Homepage
News
Business
Sports
Entertainment
TV / Radio
Wall
1992 constitution has 'outlived usefulness'; new constitution needed - Prof Gyampo
Read Article
Comments (36)
WhatsApp
Facebook
Twitter
Email This
Print This
Comment to Article
11-01 07:26
You are right here.
New constitution needed to ensure that our children are not and never again be educated under tree and for that to be even sanctioned as former education violates their human rights. Children protection policy to safeguard al
(click to read full comment or to comment on this comment)
XXBe
11-01 07:26
which part of the constitution U`ve Obey
Hmmmm! which part of the constitution have YOU"Gyampo"obey so far!
(click to comment on this comment)
don°t care !!! ©
11-01 07:53
Shitthole "parliaments"!
All these years, how many "Amendments" have our "useless MPs" even tried to add to/modify the Constitution?
Yauzah
11-01 07:46
Re: 1992 constitution has 'outlived usefulness'; n
You are right. The ineffectiveness of the constitution, the unnecessary excessive power of the executives have led to the development of corruption mindset whereby the law and constitution stare at these developments helpless
Marki2
11-01 07:47
Hahaha hahaha hahaha, listen to this fool!
FORAY
11-01 07:53
New constitution
Well spoken my lecturer. New constitution or at least review of the old constitution will help.
Akoroga Isaac
11-01 07:59
1992 constitution is faulty and ineffect
The 1992 constitution is faulty because it gives all powers to the politicians. There are no checks and balances and the politicians do what pleases them. One person can appoint everyone in the country and also dismisses them
Kweku
11-01 08:02
It needs reviews
Ghanaian are generally quick to prescribe or react but do little in implementation. It has not outlived it usefulness some sections need reviewing that is all. Like it should call for presidents prosecution. They are human
GG
11-01 08:18
The indemnity clause should be removed so that all the corrupt and murderous leaders can be tried in court at home and abroad.
Jack
11-01 08:25
Is this man learned if I may ask, because to make such a general statement, hmmm
Patience
11-01 08:27
Brilliant Mind
We are blessed you are here, and a true Ghanaian
Ada Boy
11-01 08:33
Re: Brilliant Mind
Are you serious? "Madi Professor no ho yeaw paaaa".
Athena
11-01 08:37
I agree with you 100 % Professor. No further comment.
ASEMPA
11-01 08:42
SERIOUSLY!!!
A new constitution for what? It is the country's constitution. What could be suggested is an amendment to related areas of national interest not a new constitution TO Constitutions don't just come and go like that. The US co
YARO
11-01 08:46
1992 constitution has outlived it ....??
The Italian constitution is 72years and not all articles have been implemented since .To your information Prof...., some articles were implemented 30, 40 even 60 years after the constitution was promulgated. Despite these, It
CONCERNED CITIZEN
11-01 10:27
Expired constitution
Adey your back.
Abdul-razak bala ilori
11-01 08:47
New Constitutiion
I fully support your opinion. The two major Political Parties in Ghana are aware of this weakness but because it benefits them so they keep mute. They complain only when in opposition. We the majority are the losers. If democ
Kwaw
11-01 08:50
European studies
Oh Africans. Have we studied Africa before studying Europeans who hate anything African European studies my foot.
Kobbie
11-01 08:59
It has never been useful.
They shoved it down our throats. Cheats and thieves do what murderers do best. Fraudulent and deceitful punks were never meant to rule anywhere in the world. Unfortunately for us, they were the power that be. The inti
Charlie King Addo
11-01 09:01
Free SHS
What about stability. Is the constitution not ensuring stability..upon which to build democracy. Don't touch the constitution. Touch the politics
Amen
11-01 09:10
Oh my God, Akufo Addo wants to mess with our constitution too
Charles
11-01 09:15
Let's support massively
Prof is more than right. The 1992 constitution is not the best to transform Ghana. It must be replaced now. We need massive support to realize this dream.
Honest
11-01 09:36
AMERICA CHANGES THEIR OUT-DATED CONSTITUTIONAL CLAUSES BY EXPUNGING USELESS CLAUSES, AND ADDING "AMENDMENTS" TO MODERNISE THE US CONSTITUTION. THIS IS ALL DONE BY RECOURSE TO THE AMENDMENTS CLAUSE IN THE US CONSTITUTION. THE
PRESkIDENT BANZA
11-01 10:17
GHANA CONSTITUTION
THE SABBATH WAS MADE FOR MAN AND NOT MAN FOR THE SABBATH.SO THAT THE SON OF MAN IS LORD EVEN OVER THE SABBATH. GET RID OF THE "INDEMNITY CLAUSE".NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW.
NANA
11-01 10:20
hhhmm
Get rid of the indemnity clauses and do what, she now blood, then what... ? Can't we just move on with our lives? Don't we have about of problems to solve so the living can have better lives? After all these years how does re
3dem
11-01 10:42
THE MUMU CONSTITUTION CALLS FOR REVISION
AMERICA CHANGES THEIR OUT-DATED CONSTITUTIONAL CLAUSES BY EXPUNGING USELESS CLAUSES, AND ADDING "AMENDMENTS" TO MODERNISE THE US CONSTITUTION. THIS IS ALL DONE BY RECOURSE TO THE AMENDMENTS CLAUSE IN THE US CONSTITUTION. THE
PRESkIDENT BANZA
11-01 10:27
hhhmm
This is rubbish talk, the constitution is the basis on which you hold that microphone and make that foolish speech so my dear it couldn't have outlived its usefulness. You can rather say that some provisions needs to be amend
3dem
11-01 10:35
Re: hhhmm
Bravo Prof, it have over lived it's usefulness. Power is in the hands of one man (the President) be it every appointment even to MDs of corporations.
KKA
11-01 11:09
COONS GHANA&AFRICA DOESN'T NEED
Basically what this coon is calling for, is a coup. These are the fools Ghana and Africa doesn't need in it's development agenda.
MTTTCCCHHHEEEWWW
11-01 11:08
Prof, your ascertion of Ghana's constitution is spot on. The constitution was carefully drafted to protect our leaders, who committed heinous crimes against Ghanaians. Crimes such as mass murders, state thievery-corruption, r
Kofi Yao
11-01 11:46
I never knew this guy was so foolish than today. When we started practicing "democracy" some had not left caves.
Tsuooo
11-01 12:19
We cannot even pass RTI bill into law
We are not able to pass the RTI bill into law after 25 years, how much more drawing up a new constitution with more stringent clauses....
Ghanaba
11-01 12:40
1992 constitution has outlived usefulnes
I totally agree with Prof Gyampo the constitution must be reviewed .For me the most existing clause that cause for the reviewed is the indemnity .
George Obeng
11-01 14:02
The Rationale For Indemnity Clause?
You are right Massa Obeng, the Indemnity Clause fouled the 1992 Constitution. Needs to be deleted in amending the 1992 Constitution. What was the rationale for the Indemnity Clause, anyway?
Kwadwo Gyamfi
11-02 00:51
The winner takes it all
I agree. Too many flaws. A NEW CONSTITUTION DEFINITELY NEEDED.
Ghanaba
11-01 14:14
The Need For 5th Republic
Professor Gyampo, I wholeheartedly agree with you that we need a new constitution because the 1992 Constitution has outlived lts usefulness. We need to craft a new constitution - a 5th Republic Constitution - that would seek
Marcus Ampadu
11-01 17:02
en
Buy & Sell
(31,553)
(17,791)
(13,260)
(1,332)