You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2024 03 05Article 1919960

Anti-LGBT+ bill punishment too harsh, it should be more reformative - NPP MP

Read Comments Comments (75)

• lalla 2 months ago

there is nothing harsh about the bill.collins you like talking too much

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

I wish the President does not sign the bill into law. Let people take the laws into their hands, beat, torture, and maim the LGBTQI+ Nonsense people when the members of the community get them. I very much try my Northern Mosl ...

• inercycl 2 months ago

I do not believe you are educated enough. You are Ghanaian heterosexual so you believe you are better than a Ghanaian homosexual so they should be lynched? What do you want done to communities where kids are betrothed to mar ...

• Lazy man 2 months ago

There are laws pertaining to pedophilia, hence there must laws on LGBTQ+...else they must be doused with acid and petrol and set in fire...Gyimi ni bi ba...ofui

• Ghanaians must open their eyes 2 months ago

Stupid being. But animals are more reasonable than them. How can a man or woman sleep with his/her fellow man or woman. This is an abomination in the highest order. Satan working through evil mean to destroy lives.

Anyon ...

• Ama 2 months ago

Well said

• Ama 2 months ago

Well said

• Nsem Pii 2 months ago

Nice one. Instead of defending polygamy you are defending homosexuals because your anus itch

• Ghana says YES to LGBT+ 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+++

• Sia 2 months ago

Are you also not a person ? Come n best n kill them yourself. Talk is cheap .. a fool saying I wish ! Go and do it yourself and don’t hid behind your borrowed data to type trash .. moron like u

• Hugh Hefner 2 months ago

If the corrupt West can tell one of the poorest countries in the world, Yemen and Afghanistan to accept LGBTQi we are ready to accept too, though these countries are poor they have dignity and conform to traditional norms. Lo ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Hugh, good comment but I just do not like your moniker. Now, the hypocritical US gave. Ethiopia: 2.2bn,Afghanistan:1.38bn,Somalia:1.14bn,Nigeria:1.15bn,Egypt:1.37bn,South Sudan:2.12bn in foreign aid in 2022. The question i ...

• £EARN, TRAIN, MAKE MONEY 2 months ago

Reformative in what sense? We've cycled two months out of the year. MARCH FORWARD! The best business to do - or to sponsor a relative, friend or charitable gifting - is a service business, low capita(skill is your main capita ...

• Bobby Stones 2 months ago

The Holy Scriptures says repentance begins with the renewal of our mind, nothing stops those misguided delinquents from embracing the truth and mending their evil ways. Mr. Collins, there is nothing harsh about the bill, ...

• Togbe Agorkorli 2 months ago

Dude how can psychotherapy be punishment? For $3.8 billion ...let the president sign it ..we gon tighten our belt ...we are ready for the consequences....give them an inch, they take a mile.

• Namo Gbe Mills 2 months ago

We can start weaning ourself from the west and sanction them too. Do you know how cold they were when Russian sanctions which they imposed on themselves hit them. No heating in minus 10 is torture and all self imposed

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ and same
    sex marriage

• RICHARD AHIAGBAH 2 months ago

They firmly and shamelessly told us that... "Homosexuality Is Bound To Happen", and now, we have arrived with our baggage of LGBTQ+ nonsense! So, it is clear, that the entire body of that SATANIC GROUPING called the NPP are v ...

• Assempa ( Hell bound ) 2 months ago

Are you one of them?

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+ +++

• Kq 2 months ago

Remove the jail term asap come Ghanaians are too wicked Sam George too has some issues upstairs I heard him saying ghana should fight back if sanctioned this man is also naive ampa

• koti Boto 2 months ago

Can someone explain to me how sending a gay person to prison will make them less gay?

• Est Atta Ayi 2 months ago

That is why the President should not approve the bill.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 2 months ago

Let the Government not sign this into law so that the anti LGBTQI+ people take the laws into their own hands, beat, torture and lynch such people and their promoters.

@ koti boto. Can you tell us how taking someone to jail makes them less of a thief

• Ghanaians must open their eyes 2 months ago

Stupid question. When fire is not quenched it spreads to all other places and destroy lives and property.This Lgbt nonsense can't be tolerated because you're advocating for rights to openly practice it-marriage, blessing, tea ...

• P Djamgbe 2 months ago

Ghanaians say YES to LGBTQ+

• Lazy man 2 months ago

So sending armed robbers, drug dealers, and prostitutes to jail will make them less criminals? Kwasia...ours is punitive not corrective. In South Africa they have correctional services not prison services.

• Era of the con men 2 months ago

Lazy man, tell me which country has the highest murder rate in Africa? There are issues where softie softie works but this trumu trumu isn't one. What's all this defense of shit holes about?

• Nana Kwaku 2 months ago

Can you also tell me why my grandfather shd be sent to prison if he visits his children in the USA with his two(2) wifes?Why shd my grand Dad be charged for bigamy bcoz he is polygamous?He's been able to well educate all his ...

• Est Atta Ayi 2 months ago

Human rights and sexual rights should prevail. What adults choose to do in their bedrooms is nobody’s business.

• Lazy man 2 months ago

What a fraudboy choose to do on his laptop is none of your business too..,. Aboafunu

• Sia 2 months ago

You don’t have sense .. if the fraud boy decide to hurt someone with his laptop then it becomes our business .. do you guys even think at the first place ? Sia how do y want us to accept laws made by imaginary Allah and Jes ...

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 2 months ago

YOU ARE A BIG FOOL INDEED. WE HAD OUR CULTURES, CUSTOMS, TRADITIONS, ETC. BEFORE THE WHITE STEPPED HIS FOOT ON THE CONTINENT OF AFRICA.
    TELL WESTERN COUNTRIES TO GO TO THE ISLAMIC COUNTRIES OF SAUDI ARABIA, KUWAIT, U.A.E., ...

• Bawumia can hide 2 months ago

Asantehene please talk some. Are you not feeling well? You are the great King. Talk some

• Kwan - you are crudely ignorant. 2 months ago

Yes, we had our customs and values before the white man came here. Those customs and values did not include your Christian or Islamic customs and values as these two religions were brought to us by whites and Arabs. Before C ...

• TRUTH 2 months ago

Are you not smart, and the whiteman brings you a new value system to replace the old which has caused you so much pain and you can not stop to think, what are they up to this time?

• Hitman 2 months ago

The whiteman already replaced our old value system. Gays were always with us in Ghana in our traditions and cultures.

• TRUTH 2 months ago

Not true, but even if it was just like Trokosi, we reject that today.

• Ama 2 months ago

Kwan,this is the most brilliant submission I have read so far.As you rightly said LGBT was there before the white man came that is why these restrictions were brought with the Bible to suppress them.
    The likes of Sam George ...

• OGyam 2 months ago

@Kwan, it is not too hard to think, is it? Yes, nobody bothered Kwadwo Basia, until Ignatius Annor and Co decided that what they do in their bedrooms should be classified as a human right. They wanted their own.flag, night c ...

• Joe Wise 2 months ago

The white man went to Asia with religion, customs and technology in hand, he asked Asians which one do they prefer?, Asians picked Technology and told the whiteman to keep his customs and religion, the white man then came to ...

• KOFI BUSUA AND FRIEND OF SOUTH AFRICA APARTHEID 2 months ago

Sadly, we still have those traitors among us who would sell us for 20 pieces on silver.

• Facts 2 months ago

Reform yourself and we won’t put you in prison

• SIMANCO 2 months ago

Let us then follow our customs and then see how our customary laws punish various sexual crimes.We cannot leave our customs and do other things.Jail terms must be removed from the bill and fine those who commit these sexual ...

• Double standards indeed 2 months ago

Before the Sagrenti war, were your ancestors and traditional rulers jailing those who smoke wee? What have they done wrong?

We should have started off with beheading as the punishment and negotiated it down to life in prison

• TRUTH 2 months ago

Good point but we also banished deviants. Could we use that as well.

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Same must be done for those who commits other crimes, including corruption, armed robbery, money laundry etc...since they were never imprisoned but rather fined by our forefathers....it's not too late to use your empty brains ...

• HOLY SINNER 2 months ago

Our great Fore fathers who fought for the independence of Ghana have been let down BIG TIME by these current COWARDS of Parliamentarians.What benefit has Aids brought to the suffering people of Ghana? Aid or no aid we still s ...

• Paa Jackson 2 months ago

Punk ass. This one too be MP? Ofui commer.

• ABUFUS3M 2 months ago

WISE GUY. I CONCUR. SO WHAT HAPPENS AFTER SERVING THE JAIL TIME? WILL THE BEHAVIOR STOP? GHANA'S PRISONS DO NOT REFORM PEOPLE. IT RATHER "HARDENS" THEM. SO LISTEN TO THIS WISE MP AND DO THEN RIGHT THING. THE JAIL TIME IN THE ...

• inercycl 2 months ago

these are confused minds. You are equating pedophilia to homosexuality because according to the "chief priest" of the anti-gay bill, his utmost concern is about kids being "preyed" upon; which we all agree except that in his ...

• inercycl 2 months ago

correction: except that in his shallow mind, most kids sexually exploited are homosexuals!

• Lazy man 2 months ago

Kwasia what about statutory rape...you can seek the consent of a 13 year old girl and sleep with her, but it will be seen as rape....You can consent to commit suicide, but it will be seen as crime...you can consent to take br ...

• Frimpong 2 months ago

Look at this hypocrite too, were you not parliament when the debate was going and were you not parliament when it was passed, did you opposed it? Such a fool you think we're children right. Now you're hiding saying this nons ...

• Akuffo Addo/ Bawumia Are Devils. 2 months ago

Where were you when it came to the floor of the house? Hypocrites.

• Kweku 2 months ago

There's nothing wrong with it anti-LGBTQ bill passed in parliament. NPP politicians are hypocrites and Ghanaians who where they stand on homosexuality in Ghana

• Opoku 2 months ago

Mr MP u have to loss your seat

• Fathia Fata Nkrumah 2 months ago

Therapy?? Have we even been able to support those in need of dialysis , cancers and our demented folks walking the streets ???

• Mark 2 months ago

It looks like u are against the bill but your fears of being sidelined made u support its passing in Parliament. What's too harsh about this??? Someone steals chicken n he's jailed. You see nothing wrong with that punishment ...

• Papa Yaw 2 months ago

People are going to loss thier seat coming 2024 elections.

• All die be die 2 months ago

Foolish man

• seth 2 months ago

How about leaving the people that the bill would victimize alone. Reformative, you are still criminalizing these innocent people.
    Who on earth told this man that one can reform LGBTQ people?
    That this ignorance is coming fr ...

• Anim 2 months ago

I don't understand why some of these NPP MPs are hypocrites. They caused the same problem to let Ofori Atta to stay at post until the time he felt to go away when they called on him to resign for mismanaging the economy. They ...

• Kanewu 2 months ago

He looks gay.

• Honestman 2 months ago

WHAT A PITY TO THIS MP, HE SHOULD NOT COME BACK TO PARLIAMENT. AN MP FOR THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY AND SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO RETURN PARLIAMENT.

• Nana Atuah 2 months ago

Collins ? Because of his deputy ministerial position, he has started talking rubbish, being aggressive even on TV. Before these later day Odadeas we were.

• OSAFO KANTANKA 2 months ago

This NPP MP must prepare himself for prison if he doesn’t mend his inclinations . There’s an alternative way of dealing with people of his kind by the people. I hope he gets that in his head.

• Ghana Citizen 2 months ago

You are very stupid to say what you are saying. If you knew that then why did you vote for the bill. Ofuiiii !!!

• Kaplorkor 2 months ago

TRUMU TRUMU AND KOTE BORTOR (BOLOBOLO ).
    ABORMINATION AT. THE. HIGHEST. OF. LEVELS.

• Kojo 2 months ago

What is this mp saying,was he not in parliament when this bill was passed. It means he didn't support the bill

• Idiot! So It's Fine To Jail Plantain Thief 10yrs? 2 months ago

Kwasia. So it's fine to jail plantain thief 10 years? What about a person in Contempt of Court getting 2 years? What about the Imprisonment term for a man who marries a woman again after marrying under Ordinance? The Crimina ...

• OBRONIBA 2 months ago

This clearly makes most of us believe that you bunch of highly incompetent clueless thieves are against this bill and not ready to support the will and voice of the Ghanaian people. We shall deal with you idiots apparently. W ...

• Hey 2 months ago

Community service? You thieving politicians who punishes you with community service? Community service means Community Lynching for those deviants.