You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2024 03 20Article 1922382

Akufo-Addo setting a dangerous precedent over refusal to sign anti-LGBT bill - Speaker

Read Comments Comments (68)

• Nene 2 months ago

Show him pepper

• Mary 2 months ago

TOILET SELF IS BETTER THAN AKUFFO ADDO, ADDO GYANTRA, ADDO GUY GUY, ADDO OKPO, ADDO AGYAPA, ADDO BRONII, ADDO TRUMU TRUMU,ADDO 2 FEET,ADDO LAWYER DOO LITTLE

• OSABARIMA MENSA 2 months ago

This unelected speaker has no mandate from the people so he should keep his thoughts to himself. He can go to court if he thinks that the president is abusing his power.

• Onipa nua 2 months ago

Wish up !!!

• Onipa nua 2 months ago

...u are ignorant..just wise up

• Joe 2 months ago

You are stupid to say he unelected. Gerrout!

• Don 2 months ago

U speak like an unschooled person. The speaker like all previous speakers were duly elected by members of parliament.

And he is the most experienced person in parliament so you are probably just saying what U thinks make y ...

• Pa massa 2 months ago

Useless Osabarima.

• Nana 2 months ago

Take your buttocks go make them am fucken homosexuals. You guys all be trumu trumu. Fire go burn you all

• Koliko 2 months ago

It is the prerogative of the President to sign or refuse to sign a Bill. The Speaker has no business in it. The Speaker is supposed to be an independent referee or linesman. Bagbin behaves like a player, coach, team manage ...

• WaLL 2 months ago

He has had enough of Akuffo Addo.Speaker been neutrality almost 8yrs now!!

• Oprege 2 months ago

IS THIS WHAT BAGGIN IS USING HIS RAMADAN FOR ? RELIGION MUST BE KEPT OUT OF POLITICS — OUR SPEAKER IS AN US WHOLE!!

• OGyam 1 month ago

@oprege.... It is pointless telling a twat like you that Alban Bagbin is a Roman Catholic and not a Moslem. Do fools like you grow on trees or what? When useless Akufo Addo decided to use our hard earned money to build his ...

• Kb 2 months ago

Primitive speaker, what authority and values do you have that, you should be allowed to judge morality and beliefs. Shame on you and all your followers from the most uncivilized part of our country. Maybe you just read but ca ...

• Me - Me 2 months ago

Good point. The speaker lost respect the moment he took sides with the proponents of the bill and manipulated to get it pass while intimidating opposing MPs. What is worse precedence than the speaker's actions and behaviour d ...

• Derry 2 months ago

i believed you were born bread and caged there and so you are very ignorant of your own country. Idiot

• Kelvin 2 months ago

What is written is written to give this hard injection to akkufo addo's buttocks and to kick this brim stone at his big head

• WaLL 2 months ago

Youth in Ghana pretty uncultured ..it is worrying !!

• Kojois 2 months ago

No serious president will signed your bogus bill

• ALETSE GBONTON 2 months ago

NO SERIOUS SPEAKER WILL APPROVE STUPID NPP MINISTERS.... WHO WILL LOOSE?????? ABOABA!!!!

• Liteo 2 months ago

You will be part of the losers.

• Joe 2 months ago

Whybis it a bogus bill? It was passed by Parliament unless you are that stupid to undestand what parliament is all about. Tell your lilliput to sign that forken Bill!

• Kwami 2 months ago

The speaker should give us a break. There are serious problems the nation is facing and you are thinking of this bill; arm robbery, killings, drug abuse etc. Go to Israel where the bible came from, is the speaker not gay? Thi ...

• Joe 2 months ago

What are the serious problems. You idiot! The economic mess we're cause by your party's thievery and incompetence. Tell your lilliput to sign that forken bill!

• Abusua 2 months ago

By this behavior the president is clearly telling the citizens that he himself is a gay. The message is clear. If Akuffo Addo is telling us that the battle is the Lord's then he should remember Sodom and Ghomorha. Parliament ...

• joe 2 months ago

what has the west to do to solve your own shithole trumutrumu problems? go blame yourselves...and get rich

• GOLD 2 months ago

DO NOT BE A COWARD,JUST SIGNMTHE BILL,PERIOD!!!!
    FOREIGN COUNTRIES SHOULD STOP PUSHING THEIR UNGODLY ACTS ON OUR TROATS!!!!!!!
    AFTER ALL THE ORIGINAL HEBREWS ARE BLACKS DIFFERENT FROM THE CONVERTED ONES,ITS ALL WRITTEN IN T ...

• Kwami 2 months ago

So you still believe this trash. Taken hook, line and sinker.

• Kow 2 months ago

Nonsense by Bagbin. It is the Prez constitutional right to sign or not to sign. Stupid. And you call yourself a lawyer

• Kwame 2 months ago

Seems the illiteracy is too high. What Bagbin is saying is that the President has the right to refuse to sign the bill but constitutionally he cannot refuse to accept the bill in the first place.

• Kwami 2 months ago

Bagbin supported and promoted this anti gay bill. So he should not hide behind constitution and laws.

• Don 2 months ago

I like you man

• King 2 months ago

You are nobody. Your downfall will end soon.

• John 2 months ago

As a speaker you should be impartial to both sides of the house. This is not a matter you should voice your opinion on as you have clearly shown your stance on the matter.

• ProTrumu 2 months ago

Unfair to which? Both sides,? Parliament voted unanimously for this bill, my friend. The speaker's stance is fully representative of Parliament.

• a 2 months ago

Based on what you said, shows that you Fe very hypocrite. Why did President also opposed once the bill is proved by parliament. He shd sign first and other matters arise later

• Kwasi 2 months ago

Simply don't approve anything

• Igp 2 months ago

Institute impeachment inquiry and remove him from office.

• Josh Priest 2 months ago

Only God knows why the bill hasn't been signed yet. God in heaven is watching. We leave everything in the hands of God the Almighty for Him to judge whoever is delaying the signing of the bill. This is not rocket science, yet ...

• Joko 2 months ago

Kwasia mpanyin, if they put a plane at Kotoka right now 90% of the ppl living in that shithole will want to run away to countries where LGBT ppl are not criminals.

• apuuuu 2 months ago

If the President doesn't want to sign the LGBTQ bill pass another bill that he will likely sign but you can pressure him

• Joe 2 months ago

The reason he doesn't want to sign the bill is because of money, not that it's not right. Typical ashaniman! So so money

• Kweku 2 months ago

Impeach him for dereliction of duty. Simple. No body should assend the highest office and think they can lord over those who pay his salary.

• Kenneth 2 months ago

What is Alban Gbabin saying? Is Ghana the only country in the world where the President has refused to sign a Bill from Parliament into law? A Bill can be signed, rejected or delayed for further consultations and all these ar ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

Kenneth , it has been said ad infinitum that it is not the signing but rather the refusal to accept the bill in the first place. He can refuse to assent to the bill but he cannot refuse to accept it from Parliament.

• Wise Man 2 months ago

Am highly disappointed in the Speaker of Parliament. As a seasoned lawyer he should put his political lenses away n behave himself. He expects the President to assent the bill knowing very well that he would be acting contrar ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

Does this country have a lot of money to stop borrowing. That is the main issue to talk about. Imagine being a pastor preaching against wee smokers in ur community and yet you can't feed urself and asking them for money. They ...

• Always Ready 2 months ago

Bagbin, show that money vulture that integrity comes first before money.

• OLD SOLDIER 2 months ago

Let's wait and see which arm of government would succumb to pressure.
    I know RT. Hon. Grabbing is the ni nonsense type. Even he is more than Martin Amidu and Domelevo combined

• Fuseini 2 months ago

The constitution envisaged the stupidity of such a speaker like this one that is why it made provision for the President to assent to Bills before they become law. Can you imagine what would have happened in this country if a ...

• Mary Mavis GYAMFIWAA 2 months ago

Can the president sign the bill when there is a suit pending at the court? I don't understand.

• Jahga 2 months ago

Oh yes…he did it for Elevy anaa?

• Johnathan 2 months ago

This guy Bagbin is talking compete nonsenee. I’m surprised such a person is our Speaker.

First off there’s a reason why every major law requires the signature of the president. If he’s committing a so called serious ...

• IF THE PRESIDENT REFUSES TO ASSENT A BILL... 2 months ago

It is the responsibility of the MPs to go back to their people and campaign to vote against the President to throw him out in the next elections. Its never for the Speaker to use michiavellian tactics to force the Presidents ...

• Koppong 2 months ago

Ghana can not be in isolation

• skin pain 2 months ago

This is to all negative folks who are against the step taken by Speaker.
    What President failed to realize is that nothing wrong with the bill for his signature and if he does have any issue with the bill after he sign it he ...

• KG 2 months ago

MR. SPEAKER, YOU KNOW THAT SOMEONE HS TAKEN THE CASE TO SUPREME COURT. SO DO YOU THE PRESIDENT TO DISOBEY THE SUPREME COURT? AND YOU CALL YOURSELF A LAWYER.

• Looe his seat 2024 2 months ago

Ghanaian will teach nana addo and npp a lesson at the polling station. Gay party

• Liteo 2 months ago

And they will suffer in the end.

• Foli Foli 2 months ago

Ghana is heading towards a civil revolution in this case soon?

• Abusua 2 months ago

Akuffo Addo is punishing himself and his government. As long as he refuses to accept and assent to the bill parliament will not entertain anything he sends to parliament. Akuffo Addo is an idiot. He is behaving like an Arabia ...

• Funny World 2 months ago

Folks, is the bill sent to the president or not? We were made to understand that it's yet to get to the president's desk. If so, then why is the speaker rushing to make such useless comments as if the president has had the bi ...

• Kwame 2 months ago

Funny Face , why don't you people understand this simple fact ? The President, constitutionally can refuse to assent to the bill but the same constitution does not give him the right to refuse to accept the bill from Parliam ...

• Okyere 2 months ago

Relax...this is not a Muslim country

• NO MORE NKWASIA SIKA 2 months ago

YOU SAID MAHAMA COMING...
    WAIT UNTIL MAHAMA COMES..
    MAHAMA WILL SIGN WHEN HE COMES...Is he coming at all..?

• Matthew Narh Odonkor 2 months ago

So our constitution hasn't got a system to remove a bad leader? Africans will never be able to develop if we continue like this.

• WEB AFRICA 67, 2 months ago

We DESIGN all kinds of Websites:
    - Business/Corporate Websites.
    - Real Estate Websites.
    - NGO/Donations websites.
    - Ecommerce website.
    We are running PROMO for 5 years domain and hosting (website). Visit: www.JustracAf ...

• Asante 2 months ago

God bless you Mr speaker. Don’t allow this evil monkey regime to tarnish your reputation. This evil regime is going down the drain soon.