You are here: HomeNews2017 06 14Article 547994

Corrupt police administration covering up culprits in $1.3m gold scam - US investor

Read Comments Comments (121)

• EFO KOKU 6 years ago

The Ghana police corruption has now taken international dimension. The IGP won't do anything because he is one of them. No wonder they always top the most corrupt institution in Ghana. The Ghana police is the reason why nothi ...

• gretchy 6 years ago

Investors will never have business in Ghana if those Police,BNI,MP keep stealing.Huh! my friend was very lucky and if wasnt for customs helping her by holding onto her gold the bastard police would have stolen that too.GHana ...

• don't care.. 6 years ago

Hmmmm!this nowadays Ghana stinks too much of corruption..

Nowadays ghana prefer to PROTECT criminals while persecuting the innocents or Deforming the decent ones

what type country are we building?...

• Kwaku Manu 6 years ago

Check the dates and you will realize this is an NDC and JDM legacy. This is how far your NDC corrupted Ghana and it's institutions.

• Guy-Guy. 6 years ago

Any sound mind foreign investor will not buy Gold in a black-market, the white boy had his fingers burnt by Nigerians living in Ghana and should give us a break with his nonsense.

• koffi parker 6 years ago

sometimes cheaters deserve to be cheated but in this case it appears they have been duped. I believe the deal was incepted by fake Police or not authorized,

• Kwabena 6 years ago

The results of black marketing, oyewa!. Dog eat dog.

• Citrix 6 years ago

where as every develope country is built on with the police institution, Ghana police service is simply CORRUPT and a BIG TIME DISGRACE. CORRUPTION has made that country a FAILED STATE!and could only be saved by CIVIL WAR. th ...

• Mensa 6 years ago

MUST BE STOPED

• yanks 6 years ago

the guy colluded with police to arrest the buyers of the gold

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 6 years ago

This is very annoying, these wicked and self centered individuals are bent on bringing the reputation of Ghana into the dustbins. I'm suspicious even of their names. Their names sounds like Nigerian and Beninois descents: a ...

• Rev Edwin 6 years ago

It is rather sad these police men deserve to be lynched, fucking useless criminals they should all be arrested and sent to gonja barracks for special treatment.

• Rev Edwin 6 years ago

And what is the US ambassador doing, they should get seriously involved.

• Nice 6 years ago

Pls report to the CIA and your FBI wai. Ghana police ar as good as robbers.

• Lynda 6 years ago

*It's middle of the year already. Get your hands busy - it can make U RAW cash!. Learn ! Get " Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs : A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals " ! Guaranteed* Visit Amazon, Barnes & Noble, ...

• Felicia 6 years ago

Say it again oo my dear, the Ghana police can never be trusted, they're money hungry, some of them are thieves and all they can do best is ripping off the citizens of Ghana off their hard end money.
    And is from the top to do ...

• asem beba dabi 6 years ago

Our corrupt institutions and how armed robbers are often set free led to the unfortunate death of an innocent accomplished soldier, Major Mahama to be wrongfully killed. Two wrongs don't make right but we must investigate our ...

• Lixo 6 years ago

Very stupid comments from a typical Ghanaian who as usual will not objectively analyse an issue for public discussion. Have Ghanaians taking the pain to answer those begging unanswered questions surrounding the death of the l ...

• OMAN BA PA 6 years ago

MAHAMA,NDC WILL NEVER COME TO POWER AGAIN,CRIMINALS,EVILS,THIEVES,CRIMINALS AND FOOOLS,

• YAW(VA) 6 years ago

This ewe guy was being shielded and protected by the NDC folks. How can Nana Addo increase private sector investment with all these corruption going on? That swindler is an ewe and he was being protected by the ewe dominated ...

• wabodam 6 years ago

Bloody scoundrel. You're both homosexuals and uncultured cowards. Keep sucking your own dicks and keep tickling those gonads. Knuckleheads abound in this forum.

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 6 years ago

Yaw(VDA), do u think the current IGP and his new officers are any better or you did not know what is happening in Ghana now?

• yanks 6 years ago

but this case is definitely ndc ayigbe scam

• black powers the grand master 6 years ago

black indian spiritualist in ghana
    healing0244908520 of hiv power of invisible
    healing powers,, money rituals promotion how to get employed
    contact master of the night the grand master lord dickson

• ponowarzy 6 years ago

Chai Ghana police!
    When we d citizenry say u r corrupt, u debunk it. U av gone international with ur currupt n unprofessional attitude.
    D image of Ghana indeed is sinking before d very eyes of d world.

• Kwasi 6 years ago

Shame on the Ghana Police Service

• W'Liata 6 years ago

Serves them right. Leave the white man to exploit the black man. Who values 13 kilos of gold @ $1.3m. I will smell rat if I am offered such deal. Africans are not that stupid.

• CAPtain Macho 6 years ago

Who sent a pedophile as a prophet. FOOLISH Mohamedans

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 6 years ago

Ash hadu Allah ilaaha ilaAllah. Wa ash hadu anna Muhammadan Rasuulullah. Do this and save your soul. For your words might endanger your own life. Islam=peace.

• No Mercy 6 years ago

Stupid idiots Muslims.

• Maltima 6 years ago

May ALLAH forgive you

• yanks 6 years ago

guys so intrigued by these arabs and their religion?

• Victor A. Young 6 years ago

Ghana Police is so corrupt that finally, they've been exposed! These kinds of bribery and corruption have been going on to the extent that gov't appointees, ministers of state and the NDC under John Mahama are complicit in th ...

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 6 years ago

US,CANADIAN BANK ACCOUNT MONEY TRANSFERS AVAILABLE. 101% CASH OUT, RISK FREE.

*Banks Needed*
    TD USA BANK
    US BANK
    USAA BANK
    ZEAL CREDIT UNION
    BBVA COMPASS
    CP FEDERAL CREDIT UNION
    REDSTONE CREDIT UNION
    SCOTTRADE ...

• Kofi K 6 years ago

That is what happens to "Mafia" foreign investors who wants to do business in Ghana through the back door thus avoiding taxes.

• BE INTELLIGENT 6 years ago

Some investors would keep quiet and leave without coming out with the story, and possibly proceed to join the chorus of defamation to other genuine investors. Believe it, the Embassies are documenting such stories for other i ...

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

DO FOKO PERIOD, NPP AND NDC ALL THE SAME TWEAAAAAAA

• and he said what? 6 years ago

Really? The investors engaged in nothing illegal in their transaction. The seller rather is the one that needs to be looked at to see if it has been paying taxes on its past "business" dealings. The USA buyer made a purchase ...

• Bob 6 years ago

We're determined as a country to be to lawless and corrupt from our bedrooms to the highest public office in the land. What an embarrassment?

• Bbb 6 years ago

NDC nothing good about them...

• Adika 6 years ago

Mahama's Gpvt cost Ghana its credibility in the world. The President and his wife had no money to start with so used the office to amass wealth . Ironically, that was the reason for the June which is celebrated by some thick ...

• Ke 6 years ago

Good comment adult . Hopefully they change law so they can go after that pure evil corrupt cunt of an ex president

• Adika 6 years ago

Ghana Police are the most corrupt police in the whole world.

• No Mercy 6 years ago

All the Ghana Police officers must be sack.Police officers are now Criminals Am robbers.Thieves like NDCs Party members.Rawlings was President and Killed many people.No more NDC

• dunaa 6 years ago

Yes, the Ghana Police is corrupt. This Global Resources saga, is only one of the examples. I have heard of other episodes in which the Police have acted in illogical and incomprehensible ways. Ghana suffers for these actions ...

• FOREVER 6 years ago

Sir take it somewhere else. We don't need your lecturing on foreign investments. You are not an investor but a swindler of the Ghanaian people.
    Ghana seeks genuine investors not greedy speculators. Can we come to your Ameri ...

• luck day 6 years ago

Hmmm God save us, Ohh Ghana or dear country name is in mud water again how long will greedy people keep looting the innocent victim

• Ibard 6 years ago

This white people are also thieves.How could you handover 1.3million dollar in cash to someone?How did the money get to Ghana?They are equally guilty of money laundry..Jail all of them

• LORD 6 years ago

who buys 1.3m cedis worth of gold in an hotel room. stupid sleazeball, the police have enough unsolved crimes they cant handle. now this, take a number and have a sit. IDIOT

• Charles Kasoa 6 years ago

Next time you should deal with PMMC Ghana Ltd where transaction will be safely delivered.

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Donald Duck 6 years ago

You don't do gold transactions in hotel rooms anywhere in the world and call it legal. Legal gold is sold by licensed Gold traders in their office premises. Everybody thinks they can come to Africa and break the rules to make ...

• Kofi Thompson 6 years ago

Something isn't right with this story.

Is this not the same company mining gold illegally in the Aminase forest reserve when it only has a prospecting license?

So Major Mahama sacrificed his life for foreigners breakin ...

• ILLEGAL OR NOT, & MEDIA 'LL FOLLOW 6 years ago

It's a shame to read how the police handled the case. And every right minded citizen should condemn them for their actions so far, whether this company acted illegally or legally. This could happen to a local company, and in ...

• Julius Asare 6 years ago

Your long winding essay is crooked to support scamming and corruption in Ghana.you asked the relevant questions that the buyers out to answer all right.however are you in support of the actions of the police and the dubious g ...

• Kofi Thompson 6 years ago

Massa, yes, corruption in the Ghana Police Service ought to be condemned. And I am against it too.

But are James Babieri & Co of Globasl Green Resources Limited being truthful? I simply don't believe them.

There is a w ...

• LORD 6 years ago

FOR SECURITY PURPOSES THERE IS A SEAL AND SERIAL NUMBER ON A GOLD BAR IF IT IS LEGIT TRANSACTION

• Kofi Nkansah 6 years ago

Please let's listen to the story teller selling and buying gold in a hotel. It was illegal transaction in the first place in a hotel ist black market. He is a businessman do they buy GOLD or sell gold in AMERICA in hotels. Tn ...

• Alonzo 6 years ago

It will be stupid to politicize this issue . This is a complete institutional failure . Corruption and thievery of the police have not stopped under theNPP either. We need institutional reforms in the police service . That is ...

• Concern citizen 6 years ago

Gold dealer or invester.A ghanaian will be called dealer but being a foreignerfan an invester.

• Asuoba 6 years ago

John mahama 419 gang No money enough for him

• Okyere Eric 6 years ago

It's pathetic that all this while that Ghanaians have been crying of corruption in the Ghana police service, they were never taken seriously. Now that a foreigner says it maybe something will change... Sorry to say this

B ...

• Ali Mahama 6 years ago

A good Test Case for Akuffo Addo and IGP, to demonstrate their determination to deal with the base of Corruption in Ghana.

• Olive 6 years ago

U seize gold from somebody without issuing receipt and u claimed the gold was fake ? Who witnessed the testing of the gold ? Even if the gold was fake, how come the seller is not apprehended ? And the Ghana police still insi ...

• Obroniba 6 years ago

i share the grave ordeal of this foreign investor. How can the police be soooo corrupt and gain international popularity? If the state does not act swiftly on this issue, the USA has so many ways of dealing with Gh. These and ...

• Percy 6 years ago

This is very despecable n irritating. Individuals will.never change yet blame govt at e slightest chance. Too bad. GH police

• Ogyam 6 years ago

Ewe man investigating Ewe man nothing good will come out of it. Green Resources let the IGP change the Ewe investigator.

• Julius Asare 6 years ago

What is this cock and bull shit story about NDC in this gold scam issue?the scam occurred in November last year.we are 6 good months into the new administration and it' dilly dally.will Ghana work with this NDC,NPP shit when ...

• ogor 6 years ago

i am happy James has been scammed.white are greedy.why is it that they used their own equipments to see that they bought a real gold.this is childless trick from James and his business associate.because they wanted to cheat K ...

• peeee 6 years ago

Ceased or seized?who wrote introduction??

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 6 years ago

Ghana police are also involved in protecting criminals who are stealing lands at Peduase, and lands commission officials who are allowing already registered lands to be re-registered to their criminal friends.

Lands commis ...

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

Thank you! You hit the nail right on the head!

We don't seem to get it! DEM-ALL-CRAZY forged by other systems is NOT for us!
    We are Africans!!!!

GOD BLESS GHANA!
    AFRICAN FOREVER!

• JAY 6 years ago

It is 1.3m cedis not dollars

• JAY 6 years ago

I already said it,IGP is CORRUPT, remember he was the Director of CID operations before he became lGP,a lot of cases remain unprosecuted because of him,eg the missing cocaine,Yaa Naa,numerous murder etc

• JJ 6 years ago

You guys should stop politicise this matter the same thing happened in Kuffours time

• Lunsford 6 years ago

. MR PREZ. . 'WAKE UP' ON THIS CASE AND ARREST IDIOT OFFICERS WHO WANTS TO BREAK YOUR GOV'T .SHAME TO LEGON POLICE OFFICERS

• Next President of Ghana 6 years ago

nonsense. Is Ghana is his country. He go back to his country and mine Gold there.

• kwaku-Holland 6 years ago

He came to invest, everyone has the right to do that in any civilized country. Don't spew such nonsese

• Else 6 years ago

Innocent lives have been lost due to bad leadership. Corrupt Mahama. This only police corruption. Only God knows the corruption in Ghana Armed Forces. Pure murderers

• kwaku 6 years ago

Ghana is a failed country. Very corrupt in every aspect of our lives. 99.9% Ghanaians are corrupt, Churches, Banking Sector, Police, Market women, Trotro Drivers, Parliamentarians and politicans, Nurses, Doctors Lawyers , Jud ...

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

I have always said that the DEM-ALL-CRAZY we have embarked on, does not and will NOT help us in Africa.....let alone GHANA!

We are continually forcing square pegs into round holes and expect to shove them in easily???/

• BOSOMPRAH 6 years ago

THE NDC administration was always giving Ghana a bad name to Ghana.The seizure of the gold was orchestrated by the police and the seller.Typical 419 movement. Akufo Addo and Kyeremateng should fish out the perpetrators and br ...

• kwaku 6 years ago

A failed dead country called Ghana

• Kingsford 6 years ago

IT'S A SHAME TO GHANA POLICE/BNI/CID OFFICERS SO NANA ADDO SHINE YOUR EYES,OOO OTHERWISE THESE MEN WILL LET YOU BOW DOWN YOUR HEAD AND WEEP, I SWEAR TO GOD.

• yabs 6 years ago

police

• concern citizen 6 years ago

This is very serious and our president needs to sit up. Fighting corruption is not by word of mouth. If these perpetrators are not brought to book NPP has lost my vote for ever and I'll make sure I campaign against them. The ...

• PADG 6 years ago

Gold is not like tomatoes to be sold at the market place .You leave your and come to GHANA to buy gold you have first contact PMMC that is agency set up to deal with Gold Issues you go meet crook business men and problems dev ...

• ANTWI BOASIAKO 6 years ago

TWO WRONGS DON'T MAKE RIGHT BUT I KNOWN 100% SURE THAT THIS KIND OF POLICE CORRUPTION COURSE THE DEATH OF MAJOR MAHAMA AND SO MANY OTHERS IN GHANA, MAY THEIR SOUL REST IN PEACE. THE MASSES HAVE COME TO UNDERSTAND THAT THERE I ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Haha this is not new. When it comes to corruption, that is Ghana police 's middle name. That gold has be given to their connexion men. The corruption is deep rooted from the top to bottom. They are lazy, dirty and corrupt. A ...

• KAAJII 6 years ago

THE COURAGE GEGEPE KOBBY COUPLED WITH THE POLICE COMMANDER AT LEGON ORCHESTRATED THE 419 MOVE. THEY NEED TO BE ARRESTED AND JAILED. I AM WONDERING WHY THESE AYIGBES ARE TOO MUCH INTO 419. THEY SHOULD ALL BEST ARRESTED WITH T ...

• YeboahJ 6 years ago

A bunch of CRIMINALs form the Ghana Police!!!!!. A Swiss lady in Labadi had the same experience and NOTHING was done for her. The scammer and her dad had links with the police HQ so she lost everything!!!!!. Selfish Brutes!!!

• TOGA 6 years ago

The institution is corrupt to the core,and it starts right from recruitment,where politicians have hijacked the process. Criminals with right party connections have inundated the service. Placements and promotions are determi ...

• Akos 6 years ago

Ghana police are not corrupt in this matter,they are protecting Ghana interest and from today going is Ghana first Gh

• Good News 6 years ago

The Ghana police force is made up of Ghanaian citizens from all the political parties ..NPP,NDC,CPP,NDP etc, so no body should attack any particular party for this shamefull act.We should all take the blame for what i see no ...

• Amidini 6 years ago

IGP and police administration must team up to redeem their image. Why should we allow foreigners to rubbish us like that. I ve heard the US investor at CITI & JOY FM and I was mad.

• A ghanaian 6 years ago

Yes our police are corrupt but If these investor are doing business ligally, there are ligal ways to purchase/ to buy GOLD in every country. They know it,not because its Africa or Ghana.

• Koforidua Bob 6 years ago

This is no suprise,foreign buisness men should do their research before doing buisness in Ghana. The country as a world wide reputation for coruption.

• and he said what? 6 years ago

It's not only the Police in Ghana that are corrupt. From the President down to the lowest folks in society, everyone's middle name is "Corruption". Ghana has slowly turned from a beautiful country with nice people into a sick ...

• Obroni 6 years ago

Please, he is a trader not an investor, secondly what type of bonafide gold trader buys from hustler whilst there are official channels?

• SELORM DEKU 6 years ago

Ghana is becoming too sad a place. Greed smeared with religiosity.

• joel nana prempeh (germany) 6 years ago

thank you sir,for knowing them well.
    thier all corrupt.but dont worry there is god.one day they will face god..

• Dzata 6 years ago

Ghanaians aint smart enough and always accusing their institutions. All this foreigners who are scammed are greedy and out of their greediness they fall victims of scammers.
    What they had was not genuine gold and the police ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

OOh, what a shame

• young 6 years ago

Ghana police service is full of miracle workers, this time gold has turn into sand,wonderful.

• Truth 6 years ago

I have dealt with the police first hand and they are institutionally corrupt to the core. I have two cases right now which are going nowhere because of corruption. Why we have police in Ghana is a mystery because the only pur ...

• kwaku-Holland 6 years ago

I am sorry to learn of your ordeal. Hope you get justice. It is really a nightmare to say the least. Ignore the internet trolls who have nothing positive to write. Without FDI(Foreign Direct Investment) Ghana will be on her d ...

• B-WISE 6 years ago

We always wake up to hear our leaders telling us to work hard and honest, and to trust our institutions in their work, forgetting those institutions are paid with our taxes. I need someone to explain this to me. Why do those ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

LOOK YOU BETTER THANK YOUR STARS FOR THE TYPE OF OFFICERS YOU ARE DEALING WITH AT THE TOP HERE! THEY ARE DOING SUPER WELL FOR YOU! SO DO NOT AGITATAE THEM! SOME OF THE POLICE OFFICERS ARE NOT THE TYPE YOU WILL WANT IN YOUR CA ...

• Englewood 6 years ago

please don't insult d sensibilities of ewe people. Concentrate on d issue and stop d insults. Be wise and courteous.

• Kwaku Ananse 6 years ago

These are some of the reason why Ghana and Africa as a whole will continue to surfer . Our leaders are driving away investors.Fuck all corrupt leaders.

• Mr. Clever 6 years ago

Was like this, is like this, will always be like this.

• G. K. Berko 6 years ago

Ghana is fast slipping into a Nation of Lawlessness and widespread criminal collusion with her Police.

From the incident that involved the current Tourism Minister in which she was accused for having duped a foreign inve ...

• Alauo- Adisco 6 years ago

OH GHNA POLICE WHERE ARE YOU LEADING GHANATO IT IS SHAMEFUL

• TKn 6 years ago

American police continue to kill black people while Ghanaian police continue to scam investors: Which kind institution is that. They are useless everywhere.

• Jeff, UK 6 years ago

It's a well known fact. It's not just the police. Customs, immigration and even the judiciary. If nothing goes wrong, count yourself lucky bcos you will never get out unscathed

• Samuel azumah 6 years ago

Is there any evidence?the invester should produce it.i know thè system is working in ghàna.it worked under mr mahama,thè former p?esidènt.

• Peter 6 years ago

Well the is police is also corrupt in dealing with african americans in his country too.

• black fellow 6 years ago

Police administration is more corrupt than the devil himself. We will see what they will do to their senior colleague thief .

WAITING FOR HIM, USELESS INCOMPETENT WICKED EVIL DISGRACEFUL ALCOHOLIC WOMANISER KWASEA ABOAFOON MAHAMA

THIS IS DONE IN NIGERIA NOT IN GHANA PERIOD

• Jipsy 6 years ago

Fuck the police and the judiciary, they are spoiling the image of the country. They did it to me so me personally believe in instant justice which wasnt my way but the way Ghana, Accra, Sakumono police station a CID lady call ...