You are here: HomeNews2017 05 13Article 537431

Corruption not African, it's a global problem – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (70)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

##AUTHOR: YAO -------- AH! KOKU ANYIDOHO PAAA. DR BAWUMIA'S CREDIBILITY IS NOW GROWING WITH AN UNPRECEDENTED SPEED WORLD WIDE. IN HOMES EVERYBODY IS PRAISING DR BAWUMIA FOR HIS DEPTH OF KNOWLEDGE IN THE GHANAIAN ECONOMY AND T ...

• E,A Larbi-Teshie, Accra 6 years ago

Oh Mr.Mahama, It true that corruption is world wide but your corruption as president was too much. You institutionalized it during your term in office, you didn't make any effort to control it but rather fan it..you made corr ...

• GREAT TRUTH 6 years ago

Corruption is global, so your country has to indulge in it, right? How does this corrupt John Mahama thinks? This NDC thief is not a problem solver. This brain dead John Mahama thinks that corruption is global so there is not ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

Yes, "He's not a problem solver".
    A man with no wisdom.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 6 years ago

sad and dumb

• SIMON 6 years ago

GO AND CHECK GLOBAL ECONOMIC INDEX AND YOUR OWN BACKYARD DURING YOUR TIME IN OFFICE

• SIMON 6 years ago

GO AND CHECK GLOBAL ECONOMIC INDEX AND YOUR OWN BACKYARD DURING YOUR TIME IN OFFICE COMPARE. GHANAIANS ALWAYS SAY YOU CAN RUN BUT CANNOT HIDE. TIME WILL TELL FOR ALL OF US WHO HAVE MESSED UP GHANA

• moshie 6 years ago

corruption is world wide so you enjoy it.GOD is our judge. but as a president don't enjoy it. ghanaians are suffering becos of your corrupt governance.

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

ABOUT CORRUPTION,

• ELINAM 6 years ago

Yes, corruption may be global but other countries prosecute severely and jail culprits. Former South Koreans leader is going to jail and many governors, senators and congressmen in the US had faced stiffer sentences in jail, ...

• 0506182344 6 years ago

That is the way to go if you want to get your own water for private or commercial use. VISIT: www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• JAGUAR 6 years ago

No wonder

• THE MADMAN 6 years ago

After squandering our resources and giving the rest to the Chinese? God forgive you

• Isaac 6 years ago

What is wrong with this present northen politicians. They talk as they don't think

• KSK 6 years ago

Mahama the most corrupt president Ghana has ever had, anything about him is looting. He loots with wife, brothers & appointees. There was not contract that was not overblown, he is a known thief. Ghanaians should keep him aw ...

• Peace 6 years ago

This ex-president of a man,John Mahama should give us a break.Too 'NOISY'. Trying to 'JUSTIFY' the 'ROT' and 'SORDID' state in which NDC left the country's finances through incompetence, greed and corruption.'Once bitten, twi ...

• Efo Black 6 years ago

The ex president should be helped to overcome the shock he is still experiencing from the electoral defeat.

• Yaw Manu 6 years ago

Please don't open your mouth where it does not matter. Stop these loose talks and try to find better way to redeem yourself. You can start by returning all your ill-gotten gains to the state.

• Mark Koffie 6 years ago

Mahama should shut up and leave Ghana alone. He should not bother. He has wrecked the Nation. He is only trying to cover up his misdeeds. Shame on you Dramani Mahama!

• Nii T 6 years ago

So when u r a president u do nothing about it because it is a global thing? Mahama please go away. Useless Former president

• Adensa 6 years ago

Idiot President.

• ADWEN 6 years ago

John Dramani MAHAMA has no shame to talk about corruption. He should just look at havoc corruption has wrought on South Africa, Nigeria, Ghana and mist African countries especially during his "leadership" in Ghana. Everything ...

• tomsom 6 years ago

Eii..uncle John!!!! have taken bribe before? Now the whole world is corrupt so lets all fight it God save mother Ghana and Africa, mahama!!!!!

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 6 years ago

It is a problem but others are checking it

• Bbb, 6 years ago

You allowed the corruption to escalate.

• Forgive Attipoe 6 years ago

Waa look!!!!!!!! Useless president ever in the history of ghana.Tcheeeeeeeew,I prefer voting for an animal to mahama

• Bob 6 years ago

Corruption is what has put Africa in disadvantage. The continent leaders is riddle with corruption. Don't say corruption is global problem,i agree. But look at situation.

• Zebila donkey Rider 6 years ago

Have you taken a bribe before? No. Ford Expedition was a gift. Corruption is a global problem, yes everybody know that but you don't indulge in it.This make you a lying Ex President.

• This incompetent A-hole again 6 years ago

Will this guy stop disturbing our ears. He had.8years but did noting

• Did he say he was going to farm 6 years ago

Ghanaians don't need you anymore, we kicked your out for your corruption.and incompetence

• Keane 6 years ago

I think this fool now has apart from being a crook corrupt asshole has not turned into his brother a complete CUNT

• Mahama y3 okronfo) 6 years ago

It is your problem and you need help to stay corruption free. You are too corrupt. We are talking about our country and not global. You are a thief

• SOCRATES 6 years ago

NO WONDER NDC LOST THE ELECTIONS. JDM'S LACK OF CRITICAL APPRECIATION OF THE ROLE CORRUPTION PLAYED IN NDC'S 2016 LOSS, HIS LAME ATTEMPT TO "WHITEWASH" BY NORMALIZING CORRUPTION AS A GLOBAL PHENOMENON & SIMILAR VIEWS HELD BY ...

• Baba M 6 years ago

Just Shut up Mahama , keep it zipped for ones . U did not make any effort to fight corruption . Infact ur middle name should be CORRUPTION becus in ur time is was so fashionable , it was so open & with impunity . U were the ...

• COD 6 years ago

A John repeating what another John said sometime ago.
    John Agyekum Kuffuor,made that same statement, repeated here by John Dramani Mhahama when he was interviewed by the BBC on corruption. These Johns of presidents...

• Ugly akufo addo 6 years ago

In Ghana , akufo Addo graduated from money to goats n dogs

• awal 6 years ago

Wise man

• WONDERS NEVER END 6 years ago

The most corrupt President in Ghana's entire history is "worried" that Africa now has the corruption tag, yet he contributed in no small measure to that perception. This dead goat should give us a break !!!

• Charles 6 years ago

In the face of poverty in Africa, the scale of corruption and it's effects relative to the size of the economy can't be ignored. Mahama's excuse is a poor one. Should be ashamed of himself.

• FACT 6 years ago

Yes, corruption is a global problem but when as a president you manage to move with such force and speed to take the number two position on the African continent in less than 2 years, bypassing strong contenders who have held ...

• FACT 6 years ago

Correction.

It is a corrupt Mahama problem.

• Yawotse 6 years ago

I think president mahama talk with great wisdom and love for his country all those comments trying to damage his image was not needed

• Adona 6 years ago

I wish this man would shut up. He has no shame

• SEMAANKOKA. 6 years ago

YOU RIGHTLY SAID IT. SYSTEMS IN PLACE REALLY ARE THE PROBLEM.DO AWAY WITH HUMAN INTERACTION AND MOST OF THE PROBLEMS ARE SOLVED.RESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOUR IS NOT ONE PERSON'S HEADACHE.WE SHOULD ALL CHANGE IF THE SYSTEM WOULD CHANG ...

• Dead Goat 6 years ago

Don't attempt to justify your corrupt practices Mr. Dead Goat. Incompetent, corrupt Mahama.

• dunaa 6 years ago

It is true that there is corruption everywhere in this world. However, the degree to which corruption infects the third and fourth worlds, is beyond comprehension. If you are in Germany, or England and the USA or even France, ...

• cuuh!. 6 years ago

Yours was terreble. You 're a thief. Big portholes @ circle. How much did u spend on that project. Gh money to buy hotel @ dubai b'cos of your evil. If this hotel were in gh, many youths would be employed. Shame unto u. Thief ...

• James Mahmoud Awotwe-Braun 6 years ago

Mr Mahama, what you forgot to mention is that, elsewhere when bribe takers are caught, they are punished by the ruling governments, but in Africa, they will be covered by the ruling governments.

Mr Mahama, I think you seri ...

• William 6 years ago

Massa u even stopped some of Mills projects. Please you ripped country off and nismanaged the economy.

• Kwaku 6 years ago

Thief man dey acuse thief man!!!!

• Chabba 6 years ago

What did you put in place to fight corruption in Ghana when you were president? Shut up with your hypocritical and silly talk! You simply supervised corruption to the extent that you even accepted a car gift from a Burkinabe ...

• Berni 6 years ago

This man is all talk, no substance! Ofcourse corruption is everywhere but its African children who are dying in the seas and desserts try to escape poverty

• Paska 6 years ago

Ahhhhhhhh this guy paaaaa, whats he talking about ,so you mean that gave you the chance and your ministry to treat Ghana this way?God is watching .mahama hmmmmmm. I pray that God forgives you .

• Sid usa 6 years ago

Corruption is everywhere but but no true leader will promote or transfer a minister or simply ask the guilty to resign

• AbenA 6 years ago

A thief glorifying stealing. Come again 2020 and will nail your coffin once and for all

• Benkalsum David 6 years ago

But we must move from it

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

WHO SAID CORRUPTION IS AFRICAN ? WHO SAID FOOTBALL I MEAN SOCCER IS AFRICAN?, BUT WE AFRICANS DO BOTH BETTER THAN THE DISCOVERERS ! THE CORRUPTION PRACTICED BY US IN AFRICAN HAS REDIFINED THE PRACTICE! LOOK AT THE CIVILIZED ...

• yaw ADJEI 6 years ago

Your gov didn't continue with kuffuors housing estate in tema and kumasi which were almost complete. But now you want the new government to continue with your projects

• KUTRIKU 6 years ago

THIS IS DUMB AND STUPID. THAT WAS WHY MAHAMA AND HIS RELATIVES AND CRONIES ENGAGED IN THE HIGHEST FORM OF CORRUPTION NEVER WITNESSED IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA. MAHAMA, HIS CRONIES, FAMILY MEMBER, AND FORMER ADMINISTRATION SHD B ...

• Ofori Kissi 6 years ago

Rationalisation. Foolish man

• Liquid Force 6 years ago

Agreed. But corruption in Africa is just too much and it a shame for the continent.

• Sankofa 6 years ago

President Mahama is absolutely right.

What we need are systems to prevent corruption. We also need to develop our economies to ensure prosperity for all. This is the surest way to end corruption.

President Mahama is onc ...

• James Naru 6 years ago

This Mahama guy is not serious.
    You cannot say that corruption is acceptable because it is a world wide issue.
    I live overseas and I do not see policemen accepting bribes here.
    The judges, the politicians, Doctors, unemplo ...

• Ali Mahama 6 years ago

As for Mahama Paa.No country deep in Corruption as during his time as President can grow.In fact that was why the Economy under his watch was always shrinking bcse resources for true progress was not there..If he he knew Syst ...

• Esi Atta 6 years ago

A global cancer indeed! That is why it was practised openly in your administration. Gyeeda, Sada, Bus branding etc.

• Isaac yamoah 6 years ago

Oh mahama tell the world what you did and will continue to do to redeem your image from that tag and that nonsense explanation

• nsiah 6 years ago

No wonder we kicked u out.
    Corruption was ur food

• VOICE 6 years ago

FL.HOUSE.YOU WERE LOOTING GHANA MONEY HIDING IT IN DUBAI AND MALAYSIA. UR FAMILY IS WORTH 8 BILLION DOLLARS.YOU A DISGRACED TO AVERAGE GHANAIAN.AKUA DONKOR GOT FREE HOUSE AND TWO PICKUPS.U WERE GIVEN FREE MONEY WHILE OUR HOS ...

• ex-cpl imPossible 6 years ago

Woaaa Look !!! This ex president needs diliverance from his attrocities committed against the people of Ghana.

• ex-cpl imPossible 6 years ago

Woaaa Look !!! This ex president needs diliverance from his attrocities committed against the people of Ghana.