You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2024 02 23Article 1918323

I never dreamt Ghana would be like this - Brig. Gen. Nunoo-Mensah laments economic hardship

Read Comments Comments (103)

• Bastie 3 months ago

Ghanaians are brainless and retarded stinky pigs.

• Owuraku 3 months ago

Sorry Old man, have you visited Europe or the US recently? Or do you read foreign news? I guess you don't. A few years ago I could go to the shop with £20.00, fill my basket and still come with some change. Not anymore. Go w ...

• ME 3 months ago

You are right. Ignoramus and nation destroyers like Nunu Mensah have lost touch with reality. He is part of Ghana's problem.

• OSABARIMA MENSA 3 months ago

What is this foolish and senile old man saying? Our kids get FSHS and they are fed free 3 times a day. Only in Ghana will a senile old fool come up with such nonsense. Our kids have never had it so good.

• Joeboy 3 months ago

Have you seen the slop they are feeding children?

• Y 3 months ago

So long as is free, people will have something to say about it. Is everywhere even in USA people complain about school free food.People in government schools complain about the lack of this and lack of that. People are not ha ...

• Kobina Boafo 3 months ago

Ass kissers like you ought to be disemboweled for spewing trash.. A country that could be the bread basket of West Africa imports , onions, tomatoes and everything else. Is this what you call good because of cheap and free ...

• Martha 3 months ago

@owuraku
    The next thing is for you to eat akuffo addo faeces, you idiot. Why compare ghana to Europe, not Togo or Benin who are far better than us since your useless and chimpanzee president took over. In those countries the ...

• John Martin 3 months ago

Martha u and ur family will be shot first because of power u want someone to die
    Idiot and God will punish u

• Owuraku 3 months ago

Ashawo Martha, I would rather eat Akuffo Addo's faeces than defile my own daughter which your kinsmen are good at. Shame on you. Cry rape and the perpetrator is your kinsman.

• Ewvevi 3 months ago

The last time a man raped his own child, he was called Dieba, a twi rapper. Another useless akan fake prophet called onetouch, was only recently released from prison for raping hours own daughter. Remove the fat log from your ...

• Owuraku 3 months ago

Oh Ewvevi and so you know who the perpetrators are even though I didn't give a clue, hahahaha.

• Ewvevi 3 months ago

Hei Owura, read my reply again and see whether I also mentioned any tribe. You made reference to 'kinsman', so I also replied in tribal manner without mentioning any tribe. I could have been defending Nzemas. Hahaha.

• QuoDZO 3 months ago

And you call yourself a woman? Shame!! I am change my daughter's name immediately.

• Kwame Nyame 3 months ago

Go to Togo and Benin and ask how many months their salaries have been in arrears. You think like an idiot who is warped his mind. Togolese and Beninous are sending their children to Ghana for free SHS and a fool as you says w ...

• John Martin 3 months ago

Check the ff items in Africa market in America and Shop rites and their prices
    Bread
    Kenney
    Fish
    Milk and many more
    U have been member of both political parties, what was ur contribution

• Y 3 months ago

Kenkey is $2.00 to $2:50
    Bread —$5:00 to &6:00
    Adwene—$25:00 per pound
    Green plantains 2for $1:00
    Ripe plantains-1 for $1:00

• Nana Kufuor. Abeka. La Paz. 3 months ago

We are tired of these dumb matemeho replies. Cost of living is going up everywhere. Most countries have buffers to control their suffering . Unfortunately in Ghana, ours is self inflicted. We are being ruled by clueless ...

• Yaw 3 months ago

This is blockheaded argument and comparison. In the UK, the citizens are paid stipend. Is that the case of Ghana?
    Has UK govt given haircuts for citizens who invested in the economy? This useless references of Ghana to devel ...

• Mensah 3 months ago

This man is not correct. Silly old man.

• WaLL 3 months ago

You these people in this gov’t don’t want to tell the truth.My little kids arrived with me just 8months and they are $1400 support from gov’t raising them..we sit in Gold,3 oil fields ,cocoa and yet borrowing massively ...

• BUMBEBO 3 months ago

Gen, you did worse things but because God loves Ghana we're where we are. Didn't you recently tell complaining Ghanaians to take their passports and leave Ghana? Give sane Ghanaians a break.
    What was your legacy to Ghanaia ...

• WaLL 3 months ago

Mahn.You don’t live in Ghana so as those needless comment !!

• Emperor Rasheed 3 months ago

@Owuraku. Please do not do politics with people’s hunger. Stop comparing apples with oranges. How much are you paid in UK? I believe £ 20 can still do a lot. I have been in US for the past 15 years and the price of a bottl ...

• Kilogram 3 months ago

Senile dementia!

• Abass 3 months ago

Because of politics, almost all NPP members are economists living in Europe, the UK, and the US. Why does a whole Ghana with all available resources import common tomatoes, onion, and beans, among others from Burkina Faso, Ni ...

• Abyna 3 months ago

Do something about it or stfu!

• Kilogram 3 months ago

Hallelujah!

• Kwaku Agyekumhene 3 months ago

Bernin and Togo, kwaseato, what's stopping you from moving there?

• Dodzi 3 months ago

Brigadier the tea sucking guy. You are also part of ghana problem

• Uncle Pee 3 months ago

You never dreamt Ghana will have FSHS, National ID, drone delivery of critical medicine to save lives, digital addressing system to make it easier to locate addresses?

• Dan 3 months ago

@ pee
    Stop calling your self ' uncle' , because you are a fatherless teenager paid a pantry 300 cedis a month by those thieves in the julorbi house to type rubbish. You are a disgrace to uncles! Now crawlback to your kejeti ...

• QuoDZO 3 months ago

Foolish talked. Morons like you Dan makes living in this country so hard.

• Samwise 3 months ago

@owuraku you people are the problem, someone lamenting about a situation and you are foolishly comparing Europe to Africa, what's wrong with this akan tribal bigots.

• Mary- Ho public toilet 3 months ago

This is our land. Go home to your Togolese utopia. Do you have to be reminded that Ayigbes and tribalism are two sides of the same coin; and so who are the tribal bigots? When tribalism is mentioned in Ghana the name that com ...

• Dan 3 months ago

Look at ignorant people! Who told you ghana belong to you primitive ashantes. If you care to know you somehow turned up from the Congo forest, linked to the pigmy bantu tribe. They are only 6 inches tall with red piercing eye ...

• Owuraku 3 months ago

Samwise, you see how stupid you are? Economic hardships everywhere. Pray for Ghana alone to be insulated. You don't read or you do but you don't understand.

• Abc law 3 months ago

Nothing wrong with comparing Afterall, most of the things we have here are imported and are bound to increase the cost of goods. It is a worldwide phenomenon.

• Pelicles 3 months ago

@Samwise. Was it last week or two, did you hear the British Prime Minister saying that his country is not doing well due to the effects of covid-19 and the war between Russia and Ukraine, did you hear that?

Also, their eco ...

• Mary- Ho public toilet 3 months ago

This old man, with one foot in the grave, is in campaign mode for his party the NDC.

• Bompata Krukuro 3 months ago

So pick up your passport and leave the country if the country is too hot for you.These are the very that came from your own mouth during create loot and share reign and nkonfem running away to Burkina Faso when they feel Maha ...

• Kramai 3 months ago

Haha when Mahama comes will you say the same ?

• Abu 3 months ago

That's true paaa ,he told us move to togo.hahahaha useless man

• Samus 3 months ago

This fool and his party know that Ghanians have short memories.

• Donatus 3 months ago

Keep quiet there.

• AGBONYRA KOSHI 3 months ago

DID YOU EVER DREAM COVID-19 WOULD COME AND DEVASTATE US LIKE THIS? YOUR DREAM IS NOT IMPORTANT TO ANYBODY.

• Kramai 3 months ago

Ghanas inflation rate has just increased again whiles most of the world is in single digits inflation so why do you still say Covid

• Gov 1 3 months ago

Stupid opportunistic old man.Were you not the one who said if anyone feels that the kitchen is hot ,he or she can leave? You can also leave if you cannot stand the heat.Nonsense

• Foro k 3 months ago

What about control price time where even matches were scarce

• Citizen8 3 months ago

What foundation has this Brig Gen Nunoo-Mensah and his likes laid for him to be expecting a different Ghana than what he sees now? Characters like this man should look and examine their own actions and inactions years ago whe ...

• Pelicles 3 months ago

Once upon a time, this man said that he supports GUM party. That is a testament that he is a lost soul wandering in an endless desert.

• Abu 3 months ago

Massa pls just go and sleep, are you not the same person who told us to go to Togo if we thing Ghana is too hot.

• Hey 3 months ago

Votes and bullets got us here

• Kwame 3 months ago

10000% spot on. God bless the General

• Kom 3 months ago

I think you are a baby. Where was he when we were queuing for food? When we were eating all sorts of things to survive?

• Joeboy 3 months ago

It has gotten to that or have you not seen what they are serving students government schools?

• James Owusu 3 months ago

You are worthless General. We started by barter but now we buy with cash. The world population is increasing so fast that now demand exceeds supply. Food has to be supplemented with processed Gmo chemical foods. At your time ...

• TENGE BADAMOSI 3 months ago

Is this erratic entity still in Ghana?.He should go to his native country Togo and tango with Faure.According to Americans $100 buys less groceries compared to pre COVID era.This creature needs to criticize Faure and Togo.His ...

• James Owusu 3 months ago

Go to UK and ask for the price of sardine. Rawlings that you served gave us Rawling chains on our neck but you were living lavishly. Were you able to change the agric based economy? Your foundation is what is beginning to be ...

• Kn 3 months ago

Hehe do you know that the English see 1 cedi the same way they see less than 1 pound so even if it’s £5 it’s equivalent to less than 5 ghc in ghana

• NO MORE NKWASIA SIKA 3 months ago

WE HAVE BEEN IN THIS HARDSHIP FROM TIME MEMORIES...WHEN YOU WERE ENJOYING YOU TAUGHT EVERY THING WAS OKAY..No more Nkwasia Sika.

• Samakati 3 months ago

Monumental hypocrite, Nunoo! He participated in all the damaging coups and govts! Was CIA contact during Nkrumah coup. Worked with Rawlings as a subordinate. Was chairperson of Akuffo-Addo campaign in the early years. Who you ...

• Ndc fool soldier 3 months ago

Hey zombie, stop fooling. Where did yr Rawlings and Mills send Ghana? Note that you are no longer relevant.

• Emmanuel Ofosu Mensah 3 months ago

Wofa Nunoo Mensah don't forget, you've been in government right from 1979 SO what are talking??

• WaLL 3 months ago

What about Osarfo Marfo?..Most corrupt one piece of Akuffo Addo Appointeeism

• KB 3 months ago

What a stupid army general. He is part of the problems Ghana is facing today. Stupid fool... go burn the sea.....

• Anowa 3 months ago

Demented old fool, as Brigadier General you shamelessly served under Rawlings, a junior officer, and you were saluting him and saying "yes sir" to him. Nunoo Mensah, you don't know shame because you are dishonest and a hypocr ...

• Kojois 3 months ago

Useless old man whose fault.

• Gyankromian 3 months ago

Some countries use their monies to build ROADS, so they have roads.
    Some countries use their monies to build FACTORIES so they have factories.

Some countries use their monies to build CATHEDRAL S, so they have cathedrals ...

• KitchenIsHot 3 months ago

If the kitchen is hot get out of Ghana .This is what you are on record to have sadly told Ghanaians at time your Dumsor and P/Ndc wrenching hardships and IMF destructive policies were destroying Ghanaian lives.Ghana is at ...

• KK 3 months ago

What were you expecting from your friend and his allies? It's people like you who have plunged this country into darkness because you mislead the masses to vote for what we are experiencing today. God will judge all of you.

• noble uk 3 months ago

So where was this general during Rawlings and Mills era, if he is complaining about Ghana now?
    He should ask Ghanaians who had to go to Nigeria and eventually chased back to Ghana - "Ghana must go'.
    Or ask the many less for ...

• THINK FOR THE FUTURE 3 months ago

Eii General, the young ones won't remember, but some of us remember bokorbokor (water leaf) as the kontonmire, kenkey water was fought over because the kenkey is bought before it is even placed on fire, yellow corn was all we ...

• Jim 3 months ago

It's going to get worse, because our current politicians are mainly made up of crooks who go into politics to make money and not to serve. The motivation for this shameful behavior is that they steal and commit all these crim ...

• Accra is dirty.com 3 months ago

It is all because of corruption and mismanagement leadership of Akufo Ado's government that is why the train has lost the tracks and derailed dragging on the ground on suicide mission, this is how the picture looks like in ...

• Commando 3 months ago

Are you dreaming just now. I thought you didn't even know how to dream. When young people lamented the times are really under then President Mahama, you asked them to get a passport and relocate elsewhere. You didn't want the ...

• Esa 3 months ago

Old soldier, your problem is....you don't know when to talk and when to shut up. That makes you a fool. Please refrain from anymore senseless comments, you ugly old man.

• Bambi 3 months ago

This stupid old simpapayinn does not like on this planet but rather the Mars. Almighty Great Britain and other countries are going on recession due COVID-19, Global supply chain disruption, and the Russia and Ukraine war. Nun ...

• Julius Asare 3 months ago

Come to think of everything about you, from your appointment during NDC time, then NPP and when you started criticisms, you're a complete disaster! Better shut up your mouth

• Bee 3 months ago

If the kitchen is hot gerrrrout . Do you remember what you said during Mahama's time?

• Kubut3 3 months ago

Ghana is not bad at all economically. There are plenty of local foodstuffs around. Plantain,cassava and yam are in abundance. YES ITS EXPENSIVE IF YOU WONNA EAT KFC AND PIZZA ALL THE TIME . GHANA IS GOOD . OLD IDIOT , L ...

• Kubut3 3 months ago

MOST OF THESE NDC SUPPORTERS HAVE NEVER WORKED OR LIVED IN THE VILLAGE BEFORE . THANKS THE THE PNDC THEY'VE LIVED IN ACCRA ALL THEIR LIVES. MOST OF THEM ALSO HAD GURATEED JOB THROUGH THE GOVERNMENT. THEY WERE THE MOJORITY ...

• Foli Foli 3 months ago

The problems will exacerbate with galamsey people continuously damaging the land and water sources without any checks. Very soon water and food will be imported from Europe and China to consumption in Ghana. Most food items a ...

• Ghanaman 3 months ago

Ghana was destroyed by Nunoo Mensah and Rawlings

• Chairman 3 months ago

Foolish Oldman

• Tygar 3 months ago

If the kitchen is hot for you go to the Bedroom .... Siaa

• OBRONI 3 months ago

The most useless government ever. Highly incompetent, clueless and grossly super corrupt to the core with no manners and dignity ruling us with their foolishness and stupidity

• Ex-Pope 3 months ago

GO TO CANADA AND SEE

What economic hardship? Go to Canada and see. Please don't let Hawa Koomson hear you lament about hardship in Ghana, for she will send you on a one way ticket to Canada so that you can see. But if you' ...

• Kk 3 months ago

This old fool told house to leave Ghana if the kitchen was hot during mills era!
    And he is also the one who brought indescipline to Ghana by sslutong Rawlings who was a junior rank officer to him!

• Oyibo 3 months ago

A very stupid old man, these were exactly the words you said in 1979. What do you want in Ghana? The only times you don't complain of hardships is when you have a position in government. Did Ghanaians not survive 1983? Kindly ...

• KjT 3 months ago

Is all greed . Ghanaians love inflation
    Especially Ashanti region.

• Yaw 3 months ago

Coming from someone who said “if the kitchen is too hot then get out “ when he was enjoying under the Mills /Mahama administration. He’s old and probably demented like Akufo Addo so I don’t blame him . We need to flus ...

• Kwaky 3 months ago

Nunoo Mensah how do you compare Ghana today, to when under your PNDC in 1983 Ghanaians lined up to buy fresh kenkey home to cook? Have you soon forgotten the Rawlings chain era, or that time we were in Gold Coast? You just ...

• K’jei 3 months ago

Don’t bring yourself sir! Were you not part of them? When you had the chance what did you do? Stop talking make we stop hear.

• Kwame Nyame 3 months ago

Stupid old man, if the kitchen is too hot for you then leave. You don’t have any credibility remaining since you as a general of the army saluted a captain in the army. It shows how idiotic and foolish you are. It will be g ...

• Frimpong Manson. 3 months ago

Better leave the country, don't pretend as if Ghana was so good,I was born in 1960 in 70's there was school children under the tree there was some people who couldn't pay school fees there was no classroom for children there ...

• Y 3 months ago

So you can move to another country

• Pupa 3 months ago

This same old man told ghanaians who were fed up to leave the country if the so wish. What has changed? He is part of our problems.
    He should CLEAR OFF as he said some years ago.

• JonFadeBJ 3 months ago

Oluman please stop your day dreaming.

• Paa Ayensu 3 months ago

Mr Nunoo-Mensah you must be right there but,please know this hell a problem is a global issue and there is only one thing, Ghana should have been excluded from this mess because of our much God given Natural Resources which s ...

• Nii 3 months ago

Nunoo Mensah is a confused and dishonest man. This stupid old fool was Akuffo Addo's campaign manager when he contested the NPP flagbearership for the first time. He later contested and lost the Efutu parliamentary seat on NP ...

• Sly USA 3 months ago

Brigadier where is your brother mensah aka abotokura he worked with state fishing corporation in tema .any am in Miami where one paya or avocado cost $5 so encourage export of paya and other products from Ghana to stabil ...

• Mary Mavis GYAMFIWAA 3 months ago

The AFRC and the PNDC, brought us this far. when you guys subjected women to ridiculing and exposed their nakedness in broad day light, you brought curses on Ghana. You Nunoo Mensah was part of that shit of a revolution. I ...