You are here: HomeNews2017 05 17Article 538493

Pass before you enjoy Free SHS - GES

Read Comments Comments (18)

• Paa Kwasi 6 years ago

This explanation is not anything new. Entry to SHS has always been for those who obtain the requisite passes, as prescribed by the Placement Secretariat. So what is new?

• Akosua 6 years ago

Talking is too much. Ex Pres JM did extremely well. Fixing our power crisis that govts including npp kufuors created, within such a short time was a miracle. He should have been reelected based on only that performance but fo ...

• K & K 6 years ago

We understand you have to pass before you get an admission, so kindly tell us the pass mark. Which Grade is the pass mark???? Make it clear to us

• Eborenasa 6 years ago

Look at this foolish dwarf and his useless government ooo. Has there being anyone who goes to shs without passing bece? Tells us the cut off point and stop that stupidity. U are trying to raise the cut off point to grade 15 s ...

• lizard 6 years ago

The example sited by the minister using cocobod scholarship scheme shows that they are targeting only brilliant students who excelled and not just everyone who passed, cocobod does not give scholarship to all students who pas ...

• DKM 6 years ago

It has always been the case that one has to pass the BECE before gaining admission into the SHS, so there is nothing new or innovative in the statement put out there. The Minister and the GES must come clear on the matter.

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

Free SHS should not be wholesale. At least there must be conditions attached. The following conditions could suffice:
    1) There must be a cut-off point for those who want to go to secondary or technical/vocational institution ...

• Kulus boy 6 years ago

What does this nonsense mean? Pass before you enjoy free senior high? Has it ever been the case that people who don't pass get to senior high schools? These idiots must reason and stop following a confused dwarf of a presiden ...

• Zach 6 years ago

Yes you have to pass

• BOY KOFI 6 years ago

What the Minister must explain is about those who fail their exams.
    At the moment,we don't have obligatory school attending age with the minimum education.Some countries have set a minimum education age to 16 years.That mean ...

• CHE ANDREW 6 years ago

What happens to the failures? The Minister has no clue what the government will do9 with them. Parents voted for the NPP without questioning the free SHS slogan. The president has been emphatic that no Ghanaian child will be ...

• Kaf Swedenn 6 years ago

Nana Addo you must forfill all your useless premises September is just at the corner still waiting to see the free free free

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 6 years ago

What a load of b**l s**t? Since when do students continue to SHS without first passing their BECE exams and making the grade? Why this shifting of goal posts?

• Good citizen 6 years ago

Both the minister and GES are not correct. you say pupils should pass before they enjoy something without stating the which marks constitutes the pass. shameless people. the ordinary people who voted you on your cheap promise ...

• Yahaya Bawa 6 years ago

GES and the ministry of education should come clear on this matter. Their statements are inherently laden for examination thalidomide.

• Joe 6 years ago

In America free education is from pre-school to 12 grade so if compare ourselves to them then do what they are practicing.

• Ghana Pikin 6 years ago

From time immemorial, high school entrance had been based on passing your qualifying exams(common entrance etc.)so what is he telling us? we are talking of those who pass their exams but due to support difficulties cannot ent ...

• Skippy 6 years ago

Berttey you are a moron.Since when did any child who didn't pass the b.e.c.e. exams get placed in a shs?
    What bofoonery is this?!!