD IDEA.BECAUSE IF OPPOSITION LEADER COMPLEXION IS JUST LIKE LORRY TYRE COMPLEXION AND HIS NOSE ALWAYS BLAST DOWN MUCUS L ...

• Daniel Kofi Lartey. USA 7 years ago

None sense, you are saying 25 million population should adopt electoral college system, this is inconsequential. Anybody at all will just stand up and start vomiting redundant issues.

• MASA 7 years ago

it's a shame to suggest this, Mr. Thinktank

• Knockout 7 years ago

Only Republicans thinks this way,the electoral college is a cheating system,popular vote is the way to go

• CAST-THEFIRST-STONE 7 years ago

Ghana is good with the popular vote system so away with ill-conceived ideas Kofi Bentil.

Why can't the US copy from Ghana? We like copying everything and the sad thing is that, it is the enlightened ones who lead us to copy. On what basis must Ghana copy from the US? Haven't we copied enough? Are we not practicin ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

Ghana democracy is one of the best, if we are able to eliminate partisans from the mandated institution and allow them to do their job.
    ours is next to Switzerland who practice direct democracy.

what had happen in USA b ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHAT HAS THE ELCTORAL COLLEGE SYSTEM IN THE US GOT TO DO IN GHANA.

WHAT IS THE POPULATION OF GHANA AS COMPARED TO THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

OPAYIN, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER IF,YOU WOULD HAVE TACKLED THE ECONOMIC BA ...

• Nii Katey 7 years ago

Typical mentality. So the mere act that it is good for America Koi Bentil, you eel it should be good or Ghana? This is the mistakes we always make in Africa. This idea that anything everything foreign is good does not enhance ...

• Kofi Aryiku 7 years ago

Weel said Katey. Kofi Bentil should rather think or propose a formula that would be feasible and practical for Ghana. Shame on Kofi Bentil

• Zigi 7 years ago

There goes our instant experts again.

Ghana should adopt the electoral college system? Has he even studied the system? Does he understand how it works? Or he simply sees as a means by which their beloved NPP could obtain ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

OPAYIN NII KATEY,

I VERY MUCH APPRECIATE YOUR GREAT COMMENNTS.

THERE COULD BE A LONG AND DARK JOURNEY BEFORE THESE NOISY AND MOST BLINDED SO CALLED EDUCATED WITH BIG DEGREES AND PHD TITLES EMERGE FROM THEIR EDUCATIONAL ...

• ESI 7 years ago

When people like this Bentil guy, frank cudjoe and others like them speak on national issues without making any sense, I wonder how they think,
    Now why in the world should we copy and follow the "electoral college" system of ...

• jacob 7 years ago

U are not intelligent. That's d most useless Democratic system in d world, worse than north Korea. Think again Bentil

• kwaku darko 7 years ago

See how sometimes i tell u guys there are too many foolish intellectuals in our society.
    A process that even Americans themselves have been thinking of doing away with u have a buffoon who doesn't know his left from his righ ...

• Honesty - the best policy! 7 years ago

There goes a typical African copy cat aka intellectual. In fact he does not even understand how the electoral college system functions yet he is quick to propose it for adoption by Ghana. Shame shame you have only exposed you ...

• Moses 7 years ago

This one de3 NDC will never support, bcos for NDC, they depend largely on the propaganda they push down the throat of many illiterate pple in the country. They wl definitely say it is elitist.

• kwame ben 7 years ago

Even Americans have seen that this system is bogus hence the protests.If this cheating system is brought to Ghana and for that matter Africa the result will be more civil wars.