You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2009 12 11Article 173318

Politics of Friday, 11 December 2009

Source: GNA

NPP Congress rescheduled to Jan 29, 2010

Accra, Dec. 11. GNA - The New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Friday rescheduled its Special National Delegates' Conference from December 19, 2009 to January 29, 2010 due to logistical and administrative constraints, a senior member of the party told the GNA on Friday.
The party's guidelines for the Conference made available to the Ghana News Agency in Accra said filing of nominations for national executive positions would be from December 21 to December 28. Positions to be contested for are National Chairperson, 1st National Vice Chairperson, 2nd National Vice-Chairperson and 3rd National Vice-Chairperson.
Others are General Secretary, National Treasurer, National Organizer, National Women's Organizer and National Youth Organizer. The National Officers are to be elected at a National Annual Delegates' Conference by a simple majority of the votes cast and they shall hold office for three years.
The guidelines say nomination of such officers shall be lodged with the General Secretary not later than 14 days before the holding of the National Annual Delegates' Conference.
The Guidelines also indicate that regional conferences are to be organized between December 28 and 30.
Nominations open from December 14, for regional executive slot, whilst vetting is fixed for December 21 and 22. The results of the vetting will be communicated to the aspirants on December 23.
According to the Guidelines positions to be contested for are Regional Chairperson, 1st Regional Vice Chairperson, 2nd Regional Vice Chairperson, Regional Secretary and Regional Assistant Secretary.
Others are Regional Treasurer, Regional Organizer, Regional Women Organizer and Regional Youth Organizer and they shall also hold office for three years.
Explaining the postponement, Nana Ohene Ntow, NPP General Secretary, cited the inability of some constituencies to organise constituency conference to elect officers as a major factor.
He said there was a little bit of time overrun, "that is why we have shifted the regional elections to December 28 and 29h and then subsequently, one month after we then hold the national conference".
Mr Stephen Ntim, Mr Jake Obetsebi-Lamptey, Mr Felix Owusu Agyapong and Dr. Charles Wereko-Brobbey have declared their intentions to contest for the National Chairmanship slot.
For the National Vice Chairperson slot it is only Mr Michael Omari-Wadie, who has so far declared his intention to contest for the post. About five personalities including the incumbent General Secretary, Nana Ohene Ntow, have declared their intention to contest for the post. Others include Mr Yaw Buabeng Asamoa, Mr Nkrabeah Effah Darteh and Mr Obeng Busia.
Mr John Boadu, Alhaji Moctar Bamba, Mr Isaac Edumadze, have so far declared their intention to contest for the National Organiser slot while Ms Otiko Djabah and Ms Frances Essiam have also declared their intentions to slug it out for the National Women's Organiser post. Three youth activists, Mr Stephen Amoah, Mr Isaac Ampong and Mr Anthony Abayifa Karbo, want to contest for the position of National Youth Organiser. 11 Dec. 09