Banker steals ¢35,000 from dead man’s Barclays account

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Akrofi 12 years ago

Whether he showed remorse or not, jail him!

• kwame 12 years ago

It is indictment on Barclays Bank. I have lost confidence in Barclays over a similar case.It is time for the bank to build bridges to customers who have been mistreated.

• Mormoni Koobi 12 years ago

The other time a guy who stole a goat was jailed six years! How can someone who steals such a huge amount of money be treated so leniently? Either the law is an ass or our judges are stupid!

• teddy 12 years ago

he repaid the money

• Adams 12 years ago

I could never agree more

• ROMANO 12 years ago

MICKEY MOUSE JUDGE PRESIDING OVER A KANGAROO COURT IN ASSES OF GHANA LAW.

• NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago

These Ghana people are very wicked for stealing from the dead, yet they always claimed to be holier than thou.

Ghana half baked journalistS are jokers. What is the meaning of this: "The court, presided over by Mr. John ...

That says a lot about Ghana's backward educational system.

• Steve 12 years ago

Don't display the stupidity of your parent who have given birth to an animal like you.

I WAS TOLD THAT AN UGLY PYGMY CHIMPANZEE LOOKING THUG RAPED YOUR MAMA AND GAVE BIRTH TO YOU DEMENTED STEVE. WHAT A PITY! WHO IS MORE UGLY AND SHORT THAN YOU MOTHERFUCKER BASTARD.

• ROMANO 12 years ago

THIS THING WISE-TALK, UK WAS CONCEIVED THRU A BLOW JOB AND ANAL SEX FROM MULTIPLE ANAGO NEN FROM THE SLUM OF IJOARA.TECHNICALLY HE IS WALKING ON HIS HEAD WITH ABOUT A GALLON OF SPERMS FLOWING THRU HIS BRAINS AND HEAD THIS PHY ...

• ROMANO BLAKKA 12 years ago

What the fuck am I even writing. Sorry I forgot to take my medication

• ROMANO 12 years ago

OGA NA THIS BE TRUE TALK FOR WISE-TALK,UK

• paris 12 years ago

u an asshole parents dont determine what their kids become.if u were born by useless parents dont go cursing other's parents u son of a bitch.

• paris 12 years ago

@ steve u is a broke ass motherfucker n a wanna b.bitch nigga u better check if ur gay ass motherfucking partners didnt give u AIDS which is affecting ur thinking.motherfucker get a life n ur mama n papa are the fools bcos th ...

• ROMANO 12 years ago

WE DEY LEARN FROM UR UNCLES AND BROTHERS.ASSHOLE

• Kwame 12 years ago

The judge said "the thief has expressed remorse" so he made him to sign a bond. CHRIST ME!!!!!!!!
    This judge has surely taken bribe, no two ways.

• ROMANO 12 years ago

THIS SHIT-HEAD HAS TAKEN BRIBE HE SHOULD BE JAILED.WHERE THE FUCK DID HE GOT HISE LAW DEGREE FROM? MAY BE FROM NAIJA.HE SHOULD BE JAILED OR STRIP HIM OF LAW LICENSE.GHANA REALLY HAS A PROBLEM WIYH THE JUDICIAL SYSTEM.THE POLI ...

• Old Dirty Bastard 12 years ago

How else do you explain this nonsense. The same judge sentenced an accused to 15 years for stealing a mobile phone.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago

He should go and taste it in prison.
    no lenient for him.

• Koo Nimo 12 years ago

This judgement is unfair. How can the court deqal leniently with such rubber and sentenced only to be of good behaviour because the money had been refunded. It appears the Accra Circuit Court judge was influenced by Eugene As ...

• Justice Okusie Akrantie 12 years ago

This same judge will send a mechanic to jail for two years for stealing the head lights of a car! Crap!

• gooza goro 12 years ago

You see judges are people whose thoughts sound very genuine like those of angels, but are devilishly corrupt in deeds.

• Rightman-USA 12 years ago

Still let him taste JAIL LIFE.It' s not fair to pardon simply because he has shown signs of remorse.He is A THIEF,jail him.

• Tawiah 12 years ago

MAY GOD BLESS U JUDGE. OUR PRISONS MUST BE DECONGESTED WITH SUCH FAVORS FROM OUR LEARNED & TRUSTED JUDGES.

• Vodoo Xebieso 12 years ago

Just wondering what's happened to journalism in Ghana! A convict either serves his sentence with hard labour and not "in hard labour". In the third to the last paragraph of the story is "...detected the abnormally which resul ...

• MATIGARI 12 years ago

VODOO XEBIESO, PLEASE DO NOT BE DECEIVED. THE CORRECT EXPRESION IS 'IN HARD LABOUR[IHL] AND 'NOT WITH HARD LABOUR' [WHL]

• John Kpeglo 12 years ago

The Law Ct is for the RICH in society! God bless our Judges! Amen!

• Kwashivie Brown-Amegbe 12 years ago

All the banks, without exception are full of criminals and thieves! I read a similar story regarding an employee of Ghana Commercial Bank sometime ago! Instead of jailing them, our senile judges are bonding them to be of good ...

• gooza goro 12 years ago

The judges and police have price tags which these robbers easily pay in such cases for leniency. For the love of money they never excecise the judicial powers judiciously but corruptly.

• zion ayariga 12 years ago

Only the under privilege in our society pays the price of crime and all the elites and so call educated are scote free. If a sinlge goat could land someone in prison and 35,500 gh ,should be of a good beha.hahahaaaaaaaaa

• Dr. Kologah 12 years ago

Eiii ashantis,u just emptied GCB ATM machine,now u are stealing from dead people,next is the actual dead bodies for their usual rituals.One day they'll steal our dear motherland ghana,mark my words.

• Akos 12 years ago

need some growing up to DO.

• Amazed 12 years ago

You steal a chicken and you get 10 years hard labour . You steal 35,000 and get a big kiss from the judge !!

• SAMMY 12 years ago

WHEN A BIG MAN STEALS,IT SEEMS TO BE NO NEWS BUT WHEN AN ORDINARY MAN STEALS IT IS AN OFFENSE PUNISHABLE BY LAW.ALMIGHTY JEHOVAH PLEASE COME TO THE AID OF THE POOR.AMEN.

• Moroma 12 years ago

Stealing is wrong not matter of it is a big or a small man. I am fed up with cheating Ghanians !

• ROMANO BLAKKA 12 years ago

And it happens everyday from selling one land by a land seller to 20 people or a chief collecting money for 1 land from 100 buyer to police collecting bribes everyday

• MENSAH 12 years ago

What is the proof one's money is safe at the GHANAIAN BANKS?
    NOW,I UNDERSTAND,KNOW WHY SOME PEOPLE DO NOT WANT TO PUT THEIR MONEY IN CUSTODY OF THE BANKS IN GHANA.
    YOU CAN'T TRUST THE BANKERS.THAT'S A PITY.

• Robert, Lagos, Nigeria 12 years ago

Jesus this man has no human sympathy at all, let him be jailed.You wicked soul God has expose you.May you rot in jail.

• ROMANO 12 years ago

HE WAS TRAINED IN LAGOS.

• OTIBANKU OKPAOKAJE 12 years ago

AGBOOO AYEEE AHIOSHI AYEO!!!!!!

• ROMANO 12 years ago

ANOTHER DUMB ASS WISE TALK BROTHER.

• Banchi Lawyer 12 years ago

How can one steal GHC35,500 (over C350m) n be set FREE? But someone steals one fowl and is jailed 2 yrs? Is there justice? Some judges are criminals

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

GHANA, GHANA, CANT EVEN SPARE THE DEAD

• Concern Ghanian 12 years ago

WAYOME STOLE GHANA DEAD GOVERMENT

• Yendichild 12 years ago

Bunch of hypocrites round here, acting like u r so clean n wouldn't have done the samething or worse.

• Somebody had to say it! 12 years ago

"Barry Robert Turner, 42, 'white boy', was arrested on federal charges of emailing videos showing toddlers being raped by adults. He also expressed his desire to rape young girls, according to the FBI filed complaint. A U.S ...

• REFUND FROM WOYOMEH 12 years ago

WE(GHANA)NEED OUR MONEY

• REFUND FROM WOYOMEH & MAHAMA 12 years ago

MAHAMA KNOWS ABOUT THE $50M LOOT

• BEN JAH MAN 12 years ago

how about the the one that steals on the street and shows the same behavior?would he be threated as this?hmmmmmmmmmm

• kaakyire 12 years ago

It is only in Ghana that one steals, shows remorse for his/her actions and walks away free.......Ebei!!!!

• KAKAPEAKA K K 12 years ago

SHAMEFUL JUDGEMENT

• oga yum yum 12 years ago

this is travesty of justice.

conventional wisdom vividly indicates that the judge was bribed.

is it not the same judge, who jailed someone for stealing for five years recently.

• BIG - JOE -moscow/kharkov/minsk 12 years ago

WHAT A SHAMEFUL JUDGEMENT ... IS KWASI AHWOI NOT AWARE AND JUSTICE MINISTER NOT ASHAMED ?

• AMA 12 years ago

What a shame Barclays bank, your workers are too corrupt.

• Kofi 12 years ago

If he stole a goat, he would have had 2 years in jail.

• franc?s sekyere 12 years ago

Was ?t wrong when the three judges where k?lled somet?me ago ?n our h?stroy?

• kofi USA 12 years ago

HMMM If someone who steal a GHC35500 is lets go free why should they sentence the poorman who steal cassava and chicken for two years. which kind of judgement is this. In fact I am sooo sad that I cannot even discribe how I ...

• kofi USA 12 years ago

Why this nonsense. If I know this judge I will go to Ghana and steal his Car and if am caght I will show a very deep remorse and see if he will let me go. I am very sure if the bank were to know that this is how the case will ...

• kwaku sam 12 years ago

oh this is such a wicked art.i may plead the court to add more months,becuase he has done is so unpreasant to the 1992 contitution

• BANBA 12 years ago

HOW DO YOU SAY A CRIMINAL OR AN EVIL PERSON HAD SHOWN A REMORSE.ONLY A JUDJE IN GHANA CAN JUDJEIN THIS WAY.A CRIME IS A CRIME.

• MATIGARI 12 years ago

A BOND OF GOOD BEHAVIOUR? WE SHALL APPEAL. THE FACT THAT HE HAD REFUNDED THE AMOUNT DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE OFFENCE WAS NOT COMMITTED.WHEN THINGS OF THIS NATURE HAPPENS, ONE WILL BE TEMPTED TO BELIEVE THAT SOMETHING FISHY HAD ...