You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2019 02 23Article 725665

Politics of Saturday, 23 February 2019


Former lower Manya Krobo MP casts his vote

Former lower Manya Krobo Member of Parliament, Michael Teye Nyaunu

Former lower Manya Krobo Member of Parliament, Michael Teye Nyaunu has cast his vote in the ongoing elections to select a flagbearer who would represent the party in the 2020 general elections.

According to GhanaWeb’s Regional correspondent, Kofi Siaw, Michael Teye Nyaunu did not reveal who he voted for but he has in the past said former President, John Dramani Mahama is his choice.

The winner of today’s primaries will be the sole contender to President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), even though the ruling NPP is yet to choose its presidential candidate and aspirants of the other political parties.

About 280,000 delegates across all 275 constituencies plus three specially-created polling stations are expected to cast their ballots.

Delegates include branch executives, constituency executives, regional executives, regional council of elders, MPs, former government appointees and founding members will have their say in Ghana’s most novel internal party primary.

Seven members of the party are vying for the single slot to battle the ruling New Patriotic Party in the 2020 elections.

Those involved are former president John Mahama, Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin, former Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, former Vice Chancellor of University of Professional Studies, Accra (UPSA), Prof. Joshua Alabi.

There are also former Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the National Health Insurance Authority (NHIA), Mr Sylvester Mensah, a cadre, Mr Goosie Tanoh and businessman, Alhaji Nurideen Iddrisu.

Collation of the results is expected to take place at the EC headquarters in Accra with the results being announced at the NDC headquarters in Accra.