You are here: HomeSports2013 06 05Article 276063

Essien, Ayews to return to Black Stars in Sept.

Read Comments Comments (127)

• sakasaka 10 years ago

fair enough. i hope the ayews are coming back not on condition that first choice selection is guaranteed them. personally i will like jordan to come slug it out for a head strikers role if that will take him ten years. he sho ...

• KOFI WEST HAVEN CT 10 years ago

With Essien is understandable because really needed the time to get well BUT that of the Ayews that just wanted 1st place in the team I have issue with. Especially Jordan.
    What about those who stood in to bring the team this ...

• Methodeman 10 years ago

Those are the words am looking 4.

• Sammy the Sheriff 10 years ago

Coming in September to replace who? Let them stay retired because they have lost their places in the Blackstars and their inclusion in the team is not automatic.

If we beat Sudan and Lesotho this month, nobody should lose ...

• True talk 10 years ago

Now that Chelsea is rejecting Essien, he wants to go back to his roots. All these guys are world-cup hungry players. The next will be Kevein Boateng also seeking to return. C'mon fellow Africans, shine your eyes. Why do we al ...

• Investigator 10 years ago

These Ayews are opportunists. They abandoned the Black stars in the middle of the battle. Now if Ghana qualifies fro the world cup whom do they think they they will replace. Is it those gallant, dedicated and patrotic players ...

• sam 10 years ago

Leave that to the coach. Anyone who played for the Blackstars got an opportunity over others. Essien, Dede, and Jordan would justify their inclusion on their return. If they prove to the coach that they are better than their ...

• OpeibeaMyDaughter 10 years ago

Chelsea needs Essien so much. He wasn't rejected by Chelsea. The coach just didn't know how to use him to fit his selection and coming out from recovery it wasn’t easy for him too. The coach thought otherwise of him and did ...

• eg koomson 10 years ago

Well said my brother.you must replace the GFA boss.you are a good football man of our beloved Ghana.please help to build football in Ghana,one day GFA will hear your voice.OpeideaMyDoughter.

• Rasheed. 10 years ago

Salue mon ami Sammy,Dede est tres fort, donc black stars ne peux pas gagner san Dede.Aurevois.Appiah is clueless coach and will certainly not take us to Brazil.Mark my words.

• KojoLee/MRAA For 2014 W/C 10 years ago

"If we beat Sudan and Lesotho this month, nobody should lose his place in the team for DEDE or Jordan." ***Sheriff Sammidu***

Exactly! Nobody is extraordinary when it comes to Black Star.

• max 10 years ago

ahhhh make monkey job giv who? they cant play anything. i object to this. they shld come after world cup

• the truth 10 years ago

I dont think any feelings will be hurt....its about who performs better...the more players Ghana has the better.....

• GTV-TV3 on OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

Watch every show or NEWS LIVE FROM GHANA ON TV3, TV AFRICA, GTV, ADOM TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• Nabia 10 years ago

Essien fine, but Ayews no, according to your tribalistic leanings. The Ayews are far better and younger than essien who is fit for retirement in the life of a footballer. It is these tribalistic tendencies that have brought g ...

Consider yourself to be the others who played when Jordan Ayew decided not play for the country and was crying like baby because was not given the chance to play. And now he comes back and they site you down because the cry b ...

• Nabia 10 years ago

Envy and jealousy will kill you soon. Remember the Ayews are the most blessed!

• KWAME ADINKRA-APPAU 10 years ago

GIVE ESSIEN AND THE AYEWS THE CHANCE TO PLAY AND FORGET ABOUT THE TRIBALISTIC TENDENCIES WHICH RETARD PROGRESS.

• contapias 10 years ago

Kofi, You have made my day, God bless you for such a matured comment. This is what I like to read and not insults from other guyz.

• the truth 10 years ago

every player wants to be the first to be selected. it is up to the coach!

the good news is that they are coming back which makes the team even stronger - - that is what you guys need to celebrate :)

m supporting you piece with the followiny lol!!!

Chelsea needs Essien so much. He wasn't rejected by Chelsea. The coach just didn't know how to use him to fit his selection and coming out from recovery it wasn’t easy for ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Ghana is doomed. Essien is okay. He was injured. Ayews, pride, pride. They were afraid to go to Sudan. Now they want some people do the hard work for them to enjoy the fruit. Ghana will lose to Sudan so that nobody goes to th ...

• AA 10 years ago

The inclusion of these players is going to affect the morale and psyche of the current players. Why dont we prepare the current team and forget about these Ayews? Especially, now that the team is doing so well. These guys wan ...

• dante 10 years ago

masa..u saying d team s doing so well?ey3 asem ooooo

• AMERICA LOVER 10 years ago

BRAVO,AYEW BROTHERS!JESUS CHRIST LOVES YOU.WELLCOME TO BLACK STARS

• Abeiku 10 years ago

This is good news. I only wish it's true.

• Kwame 10 years ago

The problem we have with the National team is that we have never had all our best players playing for the team at the same time, either due to administrative decisions, injury or anger from players due to one or two reasons.

• OB 10 years ago

How old are you?

• John,Tema 10 years ago

They are all welcome after all home is home,I think Kelvin should also join them.

• SH 10 years ago

These guys are opportunist. They want to play at the world cup. Shame onto these four Essien, the Ayews & Prince.

• Jimmy 10 years ago

You speak my mind. Thank you! With all the begging they think they are indispensable. They shouldn't come and dictate to the coach.

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Please we don't want any confusion. Why now? I tell you the guys want to play now bcos of the upcoming world cup. Lets maintain and train the current players who has brought the team this far.

• Not confusion 10 years ago

At the world cup level, you need players with maximum international exposure. remember Jhn Painstill with all his exposure was nervous when he saw the crowd at the stadium at the last world cup, so you can imagine what zero e ...

• yapozo 10 years ago

good boys,come and defend ur country

• KEVIN PRINCE BOAT++++ 10 years ago

also Kevin Prince is expected

• THE EGALE 10 years ago

cool they just have to justify their inclusion thats all.

• anokwale 10 years ago

Chemistry is important. I like the Ayews and Essien but they are not so spectacular that they will turn the team around. Let the current team gel and grow.

• zack 10 years ago

i wish them all the best.

• ed 10 years ago

that's a very good decision?

I knew one day he will feel right to come essien, i was patiently waiting for these time. If he says is right time then it is, and i play that any weapon of distruction plan against shall not prosper in jesus name.

Amen

I sincerely wish that essien end his career with ghana as another legend we ever had in ghana because he is. Long live the bosom.

I support that!!!

• Askantwi 10 years ago

Now players are dictating to the national team management. They choose when they will play and when not. Very Disgraceful for ghana. They should never be accepted back. Who the fuck they think they are? Even the Messis, and R ...

• Tola 10 years ago

Essien,Dede Ayew and Kevin are B/S ripe but let us be frank Jordan is just not B/S material now may be later I do not know but for he has never impressed during his inclusions.May be it is because of his father's name I donot ...

• Kpandovi 10 years ago

Be careful what you wish for. GFA-morons, what are you saying to our Coach,Mr. Kwesi Appiah and his technical team? Do you believe these "big shot" players will ever obey the orders from the technical team? GFA, you are rewar ...

• OpeibeaMy Daughter 10 years ago

How long have you called yourself a soccer fan? Try to look at things through a cone for a picture than the tinning pipe you are looking through. Essien career was at risk a year ago if not JM who rescued him. Two occasions h ...

• Alhaji Moro 10 years ago

WE HAVE THE TYPE OF AYEWS AT BUKOM AND CHORKOR . If they are also given the chance ,you will see that the Ayews are just not needed for any thing in black stars .WE NEED FOOTBALLERS NOT GUTTER SOCCER PLAYER WHO DO NOT RESPECT ...

• the truth 10 years ago

this rant is unnecessary

• Kwadjo Frimpong 10 years ago

You very stupid & ignorant, you are not the only Ghanaian. on what disciple you represent your country before shut up

• Alhaji Moro 10 years ago

THE JUJUMEN SHOULD LEAVE MY ESSIEN ALONE .HE LOVES TO PLAY FOR GHANA BUT ANYTIME HE COMES TO PLAY TO MAKE US HAPPY ,HIS ENEMIES TRY TO DESTOY HIS CAREER. WHY ?WHY?

• Antoinette 10 years ago

He know he needs a new contract in europe so he is coming to use Ghana to get it. I can guarantee that once he sins a new contract he will reire again. As for the Ayew brothers I think the black stars will be better off witho ...

• jojo 10 years ago

Ghanaians are Hippocrates, you shout and yell all year long to get these players back when they announced their retirement and now that they have returned you don't want them any more...! explain that? just remember the coach ...

• the truth 10 years ago

that is why you are not the coach :)

Could you please tell us what that opinion is Jojo?

• pinksheet 10 years ago

we can win trophies without them.shameless....

• the truth 10 years ago

not true

• pinksheet 10 years ago

who is begging them??

• TJ Hooker 10 years ago

Mike Essien don`t need Ghana for his resume, he already has an excellent one. He has achieved a lot and he is proud for his accomplishment. He wants to come back for the sake patriotism.

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

What about the two mpepefoo, the Ayews?

• Nabia 10 years ago

Just look at the Ayews and take a look at all your Chimp/Gorilla tribesmen, and tell the world who is better! When human beings are talking, there is no place for Chimps, apes, and gorillas!

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

I am praying that the current Black Stars will take bribe from Sudanese, line their pocket and play it soft for Ghana to lose so that the stupid Ayews will not go to the World Cup on the backs of our loyal and dedicated playe ...

• Dada K 10 years ago

does anyone know where I can watch the Sudan v Ghana game in the UK? is it on the net

• kwame 10 years ago

YES I KNOW WHERE TO WATCH. ON TV

• NANA IS USING BAWUMIA 10 years ago

WELCOME BACK!

• Iwan 10 years ago

If it is so easy to bluff a way into first team of BS I am going to start my own. I Dr Iwan, the top scorer of Zanwara primary School in 1972 have withdrawn my services to the BS with immediate effect. I shall only return if ...

• Papa Appiah 10 years ago

Ghana vs zambia match wont be cruial because by then Zambia had qualified to the next round. Mark my words.

• POW@Hell no 2 the Ayews Int. Ministry 10 years ago

I'm surprised you didn't proof read b'4 sending your comments. I've pardoned you because I see from the bottom of your heart that you're trying to say rather the opposite.

• Baari Mohammed 10 years ago

We thx God for returning of our key players and that will make us win the match against zambian's

• Kofius 10 years ago

If by September we are still in contention for the WC Qualifiers then we do not need them. Bribe Sudan and Lesotho first. As U did to Niger at CAN 2013

• BISMARK YAW NKRUMAH YEBOAH 10 years ago

BABA YARA SPORTS STADIUM AND AGAINST THE GROUP RIVALS-ZAMBIA IN THIS CRUCIAL MATCH IS A PERFECT TIME TO WELCOME THESE BOYS TO BUILD THIS TEAM FOR BRAZIL-2014.WE WELCOME THEM!

• Eleven Wise 10 years ago

With Kevin Prince Boateng rounding off the team, the Black Stars will certainly set a record in the World Cup games.

Haters-losers should just shut up! Soccer players suffer horrific injuries in their sports more than any ...

• frankie 10 years ago

Kervin has his chance but blew it.He was having a hard time playing aganist african teams after the world cup.He should have find a way to remain in the team or left for a non performance basis then, it would be easy to just ...

• Sarskoberta 10 years ago

Is Dede going to apply the ever popular but notorious demand for his baby brother in the usual "Muntari Mummy's demand of: No Jordan No Dede or what?
    Its like, "Obaatan koturu ba" in the Akan vein.

If I were me, I would' ...

• POW@Hell no 2 the Ayews Int. Ministry 10 years ago

It'll be nice if these guys stay retired. Essien's case is a bit understandable yet they all should give way to traffic on the left.

• Rasheed@Hell no 2 POW. 10 years ago

You lie bad POW.No world cup for us .Mark my words.

• KojoLee/MRAA For 2014 W/C 10 years ago

Becoming or being available does not mean you have a GUARANTEED PLACE in the national team. If you are ready to play fine, the coach would kall you by your progression at club level but not your name sake.
    Who should sacrif ...

• Futuristic GH 10 years ago

Ghana, first of all if a player is coming back from temporary retirement it doesn't mean that he is begging to play for the black stars. You can choose to call them or not just like the many good black star materials that you ...

• KOKOBONGO 10 years ago

I CAN ALSO SAY ON AUTHORITY THAT THEY ARE NOT COMING.

• andrews 10 years ago

ooookay ,,,they want to return for the W O R L D CUP qualifiers eeerr...african cup qualifiers? no show..adwen. i wouldnt be surprised if boateng joins the team after we qualify..black man..

He fit in every where, and very adorable.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

ESSIEN IS WELCOME BUT WE DON'T NEED AYEWS. THEY ARE POMPOUS. GHANA CAN WIN WITHOUT THEM.

• Nii Ansah 10 years ago

COACH SHOULD BE BEWARE ABOUT THIS DEVELOPMENT, IT WILL UNIT THE TEAM OR DISINTEGRATE IT!

• BALLA 10 years ago

AM HAPPY FOR THE PLEAYES

• oga yum yum 10 years ago

essien is welcome but the ayews shd go to hell

• Kaakyire 10 years ago

Monkey dey work, baboon dey chop! If you miss the two games, stay in retirement forever. Finito but could be exempted because his trauma in the last few years.

• Goliath 10 years ago

YESSS!! YESS!!! YEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!

• good samaritan 10 years ago

you talk nonsence with yr smelling mouta h ayew is more better than old duwade

• good samaritan 10 years ago

you dont need to talk about muslim onthis

• SETH,Captain No Complain 10 years ago

Their our brothers and family, we cant neglect them. I know they will help the team along and that lets all allow for them to make impact the next impact on the team, and leave all words some babylons are politisizing.

• kabila de great 10 years ago

its good to have the champion midfielder back to the team.Essien you are welcome ooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• A Richard 10 years ago

We need them very urgently please they must come earlier than promise.

• kwame 10 years ago

I am praying and fasting that Sudan beats Ghana so that the Ayews will not come and reap where they have not sown.

• pk 10 years ago

It's justify your inclusion and first team selection.

• kyy 10 years ago

well they already can see Ghana going to the world cup so what a better time to come back so they can display their talent at the world cup. smart move. who dont wanna play a world cup

• Joe Brazil 10 years ago

Dede and Jordan are welcome

• ghanaman 10 years ago

its a lie!! where where did footyghana.com got the news?

• OSEI STEPHEN,NORWAY 10 years ago

WHAT ARE YOU BIG BOYS ARE TALKING ABOUT.WE NEED YOU GUYS NOW ESSIEN,PRINCE BOATENG,JORDAN,AYEW- DONT WAIT BEFORE IS TOO LATE,

• Anokwale 10 years ago

One thing I will say is that Ghanaians are having trouble understanding that other African countries have caught up so the Black Stars are not just going to walk through qualifiers or the AFCON. Today, Nigeria barely and I m ...

• J,O 10 years ago

We need committed players
    The world cup is at the corner and these opportunists are coming for exposure. These will put more pressure on the coach. Would you change these players when you need to do that. How would they feel ...

• ras 10 years ago

we need they what have we won of late?

• pome 10 years ago

this is bullshit... y must they be begged b4 they play fucking soccer? and these Ayew brothers are in their fucking 20's and retired from international soccer. It's a fucking disgrace to Ghanaian's.

• NAT 10 years ago

WHO SHOULD PLAY THE QUALIFYING MATCHES FOR THEM TO GO AND PLAY THE WORLD CUP.

• michael Boye Marquaye 10 years ago

Great news and its about time even September is too long, how I wished its too soon for them to feature against Sudan in that crucial world cup qualifier. The mediation has been successful but it came at a time where in Septe ...

• Nana Juvilee 10 years ago

We welcome Micheal Essien but the Ayes should not be entertain anymore.they should stay away.If they don't respect we Ghanaian,we respect ourselves.I am very aware that they are fighting to come and play the world cup includi ...

• mohammed amin abdallah adenta fafraha 10 years ago

a match at a time,those two matches are not easy ones,if we underestimate them we will be taken by surprise

• Jay 10 years ago

Pls stop calling people names .. we all human and have different ways ..,whether u from the north of Ghana or south of Ghana we the same Ghanians and if we can't achieve that then why we pray for the unification of all Africa ...

• kweku 10 years ago

OOH Essien don't come and play for blackstar again bcos i support that move now football is not only about fame rather making money.join Drogba to make money for yourself than coming back to black star.

• Saddam Hussein 10 years ago

Essien is welcome back to the Black Stars,but the Ayews must stay away from Black Stars camp. Ghanaians should not lose sight of the fact that Dede Ayew was invited to the Black Stars but declined to honour the invitation bec ...

• K. ZUALLU-US 10 years ago

A lot of people just talk loose about this issu. I will like those who talk against the Ayew's return. Do you think that those leaders who are talking to them are fools, the leaders of the black star team has evaluated the en ...

• mr d 10 years ago

da world cup is in our basket

• KBS 10 years ago

What good would their return in September be if we're eliminated from the WC by then?

• Kofi - USA 10 years ago

THE AYEWS ARE NOT NEEDED. THEY DID NOT MAKE MUCH OF A DIFFERENCE IN 2012. THEY DID NOT WANT TO PLAY SO WHY NOW. GHANA WILL BE FINE WITHOUT THEM. THEY NEED TO HAVE RESPECT. THEY CAN CONTINUE TO RETIRE. THEIR PRESENCE WILL FRAC ...

• Nii Gbemi 10 years ago

I have read with disgust so many of the comments. However, I believe GFA must learn serious human resouce management. They have mismanage players and player-situations in the past and still do. We will win the next 2 matches ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 10 years ago

They should be ashamed of themselfs,-Ghana did not die- they better remain retired

• CONSCIENCE 10 years ago

With Akwasi Appiah still at the helms of affairs?

• Gberg 10 years ago

Lets hope its true. But it just highlights the lack of patriotism of so many of our players. Can you imagine Messi deciding take break from Argentinean football or Rooney, Gerrard and Lampard saying they are a bit tired of pl ...

• 911 10 years ago

I say if the Ayews will be 1000 percent committed then bring dem back.
    They are young and full of energy. Bison experienced but a bit slow age catching up and risk another who knows what.

• littell.RMU 10 years ago

on what grounds did the ayews went on break?they think the black stars is for them to go and come in at their own time.lets be sincere to ourselves what jordon ayew especially has contributed extraordinary that he thinks he i ...

• Tanga star in Egypt 10 years ago

yes you will not be happy that is your own business. but you should know that they are not coming back because of u, they don,t even know u.

• mma 10 years ago

I hope he will also follow suit.

• Tanga star in Egypt 10 years ago

don,t worry bro kevin too will be back insha Allah.

• Yaw Asare 10 years ago

Who do the Ayews think they are. They should fuck of and leave the stars alone/

• ABRAHAM 10 years ago

GOOD NEWS FOR DE TEAM,AM HAPPY THEY RE-CONSIDERED THEIR DECISION

• abrahm 10 years ago

gud 2 hear dat all of dem av agree!