You are here: HomeSports2024 02 21Article 1917987

Greatest footballer debate: Abedi Pele might not come close to Osei Kofi, Aggrey Fynn, others - Historian Anokye Frimpong

Read Comments Comments (32)

• Dan Legacy 3 months ago

Abedi the Selfish and arrogant player who has destroyed Black Stars.

• Bash Gh 3 months ago

Kwasia aboa bi ba like you learn to respect. Jordan Ayew left foot

• Kk 3 months ago

You fool. How can one human being destroy the black stars. If your assertion is true then Ghana is a pathetic country.

You Pig. Are people not Blaming Rawlings for destroying Ghana? Is he not one Human being? Aboa.

• Offside 3 months ago

Hey @Dan, shut your stinky mouth! So if people are stupidly accusing somebody wrongly, should that give you the license to talk foolishly?

Kiss my ass.

• Kk 3 months ago

You are an animal Dan. It is because of fools like you that Ghana will never win a trophy again. When people toil for you ingrates and fools like you only insult them. It is the likes of you are other mad people like yourself ...

• SCHEMER 3 months ago

You can't blame this generation because they're talking about what they're seeing and hearing currently. The older generation have had the opportunity of seeing both the old and new play and can attest to who is who. I can co ...

• the Villager 3 months ago

That is your view, I dony know how these would have peformed in Europe against better and tougher opposition. Sadly, we are using the exploits Abedi made in Europe to place him as the greatest and that is what counts.

• K Agyei-Sarpong 3 months ago

I hundred percent agree with you. There are two scenarios, that is those who played in the past when there were no foreign professionals and this ages Internet and those who played in the past as an Amateurs. I have had the ...

• Dr. Richard Gamasu (Atlanta. GA) 3 months ago

Baba Yara was BETTER!!!
    I am older than Ghana, and I can tell you in confidence that Baba Yara was way better than Osei Kofi. Fyi, Osei Kofi is not a patriot either. He refused to play for the Black Stars at a point. I have ...

• Kra okraku need to be terminated he is gfa bad influences 3 months ago

Abedi is selfish player but he is the best that came from ghana and african roger milla allso confirmed that you cannot compare osei kuffour to abedi pele neither asamoah gyan no player in african is compare to abedi pele

• Don 3 months ago

Abedi Pélé had done it with Nania FC and continue to do it. So let's give Black Stars job to him.I believed he
    can do it.

• Okpoyitso 3 months ago

These ancient players. While others are producing new stats we are stuck on Abedi Pele and Osei Kofi. No wonder we have not had a African player of the year awarded to a Ghanaian player in 30 years . Ghana football is indeed ...

• Kofi Frimpong 3 months ago

Hi brother , as we look for the future, we shouldn't forget the past. History helps to measure our achievements. I know Abedi in his colts league days. He was not technically gifted like Olla body and Nii Moi polo, those day ...

• Nigger Uk 3 months ago

Bro you are very right but it’s not only the skills that takes a player to greatness. Attitude and application plus the skills made Abedi the greatest. Massa I saw ollabode play, good footballer with a poor attitude. Whilst ...

• Dr. Richard Gamasu (Atlanta. GA) 3 months ago

WRONG FACTS!!!
    How on earth can you say Ghana, has not had an African footballer of the year, in 30 years?
    Andre Dede Ayew was voted the BBC African footballer of the year in 2011. Please check your facts, before coming her ...

• Anonymous 3 months ago

Different Eras. Why this comparison. Please stop it. They were both best in their time.

• Nigger Uk 3 months ago

Osei Kofi and Polo were fantastic dribblers but not explosive.they played beautiful football but not aggressive productive football. I saw Polo play and we were always in awe of his skills, but Abedi took it to a different le ...

• Afcon Winner??? On the bench 3 months ago

Was on the bench in Libya. Fumbled in the rest of our Afcon appearances like Asamoah Gyan and the little Ayews. Contributed to the problems in the Black Stars in the 80s-90s and he is the greatest?. Our bar is sadly very low. ...

• nii 3 months ago

i agree perfectly with you bcos there were better players before messi and ronaldo but documentation affected this people. adolf armah, romert mensah,ahmed polo etc. hmmm

• Soldier 3 months ago

Here we go again with the stupidity. Get a life all you distorters of history!

• WSamePeople 3 months ago

Abedi is no where near Polo, Osei Kofi, Baba Yara, Olabode Williams, Badly Razak, dems.

• NPP= NANA'S POVERTY PROMOTERS 3 months ago

In my generation, I will say the greatest Ghana player would be Mohd Ahmed Polo. If he was playing today, Lionel Messi would have been second class.

• Uncle 3 months ago

Are we talking about Achievements in soccer or we are talking about pure talent? If we are talking about pure talent, the Abedi Pele who I know very well is never anywhere the talent of Polo or even Osei Kofi, Amusa Gbadamosh ...

• Kusi 3 months ago

There were other great ones even before the Osei Kofi’s. The names of Bryant, James Adjei, Salisu, Salami, Baba Yara, Asebi Boakye and numerous others

• Kofi Akwetey 3 months ago

It's difficult to compare players across different generations. However, most objective observers would agree that the GOAT debate would involve Baba Yara, Osei Kofi and Abedi Pele. They totally dominated their generations an ...

• Dff 3 months ago

Why this debate?
    Let me play the tribal card here.
    Because Abedi Pele is NOT an Akan, they are doing everything to erase his name from the achievers in Ghana just as they tried it on Dr. Nkrumah and John Mahama.
    This debat ...

• Kofi Akwetey 3 months ago

Is Baba Yara Akan? Or Mohamed Polo? By the way, who is removing whose name? This is an open forum.

• KofSam 3 months ago

It is true that Abedi Pele is a great football ball player during his era but Ghana has clocked better players who preceded Abedi Pele with the likes of Mfum, Baba Yara , Aggrey Finn , Osei Poku , Mama Acquah, Kwasi Owusu , P ...

• Servant of God! 3 months ago

In my opinion, the greatest footballer in Ghana is Asamoah Gyan!

• mo 3 months ago

yes Baba yara is an Akan. He is an Asante man.
    But let's avoid tribal comment. it smells.