You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2016 04 06Article 428568

Assembly members reject nominee after taking ¢1000

Read Comments Comments (25)

• Free Voter 8 years ago

Has this really happened in Ghana or it's a joke?
    Isn't that criminal? Why should Honorable Assembly Members take monies before voting? How will the giver recoup the money? Why should the supporters of the proposed DCE give ...

• United Ghana 8 years ago

Free voter, you've hit the nail on the head. It's criminal & these people ought to be prosecuted. Instead, they are unashamedly & without fear of prosecution demanding return of their money. Only in the banana republic of GH.

• SKER 8 years ago

this is an open secret it's done everywhere people will only complain when it didt go in their favour. sometimes I wonder if the assemblymen, DCE, MCE , MPs, ministers, presidents and their vices are really serving Ghana.

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

Hmmm, ask again. Unfortunately, this illegality is considered normal in Ghanaian politics from party office holders to Assembly members, DCEs MMCEs and MPs. Very worrying indeed! And they are not ashamed of it.

• hackman,ksi 8 years ago

Element of vote buyin wil never ceasd in DNC party.shame onto u.chop de money free n teach him a lesson

• SKER 8 years ago

Massa this is an open secret let's condemn evil acts and leave political parties out of it I can tell you on authority that the party you belong to have done before and still doing it.
    let condemn what is wrong without taggi ...

• National Agenda 8 years ago

How can such a person be a good Chief Executive? Despite all these mess, his boss, the President will not discipline him.

• ghanaman 8 years ago

This is what some political analysts and observers warned against. We are observing a very serious threat to our democracy. The earlier this practice is outrooted, the better.

• Martian Voter 8 years ago

By no means excusing it, ghanaman, but what, in effect, is the buying of votes happens all over the world. The campaign funds of the current contenders for the US Primaries are just one example of how uneducated people can be ...

• FOOLISH DNC 8 years ago

Useless Ghanaians

• Kojo Thompson 8 years ago

This has always been the case. A nominee has to bribe the Assembly members before they vote to approve his/her nomination.

I know a Mayor who had to rush to the USA to borrow money to bribe members before he was approve ...

• aikins 8 years ago

You people should take it if they give you that money 10 times and still vote against him if that is what mahama has decided to do with Ghana money.

• Akoloogo fra fra 8 years ago

For the next round take 3000cedis then use your conscience to vote, people in the ndc are so corrupt

• Joey Boy 8 years ago

If the nominee's side is claiming that they paid bribe and the assembly members have admitted that they took it, can't both sides be prosecuted? Let the law people help me if I am wrong. What kind of society is this? The othe ...

• Obed Adore 8 years ago

hay could.is against the election laws of Ghana yet nobody does anything to correct this crime..

• nitty-gritty 8 years ago

Hahahaha,do the same to thievery Mahama and NDC.

• Israel Jude 8 years ago

How is John Dubai Mahami fighting corruption, and will EOCO, BNI, CHRAJ, Police investigate this?

• Chicago Guy 8 years ago

Indeed ghana useless nation

• humble 8 years ago

only in Africa especially Ghana lawless country tweaaaaa even without u being dce corruption is in ur bag tweaaaaaa

• Abiwu Michael 8 years ago

Nobody Assemblyman should refund the bcos He want to gain power through corruption and that is the effect. If as a result any of the Assembly members died because of the curse he should be arrested and prosecuted.

• Nene Nannor 8 years ago

Haahahaaaa. This is what Ghanaians will do to Mahama and the NDC come election 2016. NDC bring it on.......

• SA 8 years ago

Take them back the receipts for your claim!! We make Ghana a corrupt place: always accusing only the bribe taker.

• BLACK-NINJA-ASIA... 8 years ago

IF U DO GOOD U DO IT FOR YOUR SELF,AND IF U DO BAD U DID IT BY YOUR SELF TOO,GUY'S SHOW MAHAMI CHOP CHOP,TOO...NAANIAMA.

• Last warrior 8 years ago

Good black ninja all these message was given us when we were kids but now many have replace it with WICKEDNESS jealousy and selfish gains forgetting about the CHILDREN FUTURE.

• odensi 8 years ago

This open corruption that doesn't need anything to proof and if AJ and BNI are not acting then they are useless on their professional duties.If the government, AJ and BNI failed to act then they themselve support corruption a ...