You are here: HomeEntertainment2017 01 19Article 502501

Display of ‘magic’ at Asantehemaa’s burial rites

Read Comments Comments (157)

• Asante kortiboto 7 years ago

And they say only Ewes have Trokosi? These Asantes know no shame.

• APONKYE 7 years ago

Where is Palmer Buckle with lice-infested beard? I hope the Executioners meet Mensah OTABIL tonight.

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Eii, Asantes cherish primitive things! What's all this? Backwardness at its peak.

• Richard 7 years ago

Useless, fucking, culture. Seek Christ Jesus and stop these stupid backward fucking fucking culture.

• Liteo 7 years ago

You're a black fool. What do you call primitive? Africans must appreciate what they have. Educated fool

• HONESTY 7 years ago

How do we appreciate the good when we are always occupied with the nonsense.

It told more than a year to resolve the KMA crisis but look how easy and quick they can organise a burial.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

It took more than a year to ...

• Berima Owusu-Achiaw 7 years ago

All abt de witeman is good,all abt de blackman is bad Culture has nothing to do with computer age.Why has the UK still got the monarchy?To preserve de past nd dis wat has made de monarchy unique.In de UK u will fine whole hou ...

• Tay 7 years ago

Glorifying things that does not please God

• Pro. Mastalin Amaglo 7 years ago

Foolish people hating on tradition.

• Gyakpasu Ablorh 7 years ago

With all these so-called magical performances why haven't our "Dirty" priests invented any modern gadget to assist humanity? While the Whiteman is inventing airplanes and computers, our dirty priests are killing people for ri ...

• koffi parker 7 years ago

just look at every turn either way the corrupt Politician, Pastors/Prophets. technocrats, Whiteman, governments, Religion, all is up to no good for us what makes the "dirty priest" and the asantes any different. Whiteman's te ...

• HolyGHost 7 years ago

You don't know what you are talking about, technology have saved the world, tell me, what has the useless primitive fetish and juju done for the world.

• kk 7 years ago

What have u done with ur civil and clean mind?

• dd 7 years ago

Why haven't you also invented anything to help humanity?Are you also not a human being?

• leo 7 years ago

Yeah aponkye is back for 2017 with renewed stupidy and foolishness. More useless and idiotic comment for the new year.build a reputation of foolishness and excel in ur idiocy ,an icon of idiocy. Typical of ndc u insulted past ...

• PEACE 7 years ago

WITH ALL THEIR MAGICS THEY COULD NOT SAVE THE OLD WOMAN FRON DYING AND THE REST IS UP TO NOTHING GOOD IS GREAT!

• SmartphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

January is almost gone. Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain steady cash flow? Think about it -everyday, both the employed and the idle are hooked to ...

• Tread stone 7 years ago

Revelation 21:8 - But the fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: wh ...

• yao.preko 7 years ago

This 21st Century people are thinking of technology but we in Africa we still backwards

• leo 7 years ago

Mr ewe kortibotor i believe there are no fetish priest in eweland. Kwasia kwa fool

• HONESTY 7 years ago

No wonder my own Asante is still backward.
    Asantehene's scholarship education has not worked.
    The media? What is wrong with the media? Can not they see others and reason?

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 7 years ago

If your own life is stagnant or moving backwards, don't say WE are moving backwards. You call a once in a lifetime display of culture backward?? Please get a new dictionary.these culture are occasional displays not everyday p ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

The white man will not tell you, but they passed this stage once.
    They moved on like culture deserves, so Asante, move on. Culture is not static.

• Strsight Shooter 7 years ago

Every ethnicity in Ghana has fetidh priests. You huys must get away with your biaded comments. Capa Coast has gods left in the dtreets, something you will never see in any part of Asanteman .Cape Coadt is called the Town with ...

• kwame 7 years ago

Who says White skinned.person dont Performance these rites...go to Germany ..In winter they have thier chasing of the Evil .

• HONESTY 7 years ago

It is also the fucking whiteman's culture.

Our ancestors would have thrown a fool like you to the dogs to feed.

Culture evolves.

@ Honesty, why will pur ancestor throw me to the dogs when a fatten idiot is around? The white won't to this or that... Stop showing your inferiority complex. Get a good reason for your dislike for our culture other than usin ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Their date of birth or its use. There's no wrong learning from others, hence you speak and communicate in English else how can you speak to an ewe and him to you would having to suffer to learn his language and he yours.

I ...

• Aponkye 7 years ago

STOP THIS NONSENSE

• Khujo. 7 years ago

You lost soul. I bet you will rather be told what to do by the white man?

• HONESTY 7 years ago

You are indeed creativing new ideas and culture and not being spoon fed by your relatives to believe in bullshit as progressive.

The British must be laughing, they had to hold my people by their necks and balls to stop th ...

• Nana US 7 years ago

Primitive Africans?? Listen to this colonial mentality dem don release you but you never release yourself. The white man convinced your way of life is backward and you believed him. No wonder imf and other multi national comp ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

I call a spade a spade. I criticise the white man and damn you my people equally when you are backward in thinking.
    The white man actually would like to see you like this forever, as long as it does not interfere with his wa ...

• girlyshee 7 years ago

I really love your comment Nana, God bless u for that

• xxyz 7 years ago

have you seen Indians worshipping their gods in Hiduism, what about the Japanese; they all worship idols; are they backward, only a brainwashed idiot will think the way you do; I don't support these shrines and fetish priests ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

What do you know about Indians. So you would rather worship and copy the Indian than the European.

Indians think you are a low cast fucking animal, think.

At least, the Japanese have embraced sciences and great inventio ...

• Ms. F 7 years ago

Exactly! Even though I don't believe in magic and all of that, I think this is a nice display of culture and no one should criticize them for at. At least they recognize themselves as Ghanaians. That's more that what I can sa ...

• kofy 7 years ago

Then stop calling yourself a Christian and fully belong them. Lukewarm fellow

Don't we have magicians all over the world and work as professionals even in europe?You are an ignorant buffoon.You just hate asantes.

• AUTHENTIC C.Y. ANDY-K 7 years ago

Indeed, most of them are ignorant buffoons who must know better.

Andy-K

• Ndlovu 7 years ago

No.That pure witchcraft. What an irony!. A Christian funeral service and then magical display of power?Forgive us our sins and cleanse our land oh God.

• Liteo 7 years ago

Kwasea what sins? Only fools in Africa will follow christianity.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

He was a big Asante chief and a Christian, now I know he was a fool according to you.
    Asantehemea had a Christian funeral service as well.
    Judge for yourself. The Bible Has secrets if not for its religious, read it as a b ...

Zoobie- Zoobie, BB, Aponkye, Socrates, BBC news, OGYAM, NPP SENIOR CITIZEN, Will Smith, they Say they say and many other non-existent names been used by this stupid NDC man. Mr idiot, stop using different type of names to ma ...

• bmd 7 years ago

Stop talking rubbish. You are not Asante and you will never be.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

I am the grandson of Nana Osei Tutu, who brought Asante together to stop Denkyira hegemony.

He was very progressive and used magic to fool Asantes to do the right thing.

If Nana was with us today, he would do something ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

'Mine' not my in paragraph 3.

• leo 7 years ago

U are the grandson of osei tutu who reigned in 17 century. Grandson ? Then u must be 300 years. Look massa who coached u is an idiot plain and simple. Since u man enough then go to kumasi and tell them they are primitive. Thx ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

The world is a village now and I don't have to go to my savage relatives to change them, I can sent you, fool.
    Change before you become extinct.

• PREKESE. 7 years ago

WANGARA MAN YOUR FAMILY DIDN'T TELL YOU THE TRUTH.CAN SEND BUT NOT CAN SENT.OFUI BA,YOU ARE NOW OUT OF YOUR ROPE SO YOU CAN SAY WHATEVER YOU LIKE.OFIE NIPA.

• Berima Owusu-Achiaw 7 years ago

Kwasia man wat are traditional medicines use for?

• SIMON 7 years ago

THE WHOLE OF KUMASI IS ON LOCK DOWN AND THEY SAID THEY WILL KILL PEOPLE IS THIS TRUE???

• Yoofi 7 years ago

This is a once in a life opportunity. Nana should have taken the opportunity to have moved the Central Bank to Kumasi and lock up all these jujumen in the Bank Vault gettiing them to conjure dollars.

What is the economic b ...

This is a burial service not an economic forum. You obvious don't know jack about how funerals contribute to the Ashanti economy which automatically translat to the national economy.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

We watch our relatives suffer to death so we can make some cash at their funeral.
    Sick people we are.

@Honesty, yes that has been the case for a long time but now that you and I know better, I believe we should strive to take very good care of the living and pay the dead their respect when the need be .

• Yoofi 7 years ago

Does it really matter if it is a burial service.

These magicians are on the roll making baskets walk and turning stones into puna.

What then is wrong if Ghana takes the opportunity to locak them up to get them to produc ...

• Kana wu 7 years ago

Yoofi or whoever you call yourself must everything be economic?? We have done economics since independence and look at where we are.what will just one week of cultural display of just one tribe going to affect the whole count ...

• Yoofi 7 years ago

I don't have a problem with the cultural display.

All I'm saying is if they can make baskets walk and turn stones into puna yams, why can't they make tricks to produce some few dollars for our hardup Finance Ministry.

I ...

@ yoofi, no one is stopping you from getting them locked. You are free to do so, you will a hero at the end of the day

• Yoofi 7 years ago

Look Serwah, in Nigeria, England or US where money is minted is a high security location.

Ghanaian thieves fear no one, not even the dead that is why they exhume bodies to seal gold from them.

So all I'm saying is that ...

• harry 7 years ago

Tourism

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Do you have to dance like a monkey to attract tourist.

We had panafest, Kufuor's govt could not improve it but destroyed it.

The only one good the lunatic Rawlings did.

• plagiarism 7 years ago

lunatic Rawlings? you very stupid. what has Rawlings got to do with this? kwasia.....bush man from a bush tribe

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

I see.I got involved with an Ashanti woman and the slightest mistake you do around her brings curses and invoking of names of some deities in her big village.I never saw happiness and success.Backward forever.

• Koo 7 years ago

Now u were scared lol go back to your stupid women

• Neutral Zone 7 years ago

@Bretuoba, I feel ur pain. LOL.

• Tribalism and Nepotism NPP 7 years ago

1. President - Akyem
    2.Chief of Staff - Akyem
    3.Senior Minister - Akyem
    4.Minster of Finance Akyem
    5.Attorney General - Akyem
    6.Minster for Wks and Hsing - Akyem.
    7. Kwesi Amoako Atta--- Roads and Highways Akyem ...

• Tribalism and Nepotism NPP 7 years ago

21st century and people still carrying their fellow human being on their head because and says He is a king..only imbiciles will pratice such stupidity, even here in UK the Queen sits in a car but not on people.

Look at this fool exhibiting inferiority complex. It doesn't happen in the UK and so What??? What makes you think the Asante culture looks up to the UK as a standard. If you've thrown your culture away and thus have nothing s ...

• Yaa 7 years ago

Well said

• Ama 7 years ago

Will people stop thinking about what people do and stop rejoicing over other people's mistakes no one is perfect

• Osei Smick 7 years ago

So says a nincompoop wit a peanut brain...Think before u talk kwasiakwa

• ACHEAMPONG 7 years ago

Kwasia wo maame tw3..gay like u

• AA 7 years ago

The monarchs never sat on people in ancient times. They used horses or carriages which they still do in occasion to uphold their heritage. Carrying chiefs in this case is also a part of their tradition n they only do it on oc ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

LOOK THEM.

• stunna from Hohoe 7 years ago

Can't compare these low display to that of ours in the volta region.come watch Gbidukorza and u will be amazed.Too much magical display and I tell u,u will have alot to write

• kwasi 7 years ago

lol please nobody is comparing, let us enjoy the show bro

No one is comparing. Your title is still safe, no one can take that away from you.

• BB 7 years ago

Nonsense, magic indeed. do those evil magicians ever do something to develop communities? They should preserve their so called powers to defend themselves with when their maker comes to punish them for their evils.

• Ochristoni 7 years ago

They are savages.

• Bawumia 7 years ago

If it is Ashanti, it is culture but other tribe it is rituals and idol-ism.

• Kweku 7 years ago

Oh shit l hate this. So all this stuff is on social media? Kai this is backward

• Anas, South Afr 7 years ago

Oo soo? If this were to be in the Volta Region, it is juju but when it is among the Ashantis, its their rich culture. How are more into sakawa and sikadroo in Ghana? Twiaaaaa

• TK 7 years ago

Ahhba ashantis are extremely backward. What is this. They are thousands of years away from civilization.

• Giuy 7 years ago

Hahaha and your president and ex-presidents are following. Hahaha

• Joshua. 7 years ago

After praying for old lady's corpse in church?
    Am sorry for her soul.

• Kankan Nyameba 7 years ago

It is so easy to sit far from the action and write shit about Esoteric Magic being performed during Burial Ceremonies, you flat faced Ignoramuses who feel their western religious shit can protect should go and challenge the p ...

You stupid NDC fool . U just hate the Ashanti people , come to England and see for yourself. Asians always follow their culture even here. They don't leave it behind. So are you gay now? Since u have chosen to follow the w ...

• Kwaku Frimpong Owusup 7 years ago

Why are people trying to downgrade the Asante tradition?.Presbyterian church will tell you,you can't change tradition.Please,let's cherish our tradition to attract tourist into the country.If it were the Whiteman who was hold ...

• kwame kwaku 7 years ago

The stockholm syndrome have reached Africa. What a shame. The "White Jesus our savior" syndrome is spreading like no other. Rejecting and belittling your own for an Obroni's. At this point I'm not sure if these black people c ...

• Asante kortiboto 7 years ago

Are you an idiot and dont know why or are you just pretending?. Let me tell you why. Majority of asantes are Assholes and Pricks and they treat other tribes with disrespect..

• leo 7 years ago

Mr asante kortibotor u give me very reason to disrespect u cause u are a fool and son of a bitch. U dont deverse respect swine

• HONESTY 7 years ago

If the tourist you want to attract does not change his mind and come and watch Asante monkeys displaying, how can you attract them.
    You talk porkies.
    The whiteman does not repeat a broken culture for generations. They also ...

For this article, you've won the title for the “Most Mentally Retarded Low Esteemed Whiteman's Asslicker". If you want genuine progress for your life, then its time to stand up for your identity instead acting like a slave ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

You don't deserve it. Every visionary has been called mad. Mad can mean refresh ideas that challenge the status quo.
    Bragging will not earn you any honour.

The whiteman does not have to mock you, your stupidity is open to ...

• HONESTY 7 years ago

....abundant talent of these little ones.

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

It is so excepssional to be holding as that.

• Kabutey Kabu 7 years ago

BUT NO MAGIC TO WAKE HER FROM DEATH! STOP ALL THESE NONSENSE IN OUR ADVANCED AND CIVILISED WORLD. DO SOMETHING MEANINGFUL, CONSTRUCTIVE AND PRACTICAL TO ADVANCE THE STANDARDS OF LIVING BY OUR PEOPLE INSTEAD.!

• Krakadii 7 years ago

What a shame some some of them didn't wear nika hmmmmm

• Lula. Nooooo 7 years ago

What a shame

• Ama 7 years ago

Do people still believe in this

• JAY 7 years ago

Kwaku Bonsam is fake,his predictions on the world cup results exposed him

• HONESTY 7 years ago

These are con artists with hidden knowledge that would not shock you if you come to understand what they do.

• Bretuoba Kofi Frimpong Boateng 7 years ago

Can we commence our economic duties now.I mean something that can put money in our pockets and help mankind.Enough of the unproductive magic displays.And the stomach greed clergy were in attendance.The lukewarm ones will be ...

• Yaw Mends 7 years ago

this very era practising this shameful thing ?

• BUDDIST , BIBLE ,QURAN 7 years ago

EVERY COUNTRY ON PLANET HAS THEIR BELIEVE AND WORSHIP DIFFERENTLY . VERY PROUD OF MY CULTURE AND MY ANCESTORS THE QUEEN NANA YAA ASANTEWAAH DEFEATED THE BRITISH .

• JJ 7 years ago

Is cutting people's heads to bury with a dead chief a culture? It is murder.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Did you hear any missing person during the festivities at Kumasi?

• JJ 7 years ago

Another ape and asshole pretending asantes dont cut hesds

• JJ 7 years ago

Another asante prick and asshole pretending it does not happen. Where from all those human heads hunging on the asantehene stool from?

• JJ 7 years ago

Another asante prick and asshole pretending it does not happen. Where from all those human heads hunging on the asantehene stool ?

• HINDU - BUDDIST , BIBLE ,QURAN 7 years ago

BOB MARLEY CLAIMED FOOLS ABANDON THEIR CULTURE .

• HONESTY 7 years ago

So the drug induced fool is your reference and God.

I would happily throw away any culture that adversely affects me and others badly just like my ancestors did by creating.
    Create new good cultures. By the way, your chil ...

If your head is still on your neck, then no one head was cut cos normally heads of people like you are preferred.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

Let's spill the beans, they like killing visitors and strangest like the Nigeria hustlers.

• Ken 7 years ago

Ashantis are backward and primitive people. In this 21st century when the whole world is finding solution to problems and the ways of living. You call this culture and you are happy with this.

Yes, we are very happy with it. How many problems have you solved with your forwardness???

• Tread stone 7 years ago

https://youtu.be/HcnfT4arZtI

• Togbe sla 7 years ago

In this mordern world

• Pelicles 7 years ago

When Halloween is being celebrated in the US, do you see what they put and that is okay right?

• New age 7 years ago

Disturbing

• BUDDIST , BIBLE ,QURAN 7 years ago

FOOLS ABANDON THEIR CULTURE QUOTE BY LEGENDARY BOB MARLEY

• BB 7 years ago

Is bob marley God?

• MODIBO 7 years ago

DId the European say Africa has no culture
    Ashanti Zulu Oyo Benin Sudan Matabeleland
    Kongo black nations .Good show Otumfour we salute you! More fire

• jyd 7 years ago

Oh My God! Where was Osofo Kyiri Abosom? He travels far to destroy and insults ancient shrines but vanished when all the deities were in Kumasi. Power oo power.

• Abubakar 7 years ago

You call this inward and backward looking person 'king Solomon ' This people are really uncivilized. Kabobs nga

• Abubakar 7 years ago

Where are our leaders? Our President, our law enforcement agencies, our parliament our pastors,our imams, our judges and Lawyers. It's a shame to that common human being is.dead and our and soldiers have gone to bed and canno ...

• Kofi Bediako. Germany 7 years ago

Please use these powers to create scientific development instead of display of stones to eggs.Culture , tradition, etc should benefit humanity.

• KAKLAKA. 7 years ago

If some of these fetish priest should come from Benin, then Ewes supporting Ashanti Kingdom. And where is my friend Kwaku Bonsam........am sure he is in trance to demonstrate his powers. That's culture and they follow such ...

• KAKLAKA. 7 years ago

If some of these fetish priest should come from Benin, then Ewes supporting Ashanti Kingdom. And where is my friend Kwaku Bonsam........am sure he is in trance to demonstrate his powers. That's culture and they follow such ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

This nonsense in the 21st century?

• Djoe 7 years ago

Where is Colege? The Kumawood festish .he has to do collaboration with them in order to Hit.

• harry 7 years ago

Some of us are asking for the economic benefits of the culture we have seen the past days.....my suggestion is that we as people should support the chiefs in promoting tourism and not only to see it as paganism... those were ...

• kk 7 years ago

Here is a good display of primitive culture - very dis-organized and confused people - this is more than Trokosi and Voodoo in terms of confusion.
    Please don"t kill any poor souls to go with this dead woman.

• ferdy 7 years ago

proud to be an asante ....so so proud....respect to our Lordship is the reason behind our solidity...

• jo ambright 7 years ago

Look at this stupid people

• Godsent Atopahene 7 years ago

Okomfo Anokye who built Ashantis is an ewe migrant.Dont you know?

• Blantyne 7 years ago

Ewe migrant? Why did he migrate? You want to claim Komfo Anokye and make him your own? Your cooked Notsie story will not wash so fuck off from here.

• OBSERVER 7 years ago

Romans 3:18 read,
    "There is no fear of God before their eyes."

• ACHEAMPONG 7 years ago

Fuckin ppl will talk shut here..tradition goes on

• K.A. Baffour, BSc(Hons), MBA 7 years ago

Farewell to the Queen of Asanteman. Your contribution to the Ashanti Region was exemplary. It was through your valiant efforts and the effort of your son - Otumfuo Osei Tutu; Krobea Asante Kotoko - that the Ashanti Region h ...

• Zapatista 7 years ago

Hahaha. You called this magic. Is it not my grandfathers from mosji zongo who taught these scavengers from the forest this little tricks?? Look at their fake amulets.

• Black 7 years ago

Really?? The grandfather who came from the "city" to the forest of the scavengers as a useless slave with the mind as big as peanuts. You should be grateful to Asanteman you can even read anything here

• Black 7 years ago

When u have people changing their names to that of the white man who journeyed thousands of miles to come to u, what else can u expect than people condemning the little identity we preserved from our history. So much inferior ...

• James A. Thompson 7 years ago

Does bring any meaningful developments to them and the entire Country ? We are now in globalization era where scientific research and technology matter most but just wearing powers for destructive purposes only.
    God saves ...

• IDI AMIN DADA! !!!!!! 7 years ago

THE PASTORS SHOULD HAVE GONE THERE TO PERFORM MIRACLES TOO.... LOL

• K.A.B 7 years ago

Reading people's comments proved africans have divided and rule. Up to date no understanding culture leads to developments. Looks Chinese today their achievements and success from culture. Believes in once culture don't give ...

• Marcol 7 years ago

Jesus Christ is watching. He is coming get prepared.

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah.Atlanta GA 7 years ago

Hmmm ! Bretuoba,You' ve said it all.Do those pseudo clergy know what they are about ? Go to some of the churches and tell me if there is any significant difference between what they are witnessing and what they allow and actu ...

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah.Atlanta GA 7 years ago

What we know is that Kwame Frimpong Anokye,aka okofo Anokye was not an Asante.He came from Awukugwa in the Eastern Region.But what is the big deal about him ? The nonsense he and others started is the reason why some lost ...

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

The fetish priests in Eweland are able to cast their dragnet on asphalt and make a good catch of tilapia. They are able to put a stone in boiling water and after five minutes, bring out a well boiled piece of yam in place of ...

• Kwame Adu-Parko 7 years ago

EALOUS INGRATES INSULTING CULTURE
    Some people here really needs free education from the Akuffo Addo govt! Most people on this platform insulting Ashantis dnt know the degree of their own stupidity! I pity them paa, they must ...

• Tt 7 years ago

It is unfortunate to hear people talk like this. If you forget who you are you ll forever be a slave. The white man's life style has made it hard for us to be who we are. Even Christ said give what belongs to ceasar and what ...

• Campus Ministry Report 7 years ago

Satan is the one who deceives the entire inhabited earth.

Whoever wants to be delivered from
    shrine, idolatry, demons etc. God would allow such a person to be delivered and saved by Christ.

The choice is yours. If you ...

• cee 7 years ago

If its an Ewes they will say it is juju, but Ashanti's own is rich display of culture. Hypocrites, God has seen you all