You are here: HomeNews2017 05 21Article 539745

Teacher Trainees to spend an additional year in school

Read Comments Comments (76)

• OBREMPON N.Y USA 7 years ago

This is called for, it is in line with GOOD
    GOVERNANCE. BRAVO !! YOU ARE GOOD.

• Efo Kwaku Canada 7 years ago

In Canada even grade 1 teacher is University graduate, with 2 years teaching training experience after University, great NPP wise educated men and women are running the affairs of Ghana,yet stupid stomach journalist Bature wi ...

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

Did you forget Kwesi Pratt the brat?

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

What is required to become certified as a teacher in Ontario?
    Teachers in Ontario are certified to teach either general studies or technological studies. General studies include what you might think of as "traditional" schoo ...

• Kwadaso 7 years ago

I think this is just a ploy to hold back the flood of trained teachers who will end up unassigned for a long time.We are training too many Teachers and Nurses in Ghana.Why don't we include training for other sectors where we ...

• Kwazari 7 years ago

Tweeeaaaa this man is needed in consulting room looking for patients how many of medical doctors do you see in politics Canada? You are all hypocrites and fools when it comes to Ghana politics, hope you wouldn't support him i ...

• AGYARKO 7 years ago

This comedian and foolish minister should stop thinking this way. Your mouth is too wide and opened. Your face like faeces!

• Charles Higgins 7 years ago

What was his sin to deserve your insult?

• ST. GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

...What is required to become certified as a teacher in Ontario?
    Teachers in Ontario are certified to teach either general studies or technological studies. General studies include what you might think of as "traditional" sc ...

• ONAAPO 7 years ago

SKIN PAIN,BECUASE OF HIS BIG MOUTH MADE HIM MEDICAL DOCTOR FIRST AND MINISTER OF EDUCATION.IN THIS FIELD YOU A BIG MOUTH WITH WISDOM, KNOWLEDGE AND UNDERSTANDING.AND BY GOD GRACE HE HAD IT ALL.DOC. YOU ARE BLESSED.

• Job 7 years ago

Good in plagiarism from day one. Bavo

• Brain rejuvinator 7 years ago

Mr. minister, will you continue to pay degree students an allowance in the colleges? This alone shows that NPP is confuse and useless promise party.

• nottul 7 years ago

We are talking about improving the standart of eduction, which is very low in many parts of our country. If this is all you have to say, then ask yourself if you are really a " Brain rejuvinator ".

• JMK 7 years ago

How many degree holders taught you in your basic school? You think degree holders have tge msgic? Poor thought!

• JAGANA 7 years ago

If by extending the nurses trainee years by 12 months more and giving the a degree is what makes education better then I wonder what kind of leaders we have. Why can't we think far? if you want quality eduction you do not pro ...

• GLORY 7 years ago

Need a job? Lost your job? Retired? Tired of working? Student? Are you looking for a source of daily income stream? Want to change business? In 3 Months you won't remain the same. Look no further! LEARN this specialty Today ...

• keni 7 years ago

An additinal year training would enhance not only the quality of teaching but also give teachers the confidence they need to be innovative and creative. Currently children are taught but lacks that critical thinking skills wh ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

We used to have, in the 1960s up to the 1980s, or so, Specialist Tutors in English, Mathematics, Geography and Science, trained for 2 years at the former Advanced Teacher Training Collage (ATTC), Winneba. Folks they were focu ...

• Mubarak 7 years ago

As a teacher who did 'A' 3-year post-sec, I did this idea is laudable. Teachers need at least a degree to teach at the basic level and a masters to teach at 2nd cycle.
    However, this should be done in concert with all who ma ...

• DIAMOND 7 years ago

1. "Currently children are taught but lacks that critical thinking skills which is taken for granted..."

...but LACK THOSE critical-(hyphen) thinking skills WHICH ARE taken for granted...

2. "...and do not challenge TH ...

• Ato LONDON 7 years ago

It is a good idea to come out with a degree such as B.ED ( BASIC EDUCATION)

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

This is a plan by government to avoid paying Teachers' allowances that have been promised by government. Most of our present breed of teachers from the Training colleges do not qualify to, and CANNOT pass a rigorous 4 year de ...

• Job 7 years ago

This elephantiasis govt is already looting under cover of useless education reforms. Ghana, wise up.

• Senior Citizen BS, Germany.. 7 years ago

The U CC E, The University of Cape coast of Education during the old CPP erra was instituted for that purpose, meanwhile,I dont know, whether its carriculum has been changed for other purposeses. I suggest that all the old c ...

• emma Baffoe 7 years ago

This guys get brains.npp long live

• NANA SARFOWAA 7 years ago

If the minister thinks the longer you stay in classroom the better you become.Please Hon that is wrong.We are only wasting time of citizenery pretiouse time to belong and part of competitive world.By the you finished studies ...

• Job 7 years ago

You can still scrap off the promised Tchr. Allowance and leave the education term undistorted.we know u want to hide behind four-year duration and say degree programmes qualify for Snitt loan, just as Mahama ur mentor saw.

• do me i do you 7 years ago

This is stupidity at a high level if you like make it ten years.

• Kwabena Boadu 7 years ago

SHS should be 4 years . NPP argued noisily that SHS should be 4 years. Now they are in power. Why are they silent over it? Is it an admission that they were wrong with their usual silly arguments?

• Ritewing 7 years ago

NPP does not seem to want to argue with the Ndc on this matter. Comparative results of the two systems: (Ndc) three years vrs. four yesrs ( NPP ) shows. The issue is quite clear to all involved, educators, parents and a sens ...

• Kaikai 7 years ago

Mahama scrapped the allowances to pave way for d r upgrades to degrees
    He was also upgrading the infrastructure on campuses to meet standards including the polytechs
    However, even our universities do NOT have enough PhD ho ...

• Joddey 7 years ago

You go to all the 42 colleges education and see how many tutors including their principals with good masters' degrees not to talk of PhD. I only know of the Mampong college of educ. principal with a Phd. You think running a ...

• Fine Boy 7 years ago

Npp should stop this increment of years in the education sector and concerntrete on other alternative to produce quality responsible leaders .....

• UTHAH 7 years ago

Can't stop laughing! Always thinking outside the box, mr idiot minister

• Job 7 years ago

It is paintful to sell ur colour TV only to be able to buy a black n white.
    Shame, Ghana.

• Apostle. Obuasi 7 years ago

Longer years in training is not the case but better conditions of service and teaching materials will boast the efficiency of the educational system in Ghana

• Hope 7 years ago

Let's discuss what is on the table and stop the insults. This is a brilliant idea and we must all support it to come to fruition. There must be a top up programme for those already in the system otherwise their juniors will b ...

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

NPP promised Ghanaians free school from kindergartten to senior secondary school including payment of teacher and nurses trainee allowance among other,and that was why Ghanaians voted them into the presidecy,so Mr empty heade ...

• Ayaaba Elijah A 7 years ago

why 4 years. is he trying to say universities are not OK or wat. he thinks like a child

• Daniel 7 years ago

This should be fast and it will make training colleges attractive

• Boateng 7 years ago

This is 100% smart move.i do support this idea because about a week ago i was talking to a friend about this same idea that it's really stupid to be in school for 3years and just receive a diploma or certificate

• Omslopogaas 7 years ago

This is a smart move because teachers are professionals. The same should be done for nurses. Teachers and nurses will never be without employment so this is a smart move. I remember our days when from the MSLC you enter 4 yea ...

• Nea 3d3 7 years ago

it should be 5years rather,

• BERNARD 7 years ago

We have powerful set of nutritional supplement that allow u to losses a healthy weight and maintain a flatten tummy with no side effect...#CONTACT.0572174551
    Burn fats at tummy, arms, waist and other place where excess fat ...

• Ametefe 7 years ago

Proper government is now in power

• afua 7 years ago

This is a perfect idea. And also increase the salary to the rank of medical doctors.
    Please revamp all the old buildings.
    And restructure the curriculum beyond 750 AD, so children will know Africa better, make them proud ...

• obiba jk 7 years ago

Even if you go ten years and the kids can't learn it's very stupid idea

• Abi 7 years ago

It could be a good idea for basic school teachers to have first degree as practiced in developed world. But do we have the resources and the infrastructure to do it now. It is not about extending the duration of studies, but ...

• Tsiri 7 years ago

Yet another band aid to patch a gaping wound. The problem of poor education in Ghana is not because the teacher trainees are not degree holders. It is because the teachers are simply not teaching. Besides are you going to gra ...

• Kk 7 years ago

Baaaaaaaaaaam. You've made my day. Compare performance of private schools (at primary and jss levels) to the public schools. I attended a private school and none, I mean NONE of my teachers was a degree holder, yet all 45 of ...

Teachers need improved condition of service, better salary and adequate teaching matrials to improve teaching and learning in schools and not just paper qualifucation which.

• Mensah Poku 7 years ago

We are in a funny world.
    This introduction of 4 years teacher training idea is good. But that's not the aim of NPP.
    You see the qualification of students intake will come down so that they don't pay too much allowances to s ...

• Nawah Patrick. 7 years ago

Hahahaa, very interesting. It's just a way of doing away with the allowances. If one is to undertake a BED programme in a teacher training college, then it is logical for one to totally forget about the allowances. They would ...

• Bob 7 years ago

A spoiled cassava will surely give a bad cassava dough is not the number of times u grind it,go down the schools and count the number of teachers who are having degrees the problem has to do with lack of committed teachers a ...

• tan90sin90cos90. 7 years ago

HMMMMMMM MINISTER OF EDUCATION IS CONFUSED OOOOO. NOT THE NUMBERS YEARS THAT WILL IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF OUR EDUCATION.OOOOO MY GOD. DOES THIS MINISTER KNOWS SOMETHING ABOUT EDUCATION AT ALL?

• isaha 7 years ago

SHOULD BE 5 YEARS WITH THE 4TH YEAR FOR FULL SUPERVISED TEACHING PRACTICE; THEN A BACHELOR PROVIDED CANDIDATES HAD MET THE REQUIREMENT THE BASIC REQUIREMENT FOR A DEGREE PRIOR TO ADMISSION TO THE COLLEGE OF EDUCATION.

THIS IS GOOD BECAUSE IT HAS SOLUTION BETWEEN THE HND /DIPLOMAS / BACHELORS

• Senior Citizen BS, Germany.. 7 years ago

In Europe teachers are trained to a degree level before taking their appointments as practicing teachers and as a result,pupils are properly taught to become useful citizens of their respective countries,why not Ghana.The NPP ...

• afua 7 years ago

Thanks Doc. teach the children who built the pyramids, the olmec heads of south America, things they would have to wait a lifetime to get to the University level before they. learn.We want Africa centric education.

• Wandi 7 years ago

You have failed this time oga minister. When you people can't afford to pay teachers salary and other allowance. I'm disappointed in you.

• Durable 7 years ago

eiiii you again

• JMK 7 years ago

Consultations underway? Our libraries are "poor, outdated, tutors, etc." Always complaining about funding. Yet, new troubles? Well, I have ny reservations!

• Enu-Quayson 7 years ago

This is an excellent idea, but allowance should not continue.

• OMANBA 7 years ago

My God!!!.After 4 years in a training college you are to be awarded a Degree?What the heck is this?No wonder there is no respect for ghana degrees these days.Is the minister hallucinating?

• kobina 7 years ago

if the teacher training institutions would be up graded to B'ED ,Please why is it that teachers who have completed there post dip have not been up graded

• Skippy 7 years ago

He didn't bring anything new
    All degree programmes in ghana are four yrs.
    It is only logical that if they are doing a diploma it is for 3 yrs as it pertains in all tertiary diploma programmes in ghana.
    It was already a pla ...

• Eddie 7 years ago

Have you counted the cost ?it means colleges are going to be universities now ,awarding degree .the question is how many colleges do we have ? is it 52 ? How much will it cost making it 4years ? paying book n research allowan ...

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

Hope this will not create more confusion in terms of allowances and salary levels between these the other teachers being trained by UCC and UEW, and any other accredited institution.

• Stalwart 7 years ago

Hope the graduates will still be posted to schools and if so wat of graduates frm UEW and other institutions that offers the same educational courses. I equally believe their salaries will be increased as degree trainnees hol ...

• Collins Anim 7 years ago

upgrade the training colleges to university status and require all teachers to obtain degrees.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

KEEP ON DESTROYING OUR LAND OF BIRTH.

IT IS INDEED, THE SO CALLED EDUCATED WITH BIG GREEES AND PHD TITLES DO NOT KNOW WHERE WEE ARE AND WHERE WE ARE GOING IN THE 21st CENTURY.

HE WHO WANTS TO GOVERN OTHERS MUST FIRST BE ...

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

THEY HAVE ALL BEEN EDUCATED FIR NOTHING AND ONLY CONTINUE TO BE A PREY ON THE FUNDS ILLIREATE COCOA FARMERS AND UNSKILLED MINE WORKERS-

THEY NEED TO BE ASKED WHAT HAVE BEEN THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS TOWARDS THE SOCIOECONOMIC DEV ...

• kk 7 years ago

will NPP convert all teacher training schools to degree awarding universities over night?
    That is a bad idea. what is wrong with what we have now? why this stupid idea?

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

Mathew Prempeh seems to be engaged in trying untested policies.

• Seth Azumah 7 years ago

It is not a matter of staying long on campus but the quality of the products. See we need better training not common paper certificate which doesn't truly tell the product

• truth 7 years ago

Let them be on the field. Sadly those offered position has no clue on EDUCATION!