You are here: HomeNews2017 06 23Article 551814

Nkrumah didn’t kill democracy – CPP tells Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (30)

• Koo 6 years ago

Nkrumah killed Ghana democracy by arresting his opponent.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

SOURCE: MYNEWSGH.COM ------ The much awaited report by the Kwesi Botchway committee has disclosed that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has a weak intellectual and research base indicating that this played a key role in ...

• Bill 6 years ago

CPP, Bagbin says "if you are on a you don't stop to throw stones at every dog that barks at you. If you do that you won't get to your destination". Kufuor is Atta Ayi.

• Kofi 6 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah is from Liberia that's why he did that .kill democracy

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase. 6 years ago

This is common sense. If nkrumah developed democracy, there would have been a successful leadership growth. Since nkrumah left, who has ever led this party successfully? You don't even have identifiable structures. All of you ...

• DO THE DO 6 years ago

CPP hasn't any identifiable structure because when Busia and his cronies hired Afrifa & Kotoka to overthrow his gov't, the NLC confiscated every asset of the party but no account of it has been given to the public. When Kufuo ...

• Ray 6 years ago

Kuffour greedy and thief. the culture of Npp is tribalism and lying. A Party of senseless and nothing.

• tomtom 6 years ago

What Kuffuor said was not surprising coming from him. If Nkrumah did anything wrong to the people of Ghana it is because they gave him no other options. Using very inferior tactics to push him into doing bad things. They have ...

• Ogyagyatah 6 years ago

Kufuor has lost his senses

• Chief, Ashiyie 6 years ago

Ghanaweb what is wrong with you? For some time now your stories have been coming with wrong captions, and wrong pictures. Don't you edit your stories and proof read them? Most of your stories today have wrong captions. Why?

• AGATAPORE (SANDEMA) 6 years ago

If you can give yourself Gold Medals for the job you did, your security guard son in New Jersey now a billionaire, your K4 hotel and K4 mall plus your TETTEH QUASHIE interchange and you want to blame Nkrumah, then you are fin ...

• BAFFOE USA 6 years ago

WHAT DO YOU MEAN BY ONE PARTY STATE? IS IT NOT KILLING DEMOCRACY? CPP IS THE PARTY THAT LET GHANA DOWN. WHAT WAS THE POPULATION OF GHANA BEFORE INDEPEDANCE? HOW MUCH WAS LEFT WITH GHANA AFTER INDEPEDENCE? WHAT WAS THE DEPTH A ...

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

It seems to me that the CPP don't understand what is democracy. Nkrumah asked Ghanaians--every family--to declare their assets. He turned Ghana into a one-party state and objected opinions from other politicians and ended up ...

• Kwame 6 years ago

"God bless our homeland Ghana
    And make our nation great and strong,
    Bold to defend forever
    The cause of Freedom and of Right;
    Fill our hearts with true humility,
    Make us cherish fearless honesty,
    And help us to resist o ...

• Kwame 6 years ago

1966 ouster of Nkrumah delivered Ghana from the clutches of one party rule. I guess for the CPP one party rule by them means democracy

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

Kwame it's a lie. The words of the national anthem were written in1957 n meant no return to colonial oppressive n subjugative rule. Stop throwing dust into our eyes.

• Kwame 6 years ago

You have a fast internet just google it. Kindly educate yourself

• Kwame 6 years ago

You have a fast internet just google it. Kindly educate yourself. A little education goes a long way

• chigri 6 years ago

Let us be faithful.

• AMA TX USA 6 years ago

Nkrumah was always after his opponent if they don't agree with his ideology that's why they are saying he killed democracy during his time no free of speech you will see yourself in nsawam prisons period

• Amponsem 6 years ago

Certainly, the late President Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah did not kill democracy in Ghana but UGCC and their tribal Akans expecially the Asantes and Akyims killed democracy themselves with coup in order to restore Busia and ...

• G. K. Berko 6 years ago

The notion that the Big 6 were founding fathers of only NPP is nonsensical and a big farce.

Nkrumah was himself one of the Big 6. So, his CPP would, with similar reasoning, qualify as having sprung up from it, too. Bu ...

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

PROF DELLI IS RATHER MAKING MATTERS WOSE. NKRUMAH AND CPP AND OTHERS FOUGHT FOR OUR INDEPENDENCE IS WRONG. IT WAS RATHER NKRUMAH, DANQUAH, PAA GRANT, EDWARD AKUFFO ADDO, WILLIAM OFORI ATTAH, ARKO ADJEI AND OBETSEBI LAMPTEY TH ...

• Adelayita Mathias 6 years ago

Former President Kuffour has rightly heat the nail. The people of Ghana voted for you and you are trying to become the president of the whole Africa. Kwaku anase man like that.

• Kofi Thompson 6 years ago

Not too long ago I decided that I would no longer allow myself to be upset by the revisionists of our nation's history who use half truths, twisted facts and pure lies to denigrate President Nkrumah.

I came to that decisio ...

• ASEM BEBA DABI 6 years ago

Its sad that Ghanaian has lost the fabric of its history. Does anyone knows why Kwame Nkrumah left UGCC as a secretary to form his own party. The selfish act of Ghanaian leaders those days has continued till today. Busia,J.B ...

• Kojo 6 years ago

What an unproductive debate. Na Nkrumah we go chop? If Nkrumah built a solid foundation why have we achieved much all these 60 years. Stop this needles discussion and find solutions to the myriad of problems facing the countr ...

• Matete 6 years ago

The entire NPP are always rebellious. They see nothing good in any Ghanaian leader unless it's the NPP,s. To be honest Nkrumah did the right thing to jail all these useless forefathers of the NPP. This VISIONLESS party are to ...

• CHE 6 years ago

When you have past leaders like Kuffour trying to misinform the citizenry with distorted views, its important to push back hard. The Danquah-Busia tradition of which Kuffour is a member is full of bourgeois, elitist behavior. ...

• Paa Joe 6 years ago

WHY ALLOW THE IRRATIONAL COMMENTS OF KUFFOUR TO WEIGH YOU DOWN.

KUFFOUR WAS IN FORM THREE WHEN CPP UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF KWAME NKRUMAH ATTAINED INDEPENDENCE OF GHANA.

DO YOU KNOW WHAT,THESE WERE THE NEGATIVE THINGS HE ...