You are here: HomeNews2017 06 24Article 552114

US provided $300k for Gitmo 2 upkeep - Loh

Read Comments Comments (67)

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

MAHAMA MUST BRING THE $50 MILLION OSAMA BIN LADEN'S HARDCORE TERROR DISCIPLES' CHOP MONEY OR FACE THE WRATH OF CORRUPTION FIGHTER, THE MIGHTY, ABRONYE DC.

• Abban 6 years ago

Mahama and his family are housing them in their private properties for nearly that amount.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London. 6 years ago

Whoever wish to see JDM to come back to politics in Ghana is evil and Satanist. JDM has done so many evil things against his own country that he ruled.
    If I have right in Ghana the only thing I will do to JDM is to jail him ...

• Akora 6 years ago

Londonistan like you

• Storm 6 years ago

You're pathetic! Yous sit in London and type rubbish. Come back home and solve problems not create rivalry between good citizens.

• kofi 6 years ago

Fucking man, the bus branding money alone money and the fucking NDC headquarters,that tall building should speak sense to you that NDC IS a DEVILS PARTY, kwa sia. Is it fair Rawlings kill people instead of corruption comparin ...

• Lynda 6 years ago

FIX high-value SMART devices ($600-$1000). People value them, pay premium fees to fix them or recover data. Get "Mobile Phones & Tablets Repairs:A Complete Guide for Beginners & Professionals" from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, eB ...

• Ewurade Kasa 6 years ago

According to the Washing Post, the Us govt is spending $2.7million per year per detainee at Gitmo. So Why did the Ghana govt accepted merely 300 thousand dollars? Go to : https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/worldviews/wp/2013 ...

• George 6 years ago

Do we have keep some terrorists because of money?

• Smart Frempah Uk 6 years ago

George, that is exactly what is happening here. Go and ask about how this money is being dispensed and you will be shocked. With all the information that has emerged after the general elections on corruption, we really need ...

• JAY 6 years ago

Only 300000 US dollars?The US Government gave Ghana a very cheap deal ,the GhanavGovernment should have demanded at aleast 10m US Dollars per terrorist

• Edensu 6 years ago

Why disclosing the amount of money paid for their upkeep now? Ghanaians tired all possible means to know the amount paid by the US Government at that time and nobody responded. (Yentieobiara government). Where did that mone ...

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

Thanks for asking. There is nothing in state protocol that requires, the gov't of the day to disclose every transaction to everybody. However, if the US Government agree to pay a certain amount, to have those guys housed here ...

• Ben 6 years ago

Because they planned to chop the money. That was why they kept the money secret. But can you explain why Mahama denied that there was no monetary value,and that the Gitmos are here on compassion considerations. Shame to Maha ...

• Nkansah 6 years ago

A big NO to ratification!Illegal Ghanaians in the US are being deported in chains!Mahama should return the 300,000 dollars paid to him.

• Dzifa, Denu V/R 6 years ago

George Loh, I now see why the South Dayi constituents threw you out of the window never to return.

• Cool 6 years ago

Arrogance in 6 months? God help your useless and divisive party

• pocket lawyer 6 years ago

Yesterday this stupid fool call abronye Dc made allegations about $50 million which the USA government gave to the ghanaian government and therefore asking president Mahama about the money, this is the time president Mahama t ...

• Zebila donkey Rider 6 years ago

Loh is lying,when USA Senators had a discussion on fox news on this issue a different amount was mentioned for their upkeep. Mr.Mahama did not consult Parliament,who is Mr.Loh trying to deceive,he should leave Mr.Mahama and ...

• ASAASE 6 years ago

ABRONYE HAS FORCED THE NDC TO SPEAK, GHANA HAS SUFFERED A LOT UNDER NDC. IF WE RUN A COUNTRY LIKE NDC WE WILL GET NO WHERE.
    MY SIMPLE ADVICE TO NDC - NDC NEEDS REBRANDING TO ATTRACT TALENTS INTO THE PARTY.

• Adu Phillips,Toronto. 6 years ago

Asaasa i think you are blind or your number 9 is not working. Pls open your eyes the money was not given to NDC as a party or ex President Mahama ok!

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase. 6 years ago

You see why you can never hide your identity. Simple English you read was difficult to understand? In fact, you do not desrve to govern. The comment you read told you that, ndc did not tell the truth about gitmo 2 but abronye ...

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in their ...

• Kofi-USA 6 years ago

MAHAMA AND NDC WERE RUNNING A BANANA REPUBLIC. THEY WERE DOING WHAT THEY WANTED TO DO WITHOUT DUE RESPECT OF THE CONSTITUTION. HOW COME IT WAS NOT EXPLAINED TO US HOW MUCH MONEY WAS INVOLVED AND WHY NOW? THE MONEY COULD BE MO ...

• Agbeli Kumordizi. 6 years ago

Ghana government needs to send those guys back to America
    When they brought our citizens in chains like how their grand parents took slaves from Africa we received our citizens with open arms and hearts
    Ghana government ...

• alataboy 6 years ago

Thank God mahama left when he had to. He would have sold Ghana to the devil himself if had to which of course he would. No shame president without an iota of remorse or even sense of patriotism. Haba did he really hate Ghana ...

• Akora 6 years ago

Nsem pii

• P.O. Addai 6 years ago

Where is the money? Why is it being mentioned for the first time? How do we know it was less or more than this figure? How did we agree to this figure. Could Parliament have negotiated something better than this? This is the ...

• WOYONGO 6 years ago

I said wait it is coming, it is almost here what Mahama took in return for the Gitmo 2.

• Adika 6 years ago

Mahama claims to be fighting corruption right? So where is the £300k

• AMA TX USA 6 years ago

Why didn't you mention the money in the first day they arrived in the country oh corupt Mahama nd his ndc government you are disgrace to the nation

• Assemblyman 6 years ago

LOH IS LYING,EVERY COUNTRY FROM KENYA TO ALBANIA WHO TOOK THESE INMATES IN WERE GUARANTEED AN AMOUNT TWICE THEIR POPULATION.SO EACH GHANAIAN WAS TO BENEFIT $2 AS RISK ALLOWANCES WHICH IS BASED ON OUR POPULATION,IN THIS CASE A ...

• kwasi kwasi 6 years ago

Hmmm ok

• Adika 6 years ago

Who is holding the purse for these two .? Is the Accountant General perhaps.

• TK 6 years ago

They are not going anywhere,Other countries too are keeping Ghanaian thieves in their country .Most of these thieves had applied (Aduro)fake political asylum.Taking social houses and their money.

• Enoch Agezo 6 years ago

I support u they are not going any where , $300k be money, those complening are just hungry men ....

• ATTA 6 years ago

Can MAHAMA chop all these money before he dies?

• Kwamena Fanste 6 years ago

They have to go and stay with Mahama

• Joe Lartey 6 years ago

Lies,more money was given than $300,000,Mahama and NDC are thieves

• Citizen 6 years ago

So what really prevented Mahama from providing details of the whole Gitmo 2 saga to Parliament and seeking the advice of senior statemen such as Presidents Rawlings, Kuffuor, the other major political party leaders before get ...

• Obiba Broke 6 years ago

William Atuguba is a fraudster.He took money to overturn CVcontrol the 2012 general election in Ghana and now he is the only one who voted for the Gimo 2 to remain in Ghana.

• Henry, Ghambia 6 years ago

A mistake is a mistake. So where is the money and how was it used? What is $300k for is to sell our birth right for criminals. It seems the government was only interested in the money and not the security of the Ghanaian peop ...

• TWWEEAA 6 years ago

But did Kanazoe not give him a Ford to sell Ghana down the tubes????

• kofi 6 years ago

I CAN'T UNDERSTAND..SOMEONE SHOULD TELL ME.....WHY?

• Dessie 6 years ago

We always let Pliny for external help and as an emerging nation if we don't play a role on world affairs uses every step previous government take as political tool to score political points how will we move forward in terms o ...

• KOFI NSOWA 6 years ago

Too much beating about the bush. The USA Embassy in Ghana has the answer.

• Asante 6 years ago

These nonsense People's Party npp can disturb . As the Gitmo prisoners are in Ghana what treat do they have? what is wrong with that sleeping Nana Addo .

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 6 years ago

Kwasia, do you think it's a joke?

• Agbeli Kumordizi. 6 years ago

Don't blame Mahama government
    America government is the most dangerous corrupt government let's come together to send those two guys back to America government period

• abeiku 6 years ago

U can't send them back cause there is condition attached for them coming to Ghana the reasons we are having problems with it is they lied about it

• Odikro Mununkum 6 years ago

Mahama must be subpoena to supreme Court for full details into the deal him made with the US government.

• Mr Eagles 6 years ago

The simple message from the public is send them back to USA. We cannot extend their staying in Ghana anymore, simple sa that.

• ogor 6 years ago

you see the cash that these 2 guys has brought in the country.silly.can this match up to your so call cocoa,gold ,ect.i always say Ghana is a village.our supreme court must be shut down to replace by newly young guys who can ...

• Muba 6 years ago

May Allah let ur wicked gov't stay in opposition 4 long.Ameen.U were de very people u said u were given noting den.Now DAT u are in opposition u are admitting u were given 300k,how can we trust u n not 50m.God will use did Ho ...

• Ghana Will Always Soar. 6 years ago

By bringing the Gitmo 2 here, the US has recklessly placed peaceful Ghana in the crosshairs of the terrorist groups who talk no law. And now it is also disrespecting us by asking even our former presidents to join a queue. Wh ...

• Noah 6 years ago

Well summarised

• The Loyalist 6 years ago

Hahaha NDC communicators should bow their heads in shame.They insulted Abronye DC as if there was not even a dime involved.Please start telling us the truth before you bow again.NDC listen carefully politics is not about prop ...

• Big Jay 6 years ago

Mr Loh is a liar. The then president, John Dramani Mahama stated at a press briefing in Accra sometime after they were brought into the country that the US government did not give any money to the NDC government, and that t ...

• Ali Mahama 6 years ago

Mahama took Governance as a joke and Piayed with it like a Baby playing with a toy.Only thieves like Kofi Adams who want to Steal more V8s will canvas for his return.

• Ali Mahama 6 years ago

Why did Mahama hide thi fact from Ghanaians?

• George Augustus 6 years ago

The parliament of Ghana should come out and let Ghanaians know the full complement of the 2 Gitmos the parliament can question the U.S. government for further clarification if needed this is very unfortunate I think there is ...

• Solomon 6 years ago

first of all why the USA preventing this terrorist that means the are Working with them they their own mentione

• AKONTA 6 years ago

My tax monies enable the terrorists to live mightily in GHANA.

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

,,,,,, Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritu ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

You can contact me on or WhatsApp(+233547122212) Powerful spritualist, Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in ...

• Diawuo 6 years ago

Pls publish the agreement between Ghana and USA on Gitmo.