You are here: HomeNews2017 07 12Article 558008

It is illegal for doctorate degree holders to use the title ‘Doctor’ – NAB warns

Read Comments Comments (55)

• King 6 years ago

"It is illegal for doctorate degree holders to use the title ‘Doctor’ – NAB warns"

Who are the editors of Ghana web?Shameful piece of headline! You are talking about the usage of honorary doctorate degree.

• SALUTE 6 years ago

Sad Ghana cannot be reffered to as 'Dr'.Go for your dollars soya, mazamaza, ntemtem.

• SALUTE 6 years ago

OH Sad Gyan cannot use Dr.

• Zoobe-Zoobe 6 years ago

Spio, Asamoah, Wontumi, etc

• ASIEDU NKETIA, TAIN 6 years ago

Ghana started its independence with these things. Ask Mr. Kwame Nkrumah. He had an honorary doctorate from Lincoln University & used the title before his name.

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 6 years ago

Mkrumah's doctorate was academic.

Check your facts Kwaku Gbloenawo. Nkrumah attempted his Ph.D two or three times but did not complete.

• GaBaa 6 years ago

He got the doctorate, his academic and political work got him the degree. his advisers did not understand the theories he was talking about then. he put them into practice hence they gave him the degree

• Fati 6 years ago

Yes tell Gifty Anti
    Docterat

• Fati 6 years ago

Yes oooo tell Gifty Anti doctorate degree for sale
    No one is envious of such titles , I know people with high academic qualifications who hold honorary doctorate degrees but never add doctor to their names
    A Tv presenter ...

• TOM MBOYA 6 years ago

LET'S PUBLISH THE NAMES OF THESE IMPOSTERS. THERE ARE SO MANY OF THEM ROAMING IN GHANA. IDIOTS. HERE ARE SOME OF THEM:
    1. EKOW SPIO GARBRAH
    2. JOSHUA ALABI
    3. KOFI PORTUPHY
    4. HENRY DOMESTICATION LARTEY
    5. MRS. GOSKI AL ...

• John 6 years ago

OTABIL

• Yonkopani Okotoponi 6 years ago

What if Doctor is the first name my parent gave me at birth?

• Obroni 6 years ago

A honorary Doctor degree is recommended not to use as a tittle but rather as an award.
    Sometimes !
    Other recipients of an honorary degree may add "honorary" or "honoris causa" or "h.c." after the degree title. In some count ...

• CharlesP 6 years ago

Without public recognition this fake doctorates will count for nothing. It should help to publish a list of such holders for public information. With time when the public no longer accords such dubious holders recognition the ...

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Sack Kwame Darttey

• N. BOAKYE 6 years ago

CAN I USE IT IN THE REST OF THE WORLD WHERE THEY APPRECIATE MY HARD WORK?

• Mark 6 years ago

Hard work in terms of academics or what? You can only use it after attaining a PhD and that is through a mental hard work not buy and sell hard work.

• chief vandal 6 years ago

Ask Spio Garbrah to so desist from hence forth!

• Mark 6 years ago

I don't blame Spio, I blame the media. They are damn daft, I mean a sizeable portion of them.

But Nkrumah had been using the Dr. all the time. Nkrumah never completed a doctorate degree. It was an honorary degree conferred on him by Lincoln University in 1951

• Zoobe-Zoobe 6 years ago

1957 versus 2017....sad

He made 2 or 3 attempts at Ph.D but withdrew

• kwaku-Holland 6 years ago

for his contribution to humanity and Africa, he surely deserves it till the end of time. So does Mandela. They risked everything and hard-work

The fact is: it was an honorary degree, period !

• Koo 6 years ago

Please make sure you dont refer to them as such. Some of those with honorary degrees who want to be referred to as dr as;

Ekow Sio-Garbrah
    Ayariga (Ayaricough)
    Asamoah Gyan
    Wontumi
    Joyce Aryee
    Kwame Despite
    Ofori Sar ...

• Adika 6 years ago

Brilliant news. Useless doctorate awards.

• Nana Kyenkyehene 6 years ago

So-called "DR" Nikoi Djanie are you listening?

• Kosi Hovi 6 years ago

Shameful click-baiting. The opening sentence completely falsifies the heading. I expect more professionalism from yen.com.gh

• Heinz-Dieter Spitschan 6 years ago

Anyone who has referred to himself as Dr and has not doctorated is a deceiver. An honorary doctor must not confuse people by pretending to be a "Dr." and conceals, that he is only a "honorary Dr."

When I study Ghanaian pos ...

• MANNUEL 6 years ago

Gifty Antie is number one culprit among those who prefix their names with "Dr"

• Baba Rahman 6 years ago

No self-respecting individual with an honorary doctorate degree prefixes his or her name with "Dr." Check the Kofi Annans, Akufo-Addos, Obamas, Mandelas, etc. Let's ignore these fake Drs.

• Odikro 6 years ago

The nonsense was started by Spio Garbrah and a bunch of NDC illiterates, some of who never completed "Standard 7". And when the law comes into effect, the NAB should name names for us to know all of them - Spio Garbrah, Gifty ...

• Kwadwo 6 years ago

Do not forget Kwame Nkrumah while you are at it. He started it all. Lol

• Kwame 6 years ago

No. It was started by Kwame Nkrumah not Spio

• Onipa Nua 6 years ago

Tell me which law prohibits calling oneself Doctor. Just enact laway so quack doctors and such people like Dr Asemfoforo, Dr Paa Bobo and policemen and pastors who don't know what doctorate degree entails will not debase Dr. ...

• Cowboy 6 years ago

BUT WHAT GOOD IN TERMS OF ECONOMIC BENEFITS ARE THESE HONORARY DEGREES GOING TO DO FOR PEOPLE AND SOCIETY? WHAT GOOD? I WOULD SAY THE NAB HAS DONE A GREAT JOB. WHEREAS PEOPLE ARE BURNING THE MIDNIGHT OIL TO STUDY, WRITING DIF ...

It takes a lot of time, papers published, conferences and workshops just to get your defense. in Ghana titles are cheap! About time they put a stop to this nonsense!

• Kabutey Kabu 6 years ago

GROW UP AND STOP THE SINGLE MINDED ATTIUDE THAT ALL THINGS MUST HAVE ECONOMIC BENEFITS! LIFE IS NOT JUST ABOUT MONEY OR CREATION NOF MONEY. IT IS ALSO ABOUT CONTRIBUTIONS IN ALL LIFE DEPARTMENTS. SOCIAL, MORAL PSYCHOLOGICAL A ...

• Kofimensah 6 years ago

Is Dr Gifty Anti listening?

• EFO KOKU 6 years ago

I know of Dr. Rawlings. As well as Dr. Spio Gabrah. What about Dr. Ayariga? More doctors more idiots.

• xxxx 6 years ago

One can use the Dr. Title but attach in brackets (Honorus Causa or H.C)

• Akwasi Mensah 6 years ago

This is for the the information of Spio Garbrah and Hassan Ayariga and the others

stop this madness in Ghana. Asamoah Gyan and those concert people referring to themselves are doctorates. I say we start making a distinction Dr(Med.), Dr.(ing), Dr.(phil) etc, so we know who won't misrepresent themselves and ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Korkor 6 years ago

I concur! The average years to earn a doctorate in Psychology from North America is 6-7 years. Thereafter, you complete two years of supervised practice and required to pass three exams. Some Ghanaians don't want to put in th ...

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in their ...

• Akora 6 years ago

You can't be called a doctor with honorary doctorate degree

• Yonkopani Onipanua 6 years ago

Funny Nkrumah change his name from Frances to Kwame to be seen as more African than black pepper but choose to name himself Doctor another foreign name write?

• Yaw Adom 6 years ago

Some directors who were honored become angry if the title is left when addressing them.They hate people who fought with their brain to obtained the PhD only to make u-turn to buy some fire ????burn them

• Animals kingdom 6 years ago

Listen and listen well Wontumi and Asamoah Gyan, period.

• Kutsii 6 years ago

What is your problem if we have ten million doctors in Ghana? kwa kwa kwa kwa aaa. Why shouldn't one carry his honor and integrity around? Are u jealous of the illiterate and semi illiterate doctors.

I laugh enter OPD to ...

• Frank 6 years ago

Pls begin to arrest the people using the Dr. without any piece of work or studies. Some of my aunties are using the title recently and l am beginning to ask myself, which uni. gave it to them. Some men of God are also using ...

• Kofi Mensah 6 years ago

NAB, what's a cv? Is it not about record of some key happenings in one's life? So why shouldn't one indicate in her/his her cv that s/he has an honourary doctorate degree from a particular institution? Praise singers, fans et ...

• Adamu 6 years ago

What exactly are the concerns of NAB? Is it about fake degrees or "unaccredited" institutions? Those socalled unaccredited schools continue to exist in their countries because accreditation is optional in those countries. Is ...