You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 06 18Article 277061

Good Pidgin Speakers Do Not ‘Bomb’ Exams

Read Comments Comments (39)

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

"as pidgin is generally considered a language for deviants"

• Osei 10 years ago

CHARLE, THE WAY YOU WRITE THIS PIECE SHOW SAY PIDGIN AFFECT THE WAY YOU DEY WRITE. YOUR ENGLISH GET PLENTY TROUBLE. I THINK SAY YOU FOR STOP SPEAKING PIDGIN.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

omoghana. we dey talk about pidgin self and here you dey talk about grammar, ibi grammar you go chop. make you commot yourself from there.

• Osei 10 years ago

OMO GHANA NO KNOW TALK. COMMON dork-torh OMO GHANA SAY docta. COMMON ee-ah-porrt (AIRPORT), OMO GHANA say erport.

• GHFUO, LOVE/DOR YOURSELF! 10 years ago

U ARE TOO UPPITY. WAT IS UR PROBLEM. IVE NEVER MET U IN PERSON, BUT U SEEM LIKE A BOIL OR WATER FILLED BALLOON. READY TO POP!

PIDGIN, PATOIS, EBONICS, ETC ARE ALL STREET, HOOD TALK. JUST BCOS SOMEONE SPEAKS THESE DONT THE ...

The author says those who speak pidgin write good/better English and he speaks pidgin too, therefore, writes good/better English. Our point is that his premise may be right, but his conclusions, based on his own ability to wr ...

"There is no proof that School Pidgin affects the linguistic/academic competencies of the speakers. If you would not say your wedding vows in pidgin (not even in Nigeria), why write pidgin items in WAEC exams? Ghanaian educat ...

"The pidgin community lived well with the SU students with no suspicions at all. What remained suspicious was the real intention of the English masters when they needlessly expressed fears about the potential of pidgin to cor ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

,some of you reactionary academicians sicken my stomach, "Pidgin English is the language of deviants", "The queen's English", neither of which is correct, simply because they are both misnomers.

There is no such thing as ...

By deviants the author means the underclass of uneducated people! That is pidgin for you! There you have it!

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

Pidgin English is a non-specific name used to refer to any of the many Pidgin languages derived from English.

Before responding the first time, I took the time to read the definitation of Pidgin English in order to avoid b ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Na tru you dey talk. E no be tru say pidgin english dey spoil your grammar. If you no sabi proper english self, you no go fit speak proper pidgin.

Oh, how I dey wish our mommies, poppies and old ladies sabi pidgin english. ...

• Osei 10 years ago

CHARLE, OYIBO NO DAY UNDERSTAND NAIJA PIDGIN OO. ME SELF WEY I BE GHANAIAN, I NO DEY UNDERSTAND NAIJA ENGLISH ALL THE TIME.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

me self, sometimes i no dey understand them but de problem no bi english, ibi accent you dey talk.

• Osei 10 years ago

noors------------nurse
    ee-ah-porrt------airport
    dork-torh---------doctor
    kporh-shoo----------pursue
    kpor-chase-----------purchase
    accormo-da-shorng------accomodation

• metoo 10 years ago

Bread=bled for GH?
    pastor=pasta for GH?

• Jonas 10 years ago

No be everi person wey Naija dey speak better pidgin. Some place dey, like de Delta area, where everi person, iven de wan wey no go school, de speak pidgin. Some old people in some Yoruba villages no sabe pidgin. Na so so in ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I sabi dat. but more older people in niger sabi express themselves in oyibo land than ghana people. people wey de no go for high school (secondary) no dey speak english atall.

• BOY ALINKO 10 years ago

DIS PIDGIN WAY NA FUCKED UP WAY ABI ..IBE THE TIN WEY OYIBO GO GET STIFF NECK FOR TOP.
    THE SKOOL FEES UNA PAPA NA MAMA PAY ALL QUENCH QUATAA NI.

• Jonas 10 years ago

The Nigerians laugh at our pidgin. If you're a Ghanaian who has lived in Nigeria and Cameroon and you hear the Ghanaian pidgin, it sounds funny paa. And the pidgin spoken in Cameroon is even purer than the one in Nigeria beca ...

• Osei 10 years ago

AMERICANS LAUGHA T BEITISH ACCENT, BRITISH LAUGHA AT AMERICAN ACCENT TOO.

THE NAIJA ACCENT IS TO STRONG FOR ME.
    KPOR-SHOO for PURSUE, NOORS for NURSE. IT IS JUST CRAZY, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HEAR IT IN EUROPE OR AMERICA. IT I ...

• Jonas 10 years ago

Ghanaians laugh at Nigerians when they speak "grammar" because of their strong pronunciation. But no Ghanaian will laugh at Nigerian Pidgin from a position of knowing better. Pidgin is pidgin including the peculiar way Nigeri ...

• Osei 10 years ago

Ghanaians laugh at Nigerians when they speak "grammar" because of their strong pronunciation.

WHEN NIGERIANS LIEAVE NIGERIA AND GO TO OTHER ENGLISH SPEKAING COUNTRIES, THEN THEY KNOW THYE HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THEIR nooR-S ...

• metoo 10 years ago

Nigerians may say Noor-s, but Ghanaians say Ne-ss. Naijas say kpor-shoo.....but Ghanaians say peys-you.

Neither actually say nurse or pursue......so I don't get the issue.

People have accents....yes even non Africans.

• Keith Schmidt 10 years ago

Pidgin is just mangling another language because you cannot speak it well. Thats it ! If you can speak the language well then there would be no pidgin. So it is speaking a language badly. Is the better pidgin the one that is ...

• metoo 10 years ago

Naija pidgin is better to my ears O!. Beacsue it is always evolving and describes a situation to the crux better than the queen's English can. There are always new phrases and words to describe things or situations.

It has ...

• metoo 10 years ago

You are describing an accent, of which every person has.

Pidgin is how you say phrases, not words, or giving words a different meaning in a particular context.

Nigeria has many kinds of pidgin, depending on the region.

• Osei 10 years ago

We are who we are and proud of it, even in our music

SAME IN GHANA AND OTHER WEST AFRICAN COUNTRIES. GHANAIANS LOVE THEIR PIDGIN TOO. WHEN GHANAIANS WENT TO NIGERIA, NIGERIANS WOULD LAUGH AT THE WAY WE SPOKE. OF COURSE WE ...

• metoo 10 years ago

Nope....not for Naija. People do not get looked down upon for speaking pidgin, because people who you know fully well are educated and speak English very well.......you will still speak in pidgin in the right setting.

Peop ...

• macshild 10 years ago

herr charley I feel your article pass...it check like you school for ga eerh....ibi soo...you nany go fit speak better pidgin if you no dey bab better ble(English)...naija pidgin dey bore me pass...dema pidgin be unrefined w ...

• Osei 10 years ago

Dis article b gy3. On point

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 10 years ago

Kwesi, you're so wrong. What you and your school mates spoke is not pidgin English at all. It's rather a mix of native colloquialism and teenage jargon mimicking the real pidgin.

If you want to study and research pidgin En ...

• Jonas 10 years ago

The pidgin in Papua New Guinea is even thicker than the Nigerian one and, perhaps purer. It is a real language, nothing like what Ghanaians call pidgin which Ben is mangling here. I don't even understand what Ben is saying h ...

• Osei 10 years ago

IN GHANA, CONSTRUCTION WORKERS AND OTHER WORKING CLASS PEOPLE SPEAK PIDGIN. THE KIDS IN HIGH SCHOOL JUST ADJUST THEIR THE PIDGIN TO BOND. EVEN BEFORE INDEPENDENCE, OUR PEOPLE SPOKE PIDGIN BECUASE ONLY FEW COULD SPEAK THE QUEE ...

• Jonas 10 years ago

Your article is about pidgin as Ghanaians speak it, not pidgin English in general. It's only in Ghana that pidgin English is considered as being for deviants. There's some truth in that. But in other countries pidgin English ...

• HON AGYAPONG 10 years ago

MR DCE KINDLY TEACH YOUR CHILDREN TO SPEAK AND WRITE PIDGING ALONE.PLEASE DO NOT

• Kukurudu 10 years ago

It is true that those who messed around with pidgin while at school cannot write proper English, including this author who has confessed.

• WW 10 years ago

Mr. Tawiah, I've been reading your write-ups from your German to current Canadaian days with sense of appreciation. Those articles made a lot of sense and were thought provoking on the various subject matters treated. On the ...

• John Amponsah 10 years ago

Kwesi, I have enjoyed your article, thanks for writing it