You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2013 08 08Article 281832

'Tsatsu's retroactive penalty claim is alien to the law'

Read Comments Comments (201)

• PAA 10 years ago

Npp stop burning markets and open your eyes you will see president Manama’s capability. Npp you know very well that Kuffour couldn’t have ruled Ghana for six months should NDC went on burning markets and demonstrating eve ...

• facts 10 years ago

The electorate voted NPP but for the deliberate acts of some few including Afari Gyan and his gang their wishes are overturned. Hope the courts see this truth and speak for the voiceless.

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND

show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Source: Daily Guide...

All of a sudden nonentities want to portray to the world how close they were to the late President.

Those who had to chat with him for one hour everyday, those Deputy Ministers who had to call him ...

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

Tsatsu left his small legal brains in Nsawam prisons during his sojorn there for giving the monies of GNPC to his cohorts(Valley Farms) to go into cocoa farming with no cocoa to show for it on "judgement day".

Every year t ...

• Jack 10 years ago

Gloria Akuffo is behaving like a law student -- seriously befuddled by her professor's sophistry.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

Gloria Akufo you are rated in the Law
    profession as O% because you are not
    qualified in your profession. See
    Tsikata for explanation.

• Yag 10 years ago

Gloria if you don,t know the law so it is alien.Tsatsu taught you the thing but you forgot so retroactive sin and punishment exist in law.

• TOMATO 10 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

• Nana Akuffo Addo - WEE SMOKER 10 years ago

..NPP - A PARTY FOUNDED ON CRIMINALITY ARE THE BIGGEST THIEVES IN GHANA. IN JUST OVER 8 YEARS ALL OF THEM HAVE MILLIONS OF GHANA'S MONEY STASHED AWAY!!! EVEN CHIEF KUFFUOR WAS GIVING OUT CONTRACTS!! THESE CRIMINALS MUST THANK ...

• HON SHAMO 10 years ago

A MEER LAW STUDENT CAN HANDLE TSATSU EASILY! HE IS JUST A LUNATIC EX CONVICT NOT A LAWYER

• Nsonyamey3 10 years ago

Many of these 'kokompe' female lawyers used their natural "assets" to get through the GLS and land plum jobs in the country. So I am not in the least surprised that she would be overwhelmed by such a concept!
    Was woman not a ...

• Bonsu 10 years ago

THE EXAMPLE GIVEN BY GLORIA IS SIMPLY GREAT AND SURPASSES ALL CLARIFICATIONS:
    Reason for annulling some valid votes is likened to preparing a good and expensive soup, when some rotten meat is added by mistake. The whole sou ...

• Dumega Prosper Junior 10 years ago

When a giant in the jurisprudence and a legal luminary of no mean repute in person of Tsatsu Tsikata, a dwarf of a niece of the bruised and whipped candidate of the NPP-Akuffo Addo who is almost suffocating in the face of the ...

• AKONOBA 10 years ago

The error President Mahama will be exposed by SC. EC and NDC are stealers. The error president Mahama was declared by EC but SC will right the wrong and declare Nana. Mahama did not get the 50+1 vote. Mahama will be ex come A ...

• Wayo 10 years ago

That is your dream.Nana will never be a President of republic of Ghana.Mark it down

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Corrupt, deceitful, dishonest, a liar, violent and incompetent Dramani Mahama
    if civilized should have resigned peacefully than be power drunk and be
    so sturborn as Afari Djan did which
    ended him in Court.

• TOGBEGAH 10 years ago

The verdict on the 29th of August will be earth shattering, head-splitting, brain raking and heartbreaking for the NPP sympathizers. Look Fiadzoe, Nana Akufo Addo knew too well he didn't win the election and only going for th ...

If I should borrow some of your wisdom laden words, brother Togbegah! When the verdict is declared and ANY OF THOSE DOG EATING AKYEM mafia misbehaves, I bet you, you will see how they will be treated!!! They are just microcos ...

• BlindMan 10 years ago

And Ex-President John Evans Attah Mills position in history is cast in the Land; he would remained the last President born with both the Gold Coast and the Ghana JUICES.
    Nana Akufo-Addo gave it his all; he would be known as ...

• Concern 10 years ago

Who killed Mills ?

• Nana Ansah 10 years ago

Gloria Akuffo said "retroactive penalty" is not only alien to her as a lawyer, but a strange legal principle espoused in court on Wednesday by counsel for the 3rd respondent.

From day one I have been saying that the legal ...

• FRAFRASO 10 years ago

Tsatsu, may be too much learning has eating up your wisdom. and now you're now sliding into ream of emptiness. take a look at yourself retroactively and proactively, may be it will help you to stop practicing law your era is ...

It is now known that Okoampa Ahoofe is the one using the pseudonym of Jato Julor ( J.J.)Rawlings. But if people envy others for what they have achieved and want to use their names, wouldn't it be decent and honourable to ask ...

• Aryiku Mensah 10 years ago

Yes, 'retroactive penalty'. This is a strange one to you Gloria. You see we are always learning and at least you have learn something freely from Mr Tsikata. It is interesting you are now coming out of the woods. The case has ...

• Nelson Mandela 10 years ago

Could you please explain the term 'retroactive penalty' to Gloria and those of us who don't understand since you seem to know? I'm interested to know the definition and explanation as well. Thanks.

• adomba 10 years ago

SIMPLY PUT IT, THERE IS NO LAW IN OUR CONSTITUTION THAT SAYS IF AN ELECTION OFFICER FAILS TO SIGN A PINK SHEETS VOTES WILL BE ANNULED. SO IF THE SUPREME COURT JUDGES ANNULS ANY VOTE THEY ARE MAKING A LAW, WHICH DIDN'T EXIST D ...

• william 10 years ago

IF THE JUDGES DON'T UNDERSTAND THEY WILL ASK THAT QUESTION ON AUGUST 14TH. OTHERWISISE YOU JUST WAIT TO READ THEIR JUDGEMENT. explaining it to you may be of no legal consequence.

• Ato 10 years ago

Another fool pretending to understand the nonsense that the ex-convict was spewing out to befuddle the judges.

Knowing very well that they cannot possibly win this case as all evidence is going against them, Tsikata has re ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Ato, how many pink sheets were submitted in evidence by the petitioners?

• Bonsu 10 years ago

Hmmmmm!! Tsatsu's Quest to confuse the Judges or may be NDC foot soldiers.

• FRANCIS XEXETRO 10 years ago

Anybody who try to learn from Tsikata,
    the ex-convict, you are not learning anything better than how to tell lies,
    deceitful, dishonesty and thievery activities only.

Afari Djan has admitted that there were over voting, ...

• DAN 10 years ago

the NIGGER has no business in court except to seek his own parole or probation for his criminal activitys...Stop buttfucker you brother NIGGERS..Hiv is deadly.. NDC=nigger dicksuckers committe

it is nothing new that the great minds and leaders of the Akans are being continuously persecuted , killed or slandered by non Akans at the drop of a hat , now the time has come for freedom from these rivers of Babylon , the ...

• Micheal Kyeremanteng 10 years ago

Read the history books and you'll find the answers to you irresponsible, foolish and childish repertoire. Ask Ojumeju Ojuku what happened to him in the Nigeria Biafra War. But please get it into your thick dumb and 'coconut' ...

• Create, loot and share 10 years ago

Responsible citizens indeed. You fucking ewes when you mention Ashantis really meant Akans in general. After all how can you differentiate between an Ashanti and a Bono man. Your discrimination knows no bound. Get it rather i ...

• Blow man 10 years ago

LONG LIVE AKRANTIA REPUBLIC!!!!!
    You should have taken my advice,to see a doctor before the rains come.Now you have yourself to blame.Babylon,Egypt,all are signs you have lost It.forward,backwards etc.This is pure madness wh ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 10 years ago

In deed it is alien to those who have
    not heard this word before,like Lawyer
    Groria Akufo Addo.You have explore that word,you have not reach that stage yet to know.You have to learn more about the Law.

• joe 10 years ago

My God, who is burning market? mahama own people have been asked by ndc propaganda members to burn stores and rebuild and give to their members. This action will help mahama to get sympathy from people and attribute his incom ...

• cosey adwenpa: germany. 10 years ago

idiot Paa or whatever you call yourself.if you know any NPP members burning markets ,you are in power arrest the culprit and stop making noiseMAHAMA CREATE,LOOT AND SHARE GHANAIAN TAXPAYERS MONEY..

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

The concern citizens of Ghanaians abroad such as America, Canada, London, Germany, Italy, Australia and Holland, is appealing to the highest court of our country to throw the petitioners foolish and diabolical case that is ha ...

• boneheard 10 years ago

Bitches like Gloria should worship the grounds Tsikata walks on. This man taught you how to be a lawyer but unfortunately you did not learn the trade properly

• PK 10 years ago

Only fools like you would be swayed by Tsatsu's sophistry. I'm not a lawyer, but when I heard Tsatsu make that argument, I thought it was logically bizarre, because every judgment against any party can be described as "retroa ...

• DAN 10 years ago

He's a convict..Whos dick did he suck to get parole? Mahatma's or the Vp(vice penis)

• Osabere kotoko 10 years ago

He was given amnesty by pres. Kuffour, so he doesn't need to go on parole, but I guess you won't understand what that means. Do you?

• Concerned 10 years ago

The point your idol,tsikata made does not make sense to anyone but you. Please explain to those of us who are not boneheads exactly what he meant

• Boateng 10 years ago

Do your own research to see if there are laws that punish innocent folks like the voter who did nothing wrong.

The man is saying there is no law that says the voter that did nothing wrong should have his/her vote annule ...

• Nelson Mandela 10 years ago

Do you also know that yesterday was an occasion for the counsels to give their addresses without any questioning from the judges? Why do you think they asked counsels to reappear on the 14th? What law are you talking about? I ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

You have computer and internet service. Simply research. You are smart enough to understand what you will read.

If you can prove that the vote itself was cast illegally then no problem, annul it. Did Gloria's team pr ...

• Big Joe. Ringway 10 years ago

Very intelligent and insightful submissions by this learned legal brain called Gloria Akuffo. Tsatsu sought to introduce some alien rhetoric's to sort of baffle the learned judges but back-fired. He has been schooled by a ver ...

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

I like your educational analysis too. Whether Tsatsu taught her or not is irrelevant here. The fact that Mourinho coaches Essien does not mean he plays btter than Essien

• Yag 10 years ago

Kakraba shine your eyes if you don,t listern to your coarch you will loose your cup.Gloria said she was not taught about it at school, Simply means she did not paid attention when Tsatsu was lecturing in class.

• Yag 10 years ago

big joe think by the way how old is The TEN Commandment?

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Retroactive penalty ? I certainly hold the opinion that he meant "suffering double jeopardy" which may sound more benign to his pleading. However, laws are meant to be obeyed : the consequences thareafter are blind to where t ...

• Dallas Texas 10 years ago

NPP people are just laud but knows nothing. Retroactive penalty or punishment is legal term. Gloria Akuffo has to go back to law school ano wonder she was working under Akuffo Addo (a pocket lawyer) without a certificate. Ash ...

• SAMMY Atlanta USA. 10 years ago

Mr. Boneheard or whatever you call yourself. Once upon a time our Only Prime Minister- Dr. K.A. BUSIA said if you have nothing to do, don't do it here. The mere fact that TSATSU was Gloria's Law teacher doesn't mean that .... ...

• DAN 10 years ago

If he was teacher you can bet it was for profit school and since he is a criminal maybe her school papers are not legit(fake,fraud,419)

• Blow man 10 years ago

And what about NANA,was Gloria his teacher?

• PK 10 years ago

"Massa", if you're indeed at Dallas, don't just spend all your time on that cleaning job to come and build a house in Ghana so everyone would call you "burger". Please, use some of the money to get yourself a good education. ...

• walap 10 years ago

No tribal comments here pls. Am ewe married to Ashanti Our children belong to both tribes. Above all we're Ghanians and the same law governs us.

• Photosy. 10 years ago

Ex post facto law
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    "Ex post facto" redirects here. For the "Star Trek: Voyager" episode, see Ex Post Facto (Star Trek: Voyager).
    An ex post facto law (Latin for "from after the action" ...

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

My friend the Wikipedia agent, did you read the article before you hurriedly decided to consult Wikipedia?

Yes there may be something like Retroactive law but the woman was first of all expressing her doubts about the exi ...

• Photosy. 10 years ago

Section 26 Retroactive penalties and double jeopardy

Section 26(2) Protection against double jeopardy

Section 26 of the Bill of Rights Act is as follows:

Retroa ...

• Photosy. 10 years ago

It plain and simple. An omission by a presiding officer cannot be visited on the electorate who voted as it does not constitute an offence by the voters.

• JIM CROW 10 years ago

SHE IS MY WOMAN OF THE YEAR!

• Allotey 10 years ago

My friend, Mr. crow. If this is your woman of the year then you got it all wrong. The woman got lost many times in court. Thant is why she stopped chewing gum. Her mouth stinks badly.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Shame on you for your vulgar comment. Leave your bad manners at home when your are going out into the public domain or rather, the internet domain.

• walap 10 years ago

Madam Gloria displaying her ignorance in such a medium is pathetic.A lawyer who cannot make meaning of words from their root words. So if you were introduced to Retroactive Laws does that mean there cannot be a word as retroa ...

• Sarkodie 10 years ago

Has anyone had his exams canceled before when they thought that they had nothing wrong or not cheated? Most of us find ourselves in this situation. They want your votes canceled because somebody in 'Fa Nkyeni ko' did not do h ...

• yb 10 years ago

When students write WAEC and it's later discovered that there was a leakage of the exams questions, the whole exams is cancelled and every candidate suffers irrespective of who was guilty or innocent. That is the natural rule ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

The leak happens before the exams. That is the point. I believe the Petitioners tried to prove what happened after the the votes were cast. Unless there is a law that directly deals with the issue, the Justices will not ...

• walap 10 years ago

We don't just cancel an exams because the paper is said to have leaked,but because there is proof of wide spread leakage but not because the Invigilator forgot to sign that he invigilated the exams.

• SAMSAC 10 years ago

RETROACTIVE PUNISHMENT IS NOT THE SAME AS RETROACTIVE PENALTY.TSATSU REFERED TO THE LATTER AND NOT THE FORMER WHICH IS KNOWN TO THE COMMON LAW.
    THANKS

• Stoway 10 years ago

Sit down and get the difference between Penalty and Punishment. Once you are able to do that, you'll understand what Tsatsu meant.

• SAMSAC WU YE ABOA PAAA 10 years ago

Is Punishment and Penalty not the same thing?

You are so dumb.

• abdallah mexico 10 years ago

sweetie wiemor blorfu

• Konfanko 10 years ago

And keep disturbing our ears all the time. What a joke this country is! So she could not get people like Attafuah,Asante Bediatuo from her 'stable' to bring this to her level of understanding? I Pity her!

• Soomui 10 years ago

Walap, if what you are trying to say is in English, then I beg to say that you yourself, you dont understand English.

You see even when NDC people try - and this is very rare, to make sense, they always land in a ditch. I ...

• Walap 10 years ago

ret·ro·ac·tive (r t r-k t v) adj. Influencing or applying to a period prior to enactment: a retroactive pay increase. [French rétroactif, from Latin retro ctus ....The Issue is that Someone Voted and Before and throughout ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

winning of court cases does not depend on speaking big and non-existent english that nobody knows nor understand!

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

How sad of Gloria Akuffo to choose this moment to expose her lack of knowledge. Quite apart from the fact that Retroactive Punishment is a legal concept ( if she had Googled the term she would have learnt a lot) even the gene ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Your reasoning is very funny indeed. You just don't understand the way the common law works vis-a-vis legislation.

If retroactive crime refers to an act which was not a crime at the time that it was committed but only becomes a crime upon legislation after the fact; is that legislation or common law?

Which custom and common usage cover ...

• ORM 10 years ago

DeGauge or whatever you call yourself. Stop being abusive! What do you thing was the reason for serial numbers on ballot papers if not for security reasons. As Afari Gyan said himself under cross examination, they put serial ...

There is no law in Ghana either in the Constitution or any other enactment which expressly states that duplicated serial numbers on pink sheets will automatically lead to the annulment of all valid votes cast. Whether the ser ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

You really have a load of time at your disposal to educate these goons who are not ready to be educated. If I were you, I would edge them to wonder their naiveté around until thy kingdom come.

• Soomui 10 years ago

Philosopher, you dont say "a load of time" in proper English. As for your second sentence, perhaps one of your colleagues in the Accra psychiatric hospital might be able to interpret better it for us.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

"interpret better it for us" paaaaa.

Next time write " interpret it better for us" arsehole. Now, "a load of time is just fine" So, get lost.

• Boateng 10 years ago

Thanks General, after my research I saw what this Master who taught many of the guys was telling the Justices. No law of such exists at the time and do not legislate from the bench.

Politely I will ask Gloria to be humbl ...

• Wahabu 10 years ago

Good education my brother

• Kpakpo Adotey 10 years ago

What a master, a true teacher, Mr Tsikata!!.Love him or hate him he has given us all a free education. By his stimulation we have all taken a keen interest in finding out the meaning of the word- 'RETROACTIVE'. The meaning in ...

• Solomon Dormenyo Quist 10 years ago

It is sad in deed. When salt loses its saltness, what is its use. She thought such grand stand statement will belittle Tshatsu but instead,it exposed her lack of grasp of the discipline within which she 'operates" It is alien ...

• ANSAH YEBOAH 10 years ago

What is Gloris talking about? The fact that you did not know something as a results of your dumbness does not mean that thst thing does not exist.If this woan does not know what "retroactive penalty" si then we have really ha ...

• nìi 10 years ago

As she said she doesn't know what retroactive punishment is the good thing she could have done was to google it on her mobile before coming on air to disgrace herself.

• 9924 10 years ago

tsatsu is brain-dead,he thinks inserting such fancy words will help him,for the information of all those tsikata worshipers,read this excerpt from encyclopaedia."An ex post facto law (Latin for "from after the action" or "aft ...

If no law existed at the time of the elections which said that duplicated serial numbers on pink sheets invalidate all valid votes cast; and supposing the Judges decide that duplicated serial numbers of pink sheets now consti ...

If the double serial numbers is one of the vehicles through which malpractices were committed then it will constitute an infraction. In that case those votes could be annulled. Addison argued that only valid voted should go i ...

"vehicles through which malpractices were committed" is nothing but meaningless drivel".

The serial numbers on the pink sheets are generated by the printers not the EC. There were other identification forms such as signato ...

• United 10 years ago

I understood Tsatsu to mean the grounds for which the petitioners were seeking to annul the votes were not one or some of the reasons why votes would be disqualified and to seek to disqualify them now, meant a retroactive pen ...

• BOOM 10 years ago

It's a shame on the part of the so call NDC

• Dr. Panie 10 years ago

Gloria check this out.

Section 26 Retroactive penalties and double jeopardy — Ministry of ...
    www.justice.govt.nz/.../section-26-retroactive-penalties-and-double-jeop...?
    Section 26 Retroactive penalties and double jeo ...

• KOFI B 10 years ago

WHY IS THAT LAWYER AKUFFO IS SAYING THIS QUOTE BY LAWYER TSATSU IS ALLIEN TO OUR LAWS.IS IT NOT THE SAME LAWY HE TSATSU USED TO DEFEAT NANA ADDO AS ATTORNEY GENERAL IN COURT THE SECOND TIME DURING HIS PROTRACTED TRIAL DURING ...

• U AND I WERE NOT THERE 10 years ago

ENEMIES OF PROGRESS WILL HANG ON ANYTHING TO SURVIVE AND THATS EXACTLY NPP IS DOING, TO MAKE GHANA UNGOVERNABLE

• walap 10 years ago

It's rather the other way round that is why the Justice is still on the run. She sacrificed her carrier for the Useless Akufo-Addo

• United 10 years ago

I think the submission advanced by the respected lawyer of fame was too remote for little minds in law to grasp hence the noise. The 9 justices would no doubt understand him. You cannot slam Tsatsu in law over issues such as ...

• Peter 10 years ago

hahahahahahahahaha....
    akkuffo addo is finally gone on retirement.

• ghanaboy 10 years ago

Your ignorance only proves tsatsu remains your lecturer and you always his student period

• Gbogbomashi 10 years ago

This is her law teacher again lecturing her after meeting him severally at University of Ghana Lecture Hall. This time round the practical aspect of the law for Madam Gloria Akuffo is mesmerizing. If she humbles herself, she ...

• TOGBEGAH 10 years ago

She has known only one thing since she was born. Bribery for a law certificate, sale of Ghana Airways and property for nokofioo, cooking for husband, arguing like a headless makola woman and claiming ignorance of certain part ...

• Boateng 10 years ago

Master kept something under the sleeves that he could use against the student as you would see in the Chinese Martial Arts Movies!

After some research I see what the professor was telling the Justices with the RETROACTIVE ...

• Facebook lawyer 10 years ago

It's unfortunate the petitioners are being represented by inexperienced legal team. Even a first year law student in US understands retroactive punishment. Retroactive punishment is a means to change the law today for someth ...

The field of law is no playground for foolsoldiers, so keep out, my stepson.

Article 64, section 1 says the following:

The validity of the election of the President may be challenged only by a citizen of Ghana who may p ...

NONSENSE!! Bushmen!! You with your broken and uncordinated dictionasry coping clerk also wanna challenge the legal brain of Tsatsu Tsikata?? He knows laws can be used retroactively.
    But he is mentioned retroactive punishment ...

Just hide your semiliteracy and oafishness and don't try to advertise it, you akpese-dancing,unutterably narcissistic swine and a naive, nostril-offending vulgarity to all and sundry !

Can you mention anywhere in the Ghana ...

Then you are very stupid from the Akyem forest!! How dare you insult with such careless abandon?? You will weep blood on the day of the judgement!! So far the argument is not about the total number of votes backing the parlia ...

• Teacher 10 years ago

"NONSENSE!! Bushmen!! You with your broken and uncordinated dictionasry coping clerk also wanna challenge the legal brain of Tsatsu Tsikata??"

"But he is mentioned retroactive punishment,"

You trokosi vermin, you better ...

• abdallah mexico 10 years ago

retroactive adj. referring to a court's decision or a statute enacted by a legislative body, which would result in an application to past transactions and legal actions. In criminal law, statutes which would increase penaltie ...

• Yaw Berfi 10 years ago

George W. Bush won Florida because he was able to get the supreme court to discount votes. They know couldn't win fair and square so after rejoicing on Dec 7 based on results produce by same pin sheets, on the 28th they resor ...

• Ghanaian, NY 10 years ago

Tsikata used the word retroactive to qualify the word penalty and that "retroactive penalty" pronouncement Tsikata made should not be taken as absolute legal terminology. Retroactive is, to effect an action from a period back ...

• Kofi Mensah 10 years ago

I am not surprised that you are so daft, in fact, intellectually lazy that you could not understand the simple language Tsatsu used. The reporter was aware that the likes of you would be reading his piece so he even brought i ...

• Abisiitiba 10 years ago

Equally argued, Ghanaians should not be imposed oo with a wrongful declared president. Voters' decision is giuded by votin proceedures to be certified, and not as massive unoranised rally following. An appeal voters' interest ...

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

"...innocent voters cannot be punished for the sins of presiding officers."
    This is an admission that Electoral Commission officers have sinned against the nation.

It is those invalid votes the Petitioners want SC to annul period.

• NAA4U 10 years ago

GLORIA, WHO SAYS TSATSU IS WAITING TO USE WORDS THAT YOU KNOW BEFORE HE MAKES HIS COMMENTS OR POINTS.

ARE YOU SAYING IF YOU ALONE DOES NOT KNOW THE WORD IT MAKES AN ALIEN TO LAW? ARE THE LAW JARGONS THE ONLY PRESERVE OF YO ...

• NAA4U 10 years ago

IF YOU DO NOT UNDERSTAND THE MEANING IN, LOOK FOR THEIR INDIVIDUAL MEANINGS AND PUT THEM TOGETHER.

• K K 10 years ago

he is a disgrace to seton hall, a school that i want to go. look a whole law lecturer forcing to give byeforce evidence like his NPP counterparts lawyers.

At this rate you are unlikely to be accepted in Seton hall or any reputable law school.
    Your IQ bordering dangerously on zero.

• Kweifio Alotey 10 years ago

Sir, even the Akufo- Addo School of Law which requires no certificates would not entertain your application with this appalling level of your English. With this level of your written English, I fear for your spoken English wh ...

• Jato.P 10 years ago

President Manama's orders were not backed by law.

• Gold 10 years ago

NPP lead by your dwarf are a disgrace to humanity. You're evil and wicked creatures determined to destroy Ghana.

• Queen 10 years ago

That's another way for Tsatsu to confuse people. "I am Tsatsu Tsikata,I change not. I am the thief yesterday, today and forever".

• honesty 10 years ago

NPP. JUST GO AWAY WE ARE SICK AND TIRED OF YOU VILLAGE GUYS.

• K ANNAN 10 years ago

HAHAHAHAHA SHIIIIIIIIIIIIT

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

Thank U Madam...they think we are 'snails' Lol !!!

• Ellen Lewis 10 years ago

The retroactive penalty seeking to be imposed by the NPP would be: that those who voted for and elected President Mahama would lose their vote if the petitioners should win their petition. Any one should be able to understand ...

• APUTOORRRR 10 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAAH SHIITTTTTTTTT

• John K. 10 years ago

my friend you make me laugh ooooo what a hell!!!!! vulture? you get it right.

• owuo(Belgie) 10 years ago

Any legal convict person spokes like mad and sometimes leave their legal breins in prision yard

• kofi 10 years ago

Gloria,hold your peace Tastsu can only teach what people like Nana and others have put in law books which l can do same.

• John K. 10 years ago

Gloria teach Tsatsu sense or english ok. You are good. He is using a word for people to say he is great but without even understand it. shocking. NPP will win the case.

• Papa Kwadwo 10 years ago

Did you write from your heart or your mind? Did you listen to the brilliant submissions by the three lawyers of the respondents? Your recall the Americans' intelligence report that predicted a win for the President? Tsatsu is ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

From the last address given by lawyer Addison,he gave a hint of failure in his attempt to persuade the judges.According to lawyer Addison,all the electoral pétitions in Africa have failed because of "technicalities and numbe ...

• Hero 10 years ago

adisson is too rude and ll loose the petition. the innocent voter cannot be punished for someones negligence.

If retroactive punishment is indeed not known to our law, then Tsatsu must be congratulated for arguing strongly against its application in Ghana. Gloria has apparently not finished learning from her former law lecturer. It i ...

• kB 10 years ago

Gloria, you better stop disturbing us, your uncle will soon go for his retirement

• E.O. Buabeng 10 years ago

I have heard people advocate that the sins of returning offices should not be visited on the electorate. Are those arguing this way including Tsatu saying that indeed statutory and constitutional violations occurred during th ...

• cosey adwenpa: germany. 10 years ago

Who killed Agya Atta,NDC OR

• TOGBEGAH 10 years ago

It was your father who killed him through African pistol - Juju. Naniama!

• Adongo 10 years ago

If you really cared about the voters you and your cohorts would not rig elections!

• Whatever 10 years ago

Was this woman expecting 5 million voters to go and force presiding officers to sign pink sheets and fill the it's entries correctly? NPP talk as if petrol is in their mouth

• Konfanko 10 years ago

Also known as Kofi Wayo can help you, "awuraa"! Set up an appointment, and Wayo will bring you up to speed on the current state of the law.
    "Yei, y3se bese beto"!

• KOIT Pice 10 years ago

Madam, stop your blind arguement. Your Boss lost the election. Stop it because you are losing your respect in society. Stop defending a dead man who wants to be president.

• Dan 10 years ago

This is referring to a court's decision or a statute enacted by a legislative body, which would result in an application to past transactions and legal actions. In criminal law, statutes which would increase penalties or make ...

• Dan 10 years ago

Tsastu got it wrongly in context here because whatever he meant to say did not fall under retroactive effect or penalty as he claimed."Retroactive penalty" as a word does not exist rather "retroactive effect"

Mr Lawyer, please google "retrospective penalty" or "retrospective penalties" and look and read the hits besides those pertaining to the story of Tsatsu. You are kidding, you know!

• Sumaila NDC MAN in Bolgatanga. 10 years ago

True Gloria is 100% right.I am NDC and that will never cloud my judgment.

• NYASAYENA 10 years ago

Shut up Gloria!what do you know about Law?Your Master and Teacher Tsatsu who thoughts you The Law of Jurisprudence is Talking about Law>just keep quiets and Listing to him as you did in Legon and leaned more from him

• FAFALI 10 years ago

Kokoase lawyer and ex-deputy AG nie ampa. Be humble and learn from others like Tsatsu. Retroactive penalty is a universal legal principle in criminal law. It is related to fundamental constitutional rights and involves punish ...

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Tsatsu did not waste his 30 minutes on "retroactive penalty" Madam Gloria.Tsatsu spent most of his time condemning the whole stupid petition based on the Constitution of the Republic of Ghana and not NPP's constitution.Why is ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

ou stole a book which was not yours and the owner claims his book back. Is that a panalty or retroactive penalty? I don't think so. I think the penalty would come in if Ec is sent to prison, which is a lawful detention for ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

A teacher stole a book which was not his and the owner claims his book back.Though he uses the book to teach his students. Is that a penalty or retroactive penalty for the students? I don't think so. I think the penalty would ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

It is not what you think ("I don't think so")that matters. It is the court that will make that determination, whether indeed the book is yours.

Too many stupid illiterates on here.

• Alhaji Alhassan-Binduri 10 years ago

The key issue now is that Ghanains must marry the concept of VALIDITY of votes cast not manufactured votes.

• Anukware 10 years ago

Listen and learn from him

• OMAN BA PA USA 10 years ago

Some persons think Tsatsu Tsikata has falling into pit full of shit. He knows nothing but to steal and go to jail Law. I wonder why NDC hail this man as a Law prominent. It is a shame to we the NDC party to hire Tsatsu to rep ...

• XYROID 10 years ago

Just read what this illiterate rat has written and you wonder if this person even has the brains to analyse what Tsatsu was driving at.

• J Ananga 10 years ago

Gloria eat humble pie and ask your former law teacher to explain to you what he means by retroactive penalty. Perhaps he did not teach you all the jargon. Don't be proud, ask him.

• Whatever 10 years ago

If laws can be described as retroactive, It stands to reason that it's derivatives like penalties or sentencing or even fines can also be described as retroactive. This is english phrase

• DD 10 years ago

A retroactive or retrospective law is one that takes away or impairs vested rights acquired under existing laws. Gloria I am not a law student but I think Tsikata is trying to tell the court that if certain votes get annulled ...

• Efo Canada 10 years ago

Do NDC care about poor voters in Ghana? And Afari Gyan also care ? you idiots and fools of this corrupt party can rnu but you can't hide and whatever goes round comes round ,you can insults wise men and women of Ghana but rem ...

• Seaman uk 10 years ago

NDC all the way NDC FOREVER THIS ALL DIE BE DIE MAN IS WASTING POWER ALL DIE BE DIE

• Sankofa 10 years ago

'Akuffo added President Mahama cannot plead innocence when in fact, he ordered people to vote without being verified and it appeared his order was carried out as was shown by the petitioners.'

When did President Mahama ord ...

• Papa Chris 10 years ago

Be creative Gloria. The teacher said retroactive effect so you think anytime the word retroactive comes it must be followed by effect? Your head die paaaaaaa. Go back to school.

• Konfanko 10 years ago

Their incessant demand to always "be in control" and to be "masters of the law", then perhaps they will learn something new! I hope he and the other members of their large contigent, will spend sometime reading through the ju ...

• Uncle 10 years ago

I like the photoshopped picture. It looks real nice

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

SOMEBODY SHOULD HELP ME UNDERSTAND THE TERM "FREE AND FAIR" WHICH IS OFTEN USED FOR GHANA'S ELECTION BEING CONTESTED IN COURT. FREE COULD MEAN WITHOUT ANY FORCE OR INTIMIDATION, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE "FAIR"?

• Walap 10 years ago

The free and fair doesn't mean absolute free and fair. It only means that all things being equal which may not be, it is free and fair.

• Kojo Diaz 10 years ago

Why people cant understand these words (retroactive penalty). Ghanaian voters went to the poll between 7am to 5pm and voted according to our electoral laws. 8 to 10 pm the presiding office refused to do his public duty by not ...

• BRANTFORD 10 years ago

NPP IS WASTING OUR MONEY THAT WE DONT HAV

• BRANTFORD 10 years ago

THIS KIDS ARE WASTING OUR MONEY

• BOY KOFI 10 years ago

Tsatsu said the SC should dismiss the stupid petition because it has no basis in law.He gave the example of KPMG's audit which exposed the anomalies in the so called evidence.He said the petitioners have failed to discharge ...

• ATOM 10 years ago

MS. APIO HAS OPENED THE MOUTH AGAIN?

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

Imagine what has happened at GYEMFA.

• ayus 10 years ago

Were did presidente mahamah sit vote without verification?

• Nicholas Adjei 10 years ago

Mr Tsatsu Tsikata was the Election Results a Penalty which was not given?let us live in Peace and Unity donot let Party politics divide us.

• Asea Ho 10 years ago

The NPP Went to Court in Ignorance and after the facts are out they are still Acting same. The truth is that the law exist. Tatsu won a case against NPP/Akuffo Addo pleading on the same law only for JAK to overturn the ruling ...

• kwasi 10 years ago

losers. pls lets us think oooooo

• Some day 10 years ago

If a robber robs a bank in February and is caught in March and is sent to jail in June, is that not a retroactive penalty - the robber is being punished for something that happened in the past.

• Asea Ho 10 years ago

That is justice xtra O if there was an existing law before the crime.

What Tatsu is saying is that you cannot create a law today and arrest a person who committed a crime yesterday an prosecute him/her using the law you cr ...

• Some day 10 years ago

You misunderstand - the NPP is saying that the irregularities etc that they are highlighting are breaches of existing law and constitutional provisions - all they are doing is asking to SC to rule that they are breaches of ex ...

• Kwami 10 years ago

Educated people should know that education has no end. They should learn from the learned Tsikata who introduced more new things to law education. This cannot be alien to the law.

• ADAM SOULE-MAN 10 years ago

WHAT A FRAUDULENT ELECTION .NDC KNEW AND MASTERMINDED THE FRAUD IN ELECTION 2012:NOT ONLY MAHAMA BUT THE NDC MPS USE THE SAME TRICKS TO MANIPULATE.
    GOD HAS JUST EXPOSE THEM.

The 29th of August, 2013 will be a day, Nkrumah will be happy in his grave!!! That day, those certificate less "lawyers" just making cacophonous noise in Ghana as if they are better than anyone in mother Ghana, will cry and w ...

• Honesty-the best policy! 10 years ago

NLM-UP-PP-PFP-NPP have been and shall forever remain an evil political party fostered by the devil himself to thwart the progress and development of Ghana.But GOD ALMIGHTY shall win the DAY for the advancement of Ghanaians to ...

I agree with you as these devils think they could do it to the Mighty Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah. He didn't and doesn't tolerate NONSENSE!! That led most of those internal collaborators to be imprisoned in the Nsawam till the ...

• Beema 10 years ago

Mr. Tsikata has given the SC judges something to think about.

• A Bugum 10 years ago

Must every word, phrase or sentence used or spoken in the courtroom have a legal origin or be tied to the legal profession? No.

Indeed there is something like "retroactive penalty" ( which is different from "Retroactive L ...