Tony Yeboah blasts 'dishonest' officials for Ghana's AFCON 1992 final loss

Read Comments Comments (65)

• k! 6 years ago

HEY THIS IS 2017! WELCOME FROM YOUR COMA

• joe 6 years ago

lol

• amuzu 6 years ago

OYIWA, THE HATE AND ENVY FOR PEOPLE WILL NEVER HELP GHANA TO DEVELOP AND ACHIVE POSITIVE STRIDES.

• Data man 6 years ago

But always the right must be done where were Tony boffoe when the old players were playing for Ghana

• DIAMOND 6 years ago

Did the ref ever explain to you guys why he disallowed that corner-kick goal by Ghana?

That goal looked very clean, as no-one was fouled and every attacker was on side.
    Every time I watch that game, I get, let's just say, ...

• maree stopes 6 years ago

too late... too timid for captain anyway. earlier said!

• FAS 6 years ago

Ballony. See what Baffoe has made of himself, a great success. Someone saw his leadership qualities much much earlier.

• Kaiser Rasheed 6 years ago

Success in terms of what? Tony Yaboah has also success.

• Onasis 6 years ago

DON'T CRY OVER SPILLED MILK

• Data man 6 years ago

Where is the success did he won the trophy?

• Kaiser Rasheed 6 years ago

We played our best against Ivory Coast and lost.Please what about if we had won on penalties,would have out with your ananse story?

• frank 6 years ago

This not about win or lost.he talking about transparent

• Koo 6 years ago

Wasn't it at this same tournament that the captain's band was taken from Kwasi Appiah and given to Abedi Pele with the excuse that Appiah could not speak French? Ghana lost the cup even before the tournament began; officials ...

• Akwasi Apau 6 years ago

Akwasi Appiah was never a captain, he was made an INTERIM captain after Sampene was stripped off the captaincy for fighting with Sarfo Gyamfi i Camp. So Akwasi Appiah was made an INTERIM captain as the authorities look for a ...

• Huh 6 years ago

Am surprise about what you saying, get your history well please. Do you when Kwasi Appiah started playing for the Black Star? it was 1981, his first match was against Zaire (DR Congo) in an African cup of Nations qualifyer. H ...

• Akwasi Apau 6 years ago

You are right on when he started n who he played with. But what u hv not been able to dispell is that he wan NEVER a captain but an INTERIM captain (care taker captain)

• Huh 6 years ago

I have to do some verifications but to say Opoku Sampene was the captain and stripped off and given to Kwasi Appiah is not true

• musah Fifa 6 years ago

is the same as Abedi, so what?

• Data man 6 years ago

Where was abedi pele at that time why they choose appia as interim captain it seems he was the next captain o other play mates not abedi pele

• Papacy 6 years ago

Koo, who is talking about Kwasi Appiah here? The problem we have in Ghana is that we try to give some people some relevance beyond their relevance. What wrong did the official commit by taking the captainship from Kwasi Appia ...

• Justice, Tema 6 years ago

Our FA officials have always been the problem while Ghana has not been able to win the trophy since 1982 in Libya. They created the division between Yeboah and Abedi Pele. They made Abedi Pele so indispensable, and he became ...

• Fiifi Boadu 6 years ago

Nonsense... Were you there? This is all hear say.. But for the sake of your ignorance, let's assume your assertions are accurate. Abedi was the captain of the Black Stars, period!!! Yeboah should've handed him the armband as ...

• Papa Alajo 6 years ago

Yeboah did not score.

• Kofi 6 years ago

I think Prince Polley scored our only goal

• Jingo 6 years ago

Bravo! You brought back unforgivable memory to drive home your point. They are all corrupt and are holding those positions not for the benefit of the players or the country for that matter, but themselves.

• Leasing 6 years ago

Yebaoh your are stupid men fuck you and family

• Kwame 6 years ago

I think u r de one who's stupid ur mama, fuck u too,u r an asshole, fuckin pussy ass mother fucker, u wish to ve him in ur useless family kwasia like u, u r a fuckin goat

• Joe 6 years ago

Hey Joe u r animal to insult my uncle n fam u wish u ha someone like him in ur fam

• S.N 6 years ago

These people are always like that. Always fighting for positions. Tony Yeboah shut up, this confirms the fact that some of u guys deliberately played it soft in that game. Don't try to play it down by saying " some of the pla ...

• Joe Pasaasa 6 years ago

Where lies the tribalism you are asserting to? Who doesn't know Kumasi fans are great and have unflinching support for the blackstars. I live in Accra and know we are all know this, S.N

• Mallam 6 years ago

Kumasi fans are your trumu great.tribal baboons

• JOE ATISO 6 years ago

KUMASI FANS AND NATIVES ARE TRUE PATRIOTS UNLIKE SOME OF YOU WHO ARE SEEKING REFUGE IN ACCRA AND DON'T EVEN KNOW YOUR ORIGINS. IF ALL GHANAIANS WERE FRIENDLY AND EMBRACE NON-NATIVES LIKE KUMASI NATIVES/RESIDENTS, GHANA WOULD ...

• Papacy 6 years ago

S.N, for your information, Kwasi Appiah is not an Asante(Ashanti). He is a Bono from Yaakrom in Dormaa Traditional Area. And by the way, what is wrong in playing our matches in Kumasi? Is it the coach who decides on a venue ...

• Data man 6 years ago

Stop nkwasiasem and learn sense aboA ba

• Osono 6 years ago

We know you were a good player but this one is below the belt.When you and Pele were not on speaking terms, what did you expect. Sometimes it's good not to talk at all. Abedi Pele was arrogant on the field. He deserved the ca ...

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 6 years ago

His grudge with Abedi was because Abedi insisted his half-brother,Kwame Ayew was a better striker than he,Tony!

• Papa Alajo 6 years ago

Kwame Ayew was not part of 92 squad! He was called to the black stars aft Olympics games.

• Moro 6 years ago

Your contribution towards the national team was low and moreover you were comparing yourself with Abedi at that time. When you see Anthony current status shows that he has leadership quality.

• Y. Amoah-Owusu., Koi Larbi & co. ltd. 6 years ago

That 1992 squard was the best ever Black Stars team. Players can be disoriented easily. All knew Tony was next in line after Abedi Pele. What on earth led to such a last minute change.Donot forget the captaincy was taken fro ...

• Afrika Bravo 6 years ago

Your arrogant make Ghana Lust.

• NII NORTEY 6 years ago

Tony Yeboah did not score the goal in Germany vrs. Ghana game. It was Abedi Pele who scored that goal through a penalty.

• Angels 6 years ago

Don't waste our ears. What is in a captain's band ?

• Buro 6 years ago

The coach was buckard ziz not ottoman pfister

• Huh 6 years ago

no Buckard left, it was Otto

• A.M. 6 years ago

This is what l want. Everyone of the ex Black Stars players should come out with their pain. This is the only way to break whatever is holding us from getting the African Cup.

• Chuks, Nima 6 years ago

For how long has this man been sleeping? Arm band ? GFA, go buy twenty seven million arm bands for this man.

• Kunnan 6 years ago

You could not even speak come and go then

• Isaac 6 years ago

Whether Ghana has won the nations cup or not,i dont care bcos my Chelsea has won trophy for me.nkwasiasem kuaa from this formal players.

• F.M 6 years ago

Till today GFA has not got it right. In 1992,Kwesi Appiah was supposed to be the captain but they gave it to Abedi n God wanted Kwesi to still be the captain of the day to carry that glory,GFA messed it up by giving it to Baf ...

• Yaw 6 years ago

come on. WhAT AN EXCUSE

• kwame 6 years ago

why now, go back to sleep

• K.Mahama 6 years ago

That was not of a Ghanaian doing,why saying it's now,this was the reasons why most of us have love for Sulley Muntari.

• cnn 6 years ago

Tribalism is and has always been our biggest problem as a nation but so far as we continue to pretend that it does not exist for us to find a lasting solutions,then we better forget about getting there as a nation one day.
    I ...

• yakubu-tamale 6 years ago

Because of captain ban given to baffour you failed to win 1992 AFCON.BUSTARD. If you want position in opaana government go to bugri nabu and stop nepotism.

• aziz 6 years ago

gentleman so you are still fighting the captain band. aaaah this guy paaaa this issue dead and gone.
    in Brazile friendly march you were given the arm band how many goals did you havest 8goals for Brazile

• Paul 6 years ago

For me,we have to learn a lesson from it and. Be honest and don't politicize every thing

• Papa Alajo 6 years ago

I agree with Paul.

• NTAWA NTAWA MOSHE 6 years ago

After all these years?Come on,man!

• Okponglo Guy 6 years ago

We have to stop meddling and use objective criteria for decision making.

• Powerful spritualist +233547122212 6 years ago

Powerful spritualist, Your better days is not tomorrow us you expect but is just on your on hands Nana red powers spritual center makes it so easy and you will never regret in your life, I help people in the following (1) ins ...

• Powerful spritualist +233547122212 6 years ago

5A 5000 YEARS OLD SECRET JINNI FORMULA THAT UNLOCKS THE MYSTERIES OF WEALTH AND SUCCES “THE HIGH POWER JINNI MAGIC RING” A SECRET FORMULA unwritten until now, Remember the KINGS and their fabulous wealth? Even today the t ...

• Saeed 6 years ago

When are we going to stop this blame and inciting of one group of people against the other in the country, and move forward. In that particular tournament Tony wasn't the most senior player after Pele, Akwasi Appiah was there ...

• JOE ATISO 6 years ago

RAWLINGS DIRTY POLITICS DIVIDED THE NATIONAL SOCCER TEAM AND THAT HAS FOREVER RUINED THEIR ABILITY TO SUCCEED. RAWLINGS LACKS THE MORAL AUTHORITY TO CURSE THE BLACK STARS AND ONLY FOOLS WILL PROPAGATE SUCH STUPIDITY. THE MOME ...

• Papa Alajo 6 years ago

Rawlings has nothing to do with black stars not winning, how many president have we had aft him (Rawlings ) nd where is de trophy.

• Koo nimo 6 years ago

Tribal sentiment all over ,we will still be under curse if we did not stop this nonses