You are here: HomeNews2017 07 15Article 559239

Ghanaians' inability to speak and write good English a national catastrophe - Dr Linda Forde

Read Comments Comments (98)

• asem 6 years ago

Can you do a thorough research and give us the years when the English language deteriorated? thank you madam learned.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

PER NDC THINKING, AMISAH ARTHUR MUST BE MADE THE UNOPPOSED SUCCESSOR OF MAHAMA. THAT IS NDC THINKING AND THEIR DEMOCRATIC PHILOSOPHY . ANYTHING SHORT OF THIS WILL MEAN THE NDC HATE AKANS . AMISSAH!! STAND UP AND FIGHT TO LEAD ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

Its evident that Nana has surrounded himself with smooth talking bullshitters who know nothing except for kissing ass like Bawumia .He lacks proper advisors who are knowledgeable in geopolitics and its effect on economies , h ...

• Oh my god!!!! 6 years ago

is english language a ghanaian language? can you write and speak english yourself?

• Kwadwo Kyei 6 years ago

No, English is a universal language and that's why it is important for Ghanaians to be proficient in it if our country is to be competitive in the global marketplace. It is as simple as that.

• ASANTE IMPERIALISTS 6 years ago

Asantes are promoting Twi as National Language because they are LAZY to learn English.

• Sankofa 6 years ago

The Chinese and Russians did not have to learn English to expand trade and investment with the rest of the world.

You want to compare that FUCKING TWE or TWI or whatever with Russian and Chineese? They have over 1000 years of writing Science and Engineering books. Can you show me a FUCKING TWE or TWI physics book?
    How do you compete ...

• Sankofa 6 years ago

You can translate any book into any language provided you are literate in those languages.

Do you know that the oldest centres of learning in the world were on our continent - Morocco (Al Azhar, the Library and research ce ...

• Sahaq 6 years ago

..." which needs a consented effort of all." Should read which needs the concerted effort of all.

• Aban Kooby 6 years ago

Tell Ghanaians, we don't even produce anything here, we import most goods, how are they reading manufacturer labels when they are not in Akan to use them effectively.

• Akan Prophecies 6 years ago

WE STILL HAVE EDUCATED. IDIOTS AMONG. US.PULLING US BACK TO COLONIAL CAPRICES. HEY ! WOMAN LEAVE THE KIDS ALONE .ENGLISH IS THE POOREST AMONG THE COLONIAL FEED-SPOONS. I. KEEP WONDERING WHY THESE MASTERS OF PUPPETS STILL KE ...

• Aban Kooby 6 years ago

Ghana is an English speaking country, everything's else is in English medication, road sign, all public facilities, shopping for articles,
    currencies so it's a disease to think speaking Akan or local languages are enoug ...

• Nana Malik 6 years ago

Just look at her complete European name and she's an African Ghanaian.What do you expect from such a naughty professor?She should give us a break with her slave mentality.

• Afrikatu Kofi 6 years ago

The French, The Germans,The Chinese,The Japanese,The Czechs,The Slovaks,The Russians dont speak good enlgish at all and it is such a national catastrophe for them because they cannot developed without it.Hey,hey.hey eh look a ...

• TECH TRENDS 6 years ago

Trends predict a future of constantly-connected devices, business; smart homes, smart cities, networked ecosystems and all will be integrated into & controlled by our smartphones. High-value smartphones will require smart te ...

• Sammy 6 years ago

It is not actually a catastrophe. The problem we have in this nation is the assumption that being fluent in English is an indication of intelligence. Germans do not use English as their first language but their inventions are ...

• Ganiyu 6 years ago

How many scholarly journals in science and computer science are published in German?Then again you will be the genius who can explain the Fabonacci series in Ewe, Kyerepong, Nzema or Dagbani to Ghanaians. A language only!

• Be wise 6 years ago

And what have have done with your stupid English, kurasenii bi ba aboa, kwasia what do you have in your house that were made by Ghanaians, stupid idiot sometimes I hate to be African, we are so dumb to the ground, what is it ...

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

imagine the number of jobs u can provide to university grads in indiginous gh languages if we decide to translate scholarly articles from english, french etc to our local languages. so other gh who can speak those languages a ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Will that be increasing productivity or just creating jobs for its own sake? Maybe. more jobs could be created if after translating the books to all our indigenous languages we translate them back into the foreign languages.

• Sankofa 6 years ago

If you think that translation and interpreting are unproductive, how else would there be communication, common understanding and relationship-building between different people of different nationalities speaking different lan ...

It is all a hidden Asante Imperialism.
    You go to banks, Offices, THEY REFUSE to speak English to you.
    When they cant get good grades in Exams, they blame Ewes for getting all jobs and scholarships.

• Be wise 6 years ago

You stupid ewe you better keep quite, what have you guys done in the country other than stealing state properties, look what you have done to GBC, look at how we the Ashanti's and the kwashu's own almost all the Private busin ...

See these video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39-5VBf0Vx8

• Kwadwo Kyei 6 years ago

The tribal bigot and fool. Continue to inhabit your little fantasy island.

• Sankofa 6 years ago

Don't display your ignorance!

Mathematics transcends language. The Fibonacci series occurs in so many natural phenomena, that it is very easy to explain it in any language.

The Germans, Russians, Chinese, Japanese, Fren ...

• Sammy 6 years ago

Hahahaha, Ganiyu I think perhaps you do not understand how scholarly journals are written. A scientific research conducted in the lab either in Germany, Japan, China, France or Korea should be grounded first on the understan ...

• GNASHA 6 years ago

Tell them. Most of the greatest inventors and scientists were not from English speaking countries. Research and see. Look at Avogadro, Mendeleev, Einstein and so on. These were people who were not speaking English at all but ...

• Yaw Ghana 6 years ago

I agree with Sammy. what has speaking good English got to do with creating opportunities for teaming youth.
    Our Lecturers in the universities are the problem to the nation.
    Their lectures are very academic not gear toward ...

Get the fuck outta here.

• ABDUL 6 years ago

I think the universities are also handicap without the resources. I agree with you but our lying leaders are the problem. Even in business schools, what we are thought is different from what we do at the job.

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

you wants the students to learn french, english, akan and other ethnic languages at the same and you call it catastrophic

• Osei Kwame 6 years ago

Old,soldier you mean 'you wants'?There you are,

• Ras Tafari The First 6 years ago

Osei Kwame,I was about to say exactly what you have said.Thanks a lot my country man.

• King Deed 6 years ago

Kwame Osei, at least you got what he meant!! What is wrong if he cant write good English? Conversational English is all we need. Kwadwo Safo Kantanka cant read and write, yet more useful and resourceful than the 'Grandpa Pro ...

• OPANINPA 6 years ago

THIS IS SAD! I AM SURE DR LINDS FORDE CAN SPEAK AND WRITE HER NATIVE LANGUAGE. THE WELSH, THE SCOTS ANDTHE IRISH AARE NOW TEACHING THEIR CHILDREN TO LEARN THEIR NATIVE TONGUE. HERE IS A GHANAIAN LAMENTING THAT THE ENGLISH LAN ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

The genesis of this catastrophe can be traced to the doorstep of Rawlings and his AFRC/P-NDC regime. They changed Ghana's quality educational system by introducing a bogus JHS & SHS reducingthe number of years students could ...

• Kwami US 6 years ago

Victor, you blamed Rawlings for the instutionalization of jss and sss in Ghana but didn't see anything wrong with Kuffor and Akufo Addo's government the same educational deficiencies. Or you think jhs and shs are different fr ...

• Illiterate 6 years ago

One of the mistakes Kwame Nkrumah and co made was keeping English as official language after independence .
    Ghana is not fully independence After 60years cuz we continue using the colonial masters language, copy their live ...

• John 6 years ago

Can u pls tell me which language shd Be used aside English.

• Amaapaa 6 years ago

Almost every ghanaian can understand twi.

• James Naru 6 years ago

No it is not true that almost every ghanaian can understand twi..
    That is why you akan people are wrong

Fuck off with this FUCKING TWE or TWI or whatever. Twe or Twi is for TWERPS and TWITS!!!

• AJ 6 years ago

Dude,leave the Ashantes out of your shallow mind.all the Akans tribes speak twi and for you to attack Ashantes make you sound like stupid who don't no Ghana culture and history,Africans are suffering till today due to multipl ...

• Sankofa 6 years ago

What do you expect from someone called Linda Forde?

Is she not trying to be a white woman in black skin? The British succeeded in colonising not only our people, but their minds and identities!!

• Yabre 6 years ago

Did the Chinese speak "English" to overtake both the UK and the USA in global production and marketing?

Anything that can be "manufactured", the Chinese can build the "tools factory"!

• King Deed 6 years ago

It is rather catastrophic, if she's still a senior lecturer of a university. Just visit south africa, ATMs are no longer programmed in English. All 9 official languages are there. It's high time we stop the 'brofolisation' of ...

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

she prolly didnt know what to talk about. gh must emulate what s africa is doing in terms of inculcating local dialects into the mass culture and modus operanda of doing business in the country

• GNASHA 6 years ago

Just leave these book long people. Even Google has that there are different languages in Ghana and therefore has programmed to follow suit. You visit Google and you will see Akan, Ga, Hausa and so on. Please leave us alone.

• King 6 years ago

Mumu

• KAM 6 years ago

Ghana is generally an illiterate country. Poor spoken English, conservative unintelligent, easily deceived by fake pators etc etc.

• Yeboah 6 years ago

Does English give us food , the person who farm to give u food and u who claim to be speaking good English, who is more important

• Opana 6 years ago

Inability of Ghanaians to speak good English a (a foreign language) a national catastrophy? You must be sent straight to the mental hospital for examination. So you speak good English and so what? How does the speaking of a f ...

• Nyameke 6 years ago

What a trush from an academic doctor! This is a very unfortunate assessment. We getting nowhere with this mentality.

• geo 6 years ago

You don't need english language to develop. Find out from the south east Asian countries.

• Akwasi 6 years ago

This woman cannot be serious, you can't speak and write your own language yet you're fighting for some other people's language, no wonder most Ghanaians don't even know their hometown

• K. K Mensah 6 years ago

Forde has never been serious in life. Because people can not pronounce the "Th" well, they are illiterate? What a very warped logic!! She is a nincompoop.

• pocket lawyer 6 years ago

Last time it was former education minister who trumpeted about the importance of local languages to be spoken as national language instead of English language so are we not better if English language is not better written and ...

• Good man 6 years ago

But the lecturer is not all that different from those she is referring to. I thought she had an RP accent, not knowing she speaks typical Ghanaian English. She should give us a break.

• AJ 6 years ago

Dude,hahaha I laugh enter my toilet. I taught she is more British then the queen but when I heard her typical Ghanaian english accent, I was like why is she tripping hmmmm Africans with slave masters mentality all the Asian c ...

• Candido 6 years ago

The days of English is gone.We need science and technology.Even Americans say they don't speak English but American.Most countries that are prospering nowadays don't lay much emphasis on the English language .Ghana can't pros ...

• K. Anim. 6 years ago

Beautiful and' fine -fine' proficiency in parroting the king's and queen's language, without applying the body of knowledge and experiences leaned and acquired (in the arts,science and technology) to improve and positively im ...

• KAAJII 6 years ago

It is rather pathetic for an intellectual to impose English language on us whilst the local languages are defunct which is definitely leading us astray. Look at the developed countries, who speaks the English language apart f ...

• kwaku 6 years ago

This woman is a disappointment,how can she say this?.... clearer definition of "educated illiterate "

• KSK 6 years ago

All these colo colo book long people who can't think and solve societal problems. All they can do better than the ordinary person is that they can speak English. They can't think

• Frank 6 years ago

Pls, if you wanna by Ghanaian's as a Dr.I think it's better you go to an information centre and say it for short than adding such lose comment. Madam Dr.pls what have Ghana benefited from your speaking and writing of your so ...

• apuuuu 6 years ago

What the fuck this lady is talking about is English your mother language we let the white man let take advantage of us to speak their language now you are standing there talking about catastrophe English should be our secon ...

• Champ 6 years ago

This woman is still a dreamer. She doesn't understand where the World is going. She should visit England and hear the English people if they speak any better grammar. Let us focus on Technical and Vocational Education if we r ...

• Smith Adom 6 years ago

Stupid is English out language? Go to Europe and see foolish woman

• KAAJII 6 years ago

I was wondering why Dr Forde ended up by saying " the teaching profession become attractive as it ought to be" as so versed in English as she claims,I think she should have said " the teaching profession becomes attractive a ...

• Sankofa 6 years ago

WHY are you so concerned about people's inability to speak good English?

English is a foreign language imposed on us by colonialists, a pure accident of history.

We should be more concerned about literacy in our own ind ...

• Mr. No Name 6 years ago

This woman has nothing to say. Is English our first language?Such statement will have a negative impact to ALL Ghanaians everywhere

• Namiji 6 years ago

Omo Ghana and the imported language

• Mr. No Name 6 years ago

Please learn how to speak in Public; That is a shame to you and your family. Where did you attend school. I doubt if this woman is a proper Ghanaian. They have to check her records and history very well

• Charles Adusei Owusu -Ansah 6 years ago

You can be educated in any language you want! You people have made us lost our identity! It's God who created all the languages in this world! So what makes English language special? Because we black people have allowed ourse ...

• THE CRUSADER. 6 years ago

The fantis on it again,is English out language?what about speaking and writhing good English and shutting as anyhow like dogsand literring anywhere?helping the chineese to distroy our foana?where is the interligence?I speak ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Ghanaweb has just proven the lady right. The lady must have said concerted effort not consented. This is a bigger problem than reported when even reporters cannot write English!Those criticising her probably did not even see ...

• Pelicles. 6 years ago

Africans are the most useless humans ever to walk this planet. They hate anything that is theirs e.g their language, food, clothes etc. How can people with such mentality develop?

I can swear that this foolish woman can h ...

• AJ 6 years ago

Hahaha dude,you make me laugh to my toilet.No wonder some politicians are calling for intensifying arabic language in Ghana, hmmm Ghanaians are suffering from identity crisis we prefer to boost foriegn languages but we hate o ...

• SPAR. 6 years ago

FOOLISH WOMAN,ARE YOU NOT ASHAMED OF SPEAKING GOOD ENGLISH.THE ASIANS TIGERS DO NOT SPEAK GOOD ENGLISH.

• Gb 6 years ago

How many can write their own language ?
    Is not a problem as a nation but speaking someone language is ok for you
    These animals given a platform to speak sensles to the public

• charles 6 years ago

Leave the poor lady alone!
    Ghanaians hate the truth.
    She has spoken the truth. Most of you who typed, and attacked her personality, kindly read over your write ups again, and you would be ashamed of the kind of English y ...

• Koby 6 years ago

haha dumb fuck what are u talking about how many chinese korean and japanese speak english you people dont travel so you dont know shit even the whites want to learn chinese because of thier economic power nobody gives a fuck ...

• Hi 6 years ago

Ur first Asante president is Kuffour ,so where are ur ruling ?

• Richmond, Maryland 6 years ago

English does not develop a nation, science and technology does. Dumb lecturer. Your name tells a lot about you.

• Geo 6 years ago

Abi chinese dey speak English and maybe its the reason why they doing better than us

• Goro 6 years ago

Doc. you are right as there is no word like "consented" used by this reporter.

• ST 6 years ago

After several years of being a lecturer, this woman speaks from her experience and people are so angered about this. Take scripts from the various tertiary institutions and check the kind of English that people write. Very ho ...

• CO 6 years ago

Just give the woman a break...

• yebopower 6 years ago

some of the most advanced countries in the world were bombed by the Americans.May be Ghana also needed to be bombed by usa to put the fear of God in them for thembto srop corruption.

• Casca 6 years ago

Who made someones language as a core subject in our schools nd do you expect everyone to excel?

• JH New York. 6 years ago

Ghanians cannot read and write their own local languages to the levels they are able to speak and write the "bad -English" and that's not Catastrophic but the inability to speak good English- a foreign language.A PhD indeed!. ...

• GNASHA 6 years ago

I think I disagree with you on this madam professor. Ones inability to speak and write good English is not a sign of catastrophe at all. It is only in Africa that it is thought so. Look at China, Germany, France, Russia, Mala ...

• Doc Akosuah 6 years ago

So sorry for your ignorance. Do Chinese speak English for their development? Twi is what we need to learn and write well and not English. This is slavery thinking. No wonder it's hard to invent anything due to lack of self es ...

• Karen 6 years ago

I couldn't agree more!

• Karen Evans, USA 6 years ago

Best speech I've heart yet. That is what we are doing at J & K Academy Schools in Northern Ghana.

• KOFI ELLISON 6 years ago

Mis-educated Negro