You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2014 05 21Article 309982

Corned beef thief gets 10 years

Read Comments Comments (67)

• Kafui 9 years ago

Just as konkonte and Fula come from Zongo, so do Malik and Mahama. They are all thieves.

• Jk 9 years ago

How and why. Set the poor man free.
    At most 1year but not ten

• readi 2 dye 9 years ago

Don Quixote, Hannah tetteh, sherry AYITTEY, ayariga, iddrisu,fiifi kweetey, mosquito,t.b. Joshua,no action Duncan....Put all these motherfuckers in jail 30 years a piece...wtf....world cup is the only thing holding us up, oth ...

• KWAME LARBI 9 years ago

The case of ASAMOAH BOATENG AND HIS WIFE ZULEIKA IS STILL PENDING IN COURT for about 3 years now.
    That of DR AKOTO OSEI DR GYAN BAFFOUR and many othes are still pending in court in connection with the case of Ghana Airways.

• SGT ANANI FIADZAOE 9 years ago

Every NDC so-called politicians and their senseless supporters who are encouraging them to continue to rob the majority people of this nation, are those who needs to be given a heavy custodial sentences, Bui Dam thief Asiedu- ...

• KB,LONDON 9 years ago

For bringing this hardship on Ghana and for the injustice going on in the country, all NDC politicians, who are ripping off Ghana will die suddenly, and like flies they will fall.

• ..................... 9 years ago

I don't know what goes into pronouncing sentences on accused persons, but I think some sentences are simply harsh.

Was this man a first offender or a habitual one? And how does relate 10years jail sentence for stealing GHC ...

• Guv 9 years ago

VEHEMENTLY

• Kabokabo 9 years ago

A good lawyer can defend this poor guy. He was at a wrong place at a wrong time. He missed his way out from the shop.When he saw the main door was closed he took the carton of corned beef to force the door open. The time of t ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Poor man in jail for 10yrs for just a corned beef! While politicians looting Ghana and building heavy Mansions all over! WHAT A STUPID NATION

• KWADWO 9 years ago

Kwame,
    I just want to say thank u for yr comments - hv a nice day!

• Kankama 9 years ago

One year is even nonsense. This judge is very inhuman. Corned beef thief got 10 years what about politicians stealing our money. The condone with the same judges and use technicalities to set them free. This is stupidity on t ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Our judges are brutal. In some countries where prison conditions are better than how the ordinary ghanaian lives,you could get 10 years for murder. UK is a good example. Ghana,our prisons are like hell on earth yet we want to ...

• Agyemang 9 years ago

Just look at the name of the judge or magistrate-Diawuo, meaning a murderer! Why give a ten year sentence to a box of corned beef valued at just 54.GHC, aproximately, $15. dollars? The gov't of Ghana is sick and so is everyo ...

• EDWARD 9 years ago

This is a big shame to the magistrate in question and for that matter the Judicial system.
    This should be tagged one of the "wonders of the modern world" and also deserve a place in the Guiness Book of Records.

WHAT A SHA ...

• the devils advocate 9 years ago

Indeed ashamed to every Ghanaian and to our law makers and the judiciary.Where did the magistrate tray? What an unjust society.What happens to pillagers and looters masquerading as politicians and public officials? I am asham ...

• A GHANAIAN 9 years ago

Thank you, my brother. If the judiciary upholds this sentence, then it should serve as a jurisprudence especially for public servants. Nobody is above the law. How? How many years for a rapist, for instance? We all accept thi ...

• JOHN DADZIE 9 years ago

This is not meant to encourage petty pilferage but history all over the world is replete with several instances of harsher sentences meted out to crimes of this nature than what has been characterized as "white color" crimes. ...

• gerker 9 years ago

Surely, you mean 'White Collar Crimes'?

• gerker 9 years ago

Surely, you mean 'White Collar Crimes'?

• Ghfuo, Pastor Whodunnit! 9 years ago

With chance for parole after 3 yrs on good behavior. He is only gettingthis becos he is a precious offender. 10yrs. Is not right.

What at all is wrong with Ghana's judicial sytem? Why are we doing this to our own people? So does this Diawuo guy want to tell the whole world that he hasn't done anything wrong in his life before? This thief deserves just 3 ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 9 years ago

What we are experiencing here, is an aspect of a class war that exist in capitalism. The wayward behavior of Ghana's judges, exemplifies the hatred that the bourgeois ruling class has for the masses, there ought to be sentenc ...

• KUTRIKU 9 years ago

WHY 10YRS? DOES THIS MAGISTRATE KNOW HOW MUCH IT IS GOING TO COST THE TAXPAYER TO KEEP THIS GUY IN JAIL FOR ONLY GHc54.00? ghanaian judges must be reasonable.ARE THERE ANY SENTENCING GUIDELINES IN THE GHANAIAN JUSTICE SYSTEM ...

• Minta 9 years ago

akoa no anum y3no d3 paa

• ANIMAL FARM 9 years ago

10 YEARS FOR THE HUNGRY WHO STEAL CORNED BEEF, AND FREEDOM FOR RICH POLITICIANS WHO STEAL MILLIONS OF TAXPAYER MONEY. IS THAT THE MEANING OF GHANA'S "FREEDOM AND JUSTICE" ???

• ANCIENT MAN 9 years ago

A GUY STOLE A BOX OF FROZEN CHICKEN AND THE JUDGE JAILED HIM FOR 10 YEARS."10 YEARS FOR JUST A BOX??", THE PRISONER ASKED THE JUDGE.YES. "YOU SIT THERE AND SEE WHEN I COME OUT.NEXT TIME,IT WILL BE A POULTRY FARM!!" HE SWORE.

• Antiochus - London 9 years ago

Is this a joke?

• KK 9 years ago

Oh my God,we have to do something about tis situation,he is just hungry. they should get him some help than to put him in jail for 10 years, what is the judge thinking,tis is sad, somebody help this boy and the tax the payers ...

• Harrison 9 years ago

What of those culprits stealing state money, how many years are they sent to jail? There is a lot of double standards in the court system in Ghana.

• Tiffiny Ablorh 9 years ago

How about Tsatsu Tsikata who siphoned millions of money from GPNC into his personal account? How about Avlukasu and his wife who stole a whole factory and made it their personal property? How about Mahama who stole money from ...

• akwesii 9 years ago

Wtf

• Kofi Babone 9 years ago

Like AB Crentsil said in his song - "because I no get the money to pay the manager (judge) bribe, manager (judge) say, job no dey (10 years in jail). 10 years for one measly corned beef? Talk of punishment fitting the crime.

• COS90 9 years ago

Diawuo is mentally challenge or he has forgotten part of his senses when passing this ten years judgement. A merely a carton of corned beef, this studip, murderer and wicked judge sentenced him 10years in prison. Politician a ...

• koo nimo 9 years ago

This Diawuo judge must handle Woyome's case

• Nii Joromi 9 years ago

It looks as if the rich can get away with murder in Ghana while the poor are brutally punished.

• nelly 9 years ago

this judge is sick in the head.....this is wat we call educated illitrate.how can u sentence sumone 10 yrs for corned beef ibi cocain.stupid judge.....this needs a community service not even a jail term.mad judge i think he s ...

• ADABRAKA 9 years ago

Why should state looters get off with the law. Woyome, Gyeeda and many more get off after looting state's purse. The state even spend so much taking the culprits to court. Example, in woyome's case, the state paid so much to ...

• A realist 9 years ago

Is this Diawuo judge for real? Or a joker? Where did he study law? Does he know how much it cost a day to keep a prisoner? Does he just want a name? A foolish judge, the sentence needs to be reviewed by the judiciary if Ghana ...

• obroni 9 years ago

Mr.Samuel Obeng Diawuo,
    you are very sick.

• Boss 9 years ago

and woyome still walking and enjoying himself

• edmond 9 years ago

Stupid Senseless judge in a God forsaken country. With such judges how can the country move forward

• Ralph 9 years ago

Oh God is this wisdom, God save Ghana, God we plead with you save and redeem Ghana with the blood of Jesus

• Prof Anthony Adjei FBI 9 years ago

Son of a bitch judge. Why must justice be perverted in that way. You see what happens in Ghana is that the justices feels as lords and Gods rather than dispensers of justice. They act out of emotions and never takes the law i ...

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 9 years ago

WHAT ABOUT WOYOME?

• Mr. No Nonsense 9 years ago

ghc54 for 1o years, then, WAYOME must be getting 1 million years or more.

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BROTHER IBRAHIM HOW MANY YEARS WILL THEY GETS IF THEY ARE TO START TODAY THEIR JAIL SENTENCE PERIOD. I WANT THE JUDICIARY TO TELL ME NOW, THEIR PROBE WILL SOON BEGINS, I CAN'T WAIT FOR JUSTICES

• TEE 9 years ago

WHEN WILL MAHAMA AND HIS ARM ROBBER BROTHER START THEIR JAIL SENTENCES

• Peter Abbey 9 years ago

Nobody is encouraging stealing but sentencing this poor guy to 10 yrs imprisonment is useless. Look there are hard criminals in government walking freely these are the people needs to be put behind bars.Ghc54.00 does not just ...

• C C 9 years ago

some Politicians and some Top CEOS are stealing millions if not billions and they get away with it why the poor guy, there is no justice in our country for the poor. something needs to be done drastically and it must be soon ...

• ja 9 years ago

MY LORD, IF A MAN GETS 10 YEARS FOR STEALING A CARTON OF CORNED BEEF, HOW MANY YEARS SHOULD THOSE WHO ARE DRAINING THE COFFERS OF THIS NATION GET, 1,OOO?

• Ntim Gyakari 9 years ago

Pity

• Nanayaw 9 years ago

This makes no "god damn sense" 10 year for shoplifting and those who steal millions are walking free. Something got change.

• The Mask 9 years ago

The number of court houses and judges in Ghana are inadequate. The population has ballooned and changes have to be made. The same can be said of the number of police officers and the number of penitentiaries. On a visit to a ...

• adjen kotoku 9 years ago

what about Atuguba and his co judges who took money and judge in favour of Mahama and Ndc. They should face firing squard Agyimifuo period.

• KWESI 9 years ago

This is a disgrace

• John Kool 9 years ago

If this poor guy was jailed for ten years for stealing an inventory worth less than one hundred cedis, I am quitly waiting to see the number of years that Alfred Woyome gets.
    My problem with the country's court sentencing sy ...

• Ben 9 years ago

This sentence is too harsh. Ghana needs to review it's sentencing guideline laws (if there is something like that) in the books.

• fvshadee 9 years ago

10 yrs for 54GH, how many yrs for woyomeh???? asemseb3

• Nii-Ray 9 years ago

Does the punishment fit the crime??.......I doubt. This is a disgrace to the Ghana Justice system.

• ME 9 years ago

POOR CHAP. 10 YEARS FOR STEALING CORNED BEEF. MUST BE VERY DELICIOUS.

• Iman Erskine 9 years ago

Wait a minute, the suspect was locked in the store with the goods and not on the street. so far as he is still in the store, the goods are not stolen. If he gets a good lawyer this stiff 10 yr conviction should be overturned. ...

• LOL 9 years ago

SUPPORT YOU BRO....

• Seth Bonsu 9 years ago

No justice in Ghana. How many politicians are in prison?.

• Kwasi Borough 9 years ago

Can we raise some funds for his appeal(FREEDOM)? This is ridiculous.JUDGE pls show some mercy,corned beef is food.

• mm 9 years ago

gg

• Nana Quashie 9 years ago

Come on now 10 years for a tin of corn beef. I'm not condoning what he did but such a long sentence is not necessary. Mind you Mr Abdul Malik has a islamic type name and he should be joyful that he did not commit this crim ...