You are here: HomeNews2017 06 16Article 548856

Tetteh Quarshie did not bring the first cocoa pods to Ghana - Prof. Akosua Perbi

Read Comments Comments (367)

• Ram akwasi 6 years ago

Shut up lady. We don't care he did it. People like should not be heard.

• Odasani 6 years ago

THis is how the African PHD historian do. They shout too loud over nothing. Let's ask this Madam historian, who discovered the source of the River Niger? Her obvious answer may be some strange European. The question is; Were ...

• GhanaFirst 6 years ago

Whites wrote history to hide the horrors of slavery and made it seem they did African Americans a favor. They wrote history to indicate Africans had no concept of God before christianity was brought to them. This woman should ...

• Otumfuor Paa Nii 6 years ago

Hmmm! Ghanaians why do we behave in such manner? If Ghanaian are interested in writing their own history why are we not doing so but rather we arr still dependant on what the white man has already written? Can you tell me ple ...

• Trex 6 years ago

Thank you. Great man. Maybe she was created by the Dutch in a test-tube too.

• JAY 6 years ago

Tetteh Quarshie was the first Ghanaian to bring Cocoa to Ghana,the other people who brought Cocoa to Ghana were not Ghanaians

• Ideology UK 6 years ago

How is this relevant to our economy?

• AKOS 6 years ago

BECAUSE THERE IS A NEED FOR THE TRUTH. HISTORIANS ARE RESPONSIBLE TO GET RID OF THE MYTH IN HISTORY.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 6 years ago

Why are some ignorant fools insulting this Prof? She said nothing new and, as a historian, just repeating the facts. Even Prof. Adu Boahen wrote about how the missionaries were nursing seedlings at Aburi and trying to get the ...

• Concerned Citizen 6 years ago

don't quite understand what some people's beef is with this woman. If what she's saying is true, then what's the beef about? There must be some unfinished business that I don't know about.

• Barima Kwaku 6 years ago

I agree with you. In fact, this woman should be sacked from University of Ghana.

• sammy 6 years ago

I CONCOUR
    (capitalisation intentiional)

• Skains 6 years ago

Is it not the same female professor who was making so much noise about the slave trade - that Africans should be chiefly blamed for the slave trade? I can't stand this woman. She speaks English as if hot water has been pour ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 6 years ago

So who do you blame for the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade? How many Europeans went into the interior to hunt for slaves in Ghana? It was our chiefs and people who sold our own people. The whites may have a little blame but much ...

• Skains 6 years ago

Stop your nonsense!!!! Was it Africans who created the transatlantic trade that involved shipping our own kind to plantations faraway from Africa and treated them as commodities? In the history of the world at that time, if ...

• TTTTTTTTWWWWWWWEEEEAA 6 years ago

Our own people started the trans-sahara slave trade through north Africa before the whiteman came in. okay. even our fathers and chiefs were selling their stubborn children . was that not slavery? and when the whiteman arrive ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 6 years ago

Slave trade started by the arabs before the white or the westerners amicably took over. So, we, the Sub-Saharan-Africans must first blame the Arab vis-à-vis our chiefs before blaming the Europeans. All said though, what has ...

• Skains 6 years ago

Now, do you understand the meaning of the word "transatlantic"? And do you know the meaning of the prefix "trans"? Some of you Africans are selling your reputation and dignified history to those bastards and replacing them w ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 6 years ago

YOU ARE RIGHT,THE WHITE MAN IS AFRAID OF MOSQUITO BITES TO GO INTO THE INTERIOR,RATHER IT WAS OUR FOREFATHERS THAT SOLD OUR OWN PEOPLE INTO SLAVERY.
    THE PROFESSOR KNOWS THE FIRST PERSON THAT INTRODUCED CONDOMS INTO GHANA.

• Joe Degie 6 years ago

What a shame! She speaks English like she has ballfrot up her ass! What the fuck is she talking about. Does it even matter today. Stupid!!

Mate! What's wrong with "Africans should be chiefly blamed for the slave trade"? There is truth in that pertaining the slave trade. Us Ghanaians are quick to criticise wrongly. Our chiefs and elders at then were naive and gre ...

• hmm hmm 6 years ago

hahaaaah what a joking Prof. on this cocoa issue. Giving unnecessary acknowledgement?, and discredit your own. These our professors kraa I don't see their use in the. For me they don't add anything to gh, they have become sto ...

• Tomato Puree 6 years ago

i agree with you Odasani. These fools calling themselves historians cannot think logicall rather spew out the agenda of the imperialists

• P Djamgbe 6 years ago

Do you guys find this strange, what do you expect when a whole president tried to twist the historical facts about the founder of our dear nation? We are now in a period when falsehood has become reality and truth is being sw ...

• Kwabena Hannover 6 years ago

You are really stupid fool.Fact is fact and the Truth is hard to believe.

• Csar 6 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah is never the founder of Ghana. Read our history well and stop listening to Politicians

• Paterson Korletey Zochonis 6 years ago

What a shame for people on Ghanaweb! Intellectual work is not about Npp/Ndc insults. It is a fact that the early colonialists introduced some of the major crops we cultivate, including Maize and Cassava. There are both South ...

• Mho 6 years ago

Let me tell you something, when Obama won the election, a black man said ' it doesn't matter if he is able to fix the country or not he does not care as long as a black man has been in for him to be a witness '. It doesn't ma ...

• hmm hmm 6 years ago

Zochonis, what does your mean? Are u telling us cassava and maize are all foreign crops as cocoa. ei then i must well think all we ever have is brought here by these white folks.hahah, you are funny. You think we don't have ...

• Gohee 6 years ago

You people don't know what is history. If my grandfather didn't go to school but when I told him about slavery he said you scholars can deceive yourself and children that the Hausa brought slavery by exchanging tobacco with c ...

• Aguriyine Nsobila 6 years ago

Great minds think alike , thank you

• Okwan 6 years ago

I don't really know why people are insulting this woman. She has found through extensive studies that Rev Haas did it. Why not rather credit her whiles updating history books that Quarshie rather promoted and popularized coco ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

We call what she's doing as "worshipping of pale skin. That spent-up woman is no inspiration to our kids who are battling deep seated problem with their self esteem.
    That old spent-up "obroni" worshipping "coon"needs to go ...

• Brain rejuvinator 6 years ago

Where in Ghana did the so called Rev. Haas planted his cocoa before it does not thrive? History without fact is fallacious. Stop this stupidity prof. Why don't Ghana profs speaks about Engineering and sciences but always hist ...

• KAAJII 6 years ago

Ghanaians don't want to read and do research.The records are there to prove so what is your worry? Who did you think designed the flag of Ghana? It's not Theodosia OKOH as purported to be in our history books. Ethiopia had us ...

• Samson 6 years ago

You and who call it so? Speak for yourself

• Simpa Panyin Nunoo M. 6 years ago

People are upset because she is saying a "white man" brought cocoa to Ghana and not Tetteh Quarshie. They find it offensive. Instead of asking for a copy of her paper and checking her sources to find how true or false he ...

• Your Head 6 years ago

You are just another idiot. Have you never read in JHS that some missionaries first planted cocoa in Ghana?
    So why this repetition by this stupid old hag?
    Tetteh Quarshie's seedlings from Fernando Po Was The bedrock of Gh ...

Sorry for you. In all subjects, theories and facts change when we get more empirical evidence. Just ask for a copy of her paper and counter her. Your insults will not help. Try to be academic.
    How many of us read from JHS... ...

• Maka a maka 6 years ago

Brother, you rightly, reason like an academic. Unfortunately, not everyone reasons like you. Some people cannot understand that facts established and accepted over centuries, can be overturned through research. Hence someone ...

• Atta 6 years ago

You do not credit someone who did an insignificant piece of something over someone who popularized it, cultivated it in commercial quantities etc. If that's the case someone else could have easily brought it before even the m ...

Read the article well. Her point was that Tetteh Quarshie popularized the cultivation of Cocoa in Ghana but was not the first to bring and cultivate Cocoa in Ghana. Do your own research too if you doubt it. Her claim is no ro ...

• KG 6 years ago

This is betraying the shallowness of your thinking. Tetteh Quarshie popularised it in commercial quantities, no doubt. He must receive the credit for that. But it is still factually incorrect that he first brought cocoa into ...

• kofi pra 6 years ago

You right Atta. This prof is teaching history without purpose. History is studied in the context of development of society. In this regard Haas is not significant or worthy of mention.
    Trust me our Academia is on the take th ...

• STONE. 6 years ago

OKWAN OR WHATEVER UR NAME IS NOBODY WILL LISTEN TO THIS FOOLISH WOMAN ? SINCE WHEN DID SHE FIND THIS NEWS ?

U SEE THESE IDIOTS KEEPS DISTORTING OUR HIDTORY ! FOR OVER MILLION YEARS NOW NO ONE HAS SAID THIS, WE ALL WENT TO ...

• Tong Po 6 years ago

Words of wisdom.

• Odwan M33 6 years ago

Odwan, The ashao woman is reading books written by Whites. She should know that the whites don't want any good thing to come from Africa. Odwan m333

You are funny. How many Africans, especially Ghanaians write books. We all read what the Whites have written. Even the Akan alphabet was written by Whites so what is your problem?

• Cheryl 6 years ago

Oh really??? You had to call her Ashao?? That's very uncouth and crude. Please respect your elders. You know you can disagree with someone without raining insults on them

• SCHEMER 6 years ago

Massa you are about the only sensible one so far making a comment. This woman has in no way discredited Tetteh Quarshie but has set the records straight. Haas per her narrative first brought cocoa seedlings to then Gold Coast ...

• See kay 6 years ago

You are right Schemer, it is accepted that Tetteh Quashie brought cocoa to Ghana first and then commercialiased it. Which this woman is saying is not true.History can be be corrected anytime.

• Kwesi 6 years ago

People who cant think and rebut an arguement just insult and call people names. The Lady Prof has published her findings. If you disagree just publish findings. If you dont have anything sensible to write, just dont write cra ...

• HIGHER 6 years ago

Who is that Haas.who ,brother shut up.

• HIGHER 6 years ago

Who is Rev Haas,slave trader,this woman has been bought and must vacate her post.Black have invented so many things like electric lamp,fridges,gas mask,traffic light,etc but you don't even hear their name.
    Uneducated prof.I ...

• James Anderson 6 years ago

Okwan you are absolutely right. Why do some people behave this way? You are given a platform to air your views and all you do is abuse it . You see, that is why we are retrogressing as a nation. We are always filled with des ...

• Lost people 6 years ago

Interesting right....okwan.
    Unfortunately the ghana education system doesnt teach proper english comprehension and logical thinking, otherwise why the unnecessary and misplaced insults for putting up facts or for correctin ...

• Saint 6 years ago

Oh say it bro. Why people even insult, this shows we don't want change. She's bringing new thing, instead of us to learn and do further research, we keep on insulting both old n young. Too bad. Thanks bro

• Xorve 6 years ago

So if it is the whiteman it is true but if it is the African then it is a lie from claiming casava came from brazil it is now this one. Stupid professors you get your titles by sexing around how can you think ?

• kululu 6 years ago

who needs this lecture at this time. All this woman is looking for is to get a little attention because history as a subject is dying. She won't be talking if Tetteh Quashie was a whiteman

• SCHEMER 6 years ago

Stop being silly. All subjects can die away but not history. It is the record of important past events if you really understand history. How would you retrieve loans to people if there's no history? How can you process people ...

Who told you History as a subject is dying. So long as we have traditions and religion, history will not die. Come to the USA and see. Engineers, Doctors, Lawyers and all other students have to study USA and World History. If ...

• Samson 6 years ago

Why do you insult her? You can make your comments without insults. Let's grow up.

• nana otoadea ontuaka d 1st 6 years ago

pls how can u insult a person of did stature like did?is she not better dan ur mom in d village who is uneducated?ur foul mouth shows who u ar n d kind of training ur so call parents gave u

• ELINAM 6 years ago

All these European worshipping Achimotans are poison to our nation than asset.
    The poisonous and the negative energy of the pale faced people who had set up these institutions are still in them. The so-called white man was ...

• Ada Boy 6 years ago

I am not sure what she is trying to achieve here.A self serving revisionist, she can now go on and rewrite our history books.Poor taste

• Lynda 6 years ago

#buynow
    #makingmoney
    #fix #iphones
    #tecno
    #samsung
    #tablets #pads
    #repairshop #repaircenter
    #entrepreneurship #book
    Get " Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs : A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals " f ...

• coolmann 6 years ago

another human being monkey,

• Man 6 years ago

Okay now that we're number one in smoking marijuana madam should tell us who brought marijuana to Ghana. I know you'll say it's a Blackman.

• +233506182344 6 years ago

Take water to where you live. Drill a borehole at an affordable price today. www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• steve 6 years ago

WHY WAITED FOR THESE LONG BEFORE TELLING US ALL THESE NONSENSE,CAN COCOA GROW A THE COSTAL AREAS? IF SO WHAT ARE THE ( GAS) WAITING FOR.

• Ghanaian Living Abroad 6 years ago

Ram, you idiot, you are content with learning about wrong history right? She is simply setting the record straight. She is a historian, what the hell did you expect her to do? Keep the misinformation going?

• KG 6 years ago

Scholarship must be met with scholarship not insults. These insults are mere emotional outbursts that are adding no value to the discourse

• Nii Ablorh 6 years ago

Why distort history Prof. Shame on you

• NICH 6 years ago

Destroying history by providing the real history? illiteracy is expensive.

• ABBA ATTA 6 years ago

I ONCE CHANCE AND READ AN ARTICLE AT THE GHANA LIBRARY BOARD ON THIS DISPUTE ON WHO WAS THE FIRST, WHICH WAS SETTLED BY THE THEN GOVERNOR SIR GODON GUGISSBERG IN FAVOUR OF TETTEH QUARSHIE, SHE CANNOT CHANGE THIS NOW

• Eric 6 years ago

WE DON'T NEED THIS NOW, WOMAN.

• GW 6 years ago

That was planted to pay for my stupid British education at the time.

• SCHEMER 6 years ago

Odartey Lamptey thought he had three children by His first wife of many years. A strange destiny creeps into their union and it became necessary to conduct DNA to ascertain the truth. As fate will have it it turned out that t ...

• KG 6 years ago

Good analogy. It is frightening how people are thinking here.

• I can't think far 6 years ago

The only sensible piece so far

• Pelicles 6 years ago

These are some of the educated idiots who are destroying everything in our dear nation. Why now? What exactly are you trying to achieve. The cocoa that our dear grandfather Tetteh Quarshie planted is still in existence and w ...

• Rama 6 years ago

She wants to rewrite history but sorry it's toooo late Tetteh has already left an indelible mark so right now nobody wants to hear just keep your history.

• Africanus 6 years ago

What are these insults for? If you disagree with the woman that is fair, no insults please. I think we should study her findings in order to arrive at the truth. Historical views are not always accurate.

• Pelicles 6 years ago

The lady is trying to distort history. Can she lead us to where that Rev. planted the first cocoa and what will we see? Tetteh Quarshie's cocoa are still alive.

I do not need her lectures at this time. Our grand father, Te ...

No, the original Tetteh Quarshie's trees are not alive. The one at Mampong Akwapim are the ones planted to replace that of Tetteh. Just do your research and see how long Cocoa trees grow. Even the ones planted by my grandmoth ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

The spent-up woman deserved the insult.

Laughable. Teteh Quarshie's Cocoa is still in existence. These are some of the lies they tell you. What is the life span of a Cocoa tree? Ask your parents.

• Osei 6 years ago

Did Tetteh Quashie bring in cocoa pod to Ghana or the seeds. Did he swallow a whole pod? Come again Prof.

• FOREVER 6 years ago

Madam you cannot twist history to suit your agenda whatever that agenda is . Mampong Akwapim is on record as first cocoa town. Case closed

• DI ASEM PA 6 years ago

Oh black people, so now, it was a white man who brought cocoa into Ghana? Shame on you

• Rayons 6 years ago

Akuffo Addo 's sister trying to rewrite the history. Akuffo Addo refused to know that Dr. Nkrumah remains the father of Independence whilst this old lady is also refusing. What at all is wrong with these old people?

• HE Nii Amu First-Quao 6 years ago

...they will never accept that it took the dreamer in the coat of many colours to save the nation from famine in Canaan or the shepherd with a sling to slay the uncircumcised giant!!!!!

• boka 6 years ago

keep your history, we are content with what we have.

• Tankim 6 years ago

It is sad to read how some of you lacking basic research and understanding insult the learned. She has presented a paper, if you disagree just come up with yours. Does any of you has any historical proof that Tetteh Quarshie ...

• boka 6 years ago

There are many respectful way of correcting history, this is not one.

• ELINAM 6 years ago

The spent-up lady did no research to pull that white/pale glorifying, obroni worshiping theory for no one.

• Xorve 6 years ago

She didnt do.any.research she just went around reading old articles on cocoa and concluded. She has not gathered any acheological sample to.show the difference nor.done any.carbon dating to show rev.whatevers cocoa trees are ...

• Osagyenana 6 years ago

Akosua Perbi sees nothing worthwhile in our history, having been colonially-miseducated. She's made a lifetime career of distorting the backward, historical practice of feudal servitude into an ideology of "indigenous slavery ...

• Wasteman 6 years ago

Even if your assessions are true,which I know are not, why don't you promote your own??? You see your African face European mentality??? Shame on you

• Sh.Mahama 6 years ago

I disagree with you when suggest that she should promote or peddle falsehood when her assertions happen to be the truth.

• ELINAM 6 years ago

An anti-African "aunt Jemima" no doubt !!!

• Find out 6 years ago

She is speaking the truth u shallow minded people. Go ask the presbyterians. They will tell you more of dat history.

• Putin 6 years ago

If u can't breath,then u av asthma

• Xorve 6 years ago

Who should go and ask the lying brainwashed idiotic stooges in the presbytarian stupid sikadicious tutubotom Shrine occupants?

• ICANTBREATHE 6 years ago

She is a historian and all she is doing is to right a wrong . Now if you shallow minded buffoons can't accept it , then i guess that's your problem . She knows the real story behind how cocoa came to be the cash crop in west ...

• Ablorh 6 years ago

I do not think she should be insulted but she cannot be right. What proof does she have in relation to her claims? She should go back and get her facts straight

• ELINAM 6 years ago

If anyone is shallow, I guess it's you.
    Our children's self esteem depends on what their forebears had achieved.
    No Europale man would ever give credit to an African who had failed to climb the Alps mountain in favor of an ...

• mRNA + tRNA 6 years ago

Yeah, that is true it was Prof. Akosua Perbi.
    What have you brought to Ghana? At least Tetteh Quarshie brought the second cocoa to Ghana!

• Adensa 6 years ago

Tetteh Quashie went to Fernardo Po alright as you said. Lets leave it like that.

• Mark 6 years ago

TQ is Ghana's greatest hero!!!

• Nana yaa 6 years ago

And what has this ugly bitch brought to Ghana. Nasty woman

• Tibaa 6 years ago

That is to say, the white men brought "civilization" and cocoa to Ghana! What a fool of a professor.

• KAAJII 6 years ago

Ghanaians don't want to read and do research.The records are there to prove so what is your worry? Who did you think designed the flag of Ghana? It's not Theodosia OKOH as purported to be in our history books. Ethiopia had us ...

• Ebo Africaba 6 years ago

I am not surprised at the garbage that this colonized professor has spewed out. Note how she gave credit to the colonizers. I wonder why. Perhaps she is suffering "crabs in the bucket syndrome." She is a failed historian who ...

IF COCOA WAS BROUGHT TO GHANA FROM BRAZIL BY THE DUTCH AND MISSIONARIES,TETTEH QUARSHIE WILL NOT BE STUPID TO TRAVEL VERY FAR TO FERNANDO PO IN EQUATORIAL GUINEA TO BRING IT TO GHANA.
    HE WOULD HAVE TAKEN SOME OF THE SEEDS FR ...

• ezeco sam 6 years ago

@ tankim thanks a lot,I feel very ashamed when I go through those comments with insult and they claimed they are educated why?if u disagreed no insult is ur opinion but I charge u pple to also do some research.

• Ft 6 years ago

What a nonsense prof. where were you since don't distort people because of your personal interest Tetteh Quashie all the way

• Alhaji Yussif 6 years ago

That's the problem we ve as black,Ghana new we had oil,past leaders had try discovered it but not significant enough Untill Kufour discovered oil in commercial quantities so must we go talking about what and how others tried? ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Ametorkofi 6 years ago

Prof how old are you?why are you telling us this now,what have you been teaching your students for all this years

• Kkb 6 years ago

Hello how old are you too? We're not 100± years yet we read the Qur'an, Bible and other readable for us to know what happened in the past.

• TT, US 6 years ago

What is she up to?, why raising this topic at this time?, and who cares if Haas was the first person to bring cocoa to Ghana? Africans always trying to credit the whites instead of their own.
    She should not be given platform ...

• TUNDE ADEMOLE 6 years ago

She can't lecture this in Legon but rather chose the vulnerable at Achimota school. Children are "chopping shit"

• Oti Akenten 6 years ago

Madam professor, what is your tangible contribution to Ghana ?

• Wandi 6 years ago

Prof what have you also done

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in thei ...

• liqcontre 6 years ago

useless professors who only know how to plagiarise others writeups.

• Nana Kwaku Dei Nuamah II 6 years ago

Please guys! Stop insulting the historian about the cocoa matter and learn. I learnt this facts of the Professor when I was in primary six. It was there in the syllabus of our school system. Check the syllabus and textbooks o ...

• Prince Abibirim 6 years ago

And guess who gave you that syllabus?I too am an historian from City University of New York, and sir Gordon Guggisburg debunked that bullshit long ago,plus TQ wouldn't have traveled to anywhere if cocoa was already in Ghana.F ...

• Samson 6 years ago

TQ did not travel to Fernado po to bring cocoa to Ghana. He went there for another purpose. He found cocoa while he was working there. Learn your history well if you are a true historian as you claim. The info the prof has br ...

• Xorve 6 years ago

Stupid professor you always want to give praise to slave masters and people of other races but your own. How did you even become a professor it is all for sex empty head!

• yaa 6 years ago

There are many ignorantly idiotic on this platform but you top them all. I'm shocked at how Ghanaians react to sth that can be researchable, especially those ones doing cleaning abroad. Band You from the kokoase don't know ...

• Baafour 6 years ago

Most historians agree on T. Quarshie. Even Prof Adu Boahen, your pioneer did not say this. She is biased by church influences.

• Yaw Berko 6 years ago

This lady Professor is only stating the facts. There are many distortions in Ghana's history. When educated people bring out the facts, fools like you guys insult them. Meanwhile you these idiots don't know anything. Look at ...

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

and where have you been all these years, Prof Perbi? You are now telling us about Rev. Hass so we can't accept his cocoa story though it could be true. We have known uncle Tetteh Quarshie even before independence. Then about ...

• Kkb 6 years ago

The professor is speaking the truth so don't insult her. Do you even Cocoa yam , avocado pear were brought into the country by these Basel Missionaries? Stop the insults and learn history.

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

Kkb........you are as GULLIBLE and as IGNORANT as they come, so please help yourself by not contributing on this platform ever again.

Please go check the facts of history and not the distorted ones, to take advantage of yo ...

Why do we Africans always allow ourselves to be manipulated? Is she aware of the impact of such a distorted statement?

We have had some Africans do that with regards to slavery.......we selling our own people as slaves. Wh ...

• oxygen 6 years ago

historian prof is that your limit? Tetteh Quashie is the one l know since my school time

• Muba 6 years ago

Oxygen don't stay at ur school level.Learn ahead and broad.Ur teachers will be disappointed in u if keep speaking DAT way.

• Bishop blay 6 years ago

I salute this powerful historian.

• Akim Brenase 6 years ago

Hmmm " Cocoa was brought into Ghana" Twi brofo. A professor who only reads from script and can't construct good grammar.

• Tetteh 6 years ago

very unnecessary song.WE ALL KNOW THIS BUT WE ARE TALKING ABOUT THE FIRST AFRICAN NOT THE FIRST PERSONS.THE ARE EVEN RECORDS FROM MERCHANT SHIPS WHICH MEAN MANIFEST WITH DATE BACK AS 17 CENTURY WHICH STATE THAT COACO SEEDILIN ...

• Akim Brenase 6 years ago

Video@0.45 " historically cocoa was brought into Ghana". Poor grammar Prof. Thus twi brofo.

• GMA 6 years ago

Hmmmm mm. Wonders will never end. As long as the human race continues to exist, wonders would continue to be a daily occurrence.

• No Mercy 6 years ago

Idiotic news what have this Prof.has done to change the cocoa raw-material chocolate.nothing.Speaking bush shit

• partrioctic citizen 6 years ago

Whitewashed and distorted historian giving glory to the Whiteman?. Nobody will believe and care about your lies.

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

SINCE TETTEH QUASHIE WAS THE ONE WHO DREW AWARENESS TO THE CULTIVATION OF COCOA IN GHANA , AND THE MISSIONARIES DID NOT DRAW ATTENTION TO THE GROWING OF COCOA IN COMMERCIAL QUANTITY , AND OF COURSE TETTEH QUASHIE'S COCOA WAS ...

• Ben sekyi 6 years ago

The professor is surporting with facts. Those who care to know knows she is right . Let's give credit where it's due.

• kenneth 6 years ago

Another useless professor

• Obinim 6 years ago

She is just delivering an academic research she did. His itself as a subject is controversial. And who can prove that tetteh quarshie was the first person to bring cocoa to Ghana because u and I were not there! We all read i ...

• Johnny 6 years ago

Dear brothers and sisters, let's be a little polite when we are sharing our views . Especially when we don't agreed with someone's opinion. This will help us to learn from each other. Politics of insult will not help us.

• don't care.. 6 years ago

Hmmmmm!similar thing was said on our independence by our president so why are shouting on top of our voice? I think is of our nature to twixt things

• John Akim Oda 6 years ago

Alzemhers

• Charles 6 years ago

Why does the African hate the truth. We believe in myths like the golden stool coning from the heavens. Please let the old professor have her peace.

• black powers the grand master 6 years ago

Indian spiritualist in Ghana
    Ghanaian0244908520 professor in science divine
    healing power protection healing HIV
    invisible power,,money rituals contact master of the night the grand master

• IB 6 years ago

This woman is seriously suffering from manipulse and Profmental disorder, needing phsyciatic attention.

• RPG... 6 years ago

Madam don't deceive the young generation,becaues of your perocuil interest u got about spiwing liars,what do u intend to achieve with all this fabrication?

• Kesse 6 years ago

Historicall her account is correct. The missionaries were the first to cultivate but their breed was not successful and so very little red exported outside. But Tetteh quarshie brought a breed that was compatible with our lan ...

• Facelessly Faceless 6 years ago

Historians are trying to change history but we won't buy it.

• Salley 6 years ago

l will not accept that "fact". lf you knew this why did you not tell the nation until today? ln as much as l respect you, l will not agree to that.

• GHANANI 6 years ago

Prof for coming out boldly to tell us the truth I have added another 'profersorship' to the real one you hold.It is not our colonisers who brought cocoa to the Gold Coast but rather the missionaries who followed them to sprea ...

• Afful David 6 years ago

If you say things like this, what do you get? please stop it because it's very disgusting for you to say so

• Mr Atwe 6 years ago

Professor Banza, how many text books have you written with your "too know" azaa education.

Plagiarizing and exam cheating to obtain degrees makes you sound foolish. Professors with too big "mouths" always talk nonsense fro ...

• Kwesi 6 years ago

She doesn't know anything.

• T-rex 6 years ago

We are fine with Tetteh Quashie bringing the cocoa. Or maybe she's had a sexual encounter with white man during her studies abroad, and she loved it. Now she wants to honor them.

• Kwame Sarfo 6 years ago

She is married to Mr Perbi from Akuapem Kampong. The implication is that she is right.

• onipanua 6 years ago

What about changing the name Tetteh Quarshie Hospital to that of Reverend Haas Hospital in the light of the revelation by Dr Akosua Perbi?Reverend Haas deserves a national honour.

• Chuks, Nima 6 years ago

Who is this old bitch of a professor? Is it because Tetteh Quarshie was not Ashanti? Always trying to distort history out of sheer hatred and hunger for the achievements of others. Very soon we would be told that Tetteh Quars ...

• Prof.Aponkye.. 6 years ago

Why is it that people always want to twist facts and history.Tetteh Quarshie did bring the first cocoa to Ghana from Fernando po..No history mentioned those missionaries from so called Brazil..Tetten Quarshie had his pilot pr ...

• Bobo 6 years ago

Bringing samples of kenkey and cooking it at home or feeding a community is not the same as commercializing it nationwide for export so Madame stay in retirement in peace and drink Milo.

• gaza 6 years ago

this woman paa and so what every tin be white man oh shame on u

• Onyansani 6 years ago

Thanks but this is useless Ghana needs professors who will invent and create things that will bring jobs to Ghana.

• Jokoko 6 years ago

Why did not u tell this history when I was in primary school

• Nestor 6 years ago

This is the true history about cocoa in ghana. Thanks Prof.

• Timede 6 years ago

Please the insults are too many. Let us be civil. History gives clearer perspective of issues, they are facts and much research has gone into it. There has always been several views in the past that Tetteh Quarshie was not th ...

• Yaw mensah 6 years ago

The biggest problem in Ghana is that our education structure does not allow us to be critical thinkers. Hence, once we hear something, it like a dogma which is followed blindly. It is her duty as a professor to challenge the ...

• T-rex 6 years ago

We are fine with Tetteh Quashie bringing the cocoa. Maybe she was sexed by a whiteman, and now she wants to pay him back.

• Benjamin Sekyi 6 years ago

The professor is right . Some things we take as native like cocoyam, avocado, and mangoes were all brought by the missionaries

• T-rex 6 years ago

So nothing grew on our land?

• atta 6 years ago

This is not a new thing. The presbyterian church has known this all the time. Their centenary booklet emphasized this. Don't insult. This is the daughter of our most respected musician, Emeritus Professor Nketsia. She is Akua ...

• JJ 6 years ago

Why?Can't we think outside the box a little bit.Myopic thinking is the cause of our poverty as a nation.

• Eli 6 years ago

What do you hope to achieve and who are your pay masters? It will not wash. Better shut up loud mouth. Issues of concern and all over to discuss Madam professor

• Muba 6 years ago

Insulting her will not do us gud,but rather appreciate academia n history.Its not abt distorting our history, but learning extensively n broad.Let's appreciate divergent views dan range raining insults at her.Tanx Prof

• Eli 6 years ago

What do you hope to achieve and who are your pay masters? It will not wash. Better shut up loud mouth. Issues of concern are all over to discuss Madam professor

• Jeff 6 years ago

This is true.U people should ur study history well.eeeiiih

• may day 6 years ago

Where were u old whore

• Citronella Oil. 6 years ago

Why is it that every good thing was discovered, invented or brought into existence by the white man. Are we saying that the blacks never did anything good in the history of our world? It's not right to insult her and I condem ...

• coolmann 6 years ago

just look at her like,and the face,putting on monkey hair on is head,its not a grace for my mankind,some of our Prof are just stupid,

• Akwasi Nyame Adom 6 years ago

Very disappointed in this so called Prof
    She even betrayed her own historical facts

• Captein 6 years ago

In Ghana all historians have misapplied history, for not telling the truth or tell half truths from soothsayers, witches or legends from fetishes or "my mother" and so on. From, FK Buah, Adu Boahen all in between to Prof A. P ...

• Elvis 6 years ago

Ur rebuttals make me think some of u our away of this findings, but for selfish interest, hid this from e populace

• Man 6 years ago

Okay madam, now that we're number one in smoking marijuana tell us who brought marijuana to Ghana. I know you'll say it's a Blackman.

• Ghanaian 6 years ago

For Africans nothing good comes or initiated by African,
    All the bad things are from Africa sad NEH?
    I heard from a black so called doctor from Ghana yesterday that prostrate cancer affect blackpeople more to white peo ...

• Egyir 6 years ago

Please do no abuse the professor. She is stating facts. Back in 80s prof Aquanda- Archaeology Legon presented the history of cocoa on GBC. Same thing the professor is saying. Facts are facts. Dislike of the truth doesn't chan ...

• Captein 6 years ago

So if what you are saying is right why muddy the waters. Or play with people's brains. For what good is it.
    I think you are more a professor than prof Perbi. She should have put in that caveat immediately to stop the useless ...

• Barima Kwaku 6 years ago

In fact, am not surprise because that's a Ghanaian for you. May be she is associated with the Moles. Am just disappointed in her.

• BERNARD 6 years ago

1).Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2).Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

3).Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

4).Enhances Weight loss.
    5).It reduces ageing process ...

• BK 6 years ago

Prof. May God you for telling us the truth behind the history of cocoa in Ghana.

• Bill Friction 6 years ago

So now in this 5th republic we have people still manufacturing history. Hmmmmm and that longtime this Akosua the history professor never correct our books until today yooooooo. Akans and their rich history to sweet them.

• Oman Ghana 6 years ago

I surprised of the insult if you believe you have other proof contrary to her claim just proof it and stop insulting the woman,

• Kofi Kyei 6 years ago

Why insult if you disagree with someone. Opinions are like noses and each person has one.

• King edward 6 years ago

And so what. Please allow the word confusion to rest in the dictionary.

• Charles Adamu 6 years ago

The Professor just wants to make a name. What difference will this make? Instead of Professors come out with inventions and solutions to problems see the nonsense she is writing abt. Oh our so called Professors most are usele ...

• kwaku 6 years ago

Ghana faces bigger problems than stupid debate from another useless professor. Stupid African Professor who cant even process Raw cocoa beans into Something useful for Ghanaian. All they know is to encourage imports from Chin ...

• SAm 6 years ago

when i saw the heading this was the same comment that came in my head. Tetteh Q was the man that made cocoa take off in Ghana (THAT IS THE POINT) as to who brought the Pods first is irrelevant.
    How did T.Q know of the Pods ...

• Attiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii 6 years ago

Why is it that it is only when the NPp takes over the reigns of government that our history as a people will always be distorted. Where has this woman been hiding and why now? NPP never ceases to amaze me.

• OMAN 6 years ago

Foolish.Tettey Quashie is a celebrated Ghanaian. You want to give credit to the white man again for something a black man did. Those missionaries were Mercenaries! God purnish you

• Kutsii 6 years ago

Thank u for all the comments and how u have stripped naked this witch. I won't further insult her bcos comments address to her is enough to make her sensible.

• KG-A 6 years ago

Nothing new in this. Tetteh Quarshie planted the first surviving cocoa farm which started the cocoa plantation culture.

• good magic 6 years ago

Indian spiritualist in Ghana
    Ghanaian0244908520 professor in science divine
    healing power protection healing HIV
    invisible power,,money rituals contact master of the night the grand master

• kojo 6 years ago

I'm wondering why some Ghanaians have taken advantage of the social media to make destructive comments about statements made by the elderly and govt officials,present n past.

• Dzibs 6 years ago

It is funny how Ghanaians attack personalities rather than the problem. You should rather seem a copy of her research paper and ascertain how true her assertion is rather than insulting her.

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

instead of soaking in the knowledge we are verbally lynching her for it.
    when will we grow up!
    Insults have become so much a part of us that is so shameful.
    If you don't agree with her,air your view void of insults,
    who g ...

• Kwame 6 years ago

A Negro can't animate himself, unless a white man breath into him. You see the harm Christianity has done to our brains and continue to inflict on us.
    So where lies Rev. Haans farm, I mean his cocoa farm?

• Waste of Reseach and book allowance, 6 years ago

Correct she is wasting her time on Nonsense research.

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 6 years ago

US,CANADIAN BANK ACCOUNT MONEY TRANSFERS AVAILABLE. 101% CASH OUT, RISK FREE.

*Banks Needed*
    TD USA BANK
    US BANK
    USAA BANK
    ZEAL CREDIT UNION
    BBVA COMPASS
    CP FEDERAL CREDIT UNION
    REDSTONE CREDIT UNION
    SCOTTRADE ...

• nicholas 6 years ago

Ask her what she has done for the nation after learning for God knows years. All that we know best as black people is "pull him down" .what is her motive for saying this, that we should hail her or what?

• Augu 6 years ago

This is academic discourse. Someone should prove her wrong. She has the right to challenge the status quo. We might have been fed with wrong info all these years.

• Andaamu 6 years ago

I guess this woman should inform WAEC about this her so called ''True History''. If not almost all the students who will be sitting for the JHS exams will fail that particular question. I believe they all know it's Tetteh Qua ...

• Daddy tee 6 years ago

Akan or i should say akyem mafia work. We grew up with this history and she waitef all this years to come up with such nonesence?? Did she dropped from the moon yesterday?? Mum please stop this foolishness

• Samson 6 years ago

This is no distortion of history. Truth must always be told. I also knew about this through my research. Any of those making the negative comments should simply google cocoa in Ghana and would have confirmation. Only a fool d ...

• Ahiabu Gamado 6 years ago

Even JJ Rawlings who pilotted Health Insurance in Damongo District in the North is not creditted with introduction of NHIS. J.A. Kuffuor has it.
    What benefit did those missionaries' cocoa bring to Ghana or even Aburi?
    Madam ...

• Bishop blay 6 years ago

Enough of these baseless insults.The Prof's presentation is not sophistry, but history based on empirical facts. Madam sorry for the insults.

• IQ(NYANSA) 6 years ago

illiterate historian and fake professor, never think you can brainwash Ghanaians from what we know since Adam,and has been published in our books. this shows you are just a learnered illiterate who is trying to change our his ...

• 1+1=3 6 years ago

BACKGROUND
    Many Ghanaians when asked who first introduced cocoa to Ghana would not hesitate in answering that it is Tetteh Quarshie a Ga who hails from Osu in Accra. Tetteh Quarshie travelled to the Fernando Po Island where ...

• Fuseini 6 years ago

We need to respect facts and the truth irrespective of how hard they might be to take as a nation or a people. The truth of the matter is Haas first brought cocoa to Ghana but our beloved Agyiri commercialised the production ...

• Fuseini 6 years ago

Sorry I meant to say Tetteh Quarshie but instead wrote "Agyiri"

• Xorve 6 years ago

Fuseini Mumuni or Teni Mahama you don't shit all you wrote in non factual and baseless so all I can.say is that the free education Nkrumah gave you guys was a waste of country money. Go back to your catle ranch and do somethi ...

• Fuseini 6 years ago

Ignorant people like you always reduce these arguments to tribalism and ethnicity. Unlike you, I respect all shades of people. We are all God's children

• Kweku trouble 6 years ago

You are right he is ignorant but you are also ignorant. You came here to write all that gibberish without providing any evidence. At least there is ample evidence to prove Tetteh Quarshie brought cocoa to Ghana. You think it ...

• NANA BAAH 6 years ago

TETTEH QUARSHIE BROUGH COCOA TO GHANA, PERIOD!!!! TRY TO GGOGLE IT, THIS TIME CORRECT INFORMATION IS ON THE INTERNET.OTHERWISE A LOT OF HISTORICAL EVENTS HAVE BEEN DISTORTED BY SO CALLED LEARNERD WHITES.NEVER BLAME THE SLAVE ...

• Fuseini 6 years ago

Sorry I meant to say Tetteh Quarahie not Agyiri. My apologies!!!

• William Wayaasi 6 years ago

Ghana! Stop that! From KG to JHS have we taught he brought Cocoa to Ghana but why now? Please. Shame on you.

• OPNINPA 6 years ago

"COLONIAL MENTALITY HISTORIAN"H HOW DO YOU BELIEVE COLONIAL HISTORY OVER OUR OWN. AS FAR AS THE MISSIONARIES WERE CONCERNED THE AFRICAN " KNEW NOTHING" HAD NOTHING"-NO HISTORY, NO PAST, NO CULTURE. UNTIL THE WHITE MAN CAME. R ...

• Shomto 6 years ago

That is ashantis For you anything good if is not ashanti then is ok.....

• kasapreko 6 years ago

The woman is not Ashanti please.Allow our name to rest in this matter.

• Samuel Neequaye DZANIE 6 years ago

Nonsense where were you when we were told he brought it. you cannot distort the history of the country. This is cheap propaganda and it won't fly. Maybe you mother brought it. come out and tell us.
    Intellectual stupidity in ...

• Liz fae 6 years ago

Madam if u dont know someone even brought it before the so-call Reverend Hass maybe that was the only person u know in your so call history book, bcos the book might have been written by someone else who knows only one pers ...

• Citronella Oil. 6 years ago

Why is it that every good thing was discovered, invented or brought into existence by the white man. Are we saying that the blacks never did anything good in the history of our world? It's not right to insult her and I condem ...

• Etor 6 years ago

dats not necessary tell us ur origination rather as historian. by the way, have u planted one urself as professor. paper professors of Ghana.

• Micky 6 years ago

She's a damn liar! She just wants attention!

• Joe 6 years ago

All this while what was she doing with the fact? Tetteh Quashie's name pop up long time ago and this woman has been a lecturer at the history department for over 20 years and now coming up with this fiction.

Look, the simp ...

• SHAMO 6 years ago

SO WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE, NOBODY WANT TO GIVE THE GA'S A CREDIT FOR NOTHING, BUT LET THE WHOLE WORLD KNOW THAT, TETTTEH QUARSHIE IS FROM THE GA TRIBE, AND HIS COCOA PODS MAKE A DIFFERENT. OK, BUT REMEMBER KWAME NKRUMAH IS N ...

• K. B. 6 years ago

Hello family, What the Prof. is saying is true, we have argued it in school and at other similar forums but it was just that no one was ready to correct it, we need to know the truth that Tetteh Quarshie commercialized cocoa ...

• Ghana 6 years ago

There we go again. She should just conclude and say J B Danquah brought cocoa to Ghana.

• Nana Asenso 6 years ago

Do we understand the English written" he didn't bring the first cocoa pod to Ghana " or we are being sentimental with it.

• Dady 6 years ago

Please who make this women a prof.

• yebopower 6 years ago

eho cares.Fix the broken economy snd corruption.

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

I don't give a fuck who brought cocoa first to Ghana. Tetteh Quarshie is a Ghanaian so I'll give it to him. After all what hasn't the white man stolen from us and taken credit for! We've been looted for far too long. Now let' ...

Kudos to you, Richmond! However, these are the kind of people being paid by whites to distort historical facts; for the whites' globalists corporate bodies to take over our industries....

Does the government's ongoing part ...

• ganda hamsini 6 years ago

the truth been told. It all those of you here sayin sh*t she is historian just trying to educate on your ignorance

• Nana 6 years ago

There is nothing wrong with what she said. She is giving you the facts, that is her job. She gets paid 24hrs for doing that job, researching history, so how can you know better than her when you last read history in secondary ...

nana, you are a very ignorant being......Do you have any idea of the impact of such a statement on our African existence??????

It's a real shame to have a name like nana. If you do not have anything better to say, please s ...

• Alhajjwinner 6 years ago

I think history taught us that he was the first Ghanaian to bring cocoa to Ghana and popurized it. All the same cocoa was not popularized in Ghana until Tetteh Quashie's Pod arrived from Fernandapo.

• FREEMAN 6 years ago

INTERESTING!!! Thanks Prof. This is really new news for us and a correction for posterity.

• barima koforidua 6 years ago

who is this idiot historian?whiles the Americans and europeans are writing history to favor themselves.we are disputing our own history.maybe your great grandfather was doing cocoa business with the Brazilians.nitwit

• pataku 6 years ago

Madam u get no credit on this why are u trying destroy our history?are u telling us that our great man. Tetteh. Quarshie was so stupid he suffer him self and swallow the coacoa pod all the way from Europe to Ghana ev n though ...

• T and T 6 years ago

What she knows is what she read from books written by whites only.

• Mapandoki 6 years ago

Those who doubt The Prof should just do their own research and come out with their findings. We will compare and follow with interest how they would put their facts together.

• one 6 years ago

she's is right. the Dutch missionaries, the Moravian missionaries from Jamaica who double as black slaves taken from Akropong and the Ashanti where the first to bring cocoa,coco-yam and lots more to Ghana

• W.H.O 6 years ago

Professor are doing great things in their country, but in Ghana the prof are fake

• GHANABA 6 years ago

She's absolute right and Ghanaians don't like the truth, that is why we are in the mess with a president wasting money on armoured vehicles while the poor are starving.

• pataku 6 years ago

She's right u said? Ok u her and dwarf. Adfo can go ahead and write ur own history book then we know everything in Ghana will soon Chang since the dwarf. Addo came and cane with very bad intention to destroyed my mother Ghana ...

• yoo 6 years ago

yea. prof dat is fact. those who didn't read anytin on history in the university shld shut up.

• kwasi 6 years ago

It was this same Jamaican West Indians who introduced cocoyam,coffee,bananas and plantain which became a staple in the country. this same Jamaican West Indians where first to establish the Mission’s first boys’ boarding s ...

• Tomato Puree 6 years ago

Bloody neo-colonialist bitch!Who do you think brought cocoa in then, ashawo.

• Tc 6 years ago

This is what they call research. Good work Prof.

• Bell 6 years ago

This is needles you want to discredit our grandfather. But it will not work.the truth is that he make cocoa popular in Ghana is a fact .no one can change that not even you Prof

• Kojo Ebre 6 years ago

The president has set the pace to distort our independence history, what else do you expect his followers to do?

• Papa Ghana 6 years ago

Ghanaians hate the truth, history is history. Thanks professor. Please try and educate these foolish people who for some reason hate the real truth.

• Yawa Mensah 6 years ago

This woman hmmm she knows nothing she rode on his fathers hard work to be where she is. Soon she will say Okomfo Anokye did not conjure the Golden Stool from the sky or that Adam and Eve were not the first humans.

• Vo 6 years ago

Bitch!

• Knockout 6 years ago

Can we find out these writings

• Liquid Force 6 years ago

Is this professor trying to make a new history syllables

• T and T 6 years ago

Is that how we define "educated", remembering names and dates of events? Ghana has very few well educated people and many semi educated degree holders who can chew and remember dates, formulas, Principles, theories etc. but c ...

• Oheneba 6 years ago

All this while no historian has disputed this but this lady.What she is preaching I don't think is true.Who knows this lady, how old is she and from which books did she get her "apo". She should try hard to take Teeth Quaeshi ...

• Paa 6 years ago

Perbi ur stupid to say so. Ashawo like u. Everybody know Its Tete Quashie.. arsehole

• Naa Nyere 6 years ago

Tetteh Quaashie was an Ayigbe man. How did he get to Fernando Po. That's what I want to know. Okomfo Anokye was an Ayigbe Jujuman. Wow, how Ayigbe people of yore has shaped the Ashanti people's history. They became Ashanti he ...

• kola nut 6 years ago

Okomfo Anokye wss from Akuapim.

• AKOS 6 years ago

FINALLY SOMEONE CAME OUT WITH THE TRUTH. THANK YOU.

• Seek knowledge 6 years ago

Instead of appreciating her thorough research.
    You are spewing garbage

• Naa Nyere 6 years ago

We all know you are spewing garbage. Better seek knowledge.

• Chris Sean 6 years ago

What she's saying isn't distortion of any history. It is clearly written in our history books and even in books we read in Primary or JSS. I remember this sentence in an English reading book we read at school very well.... " ...

• Proud Ga 6 years ago

Idiot you cant change history.. I bet she was paid to do this to we the Ga's, no matter what you guys will do you can't change history... Where were you when Tetteh Quarshie was doing his thing??? You were properly not in the ...

• NPPigs 6 years ago

HE WAS THE 1ST GHANAIAN, FUCK YOU PROF.!

• Ghana ba 6 years ago

Typical Ghanaian, envy and jealousy never want to give credit where it's due. Where has this "phd" woman been all these years. Please let's appreciate the man and his good work.

• Abeiku Intarmah 6 years ago

Why would anyone insult her. I thought the wisest thing to do is to demand the records instead of insulting her. This is uncouth and uncivilised.
    Why now, does it matter when and how the truth is told? Were we not told ...

• John 6 years ago

Facts are facts

It's the first time for swallowing Cocoa but the condom has split and now i don't know what to do.
    Should i seek medical advice immediately before i leave Fernando Po to the Gold Coast?

Or should i wait until i clear cus ...

• Kweku 6 years ago

What has this Prof. brought to Ghana. The academia should help build gh, and stop these talks. Where was she all along? These ppl are taken research allowances but done no research

• Worried Student 6 years ago

Does I care??? I can't think far.. What are we learning in school Koraa??? I am told mountain Afajato is a Hill not a Mountain.

• macho 6 years ago

If so fine... Ask her where she was at that time even if she was born... How old was she....

• Owusu Darko Samuel...#0245679913...fb 6 years ago

Madam Historian I want to know the exact date that Tetteh Quashie became an apprentice since he was born on 27th March,1842...
    Thank You.....

• lead 6 years ago

if cocoa was already planted in Ghana, why then should he swallow cocoa all the way from fenandopo to Ghana. pls don't try to deceive Ghanaians ok

• bb 6 years ago

Tweeaaaa its a lie.I regret reading history at legon.its been of no use to me in my life.

• Yaweh 6 years ago

There was cocoa in ahafo before 1471

• draws 6 years ago

this grate historian want to score cheap point baa hey mummy waafom kwam

• Kwame Afum, Germany 6 years ago

In fact I don't believe anything from this do called lady professor, better shut up with your researches and so call history please.

• A.Amanor 6 years ago

I should think this old' HEN" has a personal problem with her Race and country , she want the best for the so call white man, somebody should find out how much coins the family of those missionaries given her...what a cheap h ...

• hay 6 years ago

So what we're the locals cultivating before the Europeans came?

• Danfo 6 years ago

They were cultivating kelewele.

• kizito 6 years ago

Everything good is attributed to the " whites", why? How many cocoa pods did Tetteh Quarshie brought to Ghana that it then begun to go commercial? What prevented the missionaries cocoa seeds from going commercial? Let's pleas ...

• Solomon 6 years ago

Associate Prof are you trying to make a name out of falsehood?

• Hard Truth 6 years ago

This is the problem with most Ghanaian's, we don't learn and don't wish to learn, we speak like we pass food through our a_ _s. Shut up and allow yourselves to be educated by the female professor.
    Basic history would tell u ...

• Prince tetteh Quarshie 6 years ago

This woman is indeed very stupid shame on you woman,kwassia where were you when my great granpa was bringing cocoa to Ghana nonsense woman fool.

• David 6 years ago

Please don't insult her you must respect her please ,because she knows better than you.

????????????????????????????Hahahaha. Ghanaians will really struggle to develop cos these attitude is still in the diaspora. They come on radio stations U.K. and insult former presidents even so call priest will come on air a ...

Intellects will ponder on the professor' comment, do their research on the topic, then comment or criticise not insulting the poor woman who's invested her time and resources to arrive at her conclusion. That shows how Ghanai ...

• Not important 6 years ago

People are really ignorant
    All of you insulting this woman don't have anything close to her education
    You will all love to have her in your families in one capacity or another-mother or wife
    Be respectful. If you disagr ...

• Isaac 6 years ago

Is she also coming to change history that the whole world knows
    Well their leader is changing history of ghana first president
    You are wrong please

• Cris 6 years ago

Madam, where from this, are u serious ?

• addAm 6 years ago

Thanks Prof......Historical facts are historical facts. There are a lot of things we've gotten wrong in Ghana when it comes to our history. Africans keep on saying our history has been mis-recorded by "the other" and yet when ...

• Nii Mensah Anang-Yakah 6 years ago

Brothers and Sisters, please it is TRUE that our kinsman Tetteh Quarshie was not the FIRST PERSON who brought COCOA to the then Gold Coast. All the Earlier ones did not survive because the tree was not given the ATTENTION it ...

• ahmed hamza 6 years ago

Prof i want to believe that thé one Who spread thé coacoa should rather be given thé overall crédit. We all knows how thé whiteman operates, maybe when they brought it, they never wants us(africains) to know until our o ...

• Nii Mensah Anang-Yakah 6 years ago

It I'd True that from KG to tertiary we learned about Tetteh Quarshie and Cocoa. In the same way we learned about NINE PLANENT with an accompanying Poem; My Very Eyes May Just See Under Nine Planets. Sorry this Poem has expir ...

• paa kwasi 6 years ago

Oh Ghana, why always doubting ourselves. Let us believe ourselves

• Joe 6 years ago

Who brought cocoa to Ghana? Was it Tetteh Quarshie or Rev Hass? Discuss

New exam question.

• BEN 6 years ago

It seem those who are commenting on this issue do not understand our lady professor, in our school we were thaught Tetteh Quarshie was the first person to bring cocoa to Ghana. The writers hide the truth about the first peopl ...

• Akwesi Ampofo 6 years ago

I have no idea my beloved Ghana is full of idiots. I don't think this poor woman deserves insults from you. For trying to get you out of your ignorance.

• Afadi007 6 years ago

Where in their country is cocoa grown?in mean the missionaries.

• God hv mercy 6 years ago

quite surprising. What do u people expected to hear. The truth ought to be told. Tetteh Quashie just championed the re- establishment of Cocoa. The ultimate credit should be given to the Basel missionaries.

• Wofa Manu 6 years ago

It is a fact that Tetteh Quarshie first saw the cocoa crop in Akropong -Akuapem.The crop was planted in gardens and not on commercial basis.
    When Tetteh Quarshie travelled to Fenandapo he brought more seeds to start the com ...

• Wofa Manu 6 years ago

It is a fact that Tetteh Quarshie first saw the cocoa crop in Akropong -Akuapem.The crop was planted in gardens and not on commercial basis.
    When Tetteh Quarshie travelled to Fenandapo he brought more seeds to start the com ...

• APESE NABI ADJETEY 6 years ago

What's she about, what does she want to prove???
    This a shameless attempt to discredit a fellow countryman,who has gone down in history as having achieved what the great grandfather of this woman couldn't have even dreamt of ...

• Mr Atwe 6 years ago

If Tetteh Quarshie were an Akan, this tribalistic chew pour pass professor would not be talking this shit.

• Wofa Manu 6 years ago

Those who want to know more should go to Akropong -Akuapem and ask about Owura Moh Trom (Mr Moh's Garden).The first cocoa seeds were planted in that garden ????.

• Niki SakiSaki 6 years ago

Initially they said the guy was not Tetteh Quashie but Titi Kwesi from Mampong. They tried to change his geographical location. And now they want to discredit his legacy. Let the prof. tell us about exact location where okomf ...

• APESE NABI ADJETEY 6 years ago

Re:SHE IS AKUAPIM
    Tetteh Quarshie is not Akuapim,Tetteh Quarshie hailed from La,usually referred to as Labadi
    His father's name is MLEKU BOI from the Lenshie Quarter of La and,his mother NAA ASHONGFIO from NII ADJEI NKPA WE ...

• Niki 6 years ago

the prof need find remnants of osofo haas cocoa or whatever crop that is to compare with, then the prof would have done history some service, but I think she can rely on research allowance to do that, like where the osofo bro ...

• Emmanuel Amoako.Telford Shropshire.uk 6 years ago

I think that woman should shut up right now and to remind her history is history so she can not change the history if she thinks she knows too much and she should keep it to herselfthank u

• joe 6 years ago

so wat ve u brought tu our modaland gh pls appricaite wat ur bro ve bring n stop dat

• sark 6 years ago

Guys, Tetteh Quarshie popularised cocoa cultivation in Ghana but he didn't bring the pods first into the country!!

Is this too much to process??

• Sam Adjei 6 years ago

That's exactly the point. People are not "processing" what the Prof is saying. They are angry over nothing. It's unfortunate that we can't have civil discussions anymore. People always bring in politics and religion and too q ...

• Richie 6 years ago

I don't agree with her. The issue is Tetteh Quarshie brought cocoa to Ghana and it was cultivated widely. That is the origin of cocoa cultivation in Ghana, period

• freshboy 6 years ago

Upon all what has been said you still disagree.You need free education seriously..

• Joseph K. Mensah, PhD. USA 6 years ago

History has to told as it really happened. This world is full of distorted tales of history which upon scholarly scrutiny falls apart. It had nothing to do with national pride or prestige. As an example, now there are Europea ...

• Awudiyue Bernard 6 years ago

My dear brothers and sisters why do you refuse to accept the truth as it is. It is difficult for a truthful person to turn black into white. Kudos to you prof

• kootse 6 years ago

This forest folks,haters of every achievement from the people of the capital city of Ghana are always trying to kill any good thing about the GA people . But they should know that their efforts ...

• Seth Abbey 6 years ago

Shame on u where were you when history was written. So who brought the first cocoa to Ghana. Go back and re-write our history for us then. Professors in other countries are coming up with inovation and inventions what about ...

• Nii 6 years ago

There are more important things to search for. Hope you don't have selfish intention. God bless is all.

• Yaw prako 6 years ago

Dis is lie by dis so call prof shame unto her

• Ama Ansah 6 years ago

Don't sit down and say this is a lie, go research and prove her wrong, you talk like you are not educated. I feel sorry for you. If you don't have anything to say then just be quiet.

• Benjie 6 years ago

Please visit www.cocobod.gh to confirm what the Professor said.

• Rosie 6 years ago

Thank you Prof....i have always,admired the strides you have made in history as a student till date...keep up the good work and ignore the unfortunate, hateful and ignorant comments spewed here...

• Kwadwo Jecty. 6 years ago

My stupid countrymen are so thick in the head, they can't learn anything new.
    This is informationI knew 47 years ago. Cocoa was limited to the backyard gardens of Basel missionaries in Akropong Akwapim where Tetteh Quarshie ...

• Okukuseku 6 years ago

Crabology at it best, just some small credit too you want to take it away from Tetteh Qarshie and go and give it to the Europeans,how much where you paid to come and say this? At least it's on record Tetteh Quarshie brought c ...

• Na this Woman dey craz 6 years ago

Who the hell is this lunatic woman? Is she learning a history now at her age? Mother F

• Esong 6 years ago

I have nothing to say about this historian

• Baffour 6 years ago

Another educated NPP bigot,running amok with history.So much confused.Very soon they will tell us that CPPwas formed by Akuffo Addo and J.B Danquah is father of the nation. Aaaaaaba.

• Bobby 6 years ago

Idiots. So if a story is untrue it must be kept as true. Why do we seek knowledge? So if F. K Buah said at he Ashanti's came from soil or something if the sought and from the knowledge we have found to be untrue we should sti ...

• VK 6 years ago

Why do Ghanaians refuse to analyze available facts and face the reality rather than always yearning to be told lies? The lady is a brave scholar to reveal this information which is available to most researchers. She did not s ...

• nana otoadea ontuaka d 1st 6 years ago

dear editor,pls why do u allow people to badmouth others who do not share their opinions? u guys out der pls be show some respect.

• A. Y. Azure 6 years ago

so we shd do what?
    why is it DAT de missionaries failed to popularized it?
    because dey lack de knowledge of cultivation.so Tette kwashie went to Fernando po to learn de cultivation of de crop n also know de right seed fr pr ...

• Elfuego 6 years ago

prof.Does it really matter? army worms are destroying maize and cocoa farms and u are here talking about who brought cocoa pods to Ghana? Pls use ur Education to help mother Ghana to to distort history.

• Peter Ossae 6 years ago

Prof. Perbi's assertion could be true judging from the circumstances given.

• Sam Adjei 6 years ago

All those who are hurling insults at this renowned historian should be completely ashamed of themselves. She was not "rewriting history" or "trying to distort the truth". The problem with our societies today is that we don't ...

• thewho 6 years ago

Name teach the youth the right but not changing history.with your knowledge and such statements?God save Ghana.

• Natty Bongo 6 years ago

It's true, the Prof is right, I learnt in elementary history about 40 yrs ago that the Basel Missionaries were first to bring Cocoa into the Gold Coast but their Cocoa did not grew well, later on Tetteh Quarshie brought his ...

• Petrock 6 years ago

This is the absolute truth. Consult history and social studies books before you start raining insults.

• David 6 years ago

insulting a woman of height a shame to your integrity. Salute Mrs prof Akosua your works are being are being recognized by wise intellectuals like us

• Still Moving 6 years ago

Really?

• Francis 6 years ago

Well said Prof. Akosua Perbi for correcting history. Truth is that which matches the facts. And what you said is the truth because it matches the facts.

Those arguing about this fact should go back and read: "West African ...

• Yram. 6 years ago

We need to know the truth. To some of you who do not want to acquire knowledge can criticize the prof.

• MICHAEL KALE-AGBEKOR 6 years ago

I heard this just last week & now this a confirmation.

• H.Nii Abbey 6 years ago

So what next? Change our History books?

• H.Nii Abbey 6 years ago

What next? Change our History books?