You are here: HomeNews2017 06 01Article 543213

Captain Mahama and his men were not protecting illegal miners – CDS

Read Comments Comments (84)

• TEL: 0542112784 6 years ago

Both qualified and unqualified teachers are need to teach Preschoolers, Elementary Students And Disabled Students in Finland and Romanian.

Plane ticket and Accommodation will be paid by the agency.

• Sid usa 6 years ago

FOOLSH lie can u find something genuine stupid ass

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 6 years ago

TERMINATE THIS MOTHEFUCKER FOR LYING TO THE COMMANDER IN CHIEF..WHEN U LIE IN UNIFORM. U HAVE COMMITTED TREASON

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

All across the world, security at mines is a civilian matter but unfortunately the Ghana has reduced itself so low to the point that they are now watchmen for Chinese Galamseyers. This is how far John and Ibrahim Mahama have ...

• KOFI AYIGBE 6 years ago

YOU WOULD HAVE SCORED BETTER TELLING US YOU'LL LOOK INTO THE SO-CALLED OPERATIONAL DUTIES. YOUR REPUTATION IS HANGING NOW. YOU'RE VERY STUPID BECAUSE YOU WERE PROMOTED RECENTLY TO THE POST AND MAY NOT HAVE ALL THE DETAILS WI ...

• Tiago 6 years ago

Massa u are a fraud and thank God u are putting your contact number there. The law will soon catch up with u.

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

From what the CDS is saying, it means the military high command sanctioned the protection of illegal miners in a prohibited forest reserve and, once the military has sanctioned such activity, it makes the whole galamsey opera ...

• D DAY 6 years ago

NO, THE CDS IS BEING DEPLOMATIC. MAHAMA ENJOYED THE CDR IN CHIEF POSITION TO DESTROY THE MILITARY. THE INVESTIGATION WILL REVEAL ALL AND NEVER AGAIN SHOULD OUR MILITARY DEVIATE FROM THE DEFENCE POLICY OF GHANA

• D DAY 6 years ago

NO, THE CDS IS BEING DEPLOMATIC. MAHAMA ENJOYED THE CDR IN CHIEF POSITION TO DESTROY THE MILITARY. THE INVESTIGATION WILL REVEAL ALL AND NEVER AGAIN SHOULD OUR MILITARY BE DEVIATED FROM THE DEFENCE POLICY OF GHANA BY POLITI ...

• louis 6 years ago

wish this same tin will happen to one day ,will fast for that .wise up instance justice is not good. y are the police there ?? u need to go to the university cux u can't think far idiot @AGBESI KWESI

• Leo 6 years ago

Thank You

• ELINAM 6 years ago

One hand, the new NPP government of Nana Addo is making ten-day wonders by fighting illegal mining while on the other hand, his military appointees from the minister of Defense and now his CDS is lying and covering for the ...

• batman 6 years ago

It will one day happened to u or any of ur family members,then u will ve the guts to write this shit,

• Ghana ba 6 years ago

The truth is what they are talking about. they sent them on an illegal mission. they have a hand in the young man' death but do jotbwant to admit. # dangerous ghana

• Ewurade Kasa 6 years ago

Ghanaweb must not allow this site to he used by human traffickers. These job ads are being peddled by Nigerians and some Ghanaians who want to get "application fees" from their naïve applicants. Ghanaweb must start removing ...

• Edem Kojo 6 years ago

You can say what you want but. We know the truth and that is he was protecting the illegal miners. Though that does not justify the killing. The military is well known to be protecting illegal miners. What has happened to tho ...

• Nature Florida 6 years ago

Dude tell the people the truth don't take someone's son/daughter to that place and leave them stranded. Am a a soldier and have deployed with NATO forces intensively to those Baltic regions people be wise, don't let people ta ...

• Northern Boy 6 years ago

Can the CDS please tell the public what the soldiers were there for? You've told us what they are not there for. We also want to know what they are doing there.

• AGYA NIMO 6 years ago

What sort of operations captain Maxwell Mahama and his men were doing in Denkyira villages. They have been there a while and the Chinese illegal miners keep on digging our lands. If these soldiers were not protecting NDC Chin ...

GAF COMMITTED TEASON. WHY WERE THE GAF OFFICERS THERE N FOR WHAT PURPOSE? WHERE IS THE OFFICIAL MEMO? LIES.
    He emphasised that their presence in the area was “sanctioned” by the military high command with the knowledge o ...

• Kwadwo 6 years ago

Mining in a forest reserve is illegal by itself regardless of size of the mining company doing it Soldiers have no business protecting and enterprise that destroys protected forest.The killing was senseless but the army is wa ...

• Steves electronics Hartford ct. 6 years ago

This is not to glorify the lynching,
    I understand he had a GUN , was it loaded or was just for a show ? a real soldier should have crushed these villagers if his gun was loaded .

• Ghanaian Patriot 6 years ago

Is NDC in charge or incompetent Nana? How come we still have galamsey everwhere in the mining areas? Did the minister not go to plead with the NPP foolsoldiers at their support base to have patience since their party is not a ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 6 years ago

You haven't been following the news.

Illegal miners Genuine miners etc have paid for licences.

From what has come out in the open, Mining licences were issued legally to big mining companies who in turn sold their conc ...

• Kweku trouble 6 years ago

Do you undertand security issues?

• Lixo 6 years ago

Hmmmnmmmm

• Odikro 6 years ago

I think the Ghana Army is really becoming more disciplined thank those of the Agbotui era. Compare what the CDS said to the nonsense of the theory of justice delivered by the 'ol murderer.

• ELINAM 6 years ago

In which way? By cover ups? When the minister of lands and mineral resources red-handedly arrested them Russians in the bush with our military personnel protecting them, did the "disciplined" military high command owned up t ...

• Mugu Yaro 6 years ago

The fundamental question is WHY IS THE GHANA ARMED FORCES PROVIDING SECURITY FOR PRIVATE COMPANIES?

• Yaa Nkosuo 6 years ago

When it was announced the Army(or is it Navy) were going to be protecting the Oil companies I asked this question on this forum.
    If the Govt of Ghana is going to protect Private companies, THEN those companies must foot the ...

• Kwabena 6 years ago

What exactly was he staying in that community for? May his soul rest in perfect peace.

• No nonsense 6 years ago

Now bring all the nonsense out. Stupid

• Akos Mark 6 years ago

This is what Ghana has become. People in government use their position to fleece the country and populace.why on earth should soldiers who are suppose to be in the barracks be deployed to a place where there is no conflict,no ...

• Fire to Fire 6 years ago

What a sad comment!

ANS: MANSNSNDDNDNNDD..ENFBDBYOU KNOW....GFDJJFJFKZSKFFD... HAND TOMOUF.....NDNXNNNF BEH U KNOW SIR

WHAT WERE U DOING THERE?

• ELINAM 6 years ago

The GAF is giving cover for foreign nation wreckers, something that they had sworn an oath to fight to the last drop of their blood ? I cry for Ghana the beloved country.

• Kofi adu 6 years ago

Yes he was protecting them. Liar liar

• Abdulai Mahamadu 6 years ago

Statements making rounds that the military personnel were at Denkyirah -Obuoasi protecting illegal miners annoying.Because the government togther with its party media and religious men were heard all over for fighting galamse ...

• JOHN 6 years ago

EVERY NEWS IS FALSE.

• Nii Armah 6 years ago

You see Abdulae this is exactly how the crooks in high places wants you to think.Maxwell is dead and its very painful. Look I have worked with G4S in 2011. Newmint was sourcing security services from G4S and that is how all l ...

• NANA AMA 6 years ago

Do not even waste your breath to explain what they were protecting. It should not matter. There is no justification for what happened to him.

• simpa pening 6 years ago

Oh yes it does! It matters...

• D DAY 6 years ago

NEVER AGAIN SHOULD OUR MILITARY BE MISUSED THAT WAY TO DEVIATE FROM GHANA NATIONAL DEFENCE POLICY.

• Oboase 6 years ago

District Chief Executive (DCE) for the Upper Denkyira West, Daniel Appianing IS a true representation of the NPP.

• Koo 6 years ago

Much as I feel so saddened by the death of Capt Mahama, I believe there is something sinister going on in the country that we don't know of. Someone should please tell us what the military were there for. Now Ghanaians are in ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

The GAF put fear into them thru intimidation. You heard the Minister Of Defense intimidating the the DCE to stop saying 'WHAT HE DON'T KNOW NOTHING ABOUT"?

• "ab" 6 years ago

Where are they?Ghanaweb, we want to see the picture of the site where the deployed soldiers were protecting. Was mining truly going on in the reserved forest? If yes, who were the miners, under a Ghanaian boss or foreigner? A ...

• Nii Armah 6 years ago

And this fuckers would tell you there is indiscipline and lawlessness in the youth of today when in actual fact they are the most lawless bunch of bastards one could ever come across

• Jeans 6 years ago

If justice is not given l will not be surprised if there is a coup.The lawleessness in the country is becoming too much

GO N START A COUP. HO SENT CAPTAIN MAHAMA THERE? U THINK GH BELONGS TO YOU AND UR FUCKING FAMILY. THERE R OVER 25M PPL IN GH. SOME OVERSEAS. IF U THINK THERE WILL BE A COUP BCOS OF 1 DEATH THEN DREAM ON...LOOK AT ALL THE MONE ...

• Fire to Fire 6 years ago

But do you think the coup will solve the problem? someone may have taken money from the Chinese in return for rights to dig our gold and repatriate to China. They need to be protected so the army was sent there. Why can't the ...

• Liberty 6 years ago

Nothing short of this will pacify the land , heal this broken nation and sent a clear message to this wicked generation of thugs. After all arrest have been made by the military, the field engineers regiment should move in wi ...

Using the funds and manpower paid as taxes by the people of Boase and Diaso,? Minds, not hearts!

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

YOU OPENED YOUR MOUTH WIDE LIKE A BASKET , MAKING YOU A SUSPECT IN THIS DASTARDLY ACT! ACCUSED A GALANT SOLDIER OF BEING A GALAMSEY MAN? YOU ALSO EXPOSED YOUR IGNORANCE ABOUT THE ARMY AND ITS COMMAND!
    YOU THOUGHT THE LATE CA ...

• FANTE MAN Acquah J 6 years ago

CDS you have to do something, the MIS need to work with the Police and Captain Mahama was killed deliberately by does civilians. whether armed robber or not Ghana laws are not dead, they took the law in their own hands and ki ...

• FANTE MAN Acquah J 6 years ago

CDS you have to do something, the MIS need to work with the Police and Captain Mahama was killed deliberately by does civilians. whether armed robber or not Ghana laws are not dead, they took the law into their own hands and ...

• Steves electronics Hartford ct. 6 years ago

This is not to glorify the lynching.
    I understand he had a gun . was it loaded or it was just for a show ? . a real soldier would have crushed these villagers if his gun was loaded . lets investigate.

• JAY 6 years ago

I ALREADY SAID this,the DCE spoke the truth about the Army,the Army Commander is now trying to cover up,why is the Ghana Army which is a state institution providing security for a private company?is this constitutional?

• Kea 6 years ago

Bullshit

• Agya koo 6 years ago

What was he doing there and on whose orders,stop this stupid crap ,stop the lying and come clean. You guys are responsible for his death,what was his mission in the town,show us documents to prove his mission in the town,bunc ...

• Lixo 6 years ago

The superiors if the poor army officer contributed to his sad death. The real truth. They should come out and answer all the unanswered begging questions for Ghanaians to know.

• Agya koo 6 years ago

The very few so called educated fool are taking the rest of the citizens for granted ,like when the Europeans came to colonize us,and they have come to meet the very resistance of the natives like in those days ,and now are u ...

• ABDUL RASHID SULEMANA 6 years ago

his gun was loaded. he even shot one committee member when they confronted him

• Joey Boy 6 years ago

It is not the best for the Captain to have been lynched;we shall continue to condemn this act of instant justice. The Police have a lot of work to do. Were the residents not aware of the presence of the military in the area? ...

• Yaw Manu 6 years ago

The C.D.S., defense minister and most governments appointees are not telling the truth concerning the presence of military in the area prior to the dastardly killing of the army officer. What is the name of the so called loc ...

• Joey Boy 6 years ago

......So why wouldn't the perpetrators listen when he told them that he was a soldier and not an armed robber?

How many heard his plea? Picture the situation, sir?!

• VETERAN JOURNALIST 6 years ago

MAHAMA IS A VICTIM OF GREED. THE QUESTION THE MILITARY HIGH COMMAND MUST ANSWER. IS THERE MINING GOING ON AS ALLEGED BY THE PEOPLE OR NOT? THE FACT THAT THE HIGH COMMAND SENT THEM THERE DOES NOT MAKE IT ACCEPTABLE. MINING IS ...

• BERNARD 6 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1). USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA have a special property which enhanc ...

These inferiors of students who end up as PRO s tend to think they r dealing with infants and people who simply cannot think. Well they convey info from superiors who think they know more than the populace... Sometimes dey t ...

• kwesi 6 years ago

Please take that video from this web

• wiring90@protonmail.ch 6 years ago

AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE!!!AVAILABLE
    MONEYGRAM ,WESTERN UNION PICKUP IN LONDON, ANY RECEIVER NAME MONEY TRANSFER TO Any off these US banks bellow Email me let's make it happen NSWC FCU.....10K Every day Great Basin FCU BECU CU. ...

• VETERAN JOURNALIST 6 years ago

I AM DIRECTED TO WARN CAPT. MAHAMA'S WIFE ABOUT HER SAFETY BECAUSE SHE HAS VITAL INFORMATION ON WHAT HER HUSBAND WENT TO DO. SHE MUST QUICKLY ACCEPT THE REALITY OF HER HUSBAND'S DEATH AND THE FACT THAT SHE HAS TO LOOK AFTER H ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 6 years ago

Somebody is not telling the truth. Was Upper Denkyira declared a war zone?
    Should local authority not be made aware of military presence?

• ninja 6 years ago

if the GAF was aware of this mission why the chiefs and the assembly man was not informed?

• Skippy 6 years ago

Capt mahama's going there is NOT the first time an officer has led troops/a platoon of soldiers to that operation area.
    He relieved another officer only 3 weeks ago.
    The previous DCE has reported that he knew about the pres ...

• Nii Armah 6 years ago

You see that is what the whole problem is when one person is signing off are there no processes to bring the new one in? This is the case, now the socalled people mistook you for a thief and anyreason why they should not? Bec ...

• kwam 6 years ago

It very unfortunate comment from the DCE, but I believe DCE may be telling the truth that he is not aware of the presence of the Military in his jurisdiction. At time the Military arrive in some areas for some operations wi ...

• Papaman 6 years ago

Folks i have been listening to various commentary surrounding capt Mahama dead from the various stakeholders. Eventhough very very sad indeed i can deduce a lot from commentary.. 1. The capt went on jogging with civilian we ...

• KOFI ELLISON 6 years ago

And you still have not said what the hell the Army is doing down there.

What kind of 'sanctioned operation'is going on there?
    Are you protecting Abrofo galamsayers or are you not?

Answer

• JUSTICE 6 years ago

TRUE JUSTICE MUST BE DONE TO THESE PERPETRATORS

• EKG 6 years ago

You're a disgrace to the officers. The way this guy was killed and you're saying this as Chief of Staff di33r, it's obvious "

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 6 years ago

STUPID CDS

• Tuokorna 6 years ago

I am watching with an eagle's eye and listening with a rabbit ears, how the government of Ghana would handle the killing of Captain Mahama. This is a strong evidence indicating the government MUST get a grip on law and orde ...