You are here: HomeNews2017 05 14Article 537585

GES bans female teachers from wearing miniskirts and trousers

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Wofa Ata 7 years ago

Na Eno no nase ne den?

• Uncle Sam 7 years ago

Eno nase nese; the GES and its parent the Ministry of are made up of idealists bereft of hard thinking to improving our Education system. Very soon the govt will prescribe breast and buttock size as well. Why not employ only ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Yes, I like the directive. Teaching is a profession and teachers must dress professionally.
    In the state that I teach, all teachers have dress codes that are strictly enforced. A teacher can easily be sanctioned if the one d ...

• Leo,u.s.a 7 years ago

What state and county are you at?stop exaggerating.

• Joseph Kwashie 7 years ago

Massa, then tell them to pay them Clothing Allowance.

• Kunta 7 years ago

Thank u

• Ray Cubes 7 years ago

Am sure your employer pays dress allowance. If it does why didn't you say it?

• PUSSY BRIGHT SNR HIGH 7 years ago

fools just tackle bread and butter issues and stop this flimsy comments.

• kenneth 7 years ago

Good move

• sam 7 years ago

well said
    I bet the idiots will come out with their freedom of dress crap.
    Teachers must set examples too
    they must all be given a uniform to wear.Period

• Na so 7 years ago

They are adults leave them be.

• Skippy 7 years ago

Ahbaaa...GES

Reaching is a profession just like lawyers and Medical Doctors. Can a lawyer or medical doctor wear jeans to work. How teachers dress to work set them apart from other workers and gives them respect in society. If you teach i ...

• stone 7 years ago

WHAT A STUPID DIRECTIVE!!
    you can't even pay these teacher in good time and you're asking for suits????

• sam 7 years ago

stone a suit is just a troser and jacket
    they wear clothes to teach anyway so dont talk like a suit is a miilion dollars

Also if teachers have to conform to a particular dress, shoes and tie, teachers will spend less on clothing. I have to wear black or navy blue to school. As a result of that, I don't need ten different suits at a time. If I w ...

• Martha 7 years ago

I am sorry this directive is misplaced. When indisciplined ablakwa was a minister of health you did not see anything wrong with that? It is people like ablakwa who came from university straight to minister that are breeding i ...

• Ok 7 years ago

Oh!! Maths, what has this one also got to do with Ablakwa? Why won't you address this issue straight forward but rather attacking again? Please stop thisk kind of hared otherwise.............?

• LORD 7 years ago

THIS DIRECTIVE WAS ISSUED BY A MUNICIPAL DIRECTOR. ITS ADDRESSED TO ONLY TEACHERS IN HOHOE. MAYBE THE DIRECTOR IS ANOTHER GRUMPY OLD CIVIL SERVANT. TIME TO RETIRE.

• Be frank 7 years ago

Say that again

• koffi montrealn 7 years ago

Hey,Opoku Prempeh don't go there leave them alone,just tell them wear descent clothes to school as teachers come on and stop,stop,

• Obroni 7 years ago

Old fashioned people dress and hair codes don't mean anything to someone qualities to teach. Our education is is old fashioned and outdated who cares what good teachers dress like, that's a private matter.

• Asante 7 years ago

Your dressing cannot be a private matter when you are attending to an official duty. Every institution has its own code of ethics and must be obeyed as such. In South Africa, it is mandatory for male teachers to dress formall ...

• Forgive Attipoe 7 years ago

Miniskirt is not the problem but our useless leaders.Nkwaseafo) leaders with senseless laws.Corruption has taken over everywhere .....idiots wake up

• Nkrumah 7 years ago

Low-cut blouses and shirts that expose female breasts should also be banned. Female teachers must set better examples and stop exposing too much flesh. Schools are not avenues for fashion shows.

• Kiss 7 years ago

You are a big stupid fool

• OPNINPA 7 years ago

This is correctness gone crazy. Mini-skirt may be, but trousers? Are male teachers permitted to wear trousers? Why discriminate against women?

• Atsoi 7 years ago

I really don't see anything wrong with trousers as long as you wear it with decent blouse. Their dressing to class reflect how the students are going to respect them.

• boss90 7 years ago

kudos GES.
    It's long overdue.

• Amaliba 7 years ago

I understand the ban on miniskirts , I know it's for the sake of modesty, but the ban on trousers doesn't make any sense to me. Female teachers should go out to protest.

• Libilibilabalaba 7 years ago

Who in is right mind took this decision the female teachers are not your slaves they have the god given right to ware what they want

So they can wear underwear to school. How would you feel if your child's teacher wears swimming pants to class? Let us reason.

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

reasonable dress code in all vocations in order to protect the discipline from harm and not to promote arrogance and fashion of individuals involved.

Police, army, fire service, lawyers, and similar vocations have their dr ...

• Freeman 7 years ago

This directive is outdated and needs to be upgraded to reflect the current culture in the country. Fingertip- length skirts, not knee-length, are decent enough but don't ban trousers and jeans. Let the teachers be free to foc ...

• Agya Kodjo 7 years ago

Formally teaching service had a dress code in the 60s. Who scrapped it and why? .Much as I yearn for decent dress banning trousers is too old fashioned. GES come again this is below the belt.

• Kofi Baboni 7 years ago

U too, u must learn the difference between"formally" and "formerly". Wo abon koooo.

• Donkra 7 years ago

This is against freedom of expression. Otiku must fight for us.

• concerned citizen 7 years ago

Primitive thinking. Mini skirts, yes I agree but if you don't want them to expose the lower part of their bodies to the students, then wearing trousers is the best solution.

• James 7 years ago

Miniskirts must be banned in all government institutions,but trousers ok,Ghanaian nurses must stop wearing short blouse,long trousers are used in many countries in the world.at end we must consider Muslim dress code with litt ...

• BH 7 years ago

Please, tell the gender minister Otiko to also change her hairstyle. Otiko is more influential than a female teacher who is in charge of100 students.

• KWABENA KASAPREKO. 7 years ago

THAT'S A VERY GOOD MOVE ! THERE SHOULD BE DISCIPLINE IN THE ATTITUDE AND COMPORTMENT ON THE PART OF TEACHERS, IF THEY ACCEPT THE FACT THAT, THEY ARE "TEACHERS". THEY, TEACHERS SHOULD EXPRESS AND DISPLAY MORAL VALUES, FOR THE ...

• Esi Atta 7 years ago

The first teachers are our parents. Is this moron director going to ask parents to dress a certain way? Or his jurisdiction doesn't go that far? I'm waiting to see how the women react. This is 2017; students are studying un ...

• efo 7 years ago

Ghanaweb, reading your article gives me headache. Please proof read them. Thank you.

• Dickson 7 years ago

Some people could be in some way act as an idiot. I think the best way to cover your your lowere part was to cover them. Why talking about wearing trousers, please find something sensible to quell the issue and stop these unn ...

• senior citizen 7 years ago

napo for you teachers please don't complain

• psychiatrist 7 years ago

clearly GES doesn't know what they are talking about. Mini skirts, I agree but pedicure???? really????
    so a sleeveless official dress is prohibited in this hot environment? ? This is very questionable.

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 7 years ago

A crowded city at a busy bus stop in Butumajabo, a beautiful young woman wearing a tight leather skirt was waiting for a bus.
    As the bus stopped and it was her turn to get on, she became aware that her skirt was too tight t ...

• Hubert Akrong 7 years ago

WHAT STATUTE OF THE STATE OR RULE OF THE AGENCY IS BEEN VOILATED. SCHOOL IN ABURI, ABETIFI, OR AMEDZOFE AND KNOW THAT YOU NEED MORE RESEARCH INTO YOUR POLICY

Why not just prescribe uniforms for teachers then? Yes, teachers must dress professional. But to ban trousers is insane.

• NII GA 7 years ago

So where the money to purchase the suit going to come from

• Dela Tortor 7 years ago

I am shocked we still have people who think like stone age comedians. Focus should at this time be on innovative ideas aming at enhancing critical thinking leading to self establishment through job creation rather than giving ...

• Samuel Aboagye 7 years ago

I think this directive is long over due. It used to be so a couple of years back.

• Wandi 7 years ago

This is the only thing you people can do when a lot of teachers goes into class room to teach without salary u are silent on that. Fight for the government to pay teachers .

• Stone 7 years ago

They should try and give them a prescribed uniform like the nurses, police, fire service, army, prisons etc.

• Nantwi, BSEd,MSEd(ece),MSEd(sas) 7 years ago

I am teacher in New York City and such stupid directives do not happen. Maybe the GES should buy uniforms for the female teachers.

• Vic 7 years ago

Trousers as well ? Mini skirt i can inderstand but not trousers

• sly 7 years ago

Masa are u a teacher? and is Ghana SA? stop talking shit I wish u were a teacher that stupid old fool can not give us directives as to how to dress he's just limiting it to only teachers in hohoe they have a lot to do than ...

• truth 7 years ago

This is why. it helps prevent accident as in showing your underwear accidently.GROW UP GES.

• Kofi Baboni 7 years ago

This is entirely unnecessary. Some students are encouraged by the dressing of these teachers who appear smart in them. My good performance at school was influenced by the appearance of such teachers because I was compelled to ...

• KWABENA paul 7 years ago

It seems like the director don't know what is going on in the country.Jeans will take you three days plus three different tops.Is the gE S ready to give clothe allowance.wrong director the teachers can never work with you.wh ...

• Kobby 7 years ago

Is this director aware that teachers use chalk and that the jeans trousers is very economical to the male teachers.Try to get clothing allowance for them before prescribing attire.Colo director

• Joseph Adjei Sowah 7 years ago

GES should respect our teachers. GES is making the teaching profession to loose it value. Last time it was about canning the children, today it is about dressing.What is the dress code of the GES? Our Moslem ladies are allowe ...

• kaya 7 years ago

Even the president of republic of Ghana, nana Addo dankwa akufo Addo wares' autophisa so you can't stop us from dressing how we like to work.

• BP 7 years ago

Non serious hoehoe GE's director, fool be prepared to go on pension

• Leo,u.s.a 7 years ago

What state and county are you at?just stop exaggerating.

• koo 7 years ago

is needless, wat does trousers get to do wt learning. whoever took decision she stop hypocrisy

• Hand of God 7 years ago

Your directive is a myopic one. You have no moral right to tell any teacher of what to wear and what not to wear. Teachers do not have any prescribed dress codes. Teachers are not given any allowance for dressing.

There ar ...

• Obiba JK 7 years ago

We the Male students Association of Government Schools(SAGS) are not happy with the directive. Schools hours will be boring. There would be nothing to feast our eyes on. We are therefore entreating the GES to reverse the di ...

• Kwabena Antwi 7 years ago

This directive is not new, it is a reminder to an existing code in the GES dating back in the 1970's if my memories serve me right. We need to leave a legacy for the future generations; there is the need for objectivity.

• Kwame Barima 7 years ago

It pisses me off to hear about teachers dress code in Ghana more especially when it is said male teachers can't wear jeans trousers to school. And that idiot was trying to refer to what is prevailing in the States. We are no ...

• Joseph Kwashie 7 years ago

Since they know that female teachers are not to wear what they called miniskirt, so they also know that they are to pay teachers clothing allowance? Or that on they have forgotten. Since they are not paying teachers for cloth ...

• Akudud 7 years ago

well done GES.

• Teacher 7 years ago

Eii Ghana! Am shocked to the bone for an unthinking director who's retention premium is being scraped off come next academic year. Has he ever tot of fighting for a dressing/ wardrobe allowance for the teachers he's ready ...