'If Free SHS was such a big winner, why didn't the NPP come back' - Prof Aryeetey

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Cooli0 1 month ago

Foolish prof.

• JJ 1 month ago

Idiots like you (Cooli0) also have a vote.

• FREEDY - USA- GHANA 1 month ago

Alan Kyerematen’s New Party Redefines Ghana’s Political Landscape

In recent years, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s leadership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has drawn criticism from some members who claim t ...

• Karikakchar 1 month ago

Interesting perspective from the Prof. Free SHS might not have retained thr NPP but I'm sure if the NDC should touch it, it will affect their electoral fortune

• Simeon London 1 month ago

I was disappointed with the Prof!

I watched the Prof on Channel One TV last night. I must say I was disappointed with the Profs statement. I believe that after 7/8 ears of the policy people saw it as an entitlement. And ...

• Emmanuel 1 month ago

Was the FSHS the only issue in Ghana that could go against the NPP?

• Fifi 1 month ago

Who lies like NPP? The most regrettable thing that happened to Ghana. Propaganda into power and nothing else than corruption. Ghanaians are not stupid; we have learnt our lessons. As for Nana Addo, the least talked about him ...

• Kwame King 1 month ago

It is a very profound statement from statesman. The simplest way to manage free SHS is first compell students to go to school in their district. Then those who fail to go school in their district must pay a half of the total ...

• Adzei 1 month ago

Stupid! A whole Prof with this stupid logic. May be we should change the University of Ghana after you left so many uncompleted buildings that the university is still paying for. Stupid logic.

• Tony 1 month ago

Adzie, you are such a useless person, an idiot and mentally sick person. You hate the truth because it hurts. Foolish man you are and book rusted person. You can’t even evaluate what was packaged to the secondary educatio ...

• Kojo 1 month ago

Tony, am not surprise you are insulting because the whole professor is making this useless and baseless comment like this. You call this a truth you people said mahama done very well in 2012 till 2016 so why ghanaians voted h ...

• ST Ghfuo: Canadians are dishonest, liars, Gh leaders are fools 1 month ago

Their corruption, galamsay and scandals were bigger losers

• SAEED OSMAN 1 month ago

They didn't come back because they were nasty, corrupt, incompetent, arrogance, thieves who nearly bankrupted Ghana. They never did anything for the sake of the country or the next generation. Everything they did was designe ...

• Opoku Amsterdam 1 month ago

SAEED,.Whst is so surprising about Npp losing the 2024 elections. After all, the party had done 8 years already and wanted to break the 8 which was a novelty.What is surprising is the for a sitting President to lose electio ...

• Kk 1 month ago

My name sake you've said it all.
    The 2016 lose was and it's still historic and the Waterloo of NDC that's why they never want to talk about it and wish it never happened.
    Some ignorant NDC folks even want to create the f ...

• Jnr 1 month ago

@KK mumu, what a confused person you are! Read over your comment and see whether you are making any sense

• Oprege 1 month ago

SUCH AN EDUCATED FOOL

• Atiemo 1 month ago

Wo maame y3 bodamfuor, #Oprege

• Oprege 1 month ago

Aboa bi ba Atiemo

• Dealome 1 month ago

WHY DID YOU INSULT HIM?

• TRUTH 1 month ago

SO YOU WAITED FOR EIGHT YEARS BEFORE CRITICIZING THE NANA ADDO LED NPP AND FREE SHS. MANY OF YOU ACADEMICIANS IN GHANA KEPT MUTE EVEN WHEN THE SHS POLICY WAS FACING CHALLENGES. YOU COULDN'T TELL NANA ADDO TO HIS FACE THAT TH ...

• Baba 1 month ago

So this man too is a professor?

• Sam Fante warrior. 1 month ago

The free water, free light and free SHS all was scammed. Useless Criminals Nasty Peoples Party.

• Truth 1 month ago

No govt has the balls to even review it! As we are all interested in power and afraid of the people, even if it will kill all...only talk talk...they will go to freeshs and come and do galamsey for these politicians and big m ...

• Justrac Africa LTD 1 month ago

Website could help you get more customers and look more professional. At Justrac Africa we build clean, quality websites for small businesses like yours. Cost:1,500Gh. Domain, hosting & designing. Call/WhatsApp: 0501796870 Js ...

• Kweku 1 month ago

Free SHS is bogus and it has destroyed secondary school education in Ghana. Our boarding schools are overcrowded with numerous students and are packed into small dormitories

• Sule 1 month ago

You are absolutely right.

• Nene Bi 1 month ago

Foolish man, another idiot looking for a position. Please don't listen to him; he is a disgrace. Go pay the money you stole from Legon Aboa

• Fianyo 1 month ago

What a garbage from a supposedly, learned, educated professor. Mr Professor do you know the cumulative effect and impact of the FSHS in the next 10-20 years?

Mr Professor in Ghana and Africa people don’t vote on issues ...

• Peter 1 month ago

Fianyo, I think the discussion should be on how government is able to let kids of parents that evidentially cannot support paying for boarding school to go to boarding school for free.it is true many people from the North wen ...

• BIG EYE IS WATCHING YOU. 1 month ago

The past government has always brought something in its term of office. Health insurance, Ghana card and free Education. Can the current government boast of any? This time they should also try to do something.

• Yak 1 month ago

Professor, you cannot represent the parents of Ghana with your own ideas. You only do not want your own privileged children to be in the same dormitory or class with the children of the gardeners of the University of Ghana ir ...

• Kay de 1 month ago

Im disappointed on the respectef prof. How can such an effusion come from him. Then he should tell Mahama to cancel it.

• Kumepreko 1 month ago

This man don't deserve his accolades to be called a professor

• Kofi 1 month ago

Prof it's not too late to cancel it.

• Mr Ibu 1 month ago

Why not suggest ways to improve quality rather recommending review? We can still keep the free shs as everyone needs free and then work to improve quality because cancelling or limiting will also have political implications f ...

• Hannan 1 month ago

~~~~ Hot girls are waiting for you on -- Sex24.fun

• Kwesi Atta 1 month ago

Prof. I am sorry, I think you got it wrong here. How can paying for Boarding, as you say, bring quality students to parents? I can't think far! I believe that how to produce quality education must be a different discussion al ...

• Jon J 1 month ago

Free shs is stil a game changer, it has to be improved

• Boss 1 month ago

Wicked people are always so quick to suggest to government to let parents pay. Parents have been paying ever since independence, what has been the quality? Do people like you think you got quality education? Is it because the ...

• Sage 1 month ago

You're an idiot.
    Such nonsense from a prof.

• Efo 1 month ago

Such statement will only come from someone from Volta region, northern region and Greater Accra region. They are so backward and inward looking that the so call educated don't want the under privilege to progress in life.

• Abugre 1 month ago

This prof is not thinking right. Anyone suggesting free tuition, but paid feeding is an enermy of the poor. This government has tried to push more students to day schools.

• Dumb and senile old professor 1 month ago

Will a professor of merit sound empty and dumb like that? Mr professor, the people voted the NPP out because of the 8 years jinx and not that parents want to pay boarding fees. How will parents not be happy with good results ...

• world 1 month ago

selfishman

• KWASI IN EUROPE 1 month ago

So this stupid man was also a vice-chancellor? Does he not know that instead of 7 years schooling has reduced to just 3 years for a person to enter university?

• Do little 1 month ago

Usless and empty talk. Is the FSHS the only issue which Ghanaians vote on? Perhaps the is a happy about the current exorbitant money parents are paying now.

• Kojois 1 month ago

Are you such. Which Africa country produce quality education. Hypocrites. Do you think the current govt is doing well than the previous administration. Education should not the sole responsible for govt.

• Koti 1 month ago

Prof, what about graduates from our universities? Tell Ghanaians paying for boarding can change the quality of SHS education? You have said nothing!

• Cobold 1 month ago

Are we being told that the free SHS was the single denominator/ determinant in last year's elections. Were there not other factors that determined the elections outcome. I find it very difficult to understand why some people ...

• POURFENDEUR DE LA CORRUPTION/ANTI-CORRUPTION 1 month ago

How did this person(prof) become the leader of an institution like Legon. Or he was also appointed by the incompetent one in his first term. A professor who speaks without data! In fact, Ghana has been thrown to the dogs. Ana ...

• Tom 1 month ago

All these people are bunch of funken idiots

• Citizen8 1 month ago

Prof Aryeetey, I want to believe that you've been misquoted. Certainly FSHS isn't the only variable voters consider in their voting decision.

• Alhaji Alhaji 1 month ago

Just to downplay policies of the previous government so that he could get something from the current government.Usless man

• Abusuapanin 1 month ago

Is this ANIMAL a Professor? His IQ is very, very low. NPP lost the elections because of people like you who went round to tell LIES about everything the NPP did. Which parent was not happy with Free SHS under NPP? You, Mahama ...

• Peter 1 month ago

If parents in the school are not ready to pay to support their kids why do you expect old students to continue contributing to the school infrastructure and services? It makes no sense.

• Eric 1 month ago

How can a professor talk like this?even a shoe shine boy may not talk this way education is the best which ever way

• Augustina Quayson 1 month ago

Please Prof, look at all the Northerners that President Mahama has appointed into his government. Please they are all beneficiaries of free boarding in secondary schools and high institutions introduced by Presid ...

• Timbuktu 1 month ago

You are being stupid here, @Augustina! This is what you have to learn today.... Kwame Nkrumah operated a "targeted free education policy", not the shambolic, unplanned, unbudgeted, and policy-less program that your Kyebi chim ...

• Jubilee House Rat. 1 month ago

@Timbuktu! You said Kwame Nkrumah’s Free education policy was to deprive the Southerners, so the Northerners could be benefited from the so-called « Targeted Education Policy? » am I missing something here. Please expla ...

• Pelicles. 1 month ago

Don't debate that guy. Nkrumah saw that the northerners were interested in following goats to graze more than going to school and that is why he gave them that opportunity. Even with all that, look at them. After everything, ...

• Ghanani 1 month ago

Prof I think you were dada ba you were fed on a silver spoon remember that knowledge is key to life.How many people had the privilege that you had.Let me tell you the truth my parents could not afford just 24 credits to put m ...

• What a black man’s country. 1 month ago

Even their professors lack common sense and very greedily foolish

• Nana 1 month ago

This guy is a professor but can’t realize that tuition was free before Free SHS. It is free boarding that has given birth to free SHS.it is no more fee SHS if students have to pay for boarding.

• Kee 1 month ago

Because of the propaganda lies your NDC spew out on the masses. Tweaaaa, apuuuuuuuu

• Prophet Larry 1 month ago

After the general election I observed the jubilation of the populace especially those from the deprived localities in Ghana. I saw youth from the zongo communities shouting give us buta and take away your shs. I thought perha ...

• Korsrokorbor 1 month ago

NPP did not lose because of Free SHS, it lost because they were bad managers of the country in total. Government and private land grabbing, daylight stealing by technocrats and others wielding academic Laurels, total stubborn ...

• Stone 1 month ago

It was due to other factors...galamsey...lgbtq...state capture...1 cedi kenkey...24 hr economy...cathedral looting...family and friends...removal of cj and ec...lack of free speech....etc...luckily all these factors have been ...

• Pelicles. 1 month ago

Ghana, we are where we are due to creature like this stomach foolish professor. Is this a real human or he also part of the fools who slighter on their stomach like a snake trailing Mahama for some leftovers.

In Ghana, I a ...

• Akyemdie Joshua 1 month ago

Good point , Prof.! In addition to that, the free SHS system was only designed to score useless political points. Now, the actually rejection of the NPP with plus 1.7 million votes were due to; arrogance, the national cathedr ...

• African mentality 1 month ago

Why worry about Ken Ofori Atta and his Databank? Even Elon Musk who thrives on the US government contracts is not being investigated by the US government. Africans and ‘ skin pain’

• The Truth 1 month ago

Sorry, Prof. Free SHS has broken boundaries among schools. the policy targets the future. It is the responsibility of students to learn, write and pass exams with the support of the government, parents and teachers. Under thi ...

• Mansa 1 month ago

Stupid talk indeed.
    Very unfortunate effusions from a former leader of an institution like Legon.
    It makes you wonder how he got there in the first place.

• Bobo 1 month ago

Is this so called professor serious? Lol. The dumbest statement ever heard from a professor.

• James 1 month ago

Because of politics look at what a professor is saying. There is np truth in this country. So because NPP lost the election, the free SHS was not a winner. Do parties used only one policy to win an election? This argumen ...

• Yaw 1 month ago

You people are the reason this country will stay backwards look at what you are saying you went to school free during your time your children also the same but you are speaking nonsense to us what have you achieved for the co ...

• Paa 1 month ago

Prof, why do you allow yourself to be insulted this way? Next time talk like an academic but not like a politician. Declare your stance as a politician so that you would be addressed accordingly, if that's the way you want to ...

• SAMUEL 1 month ago

I HAVE NON EXPIRED DATA BUNDLE FOR SALE FOR ALL NETWORKS
    10GB-30GHS
    20GB-40GHS
    30GB-50GHS
    37GB-60GHS
    CALL/TEXT ME TO GET SOME RIGHT NOW (0503256521)

• Kwame 1 month ago

Just common sense. And when I don't know why we don't get it.

• Kaklo 1 month ago

Mass deceit
    And students knew it and voted against them
    Half baked students

• Ende 1 month ago

Fact is,, most the children don't learn. Especially the Day Students.

• Yaw Ofosu 1 month ago

The learned Prof and former Vice Chancelor of the UG was my senior at Presec. I find the vilifications his statement has attracted, most unfortunate.

My view of the FSHS is that it was wrongly targeted. It should have been ...

• Okatakyie 1 month ago

Pedestrian!

• Kotey 1 month ago

This professor is a respectable man, somebody should tell him that if he has nothing sensible to say, he should not display his stupidity by commenting on anything just because he wants to be heard.

• Kwame Saka 1 month ago

Professor, let’s go back to Free education for the people from northern Ghana who were beneficiaries of Free SHS and the Universities; including President Mahama. From your assertion I am guessing it was wrong to give the N ...

• VK 1 month ago

When fools come to power foolish men abound

• Francis Boateng 1 month ago

My problem with this prof is that he did not show any research he has conducted to support his claim that parents are not happy with the FSHS. He is therefore not credible.

• Jibril 1 month ago

Why must so-called intellectuals always seek to score cheap political points when making arguments. Yes, the NPP started the FSHS in 2017 or so after it was elected. It went on to win the 2020 elections but lost in 2024. So, ...

• Nii 1 month ago

BECAUSE IT WAS NUETURIZED BY CURRPTION

• Nii 1 month ago

BECAUSE IT WAS NUETURIZED BY CURRUPTION

• Obuobisa 1 month ago

Did prof really say that. Does he think electoral fortunes hinges on only one sector of the economy. Pathetic

• Rev Joseph Wiredu 1 month ago

Education brings development, not development brings education" reflects the idea that education is a primary driver of development, while development in turn can create conditions that support education. A population that is ...

• Rev Joseph Wiredu 1 month ago

HOW EDUCATION DRIVERS DEVELOPMENT
    1.Invcreases human capacity: Education equips individuals with the knowledge, skills and abilities needed for the workforce, making them more productive and efficient.
    2. BOOSTS ECONOMIC ...

• CB Agyeman 1 month ago

Please Dr.help define quality education in your own understanding and jestapose it to what we had before the introduction of FSHS and see if what you are saying make sense.Has Ghana ever provided its citizens Qualiry Educati ...

• Sister Soulja 1 month ago

Exactly, pay for boarding or make all schools day schools. We can't afford the luxury of having boarding schools all over the country. Even the advanced countries all public secondary schools are day schools

• Eric Mensah 2 weeks ago

Free education policy benefits can't be seen in eight years but sure in the near future we will see it's benefits. Can you imagine what and where this country will be if every Ghanaian born since 1957 has a secondary educatio ...