You are here: HomeNews2017 05 12Article 537160

Incoming Chief Justice not related to President Akufo Addo – Government

Read Comments Comments (76)

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

WHAT THEN IS THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE THREE?

• KOFI TIBAA 7 years ago

None of your business. Get a life bro!

• Dessie 7 years ago

:such "gimmick" reaction

• citizens not spectators 7 years ago

Family and friends Government period

• Efo Kwaku Canada 7 years ago

Even if a whole family can provide competent people to turn Ghana economy around what is a big deal here, let us stop bickering and stupid propaganda and move Ghana forward, competent should consider not family or familiar

• Johnny, Atlanta USA 7 years ago

The relationship is that they are all Ghanaians, and that they are all well-educated, accomplished individuals who truly qualify for the positions they hold. Do you have a problem with that?

• Dessie 7 years ago

So then what about Justice yeboah;not educated as well;who has served most of his career in judicial system in ghana .You see;people like you are always Benoit of "equation"

• NDC IS SATANIC 7 years ago

You people are mischievous that's why your party is sinking. The President is Akufo - Addo with one 'F' and a compound name inherited from his father who everyone knows as Akufo - Addo but not Akuffo so what's your problem? D ...

• Primitive bugabuga people 7 years ago

Stop using dat of I have the document man's English here mis....

• ChrisC 7 years ago

You use the President's last name for cynicism and your ingrained stupidity. The relationship you are asking about is in your small head, odwan meemee.

• Gigi 7 years ago

First question: Is this woman qualified to the Chief Justice? If the answer is yes, what does it matter even if she is related to the President.
    Second, the government spokesperson should have shown the "Non-relationship" be ...

• UNCLEJOE 7 years ago

at least they should let us know her home town, something about her parents and a bit about her past. that may help readers to build their own minds.

• pk 7 years ago

YOU CAN SEARCH

• Dr. Akuffo 7 years ago

The new CJ and the Attorney- General are related, both from Akropong. The name is AKUFFO. We are all the offsprings of the late famous Omanhene of Akwapim. Nana Addo is from Kyebi. His other name Akufo has nothing to do wi ...

• JOHNSON 7 years ago

Imagine Mahsma's time attorney general being Mahama, chief justice Mahama, president Mahama what would have been your reaction? And don't forget finance minister is also his family and Bediatuo his family too. Are only Ado's ...

• Amaliba 7 years ago

The lady is qualified to be the Chief Justice, besides, she is a senior justice, does it matter whether she's related to or bear the same name with Akufo-Addo . The most important thing is she deserves the position. .

• Pope 7 years ago

Ken ofori attah cousin, Attah kyea cousin U name them. Evil president

• darius99 7 years ago

Say it Again, Bro

• Kojo 7 years ago

Which part of Ghana does she come from and where did she school and who are her relatives.

• KOFI TIBAA 7 years ago

Find out yourself for it matters to you so much otherwise get lost.

• Larry Sokuu 7 years ago

Very pertinent questions indeed to prove that there is no cronyism in her appointment. This is more so as there were 2 other qualified people who could have been appointed to the post and the number of friends and relatives t ...

Why don't you read, do research about the judge if it matters to you? The judge is so qualified for the position, plus she is the senior judge only next to Atuguba who is retiring. What's the matter with you?

• Terre 7 years ago

Atugba is not retiring next month. So if not for political reasons, he stands tall above all other judges in Ghana at the moment. Going by seniority he should have even been appointed CJ rather than Georgina Woods and Sophia ...

• Citizen 7 years ago

And what if they're related? Do you want Nana select Atuguba? Or John Mahama? Are these double-standard critics suggesting that once someone is related to te President thtat fellow shouldn't be appointed to serve in any capac ...

• AMA TX USA 7 years ago

Congratulations!!!! proud of you role model

• Bernard 7 years ago

Forget about her relations with the President. If she is not been promoted ahead of her seniors then it is fine and seats well. Georgina Wood's appointment was very wrong as Kuffour promoted her ahead of her seniors a clear c ...

• Nii Lante 7 years ago

The position of CJ is political. Its not a position that goes to the most senior judge. The CJ of USA is the youngest among the supreme court judges of America.

• Mr Kuffour 7 years ago

Sophia Akuffo trained as a lawyer under Nana Akufo-Addo who had her Masters in Law (LLM) from the Havard University in the United States.

this sentence should read: she got her masters from Harvard.

• Amaliba 7 years ago

This platform isn't for intellectuals alone ; low level readers and writers have equal rights to use it. Get a life.

• Dr 7 years ago

Does it matter if the qualified lady is a relative?

• Mr Kuffour 7 years ago

The journalist in Ghana are killing us. Too many copy and paste journalist in Ghana.Only few want to do hard work behind any story they publish.

• citizens not spectators 7 years ago

Even President secretary do copy and paste so, no wahala kuraaa

• Joddey 7 years ago

The presidents father is from the Akropong hwere these Akuffos are from. Is the government saying that the late Edward Akufo Addo's relatives are not Nana Addo's relatives" Not withstanding the fact that belongs to the matern ...

• Nii Lante 7 years ago

If they are from the same town does that mean they are relatives?

• Okuapeni Kwadwo Otu 7 years ago

Let Commonsense prevail! There numerous groupings in Akropong Akuapem who are having common names due marital unions Akyem,Kamena and Akwamu origin over three centuries

• Coach 7 years ago

Family and friends government. Ghana is dead

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

Thank God Ghana is a democratic state, you can appoint all your siblings, into the key positions, they have only 4yrs , for other person to take over.
    if that is the way we all want to go. Akuffu Addo will go with them when ...

• seini 7 years ago

If the lady is qualified and competent it does not matter even if she is the twin sister of the President.

• Isaac 7 years ago

Another Ga Adangea again coward woman.
    Nana did you think this woman can defend Ghana. Is not true.

• Kojo 7 years ago

JFK had his brother as AG in the US. It is all about competence.

• Sulet 7 years ago

And what happened to JFK?

• MOHAMED. 7 years ago

A coward like you can you compare Ghana to US........

You have not answered the question.

If even related and qualified what's wrong with that?

• The Fact 7 years ago

Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, I do not expect this low dive from you. Is Nana a name or a title (either fake or genuine)

• JOHN 7 years ago

EVERYTHING AGAINST THEM IS GOOD. THIS IS A GOVT BY THE AKUFFO FOR THE AKUFFO. YOU CAN DEFEND DELTA FORCE INVADING A COURT, BUGRI NAABU ACCUSING OTIKO DJABA, BUT IT WILL NEVER GO AWAY

• mandela 7 years ago

IDIOT is Prince a name or title? think hard and you will find your answer

• Adjei 7 years ago

Akufo - The President
    Akuffo - The A-G & CJ
    Akufo - The Minister of Comms
    Kuffour - The EX-President

• JOHN 7 years ago

HE CAN APPOINT ALL OF. THEM AS MINISTERS AND NPP WILL BE QUIET ABOUT THAT?

• Opoku Agyeman 7 years ago

what about Gloria Akuffo, is she also not related to Pres. Akuffo Addo? We told you so.

If your last name is Asamoah, does that mean that you are related to Kwadwo Asamoah of Juventus?

• kaya 7 years ago

Then tell us their relations

• KOBINA GARBRAH, LOWER TOWN, SALTPOND 7 years ago

The explanation giiven by Oppong Nkrumah is very sketchy. Let Ghanaians know their parental relations, where the CJ comes from and who the parents are. Mr. deputy minister please come again and be precise

• Yawchina 7 years ago

Check the spelling of the names very well . The president's own is :Akufo and the incoming CJ is : Akuffo

• K the H 7 years ago

Is she related to the Attorney General, Gloria Akuffo?

• Mawuli in Ho 7 years ago

Both Gloria Akuffo and Sophia Akuffo are not from Shai Osudoku area.
    They are both not natives of Akropong or Akyem land.
    Lazy Journalist in Ghana

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka. La Paz. 7 years ago

Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, what do you know about Akuffos? You are from that village in Central region. All Akuffos are the same; wicked, evil and tribalistic. They all have their roots from Akropong Akwapim. She also trained in th ...

• Lukman Suka 7 years ago

you have said it all when you see the.akuffos they don't have beautiful. faces both male and female all they have is wicked faces and arrogance.

• igp 7 years ago

Omanbe, Omanbe, yeh! Mo yee Nana Akuffo Addo aye, Omanbe! Ah, ndc there they go again. There is nothing wrong with Nana Akuffo Addo appointing a qualified and a very competent Havard trained student of law as the new CJ. Pres ...

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

Mr. Minister ur argument is baseless without any fact, they are saying she is related to the President and u fail to tell us the family background of both the president and the incoming CJ. Come again and tell us the family b ...

• ama 7 years ago

I know Gloria Akuffo parent come from Osudoku in Asutsuare and Akuse area.She is not related to Akufo Addo. If you don't believe ask Kofi Portuphy he to come from that area.

• Amartey 7 years ago

Plss chck ur facts. Kofi Portuphy is frm Ada in the Gt. Accra. Specifically Ada Wem, Bana. His family house is diagonally opposite the Ada Asafotufiami festival durbar ground.

• MOHAMED. 7 years ago

They don't come from their, but rather lived their. They are the same idiot man........

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

These NDC jokers are so desperate to find fault with Nana Addo, as usual, that they are now resorting to clutching at straws! Morons, is every Mahama related to the ex-President in a country like Ghana where names are shared ...

• Lukman Suka 7 years ago

so after dealing with the montie. 3. that's her reward. prosperity will judge us all, but we are not supprised.

• Dougy 7 years ago

some of us make comments they cannot substantiate, l know Gloria Akuffo from Doyumu (bronya wem), She has contested the shai Osudoku constituency seat on the ticket of npp during prez kuffour era. what relationship is she ha ...

• Mac. 7 years ago

That's it matter? All we need is competence no matter the relationship. Trump is surrounded in the oval office by his children and in laws but it's not an issue.

• James Armstrong 7 years ago

From the Progress Party to NPP 1 and now NPP 2 it is the same ethnic politics. A leopard cannot change it's spots.

• K. 7 years ago

Sophie Akuffo until her elevation to the Supreme Court by Jerry Rawlins, had worked for several years at Mobile House as a senior attorney for Mobile Oil company Ghana.
    His father was the Rev Akuffo from Akropong Akwapim wh ...

• Dr. Akuffo 7 years ago

You are right, Sir.

• Citizen Ghana 7 years ago

Deep Corruption at KWAHU EAST DISTRICT A
    The KWAHU East District Assembly is bedeviled with deep corruption since the posting of the current DCD, Stephen Adjei and his cohort, they are involved in create, loot and share

• kojo 7 years ago

Are you guys expecting the president to appoint his enemies? Incompetence everyday and everywhere.

• Nana kwesi Uk 7 years ago

Hypocrisy at it best! Those of you who are arguing in favour of the appointment, where you not in this country when prof. Adei and Amoako Baah accused Prez. Mahama of appointing 80% northern in his government?. That accusatio ...

• Just 7 years ago

Family government, when you accused your predecessor of having a family government. Nonsense!
    Ghanaians should think about their individual SURVIVAL rather than this useless arguments in defence of politicians. They have no ...

• JN 7 years ago

family n friends government!!!

• Hmmmm 7 years ago

NAA #invisible forces.NAA #Delta forces. #NAA Army worm invations