Trotro driver bribes Police

Read Comments Comments (41)

• prince : Austria 9 years ago

Hmmmmm the money was not collected because of high profile police officer

• jerry 9 years ago

BEACUSE HE WAS CHEAP THEY ARE NOW MESSING WITH HIM

• Living in Kumasi 9 years ago

Too many people around and he made a comment out loud. That is the only reason he got arrested.

• DAVID OSEI 9 years ago

Well,well,well,well. This is good news.
    Let the Chief of Police come out and announce to the whole populace that they can video-tape police officers accepting bribes and the culprit will be tried and if found guilty, impriso ...

• Pee 9 years ago

This is too funny...hahahahaaa!!! Ghana police refusing bribe? I guess its not the fact that they've changed, but the proliferation of cameras everywhere now scares them. No wonder they were taking the affected drivers in so ...

• kojo 9 years ago

we all know that the police collect bribes on the road everyday. However this act is in the right direction if the cops in that area is not angry.

• Hope 9 years ago

good post. Good effort by the police. The reasons why there so many accidents is due to bad roads and bad drivers. At least if we resolving some of the issues then I think it is good step in the right direction.Encourage poli ...

• SENIOR KALYBOS 9 years ago

Stomach direction cops.Go arrest robbers and snatchers.

• King Bright (USA) 9 years ago

That the cat rejected the 'momone' ? TIME CHANGES INDEED!!

• onetiibe 9 years ago

Well in full glare of the troops and boss, with most likely the press as well with photographers, only a truly stupid policeman will take the bait.

• mugabe 9 years ago

stupid police officers. leave the poor man alone.

• STRAIGHT TALK 9 years ago

Twiaaaa!! Since when did Ghana Police stop taking bribe? Even Atinga herself take bribe!!! This is a show!!!!

• Bob 9 years ago

Where is the news?

• wuofei 9 years ago

I bet if this drivers tries again on a different day he will succeed. Tweaaaa!

• Kwame 9 years ago

This story is BS. The police took my money today. I was on my cellphone while driving, he pulled me over and after two minutes he let me ago but not until I offered him 20 cedis which he gladly took.

• O.B Obiba 9 years ago

I hope the police will keep this up. There are too many un-road worthy vehicles plying our roads. Some do not even have lights

• EKOW MUNKO 9 years ago

This is a publicity stunt.What about the daily unreported demanded and accepted ones???BIG NEWS THIS IS INDEED !

• richard 9 years ago

oh my friend this is not a news to Ghanians. police do take bribe but because the officer was there just to show that they doing their work. They should please release the driver because this is just a camouflage. We know Gha ...

• ohene 9 years ago

A joke. The public should from now on report any police officer seen or asking for taking bribe.

Since when did drivers giving money to the police become a crime? Is that not one of the main reasons police are assigned to the roads? This is just too hypocritical.

• OPOKU MANU 9 years ago

JUST A SCAPEGOAT!IT IS KNOWN POLICEOFFICERS RETURN TO BARRACKS BOASTING OF THEIR TOTAL "COLLECTION" FOR A DAY!THIS IS NO NEWS,GIVEN THE FACT THAT OUR COPS JUST LOVE THIS!

• Philips 9 years ago

How often do Bio Atinga and DCOP Tetteh Yohuno go on Road Checks? Without their presence, the MTTD officers will certainly accept bribes from most, if not all of the drivers arrested. This driver must not be used as an escape ...

• Kwaku Mensah, Tema 9 years ago

Hi papa policeman, as if you don't like it!!!!!!!.

• OJOE- Paris 9 years ago

CAN THIS MAN SWEAR ANTOA NYAMAA THAT HE
    HAD NEVER TAKEN BRIBE FROM A DRIVER?

• CONCERN 9 years ago

Our Police cant stop taking bribe...come to Nungua Barrier and see

• hash 9 years ago

Is this a first time?

• hash 9 years ago

Usual corruption. Tweaaaaaaa

• Mpata 9 years ago

Please go and check on the cars plying between Nungua and Adogon and also between Nungua and the old nautical college area.
    All those cars would be impounded and most of the drivers would face heavy fines. We need the ...

• Joe 9 years ago

If the police really need to clear this they should pretend to be ordinary drivers and arrest every police that take bribe from them...Mother Ghana!!!!

• kotoo 9 years ago

This article is stupid to occupy ghanaweb space. DCOP K.Boakye,are you really monitoring your boys and girls with black uniform on kumasi-mankranso-sunnyani rroad

• Sakawa Churches 9 years ago

Nonsense! Is it an offence to "gift" a police officer? the officer is free to refuse the "gift". 99.99% of the time the Ghana "Police" request such gifts, so it'd be unjust to prosecute the driver. I think the driver should h ...

• doo uk 9 years ago

Good work ghana police, luck has run out of the trotro driver,others will learn from that.

• Dread 9 years ago

This kind of action by the police force will get them back the due respect of the good citizens of Ghana which has been missing for decades.Dread

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

The driver did what the police accepts all the time. It was "expected". To change the system, and not to create an appearance of ending corruption, dirvers and passengers should start reporting the information to newspaper th ...

• senegal 9 years ago

only because his boss was around

• ATO 9 years ago

SINCE WHEN

• okukuseku 9 years ago

it is only the fool who does not change his or her mind so if the police have decided to stop what people thought they did what is wrong with that But what do the police do to passengers when they arrest a driver? I suggest ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

They sound as if this driver is on the road for the first time. He has been plying the same road for years. Did he do anything different today than he did everyday in the past several years. Maybe he should have made it 20 Gh ...

• ALL CHOP BE CHOP 9 years ago

To the best of my knowledge the worst enemy of a Trotro driver is the police themselves. It's B.S. to say insurance companies won't pay if the driver is driving without a license. First of all, you don't insure drivers, you i ...

• baron 9 years ago

he want 15 n he gave 10 thas why he refused