You are here: HomeNews2017 06 24Article 551943

US Embassy cancelled protocol visa for ex-Presidents over Gitmo 2 ruling – Amaliba

Read Comments Comments (111)

• New Sherrif in Town 6 years ago

The current Republican American government was in opposition when Obama's government twisted the arms of Mahama to accept these Gitmo detainees. The Republicans strenuously opposed Obama exporting terrorist to weak third worl ...

• Nii 6 years ago

I suspected it. It was to gain leverage. Also bear in mind Ghana took money for it.

• Btz 6 years ago

True I thought I was the only one suspecting something similar triggered this but I don't believe it's the Gitmo 2 because the Trump government was in opposition to this agreement

• OYOKOBA 6 years ago

How come this guy Amalima only make news talking like a drunken fool? I wonder how he qualified for law school to begin with.

• KING 6 years ago

THIS IS INDEED A LAWYER IN A COMFORTABLE LEAD

• Ghanaian, NY 6 years ago

Pardon me to re-post a comment I have used earlier because it seems some people do not read and they make up stories which are not true and make no sense.

"Now in power, Akufo Addo administration knows the truth in the 2 G ...

• APANTESIS 6 years ago

Ratify or not, the ball is in your net .

• Joseph boateng 6 years ago

the reason is that the US doesn't want NDC armed robbers to see US as a save heaven to go and hide their stolen money .because iit's not safe to keep your wealth in Arab country

• ABBA ATTA 6 years ago

NII, BTZ DON'T FOOL YOURSELF ONE MINUTE, AMERICAN FOREIGN POLICY IS IN THE INTEREST OF AMERICA, THEY ARE DIFFERENT WAYS TO GO ABOUT IT, IF TRUMP HAS ISSUES WITH OBAMA IT'S AN ALL AMERICAN AFFAIR, THEY ARE NOT LIKE US, WHO ARE ...

• Alhassan Walla 6 years ago

Unquestionably, this thing is the most stupid and downright foolish entity in Ghana. This imbecile doesn't deserve to live among human beings. In fact, he doesn't deserve to live at all for he is a total waste of his parents' ...

• Amevor 6 years ago

So visas to the US are more important than the whole security if the entire nation? No wonder Amaliba is a northner. They seem to be so enept.. Is it because they are from poverty ridden area? SMH

• Nii 6 years ago

Ghana is indeed sold and bought. Does this mean the whole security of the nation was sold and bought for just $50million? If a whole US did not find it safe and convenient to keep them under surveillance in their country, how ...

• Gambaga 6 years ago

My brother, talk about Àmalibas unreasonable comments but not all northerners.

• H.S. FIRE 6 years ago

I agree with you.

• APANTESIS 6 years ago

Have you not forgotten that you reap what you sow ?

• Zingi 6 years ago

Don't use Amaliba to insult northners, in fact u are moron , stupid idiot, lunatic , useless human being

• Zingi 6 years ago

So bcos of one person (Amaliba) n u insulted all Northerners. In fact u are very stupid, moron, lunatic and useless person like u

• Suleman 6 years ago

Amevor, first, is inept not enept and second you could have made your point without bringing northerners in. How about if I insult your tribe? You are nowhere better than Northerners. I mean your entire tribe

• Think First 6 years ago

Please no need for tribalism - think before you speak

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 6 years ago

Are we a sovereign nation or not? The acceptance of these two terrorists in Ghana in exchange for some pittance was an insult to all Ghanaians. Our citizens who aren't terrorists have been bundled and returned home in shack ...

• Lynda 6 years ago

FIX high-value SMART devices ($600-$1000). People value them, pay premium fees to fix them or recover data. Get "Mobile Phones & Tablets Repairs:A Complete Guide for Beginners & Professionals" from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, eB ...

• Enyo 6 years ago

The substance of the ruling was not whether it was wrong or not to bring them in. The supreme court says due process was not followed...period.

• Efo Kwaku Canada 6 years ago

Amaliba akoa yi is very stupid, and he called himself a lawyer, only in NDC nonentities party this Fool will be a lawyer,or maybe too much of wee is dropping his senses

• Amandze 6 years ago

Sometimes I wonder what happened to the Law School of Da Rocha. Now everyone who can become a lawyer. The profession has lost its respect when you have people like Amaliba calling themselves lawyers.

• Okra 6 years ago

No wonder he's an "Ewe"
    Check de meaning in de dictionary

• Abena 6 years ago

Even looking at his face tells how stupid he is.

• ,Yaw 6 years ago

Amariba u don't reason as lawyer.zU are very stupid.U mean because of American visa we should be slaves in our own land?

• C.Y. ANDY-KWAWUKUME 6 years ago

I can see that thing called Amaliba more an Ape than a Lawyer, since when could a monkey practice law in Ghana, have the people of Ghana gone that far, that a monkey will go about calling itself a Lawyer?

• AKWASI 6 years ago

AMALIBA IS AN APE LIKE AKUFFO -ADDO.AND HE IS A LAWYER LIKE AKUFFO-ADOO TOO.

• Barima Kwaku 6 years ago

Why the insult? Can't you make your submission without insults? In any case, are you a Lawyer or do you know what it takes to be a Lawyer? I prefer to be a slave to the USA than China.

• Dana 6 years ago

What's wrong with you Ghanaian, Ghana is not the only country to receive the detainees so many countries receive them, have bomb any of you?Chinese are there distroying our vegetations , Nigerians committing armed robbery, an ...

• Ndebugre 6 years ago

No Amaliba, you are propagating conspiracy theory. The fact is the US government has realised that ghanaian corrupt officials are abusing the previledge given them and have decided to withdraw the previledge. Moreover, it is ...

• Cat 6 years ago

Well said

• ADEPA 6 years ago

Foolish statement, they should go now, they are treat to us as Ghanaians period

• FACT 6 years ago

Akwasi Botchwey's recommendation on that crowding in thingy, on hindsight, should be struck out.
    It does not exist in the NDC party so he should call for the report he submitted and struck it out. Because how do you crowd s ...

• ACCRAMAN 6 years ago

The US stance on the appearance for visas is directly related to what the UK ambassador, Jon Benjamin did with reference to Ghana MPs and diplomats abusing the privileges given to them when applying for visas.

Amaliba shou ...

• Frank Acheampong 6 years ago

I leant he hasn't got an office to practice his law so he's moving from place to place preaching against this new government

• JDM 6 years ago

Kwasi Botcway was 100% right, this is one of NDC's most respected intellectuals. This guy is supposed to be a leading NDC legal brain.

• APASIAPA 6 years ago

THE NDC LEGAL BRAIN IS TSIKATA WINNING BIG CASES.

• K K KONADU London UNITED KINGDOM 6 years ago

No wonder the NDC Legal brain is CHEATKATA .Bunch of thieves party. Let us all patriotic Ghanaians join hands to destroy this corrupt party.

• Dana 6 years ago

Your aunt NAna Konadu Rawlings, is also a thief

• Kofi Forson 6 years ago

Sometimes I find it difficult to understand ur reasoning.

• Kofi Adams 6 years ago

If you are going on official duty, the Ministry of Foreign affairs will take care of your papers. If you are going on your own, it is just right that you go to the embassy to apply like all do. Why should politicians be given ...

• Issa 6 years ago

The nigerian billionaire kidnapper has a Ghanaian passport. That is worrying.
    Ghanaian Police and other security services have become too political and inefficient at solving problems to the extent that murderers of chiefs a ...

• asem 6 years ago

you are a liar, aaah!!!

• NATIVE 6 years ago

Amaliba your brain is full of mush. How can you say the Supreme Court ruling is hostile if the action of president Mahama was unconditional? Note , Ghana is not a vasal state of America. And neither does America encourages a ...

• Kwame Baffoe 6 years ago

Ahhha!! is America the only country on earth? We are tired of them... Ahhaa what opportunity at all? these our useless politicians should make our country good for us.. Africa must unite now!!!

• George Nutsugah 6 years ago

John 'dead goat' Mahama breached the constitution of Ghana. He was incompetent, a liar and a thief. All that he knows to do is 'create, loot and share'.

• Akua 6 years ago

This Amaliba clearly shows he and the likes of him would sell their own people for whatever they are offered. God has really brought change to save Ghanaians I believe the present government will do what the country's constit ...

• Otsibu Darko 6 years ago

The agreement was for two years-if that's correct then the two years is up, send them back, it's about time the govt. flexed a little bit of muscle.

• Sun Tzu 6 years ago

Why should Npp seek trouble with the USA???
    U idiots don't know what it means for the ndc to come back to power
    It means deaths!!!
    Stop talking about 2 ppl i.e. Gitmo
    Nana Addo put your thinking cap on

• H.S. FIRE 6 years ago

If the US couldn't keep these guys what makes you think Ghana's security should be compromised by accepting them? If they are no security threat why The US could not keep them?

Let's stop this habitual inferiority complex ...

• apuuuu 6 years ago

Abraham Amaliba is fake lawyer any good lawyer will shut the fuck up not Ndc Amaliba mister knows everything i wonder what kind a lawyer is he he comments on every bulshit stuff even if is not his area o ...

• Sun Tzu 6 years ago

Please stop dancing to ndc s tune
    It's just to pitch Ghana against the USA ie potus and you won't win
    Stop talking about terrorists

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

This NDC apparatchik is always in the news telling lies! The US gov't had it's decision and intentions known to the world during the campaign period.

Moreover, John Mahama didn't do the right thing; he brought in those te ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

...Sorry for the ditto...thanks folks

• Koo 6 years ago

Hahaha if we have such people in Ghana then am afraid to call myself a Ghanaian.they did not pass through the correct procedure period,who cares if protocol visas for mps and ex president? what's are there going there for ? ...

• Nii Ankrahn 6 years ago

Lair and ignorant Lawyer.The ambassador said the decision was taken in October 2016.Its as a result of fraudulent visa deals done by the Mahama administration and issuing diplomatic passports to all manner of people including ...

• Senkyire 6 years ago

This is an insult america is not a heaven. And Nana Akuffo Addo should impose the same law to America.

• Kofi Onum 6 years ago

Let us not shoot ourselves in the foot. The detainees have been here for one and half years, we might as well allow them to stay for the next few months. It will not hurt us

• Adika 6 years ago

We have online visa application process don't we? Stop spreading rumours and focus on how Ghana can ensure equality of education throughout Ghana.

• Mohammed 6 years ago

Amevor or what is even your name, stop insulting northerners. We will all die one day and buried down there.

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

. Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual si ...

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in their ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 6 years ago

Ghana, was sold to the west by the traitors of PanAfricanism in 1966. Ghana was not the only contributor, but they played a major role by the illegal overthrow of the CPP government, led by the great Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah.

• Sikkens 6 years ago

TALKING BY HEART,WITHOUT SENSE,IDIOT LAWYER

• Storm 6 years ago

Which kind of country is this? Everybody talks blah blah blah blah blah with no action. Ghana should not try anything stupid by posing like a super power. This is a dwarf nation and it doesn't cost anything for this country t ...

• Happily Married 6 years ago

I love your poetry.

• Fisco 6 years ago

Ahh ahh, who is dis guy, Call Amaliba, Very weak mentally; Should we compromise visa to our Future;Ahh

• Gambaga Man 6 years ago

Amevor: My brother talk about Amalibas unreasonable comments but not all northerners, or....

• Tweaa dc. 6 years ago

NDC WILL FOREVER REMAIN CONSISTENT IN CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE...........LISTEN TO THAT SORT OF A LAWYER......AMERICA WILL THEN DENY ALL GHANAIANS VISAS BECAUSE IF PARLIAMENT FAILS TO APP

• nana 6 years ago

Rubbish is the usa heaven or what? Cant we respect our own for once, even the holy nation in this world dont boast like them nonsense!!

• Prince Abibirim 6 years ago

There's no holy nation in the world brother, Come out of your obroni foolish thinking

• Tweaa dc. 6 years ago

NDC WILL FOREVER REMAIN CONSISTENT IN CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE...........LISTEN TO THAT SORT OF A LAWYER......AMERICA WILLTHEN DENY ALL GHANAIANS VISAS BECAUSE IF PARLIAMENT FAILS TO APPROVE THE LEGALITY OF THE GITMO 2 BEING IN ...

• good magic 6 years ago

black indian ghanaian spiritualist professor healing0244908520 power healing hiv
    invisible power protection promotion
    black magic money contact professor in science devine the grand master of the night

• good magic 6 years ago

black indian ghanaian spiritualist professor healing0244908520 power healing hiv
    black magic money contact professor in science devine the grand master of the night

• Nuhu 6 years ago

So do lawyers in NDC have license at all? where at all do they go to their law school?

• indian black magic 6 years ago

• Yaw Zigah 6 years ago

I think amaliba shd visit a facility for examination. I wonder if he is a qualified lawyer by dint of hardwork. Because of American visa, we shd play with our security. The question here is, how many Ghanaians travel to the U ...

• Bbb 6 years ago

TZ lawyer Amaliba is talking nonsense.

• save Ghana 6 years ago

ndc only produces fools. we were here when de fat pig Sam George said mayweather didn't come to Ghana because the embassy advised him Ghana wasnt safe. the US embassy denied it. now another fool in ndc is up with crap again. ...

• Frank Acheampong 6 years ago

And they call him honourable man can u imagine?

• Prince Abibirim 6 years ago

No they did not.US is not run by a political party but by a policy, and they all agree with the policy .That is domination of smaller nations

• Useless 6 years ago

What you people want to there my useless mp and ministers please can you people stay in your country

• Nima boy 6 years ago

You have the gut to say stupid things about the Ambassador when you know how stupid our leaders are . seizure of Nayele's properties is a wrong because some one like Mustapha Hamid is free to walk while he loot the state and ...

• Alhaji Moro 6 years ago

Is that same court decision the reason for the deportation of the other nationals too ? And you call yourself a lawyer ? You are an apology of a lawyer .

• Kwaku 6 years ago

A failed lawyer. Be sensible and speak like a lawyer but not like an akomfem farmer.

• Earl Jones 6 years ago

A very intelligent Amaliba. He can see the trees for the woods; unlike many Ghanaians.
    All along, the West have taken Africa for granted. We will not kowtow to gunboat diplomacy. Who are our true friends? Lets learn to see ...

• Abongo Boy 6 years ago

Ghana and her lawyers

• Mama Tula 6 years ago

A small country with bowls in our palms begging America always want to play with Uncle Sam.
    They will screw this country very well. Politics is played from a position of strength, and our politicians must know that.

• Dery 6 years ago

I think I would agree with Amaliba assertion on this one. this is a direct response to the Supreme Court ruling on gitmo two to cow our government into accepting them stay no way Mr President they must go... these Americans t ...

• Israel Jude 6 years ago

And indeed when the Deputy Attorney General was in court defending this position he tried to distinguish agreement under Article 75 and arrangement such as this that do not require parliamentary approval. So consistent with o ...

• USA is a crazy and satanic country 6 years ago

Fuck America and the visas big time...ex presidents please don't travel to the USA then, stay home or go to other countries. America is just a stupid country full of shit anyway. EX is Ex and for them ex presidents to travel ...

• Adjo 6 years ago

Any analysis you make is OVER THE BAR. AMALIBA UPGRADE YOUR SCOPE OF LEARNING.

• Ghanaman 6 years ago

Why are Ghanians and Ghana allowing the ignoramusing country like the United States to treat Ghana and Ghanains as their Slave country, you send Ghanaiansome acknowledge in shackles,dump the terrorists they do not know what ...

• JH New York. 6 years ago

Amilaba is entitled to his opinion.but I think the Gimo 2 Saga or Supreme Court Ruling,and withdrawal of 48hrs protocol Visa to former govt Officials on private Visit,are 2 separate things which has not link with each other, ...

• K sam 6 years ago

How much did you pay for your law cert.you don't sound clued up.if you were a girl you would have been(Guinness for a shag)

• Dan 6 years ago

If the NDC is saying they did no wrong of bringing them, they may be right but there are process (laws) that need to be considered. Justice Atubiga and his people were there at the time. So Mr. Amaliba the difference b/n nd ...

• Philips 6 years ago

Jehovah so we count all these people as lawyers in Ghana. Tweeaaaa it is a disgrace to have this man among lawyers in Ghana. It is only ndc in which this kind of lawyer will have a seat. Send him back to school to learn laws ...

• Philips 6 years ago

Jehovah so we count all these people as lawyers in Ghana. Tweeaaaa it is a disgrace to have this man among lawyers in Ghana. It is only ndc in which this kind of lawyer will have a seat. Send him back to school to learn laws ...

• Yaw Kwakye 6 years ago

With so called lawyer like this no wonder the Nation is unbearable to live in. And he calls himself a patriotic Ghanaian too.

• Alhaji Yussif 6 years ago

Why does America think they need a small third world country like Ghana to defend and help them?credibility has nothing to do with might or world power.If Americas want they should put together 100 intellectuals and scholars ...

• Joe boye 6 years ago

Amaliba don't even know de type of spectacle dat fits his ungly face.Does he hav a mirror atall.

• slyster 6 years ago

Just look at his mouth, like a broken bottle. Idiot.

• nii 6 years ago

I thought as much,I no this amaliba will spew rubbish cos of cheap political points. this be lawyer ? tweeaaa

• Cezar 6 years ago

Ghana is a weak nation ! Useless at everything, citizens suffer everyday those in power are greedy dundER heads rotten to the core, hopeless country

• Alex 6 years ago

The insults don't portray us in good ....
    Can't we criticize each other without insults? We must grow!!

• John 6 years ago

This is a very handsome man.!

• Jimmy 6 years ago

But to send them back meant what? If these two Guantanamo detanies was to harm Ghana they would have done that already,,remember they were suspects and not true killers. Me i wasnt in surport of bringing them to Ghana but i l ...

• Kwame, Virginia 6 years ago

Akoa agyimi
    Do these people reason at all? Eiii