You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2017 06 01Article 543428

Man lynched for allegedly stealing a mobile phone

Read Comments Comments (62)

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

This death is not important since Capt Mahama had blood running through his veins and this suspected phone thief had Kerosine running through his veins.

• Joe Boy 6 years ago

People are lynched all the time in almost every town and city in Ghana. Nobody protests. Suddenly a young "handsome" man called Mahama is lynched and everybody is pretending that it is a henious crime.
    Will there be a campa ...

• James B D 6 years ago

This trend has been with us for some time. We hear and see these things in the streets of our towns and communities in Ghana. Hardly a day passes and there is no news of some one being lynched. To tell the hard truth Ghana h ...

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

IN 2011 I WAS ALMOST LYNCH BY A GROPUOF NEIGHBOURHOOD THUGS AT DANSOMAN LAST STOP. I WAS HANGING OUT INFRONT OF MY GIRL'S HOUSE AT AROUND 2AM. I WAS DRESSED NICE. WEARING A LONG SLEEVE WHITE SHIRT N SOMEHOW THESE PPL WHO DIDN ...

• Adekunle 6 years ago

2am in your girls neighbourhood, what kind of love sef dat, hehehe. You are lucky, next time, lol!

• King US 6 years ago

Ghana has turn to Lawlessness cty since Npp came to power. The Army will soon comeout frm the barracks.The writting is on the.

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Who will allow a corrupt and galamsey arm to rule Ghana. Let the army try anything stupid and we will start lynching them like common criminals. Nonsense.

• Maka a maka 6 years ago

To King US: if your military come out of the barracks, they will be sent back with alacrity, and the leaders will end up at the Hague. Ghanaians are fed up with people who possess no political knowhow, seizing power because ...

• TKD 5 6 years ago

You have a right to your concerns but; the insult made your contribution lose its meaning; watch out next time.

• Ama 6 years ago

Agbesi Minukaba

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

I see a trend developing folks! The last time it was inocent citizens hanging themselves and this time round it is mob justice or lynching. Ghanaians watch it The president is not spiritually correct. He is a demon filled wit ...

• Aponkye B33 6 years ago

I have been saying Nana addo is evil and people insult me. From suicide to lynching. only God knows what will happen next.

• Useless idiot 6 years ago

You are an idiot.

• lone prophet of Jehovah 6 years ago

PRESIDENT SHOULD WAKE UP THIS IS THE RESULTS OF CORRUPT SECURITY SYSTEM IN GHANA.WHEN A CASE OR A CRIME IS REPORTED TO THE POLICE THEY TAKE BRIBE AND LET THE CRIMINALS OFF THE HOOK.IN TURN GHANAIANS HAVE LEARNT NOT REPORTED C ...

• SKIPER 6 years ago

FRIEND YOU ARE SO RIGHT. THAT IS WHY PEOPLE TAKE THE LAW INTO THEIR HANDS BECAUSE JUSTICE CAN BE BOUGHT AND THIS IS BECOMING VERY DANGEROUS IT CAN HAPPEN TO ANYONE REGARDLESS OF YOUR PERSONALITY.

• Useless idiot 6 years ago

And you are also an idiot

• Eba 6 years ago

Intellectual weak comment.....does everything has to spiritual..

• Ghana nti 6 years ago

Lynching in Ghana is now a game, keep fooling yourselves as a nation

• #noname 6 years ago

Ndc, blame this lynching on Akuffo-Addo. Fools. Didn't this nasty act started during the rule of ndc? What party started the "LET THE BLOOD FLOW MANTRA"? - PNDC = NDC. Animals!!!
    Ghana is what it is today because of the usel ...

• Baba 6 years ago

U don't know history go n learn

• kanawu 6 years ago

Lynching in Ghana must stop !!!!

• Wisdom 6 years ago

Kanawu, I agree with you. The president must warn Ghanaians from lynching and anyone guilty of lynching will be imprisoned for life. I think this will work. This goes directly to President Akofo Addo

• Wisdom 6 years ago

President Akofo Addo please do something, it can be your grandchild, grandson, granddaughter tomorrow.

• I think 6 years ago

What is becoming rather clear is stealing in Ghana must stop. No stealing no lynching.
    That is the underlying theme in these lynchings. It seems you are more likely than not to be lynched in Ghana for stealing and thievery w ...

• Pontius Pilate 6 years ago

Did he ?
    You medieval moron !

• James Naru 6 years ago

I like to see politicians who steal several millions of cedis to be lynched as well.
    Unfortunately Ghanaians dont like to lynch those people.
    They prefer to lynch petty thieves

• JAY 6 years ago

Where is the ROTTEN,CORRUPT police and Army?will they be sent there to help catch the killers?

• Isaac larweh 6 years ago

Ghana is still back world this can not happened any where in Amireca or U.K.

• KOO 6 years ago

In The US Kuching of mostly blacks has gone on for centuries, in Alabama, atlanta, Mississippi, Selma, US police lynch blacks all the time. In U.K. Mostly is black against black knife crime. I m The UK I know what I am saying

• Amponsah 6 years ago

Who can be lynched to To lynch is to summarily kill someone without due process of the law. To lynch to death is tautology.

• OWEN. NEW YORK 6 years ago

PUNISHMENT FOR LYNHING SHOULD BE FIRING SQUAD. ATTEMPTING TO LYNCH SHOULD CARRY A 10 YEAR SENTENCE FOR THOSE LYNCHERS AND GHANAIANS WILL STOP THIS PRIMITIVISM.

• Joe 6 years ago

That is GHana for you.This is unbelievable. I don't know what is happening to the country

• Joe 6 years ago

If all these are happening in Akofo-addo's time.A man known for rule of law,then where is the hope.I thought the word "incompetence" should be forgotten by now

• Obontwe 6 years ago

Did you hear yourself? Too petty I must admit. What is bad i's bad but trust me worse things happened during the last administration. Be objective in tour critic. Godo save Ghana

• Ato 6 years ago

Blood thirsty demons all over the place. Change has come.

• Aponkye B33 6 years ago

From work to office, my heart palpates because I dont know the next mob nana addo will gather to lynch someone. I am living in Ghana with fear.

• kofi 6 years ago

WODIN NE WADWEN SE - BEE

• MR 6 years ago

I think these Akans have lost their sense of reasoning. Today is central region, tomorrow is Ashanti region. What at all is wrong with these Akans?

• apedwa-taifa-toronto 6 years ago

WHAT DOES A SENSELESS KILLING HAVE TO DO AKANS.. OR ANY TRIBE. DUMB FOOLS LIKE YOU WHO BLAMES EVERYTHING ON POLITICS AND TRIBES.. ARE THE REASON THE COUNTRY IS NOT PROGRESSIG. STUPID FOOL. GO READ A BOOK

• sam 6 years ago

Why cant Ghanaians only perform a citizen arrest and hand over to the police. Why do we have to lynch ?. Its horrible and not an appropriate social behavior. Only God knows the number of innocent blood we have shed with such ...

• James B D 6 years ago

Will there be top hyrarchy investigation for this lynched man too? I doubt it.
    Some deserve justice than others, no so?
    My citizenship and patriotism are challenged seriously.

• truth 6 years ago

oh GHANA! Where did all the 31 st December all night service go? Sad. o those sick minded CONTRIBUTORS Akuffo Addo & Mahama did not murder them is you the citizens & blame game did. Heavens rain mercy on lost souls in GHANA.

• Naana 6 years ago

Ghanaians behave like animals!

• BENNY 6 years ago

Ghana is a failed state. Violent,uncvilized people, filthy, defecating in public places , destroying their own enviroment and blaming the chinese and other foreigners ,at the same time thinking they are the stars of Africa , ...

• BABY 6 years ago

NPP used too much juju to win so time for payback

• monkeytail 6 years ago

You are acting like this the first time it has happen.. People have been killing people and getting away with it too.. You are crying a river because is a family member of mahama.. When is about the elite peasants like you w ...

• Consonantverb 6 years ago

So we shold stop lynching so that u can steal n rob more. No way. So far as there are armed robbers n theifs, there will be lynching?

• Wandi 6 years ago

U see it again. I suggest that those who kill must be given capital punishment. Life for life and death for death.

• TOGA 6 years ago

The bastion of law and order the police, has been so heavily politicised over the years, that it has practically been rendered impotent.

• obi 6 years ago

police are not doing their job well at all

• Ama 6 years ago

Primitive people in ghana.isnt a human life precious like how u value ur life.yet u kill ur fellow humans.Whether they are suspected thieves or arm robber,its very very wrong to take such life.why dont u hand the suspected th ...

• Buju 6 years ago

All die be die is in place.Human being can say people should die because he wants to be a president.God is watching this Man with a single Eye.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

WELL AS PASTOR OTAbil SAID WE WILL DO IT AGAIN AND AGAIN , PLEASE MALKE A SPECIAL CASE FOR DEATH PENALTY!!

• DELTA FORCE, DC ADORYE, INVINCIBLE FO 6 years ago

AGAIN? NPP'S LAWLESSNESS HAS TAKEN OVER.

DELTA FORCE, DC ADORYE, INVINCIBLE FORCES.

• GPS 6 years ago

The police should arrest those killers.We are not living in the jungle even animals do not do that. The law has the right to kill people. You have no right to kill human-being like that, this is barbaric primitive way and sho ...

• dezmond 6 years ago

this is the time to stop this things in ghana how can you take the law into your hand and take somrone life from his hand

• tweaaaaaa 6 years ago

Kokuvi rawlings institutes PDCs WDCs with the slogan power to the people. Addiction to that unwise slogan is what we see now.

• Johnson 6 years ago

I am very sure developed countries will see us as pure monkeys with no brains.

Yes some of us are worse than monkeys. Even educating them will not help. Who do we blame? How do we stop it? Hard to answer right?
    We are so ...

• Okonah 6 years ago

I think it is time the Government should impose a law to bind all communities, towns, villages who are taking the law into their own hands by lynching people to death, its as if there is no laws or leaders in the country, Mr, ...

• Abeiku SW2 London 6 years ago

Those involved should be dealt with drastically when caught and the authorities needs to do more to stop this inhumane behaviour

• Yahwo Jifahji 6 years ago

I am tired of hearing about peaceful elections, political stability and a free press really what I need is a strong man like Rewlings them to Rule

• Victor 6 years ago

Akans are primitive,lawless and devils. They are perpetuating this lynching in the country. With a President from this group," All die be die", this uncivilized behaviour will continue. It is in their DNA.