You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2013 05 16Article 274141

Election Petition: Fellow Justice fights Atuguba over Bawumia

Read Comments Comments (113)

• OBIBA-JUDAS 10 years ago

YES ATUBUGA IS AN NDC LAWYER.

• Advocate 10 years ago

Atugaba, meaning a thrown away child is absurd and should be taken away from the panel. He is full of humiliation.

• AshantiAkyimAkanSlaveBawumia 10 years ago

We all over the world have seen on screen, Bawumia is confused, and the questions from Tsatsu is now knocking him, Bawumia is mathematicaly dazed, his liars are much much more coming into light, I wonder how NPP is continued ...

• Efo Kossi Korve 10 years ago

In the normal panel hearing, the President of the Panel is the Primus inter pares and as a result what he says carries even when a member disagrees. What the female judge did was uncouth and greatly sins against the normal be ...

• ZONGO BOY 10 years ago

the president should not show his open biasness in open court to be handed a different view, obviously his way of looking at things is not fairness and the whole world is watching.

• SHAMO 10 years ago

BRILLIANT BAWUMIA IS KNOCKING THE HEADS OF NDC

• Nana Kofi Gyasi 10 years ago

THIS BIAS ATUGUBA IN A RULING SAID POLITICAL MATTERS ARE NOT ALLOWED IN THE COURT. WHY SHOULD HE ALLOW JAKE,S LETTER TO BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION BY THE COURT? ONCE WE ALL KNOW THAT JAKE,S LETTER HAS NO MEANING FOR THE C ...

• Nana Kofi Gyasi 10 years ago

I WOE THESE SO CALLED JUDGES TO THINK OF GHANA AND NOT THEIR TRIBE,PARTY,POCKET OR STOMACH TO DETERMIN THE WINNER. THEY SHOULD KNOW THAT OUR COUNTRY IS IN A VERY BIG TESTING OR EXAMINATION. A SMALL MISTAKE CAN PLUNDGE OUR N ...

• facts 10 years ago

Now it appears Atuguba is finding a way to bust up the moral of the disappointed NDC legal team in court but he should be careful not to loose public confidence. Though the human feeling is still there, trying to embarrass th ...

• KABIRU 10 years ago

EVERY WORD THAT WILL COME OUT OF THE LADY ON THE PANEL GOES TO SUPPORT NPP.WHAT IS HER NAME?... WELL AM NOT SURPRISED

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

I AM BEGINNING TO HAVE A VERY LOW OPINION OF THE LAW PROFESSION. IT IS JUST TERRIBLE. IF YOU GAVE SOME ONE A QUESTION YOU DO NOT EXPECT THE PERSON TO ANSWER IT THE WAY YOU WANT SO YOU SIMPLY TAKE HIS ANSWER AND DEDUCE FROM IT ...

• MMOBOROWAH 10 years ago

ONE THING IS AS CLEAR AS DAYLIGHT. SOME OF OUR SUPREME COURT JUDGES ARE USUALLY APPOINTED BY THE HEAD OF STATE WHEN HE ASSUMES OFFICE. USING THE AGE BARRIER, THOSE HE DOES NOT WANT ARE RETIRED. HE FINDS EXCUSES WHY THEIR N ...

• Good Citizen 10 years ago

she is one of the npp prostitutes that akuffo-addict screws and they think they can help him throughthe backdoor to become president.Ghanaians are watching.

• SHAMO 10 years ago

I TOLD YOU THAT THIS JUDGE IS NDC AND HERE HE IS NDC MANIFESTING IN HIM SO SOON! ATUGUBA ANY BIAS WILL COST YOUR HEAD! NDC FOOLS

• Trokosi-Ga AyigbeSlave, Mahama 10 years ago

It was in Atuguba's interest that NPP complained his chairing of the court but Atuguba being so loose, as has proven, should have avoided all these pressure on him by withdrawing his chairmanship.

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 10 years ago

Tsatsu's stumbling struggle to end his lengthy cross examination, the disappointing somber looks of his learned friends and a sigh of relief from the bench, were expressive epitome of time wasted and failure to deliver a punc ...

• Okyeame 10 years ago

Yes but to do do it openly is wrong,to object to a fellow panelist that was is absurd

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

If 5 other justices think that the question has been answered that is it. It has been answered. They do not have to listen to Atuguba.

• WILLIAM 10 years ago

wE ARE ARE ALL OBSERVING. Happily its live! The Presising judge must assert his authority, first to focus the and second to hasten the process. If it is a colleague who stumbles in his way so be it!!!

• JONES 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ALL OVER THE WORLD ARE SINGING THE PRAISES OF THIS MOST NOBLE, INTELLIGENT, HUMBLE AND HANDSOME YOUNG MAN. GHANA IS BLESSED.

• TerrbiY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

We all watching, Bamumia is exposed as liar and now trying to confuse the world by not giving direct answer, trying to twist the public biting around the bush, and that is exactly what Tsatsu is aiming at seeing him bit aroun ...

• NPPdelayingBitingAroundDeBush 10 years ago

Tsatsu now successfully made Bawumia bitting around the bush, and made him mathematically dazed and confused, successfully punching holes in the affidavits pink sheet showing duplications by NPP is already finishing NPP, more ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE. 10 years ago

Dr. Bawumia sinks Tsikata when asking
    senseless and useless questions.

Tsikata should be forced to end his useless and senseless questions wasting the time and resouces of majority people in this country.

Don't expect ...

• JAY BOADU 10 years ago

IS IT IGNORANCE THAT IS WORRYING YOU PEOPLE OR WHAT. THE PROCESS IS CROSS EXAMINATION AND QUESTIONS PUT MUST BE ANSWERED.

IF BAWUMIAH ANSWERS QUESTIONS PUT TO HIM WHAT MAKES HIM AN EXTRAORDINARY PRAISE WORTHY PERSON??

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

That makes him an extraordinary and praiseworthy and truth worthy person!!

• Trokosi-Ga Slave Mahama 10 years ago

People all over the world has witnessed how incompetente NDC rigged the election 2012 and paid Afari Djang to declare Mahama 'winner'.

• Ewusi 10 years ago

Truth is difficult to hear and it becomes more difficult when it is drown on a liar to speak the truth.

• Ewusi 10 years ago

You are so damn, can you not see that Bawumia is constantly lying and been very untruthful trying to be dogging the question, Tsatsu so far has been successful in exposing the invalidity of some of the pink sheet which what i ...

• Yaw B 10 years ago

Please let's all get serious as a people. The petitioners are in Court to plead on the face of the pink sheets, not on the contents of Jake's letter. Atuguba got it wrong when Tsatsu sought to reduce the case to Jake's letter ...

• Ruthan,Tema 10 years ago

Whether Atuguba is an NDC or not,the world is watching everybody at the SC.To us Bawumia is the surprise package from the hearing so far.Not much was known of him till this period,he is doing well.

• OSKD 10 years ago

Atugubah's vote is for the NDC; so therefore if there should be a stalemate amongst the eight judges,Atugubah's vote would make the NDC carry the day!

• Nationalist 10 years ago

WHAT KIND OF JUDGE IS THIS? WHO MADE HIM A JUDGE. HE THINKS HE IS THE MOST INTELLIGENT BEING. PREJUDICED AND FOOLISH UGLY SOB OF A JUDGE.

• Papa 10 years ago

May be u can insult your own father,if u. Ve one.

REMEMBER, ATUGUBA IS PAID WITH MY TAX DOLLARS. HE HAS NO RIGHT TO BEHAVE FOOLISHLY. IF HE DOES, I HAVE A RIGHT TO CALL HIM TO ORDER. UNDERSTOOD? MR. FOOLISH "papa"

• Gandalf 10 years ago

Please let us keep our comments decent. Judges always differ in their views. Even lawyers do. But the truth is somewhere in between. WE MUST NOT USE THIS FORUM TO DENIGRATE OUR JUDGES AND POLITICISE THE BENCH IN THIS SERIOUS ...

• REBEL LEADER 10 years ago

This man is tarnishing his own image.

• YOUNG LOVE 10 years ago

Thanks for the internet, this news is read all over the world.
    The Atuguba is also being judged by other judges.

• kobina 10 years ago

It appears to me that Justice Atuguba is becoming increasingly authoritarian in his outbursts. He is the president of this bench of justices, not a presiding judge. I hope the other members of the bench will be more assertive ...

• Alex 10 years ago

I don't get why Atuguba is saying Bawumia's answer is insufficient if what is in the article is true.

• Kwame 10 years ago

As you could follow in the article, there cannot be any other information. The truth is in there. However, the chairman clearly wanted the issues to be pushed toward certain directions, which are not anyway. It's a good idea ...

• tumbor 10 years ago

The question was that Jake made a press conference and announced to the world that the NPP has come across "widespread and consistent fraud" by the EC. In their submission in court, the word fraud was omitted. Tsatsu was a ...

• ZONGO BOY 10 years ago

bawumia answered the question but not to the chairman's satisfaction or his liking, he should have taken his answer as said. there would not have been any interrupton from the female judge. take answers or leave it and make y ...

• Klutse 10 years ago

What other answer did you want? Ei, ghana people. I do trust Atuguba so far for his handling of the parties, but I think he was off the mark because Bawumia's explanation was that "“... we had so many allegations and compla ...

• Alex 10 years ago

But is what Bawumia said different from what you just said?

• Alex 10 years ago

No, as written in the article Tsatsu wanted to know if the allegation of fraud was not true. Which I think Bawumia as a Dr. correctly answered. Let me explain why:

I hold PhD. in Mathematics. In maths sometimes you come ...

• Alex 10 years ago

As written in the article Tsatsu wanted to know if the allegation of fraud was not true. Which I think Bawumia as a Dr. correctly answered. Let me explain why:

I hold PhD. in Mathematics. In maths sometimes you come across ...

• Yaw B 10 years ago

Did you read Bawumia's response in the article? He meant that it would have been difficult to argue their case had they alleged fraud in their petition. Hence they referred to the pink sheets. Clearly, Tsatsu has run out of q ...

• Akua 10 years ago

I was recently a witness in a criminal case in the UK and although not the same here making the slightest comparison of general court process and the pursuit of justice makes me find this one farcical. If a witness who is in ...

• Koo Emma 10 years ago

Akua, I was just thinking aloud the same way you have written. This is purely an election petition and you are out to prove the credibility of witness? If we had one or two months period to solve an electoral petition before ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Koo Emma, I agree with your line of reasoning,just as Akua earlier noted. I thought the supreme court was going check the petitioner's claim and evidence, which some of them are mere counting exercise.

• ECOMINI 10 years ago

If Bawumia is asked a question and he does not answer it, you move on. That is to his detriment. You do not HARASS AND TRY TO EMBARRASS a witness, especially coming as it does from no mean person but the panel chair. Atuguba ...

One does not have to use the exact same words to mean the same thing. Have you heard of Synonyms?

• Selassie Dzokoto 10 years ago

Don't you guys worry too much, because Atuguba will not alone make the final decision. It will be brought to vote and i can bet, not all of them are as corrupt. Some or to be exact most, will uphold their integrity by giving ...

• Okai 10 years ago

These are the people Rawlings refer to sometime ago as having the trust of Ghanaians for protection. This shouldn't have happened in court. We all heard it too. Please all court should be fitted with equipments that all perso ...

• UFO 10 years ago

No partisan. But I think the anwer given by Bawumiah is okay from what has transpired so far.

• Good Citizen 10 years ago

at least more knowledgealbe and handsome than your drug addict

SAYS WHO? IS THAT HOW A JUDGE COMPORTS HIMSELF? SOMETIMES PEOPLE LIKE YOU ARE BLINDED BY FOOLISHNESS. BY THE WAY, WHO TOLD YOU I HAVE ANY DRUG ADDICT? IDIOT.

• St Trinian 10 years ago

If the president of a court becomes a bully, he will automatically create sympathy or the witness and lawyers being bullied. It looks as if the president of the SC lacks selF-control. He made an extremely damaging POLITICAL s ...

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I know who the two judges will vote for. I just want the other judges to talk more so that I can make up my mind who wins this case. Silly people.

• NII LAMPTEY 10 years ago

MY LORD THANK YOU FOR EXPOSSING JUSTICE ATUGUBA,I HAVE NOTED LONG AGO THAT THIS ATUGUBA HAS BEEN CAUSIONING EVERY TIME AND REMINDING THE PETITIONERS OF HIS POWERS TO DO AND UNDO AND I WONDER WHY. I HAVE AWAYS SEEN HIS ACTION ...

• Joseph Boadi- Boateng 10 years ago

The man Atuguba's mame sounds technical and so elicits justice in the same manner. He fails to apply ethics and justice to come out with principled and fair rulings.

NPP have a daunting task fighting a corrupt government ...

• Jon 10 years ago

The man needs to be watched. Bawumia's answer was though the letter written by JAKE inferred there was some form of fraud, after the NPP sitting down and doing their investigation, their findings the malpractises they brought ...

• Ghanaba KK 10 years ago

Is the judge the only disenting judge in the 8-1 ruling to uphold the questioning of Bawumia?
    I suspect that the judge did that to arouse NPPists anger against Atuguba.
    Why provoke someone?
    HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,we are wat ...

• Alex 10 years ago

Please stop such speculations. You don't have proof.

• joey l0ndon 10 years ago

what proof do you need? Everybody is aware THAT she was the only one who voted against papa Tsikata ways of questioning Dr. Bawumia PERIOD.

• Alex 10 years ago

where is the proof? I can't see it you are just speculating, e.g. Atuguba also sometimes has problems with Tsikata line of questioning so how can you tell if that one person was female or not.

• somebody 10 years ago

'No i dont think so', answers the question. what kind of answer was Atuguba expecting? when Bawumia was answering to the question, Atuguba was giving certain comments alongside so he did not hear Bawumia's answer in full.

• Princess 10 years ago

Make money from Tilapia farming.Attend Tilapia Fish farming seminar.For more info visit www.freshdewconsult.net

• NYANSAYENA 10 years ago

Liars Liars Liars! NPP Lying to Ghanians about 2012 Election Finally has been expose in Supreme Court They are now No longer relying on they shifting goal post now.

• Princess 10 years ago

Make money from pig farming.Get the details here: www.pigfarming.webs.com

• KWESI 10 years ago

TRAVEL AND WORK IN AUSTRALIA.GET A WORK PERMIT AND
    ACCOMMODATION. THERE IS ALS0 DEALS FOR USA,UK,KOREA AND SOUTH AFRICA. CALL WILLIE ON 0249318847 FOR FURTHER INFO.THANKS.

• Nii Kootse. 10 years ago

“He has answered it”. Why all these cross examinations when there are papers to be checked and allegations prove right or wrong, thereby making an elephant out of an an Ant. So it has been with these colonial judges who p ...

• Zip Up 10 years ago

I keep on saying this Petition will expose how low our Judicial System appear to be, okay let us look at the whole issue in this way,The petitioners mock at our Finest Electoral Commission ,as Corrupt semi-illiterate end they ...

• JONES 10 years ago

I think we´ve had too much of these criminals in this country. Now, it is very clear that the NPP has already lost the case and they are now finding faults on the chairman. What kind of human beings are these bush rats? Isn ...

• Di Asempa 10 years ago

You've got it all wrong! Just substitute all that is NPP in your write-up with NDC and that is the plain truth!

Anger has gotten the better part of you you can't even reason properly except to churn out unprovoked insults ...

• joseph 10 years ago

The fact is Atuguba is an NDC man! I dont know why such a person is a chairman. The fact that he is a chairman does not mean he is higher than the others. He must keep quite

• OMANBA PA USA 10 years ago

From the beginning NPP party protested against Atuguba being part of the panel of the judges hearing the supreme court case. Now people are beginning to understanding them. He is not fair to Dr Bawumiah at all. For me Atuguba ...

• KOKI 10 years ago

Oyiwa! Asem yi nna eda ho yi. I said it. Right from day 1, I sensed from the varying pronoucements of Justice Atuguba he's there to unjustifiably defend the indefensible! He must be pleased he was made the head of the Justice ...

• Gasco 10 years ago

The female justice do not have a name? shame unto the writer,

• Ayeribi 10 years ago

Well, Gasco, I thought the omission of the name of the female Justice by the writer is trivial. You know we have pertinent issues on hand and so we need to focus our energies on them to get the best solution for the country.

• Yaw 10 years ago

What kind of foolishness is this? Bawumiah was asked if accusations of fraud were true or not. What has this question got to do with ".. there were allegations and complains.. and we that is why we are in court..? How the hel ...

• Koo Emma 10 years ago

Yaw, what is before the court? Did the petitioners allege fraud in their affidavit? You are complaining about Ghanaians, but this the Supreme court of Ghana and nowhere else.

• Alex 10 years ago

Please Yaw, the answer is contained in
    the first sentence “No I cannot say that” since they were allegations and and which they can't prove. So he does not know if the allegation is true or not. In my view the correct ...

• Yaw Berfi 10 years ago

This subscribe to the opinion that this case is in bad faith and should not be upheld by the judges. This is a case of precedence and the petitioners by this case are seeking to redefine, first of all, the role of polling age ...

• Alex 10 years ago

What then can you say about the information on the pink sheets as both of us were there? Isn't this what the petitioners are challenging? Is it right for people to be paid with tax-payers money and do such a shoddy job as we ...

• Koo Emma 10 years ago

Yaw, I beg to differ. By your logic, you are saying that if you employ a security man and you don't train him wll enough to defend you and armed robbers attack you you have no purpose going to the police to lodge a complaint ...

• Yaw Berfi 10 years ago

There was no case of arm robbery. That is what I am saying and that is what you are blatantly refuse to accept. Your watch man signed that statement. He was given the option and the automatic machine gun to fight back all rob ...

• KWEKU TWENEBOA 10 years ago

NPP is counting on polically-biased bench to subvert the will of the people. But they lie BAAAAAAAAAAD.

• Nana Amoah,Germany 10 years ago

Ghana politicians realise that about 80% of Ghanaians are shallow minded

• Kaduna Mafia 10 years ago

sharply divided

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

With the outrageously despicable show of bias "ayaricough syndrome" caught out with Atuguba, how can Ghanaians honestly have faith in him that he is not going to throw our much enviably won democracy and justice to the dogs?

• TAPCOOL 10 years ago

hmmmmm atuguba should be carefull oooo this is a delicate matter. he seems to suporting one side.

• TA USA 10 years ago

Good Citizen, I totally agree with you. From the cradle stage of the court proceding the female justice has been baby sitting Bawumia . Now she is openly exposing herself as a close friend of Gloria Akufo Addo and a sex partn ...

• Alex 10 years ago

I mean no insult. I hope this female is your mother. Let us learn to respect and celebrate our females who have made it in life. It is not easy to rise in an environment where you are seen as a minority. It is unfair to th ...

HIS BIAS IS SHOWING UP

• Facts 10 years ago

Yes i agree with you, did you see how he shouted at Addison to sit down? How many times has Tsikata not challenged the charges and even insulted Addison, Did Atuguba shout. Ohh the whole world is watching so he should watch o ...

• BUKARI NAABA 10 years ago

ATUGUBA ALWAYS HAVE A PROBLEM WITH ANY ANSWER BAWUMIA GIVES TO TSIKATA.THIS IS BECAUSE HE IS THERE FOR NDC INTEREST. HIS CONSISTENT ATTACK ON BAWUMIA CONCERNING HIS ANSWERS CLEARLY SHOWS HIS BIAS AGAINST THE NPP.

• Onslopogas 10 years ago

That is the reason why we have more than one person at the panel.They should be bold and fearless.We are watching!!

• Lorgo Ligri 10 years ago

Atuguba, yes she has her way of looking at things. Do you want and expect all the Justices to look and think as you do? If it was so, the CJ would have asked you only to be on the bench. Wake up my dear friend, you're beginin ...

• Yabah 10 years ago

and what happened next ?

• osei kingsley, lagos 10 years ago

Bamawuah dhd not answer the question.What he said was only a useless context.are you people not wasteing funds on ths vain and supacilious case FOR NOTHING SAKE?

• Prince Kabowa 10 years ago

Atuguba is biased!

• Nana 10 years ago

Atuguba has made the international community see either he can't think fast enough or he is timid and bias. If the allegations were found to true, then the election could be said to fraudulent. Tsikata and Atugyba must face r ...

• osei yao 10 years ago

Well, the show is getting interesting. Readers think Dr Bawumia did not answer the question put to him. The npp leadership has scandalised the EC chairman and the NDC with cobspiracy to steal votes and bribery. Tsikata has a ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Atuguba is the Presiding judge, not the president of the nine member panel. Those female judges on the panel are joking with VOTES DECLARED BY THE EC. They are obviously naive who don't know the consequency of seeking to thro ...

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

It seems very clear from your own reporting that the "female justice" as you describe her, was in the wrong because the witness indeed DID NOT answer the question posed by counsel.

He gave an evasive response which was a ...

• grace 10 years ago

i wont be surprised it was sofia akufo making those comments. that is what you should expect when you put a cousin to the petitioner on the bench. you can never withold the truthand that was exactly what justice akatugba want ...

• ama ghana 10 years ago

Is about time we blacks have to stop yes sir whether right or wrong. We have 9 judges on the bench but it seems, its only the presiding who does most of the talking why? 8 judges, u are not there to vote only but to express ...

• atuguba you are bulshit 10 years ago

atuguba is ndc supporter so he is doing bias,atuguba has been bribed by mahama to rigg NPP .may God punishes atuguba for doing bias

• atuguba you are bulshit 10 years ago

you don't need to involve him as panel member because he is ndc supporter

• Pee 10 years ago

Arugula s NFC
    What about Chief Justice?

• Concern Ghanian 10 years ago

I BLAME CHIEF JUSTICS FOR THIS

• Concern Ghanian 10 years ago

JUSTICE MEAN WITHOUT TAKING SIDE