You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 01 23Article 298576

Rawlings AWOL In Komla Dumor's Condolences

Read Comments Comments (134)

• AMA 10 years ago

Not everybody mourns everybody's death. Stop trying to start trouble.

• Mary 10 years ago

It is just strange Rawlings who is always the first to send condolences as he did for Awonoor has not been heard.

• Ewuradi Kasa 10 years ago

Is his name KOBLA or KOMLA???
    The name Komla Dumor does not sound Ghanaian to me and was he working as Ghanaian journalist or as a British/Briton?
    No offense to anyone, I simply want to know.

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Foolish and stupid question Ewurade Kasa

• EmancipatedAfrican 10 years ago

Stupid response, Menaye. Komla Dumor spent his life working hard for a British organization. It is a measure of how enslaved mentally some of you are that you want us to worship that kind of "achievement"!!

• champion 10 years ago

Komla, I learnt is an Ewe name for males born on Tuesday. It is not Kobla. those who don't know should ask from the right sources.

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER 10 years ago

The man died less than a week ago and here you are dissecting and drawing final conclusions from every single development...

First of all, what would you say or becomes of your premature observation/write-up if Rawlings i ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

What else can you say? You Rawlings apologists are shameless. Even if Rawlings comes out later and shed crocodile tears like he did at Mills funeral, his heartless personality and hatred towards even the dead has been proved. ...

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER 10 years ago

There in lies my proof...some People are just trying to capitalizing off this poor man's death instead of mourning him...look at you putting words in my mouth...Are you serious?

You don't care about Komla Dumor's death, yo ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

"do not forget that Komla worked for the Multimedia establishment which is owned by NPP stalwarts/gurus hence his leaning. Therefore Komla might at that point be unknowingly pursuing an NPP agenda.

...again tall allegatio ...

• FELA O FELA: NPP BONESHAKER!!! 10 years ago

The depth of your response once again proves my point. For that matter, i would not waste my energy on you.

I think i have raised valid points to pick your assertion or allegation against Rawlings apart in both of my posts ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

"if you care to know, ethnocentric or tribalist have the same meaning...so why use one to qualify the other....(shaking my head)...."

You ought to shake your head because you are an illiterate because Tribalist and ethnoce ...

It baffles me why you always bask in petty arguments...

the word you are trying to use or go for is "ethnocentric" or "ethnocentrist"...

its like saying: "racist-white supremist" or "apartheid racist"...both words can n ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Listen to your stupid self accusing me of turning this discussion into grammar. Are you not the one who started questioning why I used the two words Together?

Don't talk like an illiterate. Tell me what African language is ...

• KOLA, LONDON PROPER 10 years ago

You don't even know that childrens is a group of children.

Interview with the BBC on Barack Obama’s visit to Ghana, July 2009
    July 12, 2009 by jjrawlings

Rawlings with Komla DumorINTERVIEW: WHAT RAWLINGS TOLD BBC’S KOMLA DUMOR ON THE VISIT OF PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA TO GHANA ...

• Mary 10 years ago

So what is your point? Komla works BBC and he does not choose who he wants to interview. He did what he was told to do and so far we know he was not a happy camper at BBC.

• Yaw 10 years ago

There is no word in English like childrens and children is plural for child.

• LAZAROS LAZARUS 10 years ago

My Paaddy, brofo is not byforce so why not write in fucking twi to free this disgrace.

what do you mean by 'Tribalist and ethnocentric has'? ......hahahahahaha wo y3 illiterate paaaaaaaaa!!

To free this disgrace?

This is really bad grammar and does not make sense. Rather it should read like this;

To free yourself from this disgrace.

• Yaw 10 years ago

Fela, come back because Sarpong is dancing on your grave.

Nana Yaw...

I am the king of Ghanaweb...even if i leave ghanaweb for ten years....that small boy can't do me fuuuiiiii......nada...noko noko...kai!!!

sarpong is just like Bawumia....only in the NPP is he regarded as an ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Fela, I am more alert than you even in my slumber than you widely awake. I can dance circles around you 24/7 without getting off first gear when you are in fifth gear, that is how far apart we are when it comes to intelligenc ...

Author: CARDINAL
    Date: 2014-01-23 15:45:48
    Comment to:I SAY TWEAAAA....OVER MY DEAD BODY

Fela, I am more alert than you even in my slumber than you widely awake

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Illiterate Kola, who are you running away fro

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. when oooo when are you going to learn to write proper English? Wo BOROFO YE HUN PAAAAAA!!!

Where did you schooled?

WICKED!!

You live in a shark.

'SARPONG MR. TRIBALIST AND ETHNOCENTRIC HAS................'

How can you explain your illiteracy above to the world now?

• BOSOE 10 years ago

JJRAWLINGS IS ALWAYS ENVIOUS OF SUCCESSFUL EDUCATED PEOPLE...A TOE RAG WHO WENT TO ACHIMOTA AND FAILED HIS O LEVELS BUT WORSHIPPED BY TRIBALISTIC DOGS LIKE THESE WORMS...DUMOR WAS FAR A BETTER HUMAN BEING THAN BASTARD SONOF A ...

• Mary 10 years ago

Where did you school not schooled.

• Moses 10 years ago

If Dumor is Anlo, then he probably should have been called Kobla which is the Anlo rendition. The Ewes (the real Ewes - those from Ho to Hohoe) say exclusively Komla. They do not say Kobla. But a few Anlos also say Komla whic ...

• esi 10 years ago

wat is wrong with u pple. U ve no idea abt de inspiration that drew his father to name him komla. afterall kobla or komla, it's still ghanaian or better still, its ewe. wat's ur problem.
    mtcheeeewwww

• Amanobea 10 years ago

Moses thanks for your useful contribution which enlightens of us including some ewes/anlos as well. the more we know about each other the closer we can get to eliminating negative perceptions about each other

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Moses,

A good explanation but you forgot or did not know that his home town is Aflao and the pervasive dominance of that area by the Ge-nyis (for the uninitiated, people from Ga and Anyi/Fante origins) meant that they also ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Thanks, Andy. As usual, when it comes to things Ewe, I don't think anybody on this forum surpasses you. Please, keep on educating us - even those of us born Ewe still need to know more.

• kk 10 years ago

why do you people want to use komla dumor's death for your selfish political gains. instead of you mourning you are arguing. fools. you will not turn into stones and trees and some of you may follow komla soon if you dont st ...

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Did you forget to take your medicine?

• Isaac 10 years ago

Andy can you ellaborate on this? Why are Northern Ewes usually referred to as "Ewedome" meaning anything from middle Ewes, in between Ewes, Half baked Ewes etc? Some even say they are not proper Ewes or Ewes at all yet they a ...

• Kodua 10 years ago

To refer to someone being an Ewe is no different from referring to someone as an Akan. Ewes like Akans have sub-groups, and because of those sub-groups, you in turn have dialects. Ewe-Dome is simply an Ewe sub-group.

• Shabi 10 years ago

Most Ghanaians have European names and I have never heard anybody questioning the fallacy of it. Why do some of these people think that it is questionable for Komla Dumor to have a particular African name?

• Kodua 10 years ago

The Guans you are referring to are from the the Anum-Boso sub group and their dialect has been heavily influenced by the Ewedome sub-group of the Ewes

• wigit guit 10 years ago

Moses dont confuse anybody Dumor is an Ewe name not exclusively anlo name. Who are Anlos/Ewes ?.Ewes are the ethnic group that migrated from notsie in the Rep of Benin and settled in the volta region and part of Togo. The uni ...

• Ohene 10 years ago

Have lots of great friends.

• Moses 10 years ago

The issue is not about the name Dumor. It is about whether it should be Komla or Kobla and the answer to that is that it is both. Andy added another variant - Komlan which I think is mainly due to the way the French trained T ...

Well, I am weighing in very much reluctantly. I have addressed exhaustively most of the issues raised so in a series which had been waiting on ice for an opportune time for over a year now. I don't want to jump the gun but it ...

• Isaac 10 years ago

Any you did an excellent job in your explanations. Can we then say since the Northern Ewes who had co-habited with Guans, Akans, and also had a lot of interaction with the Akwamus for generation now have lineages stretching f ...

• BOSOE 10 years ago

WHEN EWES AND ANLOS FLED FROM TYRANT AGORKOLI IN NOTSIE TO PRESENT DAY VOLTA REGION IN MID-NINETEENTH CENTURY, THE DUTCH HAD LEFT GOLD COAST...AND NOTE THAT THE DUTCH WSOLD MORE SLAVES IN GOLD COAST THAN THE REST OF EUROPEAN ...

• wigit guit 10 years ago

nye bro dont confuse anybody the language is EWE pls i did EWE at O'Levels the subject or the language is EWE not anlo and people who speak EWE are EWES just like french speak french period mega va ake o

• Kodua 10 years ago

It does not sound Ghanaian or it does not sound Akan? Ghana is a multi ethno-linguistic society. I highly doubt you are familiar with all of them

• Aden 10 years ago

the internet is full of info, why dont you research it yourself

• NANA 10 years ago

You did not add the Selassi Djentu and Rawlings' daughter relationship case that ended with Nana Konadu ordering that an identification hair cut be given to Selassi.Komla Dumor went to the defence of Djentu's family that did ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

This Sarpong guy seems not to get it right anytime he writes. He carried his npp garment into the fray and thinks nobody can see through his political chicanery

• Aden 10 years ago

Kwasia, Ama what a senseless statement to make.

• Nicholas Kyeretwie -Chicago,USA. 10 years ago

You call him illustrious son of Ghana just because he left his native land to seek better life somewhere.When are we going to be serious as a nation?Because he worked at the BBC does not make him better than the numerous j ...

• Prosper Atsu 10 years ago

Sorry, the Author has not exhausted the use of the word 'illustrious', you can also use it for whoever you want.

• Ewuradi Kasa 10 years ago

I want to kn kwow. Is his name KOBLA or KOMLA???
    The name Komla Dumor does not sound Ghanaian to me and was he working as Ghanaian journalist or as a British/Briton?
    No offense to anyone, I simply want to know.

Your silly query has been answered very well above by Moses. Why repeat it here?

You certainly don't know about what names are Ghanaian, so what makes you to think you are an authority to make such a pronouncement on his n ...

• Sethoo 10 years ago

Take it or leave it Komla Dumor was intelligent than Rawlings and his entire family,he also did better than the latter just at 41.Komla was also not materialistic and did not steal anybody/state property.

• Don 10 years ago

But he ruled over your father and mother for all most twenty (20)years.....Foooooool.

• john throway 10 years ago

any fool little bit smarter than rawlings with gun can rule ghana for eternity considering the timidity and sycophancy of ghanaians.

• BOSOE 10 years ago

FCUK RAWLINGS GUAN...WHAT DID HE DO FOR GHANA IN 20 FUCKING AWONA YEARS? ABOWA GUAN...MAFIA DON PUSSI

• kofikofi 10 years ago

sarpong or whatever you call yourself, get it in your sand filled head that Rawlings is not a funeral loving Asanteni like you. Asantes are noted for their love for corpse. You are an idiot with chimp face.

• TT 10 years ago

Hahahaha, I guess all those who have expressed their condolenses are Ashantis, you inferiority complexed trokosi moron.

• kofikofi 10 years ago

Asanteni aboa. Do you know your father? If your height is above 5:4" then definitely your father is from the north. One of your women once beg me to impregnate her because his husband look like pigmy with red protuding eyes. ...

• TT 10 years ago

Trokosi boy you think the akpeteshie drunk you call a father is a human being. Your father is in incestuous rapist like a lot of you trokosis who fuck your daughters and make babies with them, you smelly trokosi rapist crimin ...

• kofikofi 10 years ago

I don't know about trikosi but I am much aware we fathered most you asante children. I once live at Aboabo and I know what am talking about. Your women will come and beg me to impregnate her. This is no secret in kumasi. who ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

You cow fuckers from the wasteland of the Savannah have low self esteem issues you think sleeping with an Asanti woman is an achievement and that is why all ntafuos dream about. Every tanii dream is to have an Asante woman.

• Concerned Ghanaian 10 years ago

It is the dream of every pepenii to sleep with an Asante woman.

• kofikofi 10 years ago

I don't know about trikosi but I am much aware we fathered most you asante children. I once live at Aboabo and I know what am talking about. Your women will come and beg me to impregnate her. This is no secret in kumasi. who ...

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

FOOL, IF NORTHERNER BRING FORTH CHILDREN IN KUMASI, THE OFF-SPRINGS REMAIN NORTHERNERS. TROKOSI KOFIVI, YOUR OFF-PRINGS ARE STILL EWES EVEN WHEN YOU BRING FORTH IN ACCRA. IDIOT!!!

• kofikofi 10 years ago

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

Go to that site and check out the first picture *haunsinafrica.com/2007/11/03/trokosi-slavery/*

• Tetebea 10 years ago

Sikaduroni aboa. Have you finished getting money? Do you think Ashanti kaepwepwes killing their children to get easy money is better than what you call trokosis located to just one village in anlo? They have stopped the betro ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

You see the stupidity and primitivity of Northerners? You poison your babies and children you perceive to be witches.

You smelly stinky animals with tattered and dirty clothes on your backs have witches camps dotted in you ...

• asamaning-oduro 10 years ago

JJ loves bloodshed. Only murder, shitbombing and character assassination excites him.

• SO NOW YOU KNOW WHY 10 years ago

I rest my case.

The man is evil.

He cannot relate to those with pure heart and with integrity like KD

Mr Rawlings is usually the first person to hog the microphone and express his crocodile tears so why is he missing?

• General 10 years ago

Leave Rawlings alone

• True talk 10 years ago

Listen to this Cokrocaites(Asante/Akyem) offspring of Prostitution. Even in tragic moments you and your stupid tribesmen try to evoke cheap politics. It's very unfortunate Nkrumah was unable to effectively use the Preventive ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

Great Ashanti nation can never be eliminated by toilet maggots like you trokosi incestuous rapists and your toilet carrying cracked heel designer face pepefuo.

• Tetebea 10 years ago

Great Ashanti nation that can't have separate wards for males and females in hospitals. Up to now some of you Ashantis don't know how stupid you are not to know you're dump. Calling some people Trokosi doesn't take away your ...

• Father 10 years ago

Hahahaha, I guess you are trokosi and "intelligent" that is why you skunks practice incest as culture by fucking your own daughters and making babies with them.

• john throway 10 years ago

tetebea,is that all you got about ashantis?

• Baaba 10 years ago

Is it compulsory? This is a witch hunt and totally baseless article.

Don't you bastard think it's strange Rawlings has not said anything about Komla? He is always the first to hear from when tragedy struck.

• bebe 10 years ago

we realy lost a great peson is not the condolences would not bring him back stop the insults and let think if we would get somebody like him.one people one nation.

• GHANA 10 years ago

Really? I am tired too of this Komla issue so if condolences will not bring him back, then let's move on, we heard enough of this death.

Anyway, where is the insults?

• AGATAPORE (SANDEMA) 10 years ago

JJ has the right to do whatever he wishes as long as he did not step on anyone.
    When JJ contributed his condolences of Atta Mills death, you people accused him of killing Mills. So leave him alone.

• Dumegah Prosper JNR 10 years ago

What is your problem!!! Leave JJ Rawlings alone or you face the wrath of mother nature!!! Why should the glorious and strongman JJ Rawlings who ruled Ghana efficiently and successfully for over 19 years act and satisfy your a ...

Author:
    Dumegah Prosper JNR
    Date:
    2014-01-23 06:31:46
    Comment to:
    Leave JJ Alone

What is your problem!!! Leave JJ Rawlings alone or you face the wrath of mother nature!!! Why should the glorious and strongman JJ Raw ...

Author:
    Dumegah Prosper JNR
    Date:
    2014-01-23 06:31:46
    Comment to:
    Leave JJ Alone

What is your problem!!! Leave JJ Rawlings alone or you face the wrath of mother nature!!! Why should the glorious and strongman ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Don't have sex with your daughter in the name of trokosi incestuous culture. Can you do that for us?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Are you not even ashamed of your trokosi stinking self? You fools want your cake and eat it too. Why is Rawlings silent about Komla? He burnt our ears when that tribalistic Awonoor died with praises so why is he not sending c ...

• AKWELE 10 years ago

Wofa Sarpong, Happy New Year!

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Thank you my sweet Niece Akwele. May the year be good to you too.

Licking your own fucking smelly ass as akwele,huh sarpong the watchman?

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Jealousy go kill you trokosi skunk because nobody cares about your stinky ass.

'Mr.Sarpong Tribalist and ethnocentric has'....hahahahaha

your english dey sweet papao!

Where did you schooled?

Fuck Komla Dumor et al. So he worked for a British institution, the BBC and helped to forward a Western agenda, and so what?

• London Whale. 10 years ago

Idiot. Wo Maame twe!.

Kwaseaba, abi truth hurts? What the hell was he doing working for the BBC and pretending the BBC served the interests of Africans. Of course you mentally emaciated fool won't understand, will you?

• Panucci 10 years ago

No wonder they don't respect us. Why should we be celebrating his life for the work he did for the Bullcrap Broadcasting Corporation? Jokers! All those who have been making him into an icon are all delusional.

• YE BRE 10 years ago

shame you are not emancipated enough to write in your own alphabet.You still have have to speak to us through western propaganda language.You can write in twi/ewe/Ga etc...you will still use western alphabet.Think a bit and r ...

• AKWELE 10 years ago

Komla, Rest In Peace

• SLY 10 years ago

You are stupid

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

I will chalk your comment to the affliction of the trokosi virus.

• Whatever 10 years ago

You know that very often when Mr. Rawlings opens his mouth to pay tribute, he ends up fouling somebody so why goad him? A child who doesn't allow his mother to sleep....

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Hahahaha, didn't know you have it in you like that.

I knew you guys will not let me Sleep either.Anytime you bait Rawlings you should be ready for his denizens. I am ready for them.

• Pepper is hot 10 years ago

Rawlings is a stupid man. Did he expected one of his daughters to have married komla? Komla was not the type that was about flashy women,he was a dedicated man.That would have been a joke. Rawliays is looser just like the st ...

• Pepper is hot 10 years ago

Fucking folks got to know that we are not here to write a thesis! Is call fucking comment,there could be typos and wrong spellings so nigga got to stop feeding on shit on peoples comment. Rawliays I wish I can slap his head o ...

• coffie 10 years ago

I don't know what your intentions are trying to invite hate towards another living being.visit the address below and you will find a recent picture of the dead the living having a healthy chat
    https://www.facebook.com/kdumor ...

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

What did you expect from Komla to do? The duty of the job calls for him to interview whoeve BBC schedule him to interview and Rawlings could not tell BBC who he wants to talk to.

Don't be childish. I have seen Rawlings gri ...

• link building 9 years ago

HYNrYC A big thank you for your article.Really looking forward to read more.

• matzcrorkz 9 years ago

U45ZBw I truly appreciate this blog article.Really thank you! Will read on...