You are here: HomeEntertainment2014 04 03Article 305138

8 English words that mean something totally different in Kumasi

Read Comments Comments (65)

• Ampofo Agyei 10 years ago

They always cherish to create and like their own things.They are originals.

• JB Osei-Brown 10 years ago

Ampofo,

All those terms (macho ie Boby-Builder, guy-guy, too-known, brutal ie superlative and several others ) are used by entire Ghana (especually those in secondary schools) and not only the people Kumasi.

• Asante baa 10 years ago

..."sandwich" meaning fried rice or check-check.

• kate 10 years ago

Kumawood=Ghallywood
    Busumuru=Professor or Doctor
    Sandwich=Check-check
    Agymeng Rawilings was Ashtown girl
    JJ Rawlings was satasi boy
    Kofi anna was Amakom boy
    Infant these Ashantis are too much

• POW@Ghana 4 last 4, Brazil 2014 10 years ago

You take a word from an international language, you haphazardly used it, with a wrong pronunciation and call that original? Are you on glue?

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Did you do your research before spewing your arrogance here?

Is the word portable, English? I sense you said yes, well it is a Latin word, meaning to carry.

Has the English made it their own? Yes they have and its an "E ...

• JB Osei-Brown 10 years ago

Well I put that word in quotes because it does not exist!

The Ghanaian term 'Burger' as it properly written, actually derived from the German city state of Hamburg - the place where the first Ghanaians immigrants to German ...

• DR KUFFOUR 10 years ago

Mr JB, educate them better and let them know where they belong in Ghana. Just as you pointed out, also the word " blog " is not what is said by Ghanaiana but " block " for ice which has the same meaning as in English.

• The Son of Man 10 years ago

it is pronounced blog, hence the expression ice blog

• SAINT KWAME 10 years ago

Chef does not mean someone cooking. The term comes from "CHEF de CUISINE" meaning "Head of the Kitchen".

• OZA 10 years ago

No, you got your French wrong. "Chef de cuisine" means "Head Cook". In French the "Chef" is the "master cook" or the overall head of the professional kitchen staff.

• Proud Ashanti 10 years ago

Nice article. Bring us more of these.

• mills 10 years ago

in Holland and Germany for example it means citizen...so Ghanaian term means someone who has been to or live there

• Agyarko michael 10 years ago

Hahaha oseikrom for u

• Di asempa 10 years ago

Even Americans have their own English which is different from British English. What about our own Nigerians? their English is totally different but they were able to creat their own.
    Made in Ghana. All made in Ghana t ...

• Oheneba 10 years ago

We sianos don't say director, it's daaata! Honorable is onable.........derrrm the writer should get his/her facts right ....lol. Seikrom anaa ye ye toff!

• Nana Akwasi Boachie 10 years ago

My name is Blaa Kwasi. Is it the word in , "Black, black, black sheep"? O no, wobekum y3n af3re. (Brother Kwasi)as in (Bro. Kwasi) Monhw3 mo L ne mo R yiye.

• Bempahba 10 years ago

jack u made me laugh all through kudos mehnn

• K. MANU 10 years ago

The government is urging Ghanaians to use made in Ghana goods. I think the Oseikrom lads have given us what could help transform our falling educational standard. Why don't we encourage our educational authorities to use this ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

"Chef - Original definition: A chef is a person who cooks professionally for other people." Why "original here?

This word is french. Its main definition means "chief", king, head or patron; simply a person who exercises au ...

• joe 10 years ago

dis is jx for gags! no dissin den serious argument biara, aba!????????

• ghanaba 10 years ago

whait is this mean? why you always on asante people?

• ghanaba 10 years ago

what is this mean to you?
    why you always after asante people?

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

THEY'RE ARE ILLITERATES WITH BIG MOUTHS AND HAVE NO SHAME ABOUT IT.
    I MEAN, JUST LISTEN TO THE EX-PRESIDENT KUFOUR WHEN HE SPEAKES ENGLISH. IT'S A SHAME.

• KWAME OWUSU 10 years ago

you made me home sick,i love this joke
    please give us more.

• New World African 10 years ago

Vicky, I'm sorry, but you need not criticize anybody when it comes to English. "They're are" is incorrect. It should be "There are". Likewise "He Speakes" is improper spelling. It should read "He speaks".

• Agya Nimo 10 years ago

Ur very idiot! who say so...what do u knw...ma frnd go away.

• wang 10 years ago

From your name it appears you are a fante if I'm not mistaken. Is it not your ancestors who used Kenkey as a weapon in a war? So stupid and dumb.

Why should one be ashamed when he or she can speak English? Can the Amer ...

• anan 10 years ago

think kk

• Yiadom 10 years ago

You need deliverance from your inferior mentality. If your tribe had the mentality of Asantes, I'm sure Ghana would have been a better place. Love them or hate them, they don't give a damn what you think about them. They are ...

• royal son 10 years ago

remember our language is a national language ok...

• Aden 10 years ago

The self- proclaimed literate contributor of this forum can't even spell and express herself appropriately. It's a double shame to you Vicky Lee.

• Palava 10 years ago

Dumb ass Vicky Lee Benton! Can your stupid father speak any english at all?
    Kwasia!

• Palava 10 years ago

You see how stupid you are? You are criticizing someone's english but look at what you wrote on here. Shame on you!

• i-man 10 years ago

vicky & all those who responded to what his said are all disgusting. why can't we put our diff. aside n make crake some jokes with each other to make some funny comments just like how others just did on this same jock? who ca ...

• Nyameye 10 years ago

I can't stop laughing! That was a good one! I've kind of known this all along and even use a few of the Kumasi versions (I'm PhD and a Fanti) but thanks for putting it all together for us. This is not peculiar to Kumasi or Gh ...

• Woyome woyome 10 years ago

Look at this fake writer these people migrated from little towns in ghana when trying to find them it cannot be trace in ghana maps . Speaking good English does not make you wise person else there would ve words like idiot ...

• Maspion 10 years ago

CHEF, In german Means Boss... So please Note...

• Aden 10 years ago

Yes Mr/Ms. writer, go and do your homework well, guess what you made up some words too

• Abeeku Mensah 10 years ago

This is proof that we must trade the educated but non-thinking elite class in parliament and executive offices with the younger generation. The youth, educated, under educated and uneducated, have shown the knack for adaptati ...

• Guido---Giudo 10 years ago

Sometimes, words or origination of words gradually change when the new generation actually did not have a clue of the meaning of those slangs . I really hurt me when someone try to make fun of Kumasi people. I was born and ...

• Guido-Guido a.k.a B-Sure a.k.a Armpre 10 years ago

Sometimes, words or origination of words gradually change when the new generation actually did not have a clue of the meaning of those slangs . I really hurt me when someone try to make fun of Kumasi people. I was born and br ...

• Guido-Guido a.k.a B-Sure , Armpress 10 years ago

This explains why when you start to date girls from other regional areas in Ghana, they start with some funny intermittently interrogations with dumb questions pertaining to Kumasi guys because they do not have a slightest ...

• Komla 10 years ago

The article took my mind back to the good olds I spent in Kumasi. Kumasi is a city I love dearly, the people are game and down to earth. I agree with the writer that Brutal has been around for a while, in those days if you w ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

Simply put, Asantefuo are tooo known, to the extent that they are inadvertently undermining our whole political culture, whether by inserting phraseologies like 'tweaah' or 'dumsor dumsor'.

• Palava 10 years ago

Kwasia! Who said tweaaa? Is it not your uncle in the BA?

• nana bobie ansah 10 years ago

at least you have highlighted lots of words that recent generation has created from the existing ones. bless.

• Wonana 10 years ago

Huhuudios and nicodamously are all brofolised in Ghana.

• skebaabu 10 years ago

chef..is actually dutch -meanin supervisor or someone in charge..i think the burghers brought dat from jaamine!

• Aden 10 years ago

Maybe this writer should redo his homework

• The Son of Man 10 years ago

The etymology of chef is not Dutch. It originates from French language and it is a short form of the expression chef de cuisine.

• royal son 10 years ago

am proud to be Ashanti....we are the owners of Ghana now and forever..without our language there is no Ghana..believe it or not...Kumasi for u

• Aden 10 years ago

These words are used every where in Ghana,,it is not only in Kumasi, get your facts straight. Too known, so what if we make new words different from their original meanings, teach us professor. Show off. Do you think words we ...

• kobbyscratch 10 years ago

GhWeb are soo LAME!!! SMH.....

• NAKED 10 years ago

Keep your culture don't afraid the vultures, keep your culture don't afraid the will-power. Keep your hay high my Asante people.

• KOFI, OHIO USA 10 years ago

massa wo y3 bea!! good one

• KOFI, OHIO USA 10 years ago

someone educate me on this. Did the name "adwoa yankee" giving to the cloth shirt originate from oseikrom, kumasi?

• Hayes 10 years ago

You know our people and you cannot correct anyone. I had a good laugh. Thanks for sharing.

• Obibini 10 years ago

I just balance him, meaning dodging him, Siano version. I'm not Asante but grew up in Kumasi & won't trade it for anyplace in the world. Its full of hardcore guys so if you can make it through in Kumasi u aren't scared of any ...

• Palava 10 years ago

You just made my day Obibini. Ain't got nothing to say bro; you just made my day.

• BB 10 years ago

Wootu kua - meaning Blowing your horns. Like woodwa w'anum bisaa no, w'atease3?

I'll mafia you - meaning, I'll deal with you brutal..

Connection - Siano will say Connetion.. meaning, cutting corners.

Gangalia- real w ...

• B-SURE..A.K.A. GUIDO 10 years ago

Sometimes, words or origination of words gradually change when the new generation actually did not have a clue of the meaning of those slangs . I really hurt me when someone try to make fun of Kumasi people. I was born and br ...

• Yankey 10 years ago

Taakum!! U forgot this one- 'steady' - "y3 steady ma me" lol I really enjoyed this

• thomas 10 years ago

I like the first term, TAAKUM

• Samuel Agbemafle 10 years ago

Language corrupt,and absolute language corrupts absolutely