You are here: HomeNews2017 06 29Article 553614

Kwesi Appiah accuses referee of using f-word against player in friendly

Read Comments Comments (124)

• Jeans 6 years ago

This weak coach has started the blame game again.Better work on your players and stop these excuses

• SALUTE 6 years ago

You are making noise instead of petioning for him to be sanctioned. He dare use such word on an American player and see where it lands him. Tapes are available and FIFA and MLS ready to sanction him. Report him officially!

• NPP SENIOR CITIZEN 6 years ago

Very disgusting even the almighty Black Stars can't even draw with Mexico team B.,Criminal Kwasia Nyantakyi and his criminal organization again.

• ST. GHFUO, is this the best you can d 6 years ago

U DIDNT DO UR HOMEWOR AKWASI. WHO TOLD YOU TO ORGANIZE A FRIENDLY WHEN MEXICAN TEAM A IS IN RUSSIA. I DONT BLAME U AND GFA. A BUNCH OR FUCKING MORONS. U ENGAGED IN THIS FRIENDLY NOT FOR THE RESULT BUT TO MAKE MONEY. THE REF S ...

• T and T 6 years ago

I think Ghana played well. If Gyan had started the game, we would have won. Why are U in hurry to replace Gyan(31) but willing to invite Muntari(31)?

GYAN, KPB, YIADOM, JOHN ANTWI, NANA POKU, DWAMENA ARE ALL PURE STRIKERS BUT ASK YOURSELF WHERE ARE THEY? INSTEAD, U CONTINUE TO RELY ON THESE HALF BAKED STRIKERS LIKE WARRIS ETC...SO WHAT DO U EXPECT HEN THE GOING GETS TOUGH? ...

• Twe Box 6 years ago

Watching the match brought some hope to me about the rebuilding efforts.The penalty goal was fake so I am not too concerned about that.Frontal challenges of an opponent cannot be result in a penalty unless intentional and agg ...

• POW@ JENNIFER LOMOTEY 6 years ago

How did you guys find the match? How did the B/Stars fare in the loss. Any positives and negatives on the field of play? What can we subtract or add to make the team better. These are some of the things that's lacking in this ...

• K K 6 years ago

Thanks for being objective

• anokwale 6 years ago

I personally think Eric Ofori is a critical player in the middle. The weakness was that neither Sackey or Abu were good in combination with him.
    I feel like Rashid Sumalia needs to be getting more time. Boye had a bad gam ...

• Isaidit 6 years ago

You are right,Ofori excelled in the middle but Abu flopped and Sackey was average.Afful ahs been quite inconsistant in recent times and must be monitored.I can over look Boye's average game because he always come back better. ...

• Soja 6 years ago

there is no recording of what was said during soccer matches in America. Even if true though it is contrary to the laws of the game the game accepts the use of those words that's why the refs and players use it a lot in adult ...

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

1. "I never knew about it until after the game".

Verify these things before you agree to games.

You inspect pitches.
    Why not verify the possible partiality of the ref?

2. File a complaint with FIFA.
    Make sure the p ...

• LOLORNYO 6 years ago

It is the work of FA to find out who's officiating a match not the coach.

WITH THIS ATTITUDE. NO WONDER U WERE FLIPPING BURGERS IN LONDON. IF YOU WANT TO BEAT THESE WESTERNERS OR WHITE PPL ETC. U HAVE TO OUT HISTLE THEM. THEY ARE COMING TO STEAL AND CHEAT YOU. SO U HATE TO ALSO STEAL N CHEAT THEM N ...

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

Can you read?
    "Appiah, GFA, et al" means "Whoever is responsible".

It does not have to be Appiah personally, but he could trigger the inspection effort through the FA, the Sports Ministry, our agents abroad, anybody!

• ASEM BIREBA 6 years ago

There are so many ways to kill a CAT. That sense of theory lacks our black stars. Mexico knows that they can trick Ghana to assume straight forward tactics into the penalty BOX. Smartness & accuracy that by all means. Someone ...

• Owusu 6 years ago

The Fifa rules stipulates that a defender challenging an opponent from the front should not be penalized unless there is milicious attack occurs.This Ref was biased from the first whistle.

• Dr edusei 6 years ago

The referee was totally bias the Mexicans , like most South American teams keep diving and these referees keep giving free kicks. The penalty was ridiculous. The only chance Mexico had. Ghana has to learn to put away their c ...

Any comments about the game proper, please? I need your response, thanks if you did see the match.

• Knockout 6 years ago

The players can't score goals,they're all midfield players. Ghana needs pure strikers

• Okocha 6 years ago

It was a clear penalty.I watched it

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

I think you're trying to talk to Owusu.
    I did not talk about the penalty.
    Peace!

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

Brother POW, I saw the match.

My view: But for a brief period in the second half when MEX owned the middle, we played better than The Tricolor and had better chances, but fluffed all of them.

Lobbying into the box and t ...

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 6 years ago

Appiah is right in his recriminations!I cannot believe how this guy officiated this game;he will whistle foul on fair challenges of the Stars and did not see the fouls of the Mexicans!He was a real "pinchi cabron!"
    On the ga ...

• Yentie 6 years ago

Great analysis, but you failed "gbachaa" for your "NO COMMENT" on the silly foul.

I DID...SOME SAID BOYE HAD GOTTEN PROMOTION TO TURKISH PREMIER SO HE SHOULD BE A STARTER.I SAID NO BCOS HE HASNT WON A LG TROPHY. SIMPLETONS STILL DIDNT UNDERSTAND. ACHEAMPONG HAS WON A LG TROPHY WITH HIS CLUB. SEE HOW WELL H ...

Did not watch the first half as l got home late.But during the analysis.Hristo Stoichov was full of praise for the Ghanaian team.He was amazed we had a team devoid of "our big names" yet played cohesive soccer.
    Herrera,forme ...

Oh stop your useless talk here!Did you watch the game?

• ARLEX 6 years ago

Kwesi Appiah please no no no, your arguments don't make sense. Referees by their principles of duty are bound to play by the rules set out by FIFA, be it a league match, international friendly or competitive tournament games ...

• Villager 6 years ago

If Appiah and the GFA agreed to the Mexican Team B that probably was why the coach gave the others the chance to play. So Appiah too was playing his team B too.
    If the ref actualy used the f-word on his players that makes se ...

• ARLEX 6 years ago

Villager, please mind you the status of the match remains on record Ghana played against Mexico and if Kwesi Appiah in his own wisdom chose to play a second stringe Black Stars players because Mexico came up with team B is in ...

• Desmond. Antubam 6 years ago

Everything u r saying makes no sense if the referee is from Mexico ok why don't they use a Ghanaian referee a Mexican is a. Mexican period. He gat no business on the field they think we Africans t stupid u don't get it's

• K K 6 years ago

Who told you that, the team ghana played with is a team B

• Ghanaba kwaku 6 years ago

Jeans or whatever u call your dirty self. How can you insult the coach on this issue? You show you immaturity n uncultured behavior everywhere. Try to grow up. You are trying to leave your brain behind that your nasty head.

• Akash 6 years ago

Chances...simple as that. Warris should have scored 2, frank should have just shot to center with keeper already diving

I think we played very well, we just couldn't bury our chances plus luck that eluded us. I hate to talk about luck but Dwamenah's me and you miss, which went off his knee instead foot was absolutely one of such I guess.

• +233506182344 6 years ago

TAKE WATER TO WHERE YOU LIVE. DRILL A BOREHOLE AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE TODAY...www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• Egya 6 years ago

Yes, coach focus on the team let's build the offense that once put us on top. Remember the world of soccer has changed.

• Ben 6 years ago

Guys, we need to pay attention to what the coach is saying. GFA is only interested in money. Once there was money involved, they did not care about who the referee was or the details of the game. Whiles watching the game, I k ...

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

Look, a commander does not send his or her troops to war without research on the opponents. Is Appiah saying he didn't know who the officials were going to be and the conditions under which the game was going to be played?
    N ...

• Brazo 6 years ago

Majority of commenters here are ignorant of the real interactions in team sports.

Football-soccer is not "communion"!

Poor Akwesi is rather blaming the ref for his player's recklessness!

Oh, Ghanafuo montie!

Yes,and money they will make out of their commission.It was a sold out!

• Open ur eyes 6 years ago

Hahahah ooh my gud Kwesi Appiah can't score group B team of Mexico shame ..people are just praising him for nothing

• FRANCIS ASARE 6 years ago

I WILL BE VERY HAPPY IF AKWASI APPIAH AND HIM TEAM CAN COME OUT WITH A TAPE THAT THE REFEREE USED THAT WORD AGAINST A GHANAIAN PLAYER.THEN WE WILL NO WHAT TO SAY. AS FOR NOW WE DON'T KNOW THE TRUTH ABOUT IT.

• MANNUEL 6 years ago

Given Kwesi Appiah's story is true, how did that contribute to the defeat of the Black Stars and can Kwesi Appiah prove that with audio evidence even if FIFA is prompted to investigate the use of 'F' word on a Ghanaian player ...

• AUSTIN 6 years ago

Next time go to the field with your own Ghanaian corrupt refree , and they will score you more.

• Fred 6 years ago

Childish whining he is fond of.

He should tell his dumb players who deliberately foul,
    NOT to confront the refree, no matter what!

• I.s 6 years ago

we should take it so is tp build your team ones refferee is not clean as mexico show black star starte goog to the ende is preparing your team.we can fault the coach it show draw it show coach show is streanth.neverthelless w ...

• 007 6 years ago

Hey my friend, leave the page and look for a primary school to enrol. You are not fit to comment here with the RUBBISH you are putting out. Were you easing yourself when you wrote this?

• Odikro Munumkum 6 years ago

Appiah must make a case against the referee's use of f.... word against the BS player. Appiah should carry himself professionally without tolerating any abusive behavior towards BS players and himself. F.... word it not acce ...

• kwaku 6 years ago

the game had some positives, the guys played well. those of u saying team B of mexico, how many of the players used by kwasi appiah are team A? to even think most of them are new players and some are returning after a long ab ...

• Tumba 6 years ago

Kwaku, I think you are the only one that make sense here so far.

• Once Govina KojoLee 4 GFA/BS Change 6 years ago

Yea, I don't care about the loss, the boys did well and I could see the determination on them.

Coach MRAA is doing what is expected of him.

Haaa I hope they continue like that against USA.

• ata 6 years ago

I'm really surprised at some some these comments. When was the last time we saw the black stars play this well with such energy? During the 2 or 3 years of Avram Grants tenure did the so called team A even play this good? We ...

• ata 6 years ago

Usual whining, I meant to say

• MAXWELL 6 years ago

Does it matter if Kwesi Appiah fielded Bodjuase 11, its on record the Black Stars played a Mexican team 'B' national side. How come Ghanaians continue to celebrate Accra Hearts of Oak side pulling a drawn game with the full ...

• Jimmy 6 years ago

Mexicans are real Americans. White USA citizens are not American.

The real Americans are the Indians, the rest of them came from somewhere to sojourn and finally there their home.

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in their ...

• Walatu 6 years ago

Same thing KB told you which made you kick him off team, the ref told your stupid player, "Don't fvcking touch me"!

Coach, welcome to the real world!

• Kofi yes so 6 years ago

what is real world about this .An illiterate and School drop our uses such abusive language and you call it real world .Shame on you .

• Lanz 6 years ago

You must be a cave-dweller if you think such expressions are "abusive" these days.

How old are you?

Ghanaians are on the Airwaves insulting one another every day. When was the last time you listened to your leaders? Appiah doesn't like the way some people express themselves when he gets out of his hole, he should get back i ...

• happy 6 years ago

Ghanaian please listen to your coach for once

• Kofi yes so 6 years ago

Kwesi ,Ghana played better .Draw from the positives and leave the referee.The finishing of our players was a bit poor .

• BERNARD 6 years ago

(1).Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    (2).Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

(3).Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

(4).Enhances Weight loss.
    (5).It reduces ageing pro ...

• Atweraaa nana 6 years ago

De players did very well... Let build our team. Good luck on our next game

• Terror 6 years ago

I watched the game.The players did very well.My problem with the coach is that ,he should have brought Gyan early in the second half and not when it was almost time for closing.

• anokwale 6 years ago

If this was a real game I would definitely agree with you. However, I think he wanted to see what Accam, Warris and Dwamena would do when a goal was really needed. i think now he knows that Accam and Warris are just not goi ...

• BB 6 years ago

The coach should focus on finding a replacement for Gyan. The boys showed much determination and brilliance. They only lack how to put the ball in the net!

• JUNIOR 6 years ago

Shame!! We played a Team B and we are complaining. Watch Team A play tonight!!!

Was it not a friendly? What's the big deal about a Mexican referee - but Kwesi, the man is an America!! You should only lodge a complain on th ...

• KK 6 years ago

That is the job of team officials to know the background of who is officiating their games. You and your bunch need to be smart which you are not. Blame yourself and the weak officials you have. Before any Match, FIFA make kn ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

GFA should have known better! The game with Mexico wasn't well planned, that's why a referee of Mexican lineage could be appointed. It's bogus!

• Akwasi B 6 years ago

Look if what the coach is saying is really true, then we need to support him, rather than directing him on what to do, he can do it better than all Ghanaians, that is why he was choosed, Ghanaians are always supporting the op ...

• No mans land 6 years ago

Blacks are always robbed by whites so why don't we Africans ignore this games and have black to black sports.Bravo coach appiah

• Chuks, Nima. 6 years ago

Go wey you, you lost against a second-string side. Shut up and and lick your wounds. Had your boys shot any of the attempts into the net would the Mexican referee say it was not a goal? Go piss, poo and go to bed

• Zomie 6 years ago

Don't mind him.

That was a STUPID tackle and foul in the box right in front of the ref.

When do we take "responsibility", hein?

• Kakeman 6 years ago

Can't we for once all applaud our own? We need to support one another. Kwesi and his technical team didn't do that bad. Read other tabloids and you will realise the good things being said about our performance. After all the ...

• Crime Lord 6 years ago

God bless you Kakeman, we need people like your type in Ghana, we would have been better off by now.

• Buju B. 6 years ago

The gods are working,go back home and the tell Nana to revise all that he said during and after the election and the magic horn he's hoarding inside his room if not !,prepare for another defeat against u.s.

• Ugly Asiedu Nketia 6 years ago

Every goal that make Ghana loose a match comes through John Boye .Please ,someone has to tell coaches to stop him play for Black Stars. He is cursed.

• atawali 6 years ago

you are a foooollllll to say John boy is cursed..when he scored against Ethiopian last match what was your comments? stupidity spitirify... gbemela full of hatred.. you will not succeed aboa bi ba.

• Gen 6 years ago

Kwesi Appiah at it again ooh Ghanaians, he once said Kelvin prince Boateng used the f**k word at him during the 2014 World Cup brohaha.

• Odikro Munumkum 6 years ago

It was a nice game from both sides, the referee did a great job and the penalty was a clean one no doubt about it. However, the referee was unprofessional for using f.. word to a player. F... word is a getho word that real ...

• indikokokulagbe 6 years ago

I can't still kowtow the maxico that we've played against.. is it Democratic republic of Mexico or African Mexico? .because I learn Mexicans are in Russia for a special Tournaments.. eii Akorsi still wit complains. ayoooo hee

• RICHARD 6 years ago

am suprised our coach or the technical team of Ghana would say they don't know officiating officials of this match. as a matter of fact this should be of concern to the technical directorate before they even fly to US.

• ROGUE LAWYER 6 years ago

That was fanstatic display of football , gone were the days when one is injuried there is no competetive replacement, because we always played the best 11 , kudoos to the technical team
    i hope ghana blackstars could go far ...

• Baron Obuoba Boadu 6 years ago

That's why you need players like Sulley Muntari... to put him in his place. The team needs strong characters, not your usual timid Ghanaians!

• Mr. Appiah 6 years ago

John Boye needs to be replaced!!!

John Boye needs to replaces!!!

• SALUTE 6 years ago

DON'T WORRY. Jerry is back and AMARTEY will also be back.

• kwasi 6 years ago

it amazes me how most of you wish for akwasi appiah to fail. if you stupid mutherfuckers can get your head out of your ass, you can see that akwasi appiah is just rebuilding the team with new tallents and these matches are fo ...

• Samir 6 years ago

I watched the game and to be frank our guys were amazing to watch their set pieces was great our keeper was also good he does not panic and grabs the ball with confidence.Acheampong was a fighter and great on the ball but wha ...

• Mr. Appiah 6 years ago

No John Boye against USA

No john Boye against USA

• D'more97 Atlanta, Georgia 6 years ago

This flimsy excuse is similar to the same excuse he gave when the U.S beat Ghana in 2014.

Reporter, why did you use this starting eleven? "I used that starting eleven because when the U.S players get tired, then I'll brin ...

• Kojo 6 years ago

You can't sit home and eat your Fufu and soup and go to the field without checking who's going to officiate the game. Nowadays we have google search and Mr. coach please do your home work well before the game. Also if you ...

• Las Vegas 6 years ago

IT IS SAID CHARITY BEGINS AT HOME. THE COACH RATHER HAS TO WARN THE PLAYERS FROM CONSTANTLY COMPLAINING AND BEING DISRESPECTFUL TO MATCH OFFICIALS. IT DOES NOT SPEAK WELL FOR THE COUNTRY. YOU BLAME THE REFEREE FOR USING THE ...

• Kwabena Duku Damoah 6 years ago

Once again Ghanian authorities will not react.Hitherto it was delta depicting Ghana with a giraffe image which went without any reaction.When then?

• Nostradamus 6 years ago

"F" word, "N" word, "BS" word: if you are an 'international' coach and the above words affect your performance, then you have no business coaching a national side: football is played over 5400 seconds, if you concede a goal i ...

• Bleoo bii 6 years ago

Which Mexico

Mexico I understand is playing in the confederations cup in Russia. So which Mexico team are we playing??

• Babs 6 years ago

Coach Appiah should be praised for the great performance of the national team. They played well. Luck was not on their side besides this is just a friendly much

• ktz 6 years ago

I agree with Kwesi Appiah. Right from the beginning of the game I knew the referee was bad.

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

Funny coach! The match was organized by both Ghana and Mexico. Please coach, turn to your GFA boss and his assistants and direct your question to them... lol

• Clifford 6 years ago

You are the coach, you know the procedures and what action to take, immediately your player drew your attention to it. What did you do right on the pitch? Weak Coach!!!!

• KwameAdu007 6 years ago

All these people talking didn't even watch the game. Everybody saying Ghana played a Mexican B team. Ghana also played a B team. Ghana dominated Mexico but the officiating was very poor. Appiah was right clear bias. I'm excit ...

• Banger 6 years ago

How can you lose to a Mexico C team ? What more of their first team who play Germany today

• tbay 6 years ago

:) :) :)

• Elvis presly new york 6 years ago

Nobody needs to blame the the coach i was at the stadium myself an the boys played a good game but is only we miss our chances an point blank this is not the lsue of blamin the or watever.

• tbay 6 years ago

Its been a long time since I saw the black stars play with so much determination and high level of work ethics. In my opinion you wont find 5 teams in the world to beat this time. YOu can see clearly luck was not on their sid ...

• Elvis presly new york 6 years ago

Jeans nextime wen makin comense like that' please becareful theway u spoke pls.

• abdul 6 years ago

who is this Achempong guy? he can't find the net anytime, i wasn't impress at all

• Awudoe Ernest (Rude Man) 6 years ago

we said it this coach will do woes than he did in Brazil

• Smith 6 years ago

SOMEONE HAS TO TELL AKWASI APPIAH HOW TO TALK TO THE PRESS.THAT PRESS CONFERENCE HE MADE WAS ONE OF A VERY,VERY FOOLISH ONE.WHAT DOES HE MEAN,THE REFEREE IS A FIFA REFEREE.AFTER WATCHING THE MATCH HEADLINES THE REFEREE FAVOUR ...

• DHURUWAH 6 years ago

The Black stars do not score goals, period. No strikers to speak of.

• KK kokontay 6 years ago

The referee wouldn't use the "F" word against an American or any European but African teams. GFA should file an official complaint with FIFA to investigate the referee's use of the "F" word during the match.

Assume the referee used the "F" word, and that is only an assumption, what did the player do or was doing? You see players from underdeveloped countries crowding and touching referees all the time. Heaven knows what names th ...

• Shaft in Brooklyn 6 years ago

Black stars played very well ,as usual mr Boye was involved with the goal for the Mexicans! Nothing new.The team will get better in the future.very tallented players the score should have been 3-1 in favor of the stars .unluc ...

• Akora 6 years ago

Go and do your homework OK

• Ekow Samuel. 6 years ago

They are very good for their performance what they need is found a spercial person whom will bee in being through for make a goal as the spercial player with -in them, in the Black Stars,Kwesi Appiah and them did well and ve ...

• Matete 6 years ago

The result lays bare the fact that Kwesi Appiah needs to build a winsome side. Stop the rantings cause you lost to a team B side of the Mexican team. JUST SHUT UP AND WORK YOU MOTHER FUCKER

• SAQ 6 years ago

Ghana outplayed Mexico!!

Appiah, the charge that you did not the referee is troubling. Please for the match against America do your home work.
    The penalty was not a penalty.File a FIFA complaint against the referee.

• Kwame 6 years ago

Don't worry AA, win or lose, you're still the best . Love you!

• Nana Asumadu sakyi 6 years ago

Pls this is just a friendly match .it doesn't matter where d referee comes from. I never watched d full game , but d little one I watched after d match showed that d penalty was rightfully rewarded.

• Ataboy- A slice of Mt Zion 6 years ago

Do not worry about where the referee comes from, especially in a friendly match. What about if we had won? Would there be any complains?