You are here: HomeNews2017 06 24Article 552158

Visa: We can’t change US govt policy – Botchwey

Read Comments Comments (61)

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase. 6 years ago

The policies of US are non negotiable. They do not sell their dignity as mahama single handedly would.

• Bill 6 years ago

Were you in opposition, you would have promised Ghanaians that when you come to power you will make the US change its policy. Your short bosses, Bawuliar and the ugly old midget would have shouting at roof top demanding why G ...

• oldchap 6 years ago

That is very true.We can not change the very selective policies America implement.But we can find new friends who don't spend so much effort to humiliate us.And we can insist our former leaders stay away from America.

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

AMERICANS, GOD BLESS UNITED STATE OF AMERICA

• Kofi 6 years ago

We don't need to find new friends who won't humiliate us. If we build our country well, no one can humiliate us. You see the amount of respect US has for North Korea?

• Lamptey 6 years ago

eiii Bill u dont kill the chimp president wooo.But ur boss jj dey fear the chimp.Now e dey praise em if even he is doing bad hmmm

GHANAIAN POLITICIANS ARE DISGRACEFUL EVIL USELESS FOOLS

• asem 6 years ago

yes we can, who told you we cannot?

• Cash 6 years ago

As we can't change US government policy on this important matter we have to stick to ours also.

LEARN BUT I KNOW THEY WILL NOT LEAN ANYTHING BECAUSE THE AFRICA PRIMITIVE MENTALITY IS STICK IN THEIR DEAD BRAINS

• Aben Wo Ha 6 years ago

I don't see anything wrong if a former presidential candidate going a private trip is asked to show up at any embassy. These presidents and other government officials travel distances and spend countless hours attending funer ...

• Ka Na Wu 6 years ago

When Mahama became president, a few days after presenting his budget he took a large entourage of his appointees to UK / US to beg for budgetary support.
    Meanwhile his 'greedy bastards' were shopping like there is no tomorro ...

• Isaidit 6 years ago

We are all aware of Mahama's short comings and that is why Ghanaians rejected him.We are not going to allow Foreign Officials to have direct control over our leaders in this manner.We have shown the world that we reject corru ...

RESPECT TO ANY DONKEY MONKEYS PERIOD. BLACK PEOPLE HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO

TAKEN BY THE US EMBASSY IS BASED ONLY ON VISA NO NO NO COMPLETELY NO. IS BASED ON THE MONEY STOLEN BY THESE CRIMINALS BASTARDS GREEDYS NDC THIEVES

AND LEAVE IN IT PERIOD. STOP THIEVERY THE STATE COFFERS AND LEAVE THE STOLEN MONIES HERE IN GHANA NKWASEAFUO

• Master 6 years ago

After MPs are involved in fraud at the U.K. Embassy what do you expect?The MPs are aggrieved because they won't get chance to send their relatives abroad.Kudos to the US

• Counselor 6 years ago

Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey is right on point. Ghana can do nothing to change the consular procedures of the United States and Ghana can take it or leave it!

• Tibaa 6 years ago

Then if USA gives Ghana loans, Ghana must also extend some loans to the USA!

Neophytes playing high-voltage politics.

• PPN 6 years ago

Ayorkor is right. However, the question is is this applicable to all countries or is it has Ghana been singled out?
    If Ghana has been singled out, the minister should appeal the decision. If not then the minister should ...

• Nana baakope 6 years ago

Fool ! We can't have any cordial relationship with people who don't respect us and are stealing from us . After all, they are getting more than what we get from them . China is our new friend. Go to hell America

• Agbeli Kumordizi. 6 years ago

As a nation we have the rights to boycott America products such as those dead rotten chickens, the beef, and orther products in retaliation
    Make sure nobody go to the American embassy period

• Hoodu 6 years ago

Do your reach we'll, most rotten chicken are not from America,rather from china. We can't afford to buy American chickens

• Uncle Ato 6 years ago

Whenever you hear the insanity of the NDC fools attempting to micro-manage the foreign policy of USA, it makes you cringe. A buffoon (described elsewhere by another commentator)like Okudzeto is so full of shit and opens his r ...

SHIT PERIOD. HE DOESN'T KNOW FOKO

• Michael Owusu 6 years ago

MADAM MINISTER, WE HEAR YOU. WE ARE SIMPLY ASKING YOU TO RECIPROCATE THE WONDERFUL GESTURE. I HOPE YOU UNDERSTAND THAT IS WITHIN YOUR(GHANA GOVERNMENT)POWER AS A SOVEREIGN STATE. LOOK AT HOW BRITISH AIRWAYS AND ALL THESE FORE ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Yes, they need to intensify that kind of treatment they are meting out to us. Maybe, that will make us sit up and build our country.

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 6 years ago

Mr Owusu,

where as Ghanaian ex-Presidents, MPs their wives, children, concubines and others who pay to be 'relatives', throng to the US Embassies for vias, let me ask you how many former US officials do visit Ghana on tour ...

• Simon W 6 years ago

How can you compare presidential candidate to Ex president of the land? That's bull Sh*t talk

• Bob 6 years ago

Good for everybody. Appreciate the US embassies new visa guude line. They are not dumb as we are. Go figure. The thieves i mean the politicians can not steal from Ghana people and go have fun in the US.

• Bob 6 years ago

My hope is other western countries adopt the same measures. No more going for medical treatment in the US. The western world the know African leaders are foolish. This new directives from the US to the so call politicians sho ...

• Kwesi 6 years ago

We need to ask them whether this policy is universal or applies only the a select few country.
    We should also find out why such gross disrespect.
    What we should not do is turn this into the usually unproductive NDC/NPP che ...

• ARLEX 6 years ago

Kwesi, get this right; there's no any select few countries under this policy. Its isolated and Ghana is the only country targeted under the removal of previlidges and courtesies for past presidents, members of parliament and ...

• OK 6 years ago

The Special Prosecutor needs just 6 of Mahama's grand NDC thieves and we will get more than the $500 million dollars you are crying about, just 6 NDC thieves.
    So get serious and stop the fooling.

• YEBOPOWER 6 years ago

Reciprocity my ass. Americans dont even need Ghana visa for anything. Americans have the ability to travel to most countries in the world visa-free. They dont need Ghana for shit. So dont even try to equate any sort of recipr ...

• Babs 6 years ago

Is this stupid rule from the US government to Ghanaians? We should do the same to them

RIGHT CORRUPT THIEVES POLITICIANS HAHAHAHAHAHA AMEN

KWASEA CORRUPT USELESS INCOMPETENTS THIEVES DISGRACEFUL EVILS WICKED LOOT AND SHARE STATE COFFERS. GOD PUNISH YOU ALL, THERE ARE MORE TO COME

• KnYc USMC 6 years ago

The US are doing a good job.

• msx 6 years ago

We too must apply the same to them, tit for tat is not robbing

• Hoodu 6 years ago

Research I mean

• Kofi 6 years ago

Why do we bother if everyone has to go through the same process most of us go through to acquire US visas? This is not a national disaster. Let's be concerned about improving our education, health care and the unemployment in ...

• nana kwame 6 years ago

if US can't control terrorists Ghana is not expertise in terrorists control so Akuffo Addo should send them back

• DeeBoamah 6 years ago

This is simple for personal business you have to simple .if the past president is giving an assignment from the government it goes through protocol,but if for their own businesses interview period

• Ekow Samuel. 6 years ago

What the Madam Botchwey's explanation on the visa given to the deplomate for the changing,it is a fact that when you read the fact well it seems they are not refuse the visa given to the president and the veep and their wives ...

• Kpenyigba Kwesi 6 years ago

I do not think USA can change the Viena Coventions on Diplomatic relations.Former Présidents,¨Parliamentarians etc holding Diplomatic passports should be respected as such.They should never appear at Embassies for their vis ...

• Paa Joe 6 years ago

BEWARE EWURABA FOREIGN MINISTER,

HOW CAN CAN YOU RETALIATE,WHEN GHANA CONTINUES TO RECEIVE HANDOUTS FROM THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA TO SERVICE ITS INFRASTRUCTURE AND AGRICUTURE DEVELOPMENT IN THE COUNTRY.

IT CALLS FOR ...

• Freddie 6 years ago

Thank you very much . Some people on this forum don't understand simple thing like foreign policy. Some of them are angry with what the US ambassador said about the Visas and I am glad that this intelligent lady has laid out ...

• JH New York. 6 years ago

Exactly!.And as simple as that.Thank you.You deserve the position of a Minister of State. More grease to your elbows. So far, this is the only talk that make Sense to me. Most of the comments by some NDC, former Ministers,etc ...

• James. 6 years ago

Is visa the priority of any serious country for us to waste precious time discussing.

You deserve what you get based on your output in this world.

China was looked down upon by the west over 40 years ago.

Now China h ...

• BOY KOFI 6 years ago

Why has Bob Jackson waited all this while until called before parliament to explain why US officials maltreated Ghanaian returnees?
    Madame Botchwey,from what source did you hear that US has passed this foolish law,ignoring D ...

• Joe Tsatsu 6 years ago

Boy Kofi the cry baby. You need a feeding bottle to shut up your beek. Ms. Ayokor Botchwey is one of the most brilliant women Ghana has ever produced.
    What do you know about foreign affairs?.
    This has been a rule for obtain ...

• DeeBoamah 6 years ago

This is simple for personal business you have to simple .if the past president is giving an assignment from the government it goes through protocol,but if for their own businesses interview period

• joe 6 years ago

Haven't the former presidents gotten diplomatic passports with multiple visas.I'm only asking

• Akora 6 years ago

Nsem.pii

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

, 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the to ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

,,,, Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual ...

• truth 6 years ago

Sika nti. Aboa sike nti ma don mo conscious??

• Abu Sulemana Dumi 6 years ago

I totally disagree with you. A lot of U.S foreign policies were reversed upon resistance from the affected countries.

• yabs 6 years ago

BOTCHWEY

• Sam 6 years ago

On yr own soil.? Please even middle easterners who have tried to kill americans are not treated like this, and as a minister you took yr hand between yr legs and take whatever terms the foreigner on yr soil gives you.?Botchwe ...