You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2019 07 28Article 767285

Politics of Sunday, 28 July 2019


NDC’s dancing aspirant eyes Opare Ansah’s seat

The Premises of the Eastern Regional Secretariat of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) was lit by Lucy Anim Koryo – a parliamentary aspirant of the party in Suhum constituency and her supporters who thronged the Regional Office for Vetting Friday July 36,2019.

Lucy Anim Koryo stole the show with energetic display of fascinating dancing moves to ” jama songs” by her supporters on the street across the front view of the regional Office of the NDC sent the whole place agog.

The aspirant also an Assembly Woman known for her daring but affable character in Suhum with nicknames “Real Butterfly, Sakora woman” is seeking to win the NDC Primaries and unseat Fredrick Opare Ansah, the incumbent Member of Parliament who has occupied the seat since 2000 for the Ruling New Patriotic Party.

However, Lucy Anim Koryo has to battle two other female aspirants – Amanda Okyere and Mercy Ago – also contesting to get the nod of NDC delegates in Suhum to be their Parliamentary Candidate.

The vetting Committee led by Shirley Ayittey -former Fishing and Habour Minister and NDC Eastern Regional Chairman John Owusu Amankrah cleared all aspirants.

According to the Eastern Regional Communication Officer of the NDC, Dallas Williams, the vetting Process was successful adding the party is preparing to move to the next face of the contest -which is the elections itself having balloted for the all cleared aspirants after the vetting.

Bellow is list of aspirants vetted out of the 33 constituencies.

Upper Manya krobo

Bismark Nyarko
Jeff Tetteh Kavianu (former MP)
Francis Sackitey
Evans Tetteh Korli
Jonathan Narh Nomo

Lower Manya

Ebenezer Oklatey Terlabi(incumbent MP)
Benedicta Lasi Koryo
David Tetteh Kwame
Joseph Teye Nuertey


Daniel Martey
Thomas Ampem Nyarko(Incumbent MP)
Nelson Hodogbey

Yilo Krobo

Andrews Soda
Albert Nyakotey Tetteh
Michael Ologo

Amanda Okyere
Mary Ago
Lucy Anim Koryo

Afram Plains North

Betty Krosbi Mensah-(Incumbent MP)
Kpeli Walase

Paul Abaogye Dadzie
Mavis Ama Frimpong

Upper West Akim

Derek Ohene Bekoe(Incumbent MP)
Gordon Mantey Sellas
Nana Ama Yeboah

Fanteakwa North

Haruna Apaw Wiredu
Godwin Ametowogo Mawuli
Kwaku Owusu Acheampong

Nsawam Adoagyiri

Philbert Fummey
Ernest Essah


Nana Yaw Teddy Adi
Teinor Francis

Abuakwa North

Charles Darko Yeboah