The death penalty is barbaric - Amnesty International

Read Comments Comments (55)

• GGLK KILLERS ASSOCIATION, GHANA 12 years ago

DEATH PENALTY IS THE RIGHT AND THE BEST THING FOR PUNISHIHG PIGS AND DOGS (HOMOSEXUALS).

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR 12 years ago

It is all lack of PROPER VALUES which can be found in Christ Jesus and his SALVATION CAME for correct purposes of Life. The Lord God loved and still love the world, but the world loved him not. The world love darkness, not th ...

• ELINAM 12 years ago

MPs and government officials who steal and leave no money to pay for healthcare and education for the poor are committing the highest form of barbarism, therefore we need it as deterrence.
    Mr. amnesty go say that to the US t ...

• Kumahene 12 years ago

Tell JJ Rawlings and his gangsters who stole power to vent their empty anger on a particular ethnic group. They even executed students without any tangible reasons. Tell Rawlings and his blood thirsty gangsters.

• Kotibotor Ghanaman 12 years ago

DEATH PENALTY SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR EVIL ROMANO, AND HIS GENERATIONS UNBORN AND HIS FELLOW ARMED ROBBERS. RO MANO YOU ARE FINISHED.

• ROMANO 12 years ago

NA WISE-TALK DEY CHANGE IDENTITY NOW.DON'T START SOMETHING IF U CAN'T FINISH IT. UR FIRE NO FIT BURN ME, UR CURSE NO FIT GET ME. ROMANO DON HAVE HIGH END JOB, DRIVES 2012 BENTLEY FLYING SPUR. NOW U SEE U NO BE MY CLASS. NA WH ...

• KOTIBOTOR Ghanaman 12 years ago

EMPTY BARRELS SHOUT THE MORE? OF COURSE ARMED ROBBERS DRIVES AND DRUG BARONS DRIVES BENTLEY, WHAT IS THE BIG DEAL? BUT ALWAYS REMEMBER THAT ROBBERS LIKE YOU ROMANO, HAS UNCOUNTABLE DAYS TO PLY THEIR EVILS TRADE, BUT (A DAY ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

MAKE HAY WHILE THE SUN SHINES, I AM REAPING THE FRUITS OF MY INTELLIGENCE.YOROBA MAN THINKS ONLY DRUG DEALERS DRIVES EXOTIC CARS,U DUMB ASS IT IS A PRESTIGE TO DRIVE A BENTLEY FLYING SPUR IN AMERICA.IBO MAN NO GO THINK LIKE T ...

YES, YES, YES, I HAVE FINALLY UNCOVERED THIS EVIL IBO ARMED ROBBER, DRUG DEALER AND KIDNAPPERS CRIMINAL HIDING IN GHANA. VERY SOON NEMESIS SHALL CAUGHT UP WITH YOU VERY SOON. OF COURSE EVERYONE KNEW THAT IBO CAN DO ANYTHING ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

NO IBO MAN DEY CALL MARIO FIFIE ROMANO. I BE YELLOW BONE FANTI NOT AN IBO.MAY GOD FORBID ME BEING A NIGERIAN.WILL KILL MYSELF IF I WAS BORN A NIGERIAN. THE IBO'S WILL ALWAYS RULE THE YOROBA'S STINKING ASS IN NAIJA. COS IBOS A ...

WHY ARE YOU DENYING YOUR IGBO CRIMINALITY ROOT? WAS IT BECAUSE IT IS NOT COOL TO BE IGBO THESE DAYS OR WHAT? WHY WOULD ANYONE WANTS TO ASSOCIATE HIMSELF WITH THE TRIBE OF CRIMINALS, (ESPECIALLY A CRIMINAL WANTED IN NIGERIA ...

• Kokovi 12 years ago

Nemesis, UK, You are now known as Kotobotor Ghanaman? Nigerian scamer, why are you here? You will not get any one to scam here. Thieves! I am sure you are the one whom I saw yesterday holding that butchered knife you used to ...

• Fairman 12 years ago

Any armed robber arreseted should be killed. Go to some part of America and trespass someones premises without any permission........ You are dead. On my premises u can come, but sorry , u will be shot on sight as its boldly ...

• BRAVEBOY 12 years ago

Cleaning our comments. U are becoming ridicule. We will not allow you to bring trouble to our beautiful Ghana.

• Kofi 12 years ago

Calling the due processes of law (the rule of law) through which a person is taken through before he/she receives the death penalty barbaric is to tell a whole nation you know better than anyone else. A bit of taken liberties ...

• BRAVEBOY 12 years ago

Kofi, look for the source and leave your comments there because Ghanaweb might clean your nice contribution. They have just done that to the first comments on this article.

• Pelicles 12 years ago

They took my first comment away and I think they are censoring this site with keen eyes. I hope they continue like that to clean this site of uncouth comments.

• Kofi 12 years ago

Thanks for the tip BRAVEBOY

• BRAVEBOY 12 years ago

You are welcomed

• brewbrew 12 years ago

PLS ASK THAT MAN DOES AMERICA HAS A GOOD HUMAN RIGHT?

• brewbrew 12 years ago

IS DEATH PANALTY THERE TO KILL AN ORDINARY OR INOCENT GHANAIANS?

• CREMO JAPAN 12 years ago

WAIT TILL THEY RAPE YOUR MOTHER AND KILL HER IN FRONT OF YOU THERE U BRING THIS SUGGESTION...I DONT THINK DEATH PENALTY IS MEANT FOR PEOPLE WITH GOOD BEHAVIOUR....BLESS GHANA

• Kofi 12 years ago

The killing of innocent persons by criminals is civilized.

• Gyambibi 12 years ago

You have a good point Kofi. Those who argue that the death penalty is inhumane in the name of human rights overlook the fact that the victim of murder also has human rights. The argument is always to uphold the human rights o ...

• Yaw, from middle east Kuwait 12 years ago

we have to remember that Ghana is christain country, not muslem country.If armed robbery kill somebody they must to give them life inprisement so that if someone prining to be robbery will fear, not to kill,muslem country the ...

• BRAVEBOY 12 years ago

Correction. Ghana is a secular not a christian nation. I am a christian yet I hate it when people can not state the obvious.

• ELINAM 12 years ago

Is good to remind that guy the right word to use for the country.We still have over 50% of our people who are still traditionalists. The whole chieftency tradition from up north to down south is neither islamic nor christian ...

• Joe Turkey 12 years ago

It appears every crazy International Organization is now aimed at poor African countries. Where was Amnesty International when suspects (NOT tried criminals) are held in Guantanamo Bay for more than a decade. Where was Amnest ...

• KWABENA WARNING.NJ 12 years ago

GHANA IS NOT A RICH COUNTRY THAT CAN AFFORD TO KEEP A MURDERER IN PRISON FEEDING AND CLOTHING HIM OR HER FOR YEARS. THERE A LOT OF POOR PEOPLE AND CHILDREN WHO WOULD BE BETTER SERVED THAN A CRIMINAL.

• John Kpeglo 12 years ago

Go and tell countries such as Japan, Korea, China, Iran, Iraq, S Arabia, and other States in the USA that death penalty is BARBARIC! Gbemelãwo! We have it in our status bks but are not implementing it. People instead get lif ...

• Rosie 12 years ago

Most people don't want to see people get the death penalty,However, some of the crimes they are doing are terrible. I feel that tax payers shouldn't have to take care of them. Also some are cowards that kill people and doo al ...

• Nana K 12 years ago

"He cautioned that because “Ghana has a very high record of human rights, we should not continue to dent this record by maintaining the death penalty in our constitution".

Suspects on remand for decades without trial o ...

• kai 12 years ago

nonsense armed robbers kill and its not barbaric. they get death penalty and its barbaric. amnesty international is rather barbaric

• charlie 12 years ago

I THINK PEOPLE ON DEATH ROLE SHOULD BE USED FOR EXPERIMENTS IN THE LABS INSTEAD OF THE POOR CREATURES LIKE DOGS AND RABBITS

• vickie 12 years ago

i totally sgree to take the death penalty from our constitution. it is indeed a babaric act and therefore needs to be terminated. Let God be the supreme judge over individuals that take ohter people lives.

• Pelicles 12 years ago

When was the last time that God kill someone who took someone's life? That perception does not exist anywhere. If criminals have the audacity to take an innocent life, the nation has the right to reciprocate. In your analys ...

• ELINAM 12 years ago

Totally agreed with you.

• Mr Big stuff 12 years ago

Is it ok for an arm Robber to rob u and then fuck ur wife nd daughter nd maybe kill u or shoot both u nd ur wife, what will u do to such a person. please answer me in ur next article.

• seth 12 years ago

Mr Amesu,sin is a recipe of destruction and should be eliminated.A law enforcer is nobody but a an ordinaty civilian without a gun and uniform so is the law without severe purnishment.This is to instil fear and decipline to t ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR WISE-TALK,GH ONLY AND FAMILY KU THEM FUTURE GENERATIONS.

THE HANGING SHOULD BE RESERVED FOR EVIL ROMANO AND HIS GENERATIONS UNBORN, WITH HIS EVIL ARMED ROBBERS AND KIDNAPPING GANGS. YOUR ARE TRULY CURSED FOREVER. AMEN.

• ROMANO 12 years ago

NA ONLY UR CURSE OOH. OMO YOROBA

• ROMANO 12 years ago

SO U ARE NOW WISE-TALK,GH ? THIS WAS ONLY MEANT FOR WISE-TALK,UK.ILLITRACY IS A DISEASES

• Seidu 12 years ago

No one has killed your son or your father before that is why you call death penalty barbaric. Wait till one kill your daughter, and see how pays to have that death penalty on standbuy.

• Till Zion 12 years ago

If you think the death penalty, wait till you have a loved one murdered and see. That will change your perception of the death penalty. I never believed in the death penalty until my uncle was shot in the head by two teenager ...

• Concerned Ghanaian Canadian 12 years ago

Can this guy tell Americans that Death penalty is barbaric?

Only yesterday, the jury deliberating on a death penalty case for Jodi Arias ended in a "hanged jury" in Phoenix, Arizona.

The State of Arizona is trying to pu ...

• EZEKIEL 12 years ago

It IS THE SAME NONSENSE!Don't tell me Death Penalty is barbaric.....if you DON'T WANT your neighbour to live and just KILL for the FUN OF IT,there's NO reason to me WHY the KILLER should be put in prison,NO MATTER FOR HOW LON ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 12 years ago

What about armed robbers killing innocent and hard working Ghanaians daily?They don`t deserve anything less than a firing squad!

• Diasporan 12 years ago

What if the crime against another human being is "barbaric"? Should the punishment not be equaly barbaric? Too much book-knowledge seems to dumpen some people's intelligence and remove them from the realities of life. Such ...

• kyekyeku 12 years ago

absolutely nonsense

• Amarh kujo 12 years ago

How can you say this to the public that death penalty should be abolished and that we can't replace one life to the other good, so are you telling us that if your wife happens to be attacked by armed robbers raped her and kil ...

• Salim 12 years ago

Death penalty is really good, because the robbers is too much in here in Ghana. the law doesn't work, like it works the way he should. by now they will be not army robbers here?

• kofi 12 years ago

this is stupid even you face death in america when you rob and take someone slife so you mean that those killers have to kill all the time. shame on you bastard gangsters

• kyikyibi 12 years ago

He speaking like class one boy, the day arm robbers will enter your house, and rap your wife and daughters in front of you and kill them at gun point, then you will talk better, if u want killers to be kept alive, then prepar ...

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 12 years ago

REVISE YOUR COSCIENCE AND ASK YOUR SELF WHAT KIND OF CRIME THE VICTIMS OF THE CAPITAL PUNISHMENT COMMIT.HEINOUS CRIME WHICH ARE UNPARDONABLE IN ANY COUNTRY.WITH POLITICAL UNCERTAINTY SUCH CRIMINALS WITH BE SET FREE.BARBARIC C ...