BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ghanaian Youth Voice Discontent Over Government’s Failure to End Galamsey
Accra, Ghana — October 9, 2025
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’s continued inability to end illegal small-scale mining, popularly known as GALAMSEY.
In a statement released this week, the group criticized both the previous New Patriotic Party (NPP) administration and the current National Democratic Congress (NDC) government for failing to deliver on promises to eliminate the practice, which continues to cause severe environmental degradation across the country.
The association recalled that former President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo once vowed to end galamsey even if it meant putting his presidency on the line. However, according to the group, the situation worsened under his leadership, a factor they believe contributed to the NPP’s electoral defeat 2024.
Turning to the current NDC administration, the youth pointed out that President John Dramani Mahama also pledged to address illegal mining with the same determination that ended the dumsor energy crisis in 2015. Yet, after nearly nine months in office, the group says illegal mining remains at its peak.
> “If President Mahama fails to resolve the galamsey menace as he did with dumsor, the youth of Ghana will be deeply disappointed in both the NPP and the NDC,” the statement read. “At that point, young people will be compelled to look for an alternative political force that genuinely prioritizes environmental protection and the future of our nation.”
Environmental experts have consistently warned about the long-term effects of galamsey, including pollution of major rivers, destruction of arable lands, and loss of biodiversity. Despite numerous anti-galamsey task forces and policy interventions over the years, the practice remains widespread.
The Youth Association’s statement adds to the growing public pressure on the Mahama administration to take decisive and transparent action against illegal mining operators, regardless of their political affiliations
MAKE MONEY WITH A VIABLE SKILL & CHANGE YOUR LIFE - IT'S THAT SIMPLE, START WITH THIS!!! 2 months ago
Where capital for business could stop you, your Skills would elevate you! As the new month kicks in, take stock, how will U invest to earn better? Would you waste another 31days? You EARN from what U LEARN & APPLY to solve problems; and what you earn in just one day with this skilled-service business will far outweigh the token you pay to learn this skill. Remember: The smartphone repairs & accessories business is a daily cash flow hub — a true beehive of opportunity: Fix, Flash, Sell accessories.That's raw cash changing hands every day. With everyone owning a smartphone, and problems always arising, this is a never-ending opportunity stream. Learn This Skill. Launch Your Own Business. Start Earning Daily. Don’t just scroll comment threads— invest in knowledge, and reap financial rewards. Whether you're looking to:* Earn daily cash, *Start a service-based business, *Or even break into high-paying IT careers .Get Chukky Oparandu’s Guidebooks: Perfect for you — or someone close who's just idling around. Join the thousands who’ve transformed their lives by following this proven path. NOW Search "Chukky Oparandu" on Amazon Or visit [selar.co/m/chukky). French Edition Available! "Gagnez de l'Argent en Réparant des Téléphones & Tablettes". Don’t miss his blockbuster career guide:“IT Career: A Roadmap”. Have you read Bill Gates' AI forecast on future jobs? This is one of the future-proof skills! Jobs would be lost.ACT NOW! #SmartphoneRepair #FlashPhones J,i9
WG 2 months ago
Do you need any of the following: Website Redesign, Website Traffic, Website Ranking on top on Google search engine, Google business Account, Company business email accounts etc...Then contact us.www.webgateconsult.com or 0244289681
FACT 2 months ago
The Free Education has helped the North. President Mahama from the North needs to offer the same free education to help the South too.
Free admissions for the qualified
Free school fees
Free boarding and free lodging
Fr ... read full comment
The Free Education has helped the North. President Mahama from the North needs to offer the same free education to help the South too.
Free school fees
Free text books
Free uniforms
No PTA dues. No WAEC exam fee. No sports fees
The NPP Government did it. The NDC Government can do it and must do it.
Sethoo 2 months ago
Check John Mahama appointments, most of them are Northerners and some very foolish Voltarians. Akans only come in where he feels there will be much scrutiny. Most of these Northerners are only talkative like the AG.
Efo Juju 2 months ago
How can anybody have specialties in maritime law, commercial law, land law, constitutional law and international law?
Kwasi 2 months ago
Appointing NDC Judges in Mahama's bid to dilute justice depensation without recourse to financial implications. God will judge Mahama
Justrac Africa LTD 2 months ago
Protect your home and property with our RELIABLE Electric fence, CCTV cameras, Video doorbell and Automated gates systems. Call/WhatsApp us; 0501796870. Eywttwff
Meet Russian hacker base in all bank loading cc top fixed crdit score 2 months ago
We are sending wim 0 04 47853053870
Bank flashing stays in the account ... read full comment
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
[1/16, 12:59 AM] Oxford: Pll: Bank wire transfer to all countries
Bitcoin flashing to all country
Direct deposit bank loading to America, Loading
Debit card and credit load contact 00447853053870 hamzaben
Yes 2 months ago
The haters and jealous of Akans would have make ugly noise if this and other high positions were given to Akan speaking person during NPP time as if they are not Ghanaians. Now that almost all high profile positions are with the non akan especially those from the northern part, no one see any issue. We are all watching.
Jack 2 months ago
Congratulations, sir
Kofi BA 2 months ago
I hope the Akans in NDC are very happy
ABREWA 2 months ago
Mahama has dashed all juicy positions
to Northerners- Family and friends government.
GOOD NEWS- WELCOME ON BOARD
The Youth Association of Ghana has expressed growing concern over the government’ ...
Where capital for business could stop you, your Skills would elevate you! As the new month kicks in, take stock, how will U invest to earn better? Would you waste another 31days? You EARN from what U LEARN & APPLY to solve pr ...
Do you need any of the following: Website Redesign, Website Traffic, Website Ranking on top on Google search engine, Google business Account, Company business email accounts etc...Then contact us.www.webgateconsult.com or 024 ...
Free school fees
Fr ...
Bank flashing stays in the account ...
The haters and jealous of Akans would have make ugly noise if this and other high positions were given to Akan speaking person during NPP time as if they are not Ghanaians. Now that almost all high profile positions are with ...
Congratulations, sir