You are here: HomeNews2017 05 04Article 534892

French will be compulsory up to SHS level - Akufo-Addo

Read Comments Comments (63)

• ashanti apegirl 7 years ago

Then it disappeared and is replaced with twi even at lorry stations and many places when someone meets you start speaking to you in twi. Is that compulsory enough?
    Lets make twi compulsory especially for kayayies

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

###AUTHOR: OMANBAPA --------- Bawumia will be president in Ghana at all cost. It was through Dr Bawumia that your party NDC is in opposition now. You always rig election!! Bawumia and Nana Addo have proved to you that, that t ...

• yanks 7 years ago

himself? please don't confuse our kids with these foreign language nonsense. what has learning foreign languages like english, arab or french helped the black people to develop. it has only helped to enhance foreign cultures ...

• THE MADMAN 7 years ago

We are more than half of the populace, Our language must be made the national language. We demand it now.

• F9 7 years ago

Dream on

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

How on earth can we have 3 Francophone neighbours bordering our nation and not understand or speak French.

It is the most absurd, preposterous notion that ever existed, How?

How have we communicated with them. SOmeone o ...

• Ghana Ho Do Nti 7 years ago

Yanks, Nana speaks French fluently and even practiced law in France. He's damn good, my dear. He's just excellent in the Queen's language as well as French.

• ELINAM 7 years ago

If France and her culture is so good, then why Rwanda has to divorce them and thrown their language and culture away and embraced their own language and English in order to prosper than any other nation in Africa NOW?
    WATCH: ...

• Cool 7 years ago

SHS people struggle with blofo. The reason for poor performances. I'd prefer Nzema for a start. Imagine all Ghana people are taught 5 Ghana laguage's from infance, like the Swiss. Boy!!!

Me say no to difficult French.

• F9 7 years ago

Not A bad idea but I’d rather suggest that every region should have it’s language made compulsory and examinable in their traditional regions. Some of our languages are going extinct. In Europe they protect theirs by prom ...

• Expert 7 years ago

Lets drill your borehole for you at an amazing price. Get upto 33% discount!
    www.pristinewaterconsult.webs.com

• Fuck Ghana media 7 years ago

These stupid leaders do not have a little bit of self respect. How is learning the language of a brutal imperialist important to us as a people when getting a daily bread for our survival is a headache to the majority of Ghan ...

Hope it will help a lot since they have invaded the country for galamsey.

• KWAPPS 7 years ago

In fact you have shown that with age comes common sense which, unfortunately, has eluded John Ford and Co. One doesn't need a rocket scientist to tell you that if you are surrounded by water you must learn how to swim or fish ...

• Xxx 7 years ago

You get it wrong this time, maybe we should start thinking of national language instead of trying to impose other foreign language to your people. Europeans have different languages and EU was formed before ecowas and no eu s ...

• F9 7 years ago

Every region should have it's traditional language made compulsory too. Fanti - Central; Akwapim Twi - Akwapim, Ewe - Volta; Ga - Accra etc

• Kojo 7 years ago

These are all wack ideas. The future international language apart from English is Mandarin, if you have a President who has a vision that is the language you will encourage the citizenry to learn and not a dying language like ...

• Nyameke 7 years ago

When are we ever going to stop dancing to the white man's music? Nana shd think beyond the little grant from the French govt.
    What a Bogus idea! French shd remain optional period.

• Dd 7 years ago

Kwasia,what Mandarin? I thought you are sensible. The future language is to take one out of the numerous languages we have to be national language. That's the future not Mandarin. Sorry for that word,kwasia.I should have said ...

• USA 7 years ago

PLEASE START NOW.WE NEED IT BADLY

• ELINAM 7 years ago

You need this lazy language badly?

• NON-ALIGNED 7 years ago

What makes it a good idea???
    Please enlighten me.

GOD BLESS GHANA!
    AFRICAN FOREVER!

• kweks 7 years ago

Because we are surrounded by french speaking countries. How can Ghanaian businesses take advantage and trade with this enlarged market if we can speak their language... and communicate

kweks it's obvious you missed my point below. How have we communicated with them all this time? Why don't we AFRICANS speak our languages?

And the point I was getting at is, if the French can stop taking taxes from the Fre ...

• Dd 7 years ago

I guess the white knew our language when they came from Europe and colonized us.How does Russian president communicate with USA president since both don't speak each other's language?

• Roja 7 years ago

can they speak english?...if they can, no need learning that french and if we cant speak french, no need learning it

• Sam 7 years ago

What a waste of resources and talent?
    It will be better to invest that money
    for start up businesses after school.

It must not be compulsory at all.
    People are struggling with English language and you say French.

Wai ...

• ELINAM 7 years ago

Isn't Ghana bigger than Holland, Belgium and even France? But all these these europale nations have their own languages which makes learning much easier for their ppl so why can't we get it yet and still we pride ourselves as ...

Nana, our languages should and must come first!!!! And then ask the French to read our languages and see if they would bother with them.......

When are we ever going to realize that GOD created all humans with 'lingos' for ...

• Nii Amusey, Accra 7 years ago

Let's go with the times & become more competitive

• yanks 7 years ago

let the kids learn more about coding instead of these stupid foreign languages. the next time it will be chinese. if nkrumah had not been deposed, russia would have been a compulsory language in ghana

• Paa Kwesi 7 years ago

Good, but as a Core Subject and must not be examinable in the final year

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

I agree. Ghana is completely surrounded by French speaking countries... and French is the second international language, so it is only wise for Ghanaians to learn French to SHS level at least

• Cool 7 years ago

Obed Adore, where is your tinking cap?

• MAXIM 7 years ago

Obed has given a sensible reason why he supports the president.

• K Frimpong 7 years ago

I don't think this is important Mr President. Is English compulsory I these French speaking coumtries? I think our efforts shd be aimed at reducing the subjects and building the abilities of our students in numeracy, grammar ...

UNTIL YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO ATTEND INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCES N SEMINARS THIS IDEA WILL NOT MAKE SENSE TO YOU. ALMOST ALL MY FRENCH SPEAKING COUNTRY FRIENDS UNDERSTAND AND SPEAK ENGLISH.'WE ARE INTERNATIONAL LANGUAGE LEA ...

• Cool 7 years ago

Kofi, What has the international attendance done? We encourage Akwapim Twi for young ones.

• Wambo 7 years ago

Have we thought of the teachers to teach French? We don't even have enough English teachers and we are now adding French to the list.

• Myhopeline 7 years ago

What will a student loose if he learns french? Won't you be happy if your child can speak French in addition to Engish? Won't you feel proud if you are writing your cv and you indicate that you can speak French as well as eng ...

• Ghana nii 7 years ago

Twi and bible knowledge is disappearing in our curriculum too. We Gh and we are marvellous Christians and our twi must be taught in our schools too

• kaya 7 years ago

Akufo addo is just a confused element. The fact that some one speaks French in his home country does not mean we should also speak French. Why not look for a national language instead.

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

In West Africa, French is spoken in Senegal, Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Togo, Chad, Benin, Mauritania, Guinea and Cameroun, while English is spoken in Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Liberia, Sierra Leone and the Gam ...

• Aben Wo Ha 7 years ago

Mr. President,
    Why do student need to learn French by force, just because Ghana's neighbours speak French? They should learn how to speak English if they come to do business in Ghana. All these years, West Africans have man ...

• James Osei Kofi 7 years ago

Are the French learning our local languages!

• Roja 7 years ago

thank u....hahahahahaha

• OK 7 years ago

Culture and language diplomacy in building bridges, understanding and cementing ties and relationships for fruitful and excellent bilateral engagement is good.
    Would have loved to speak more than 10 different international ...

• ....... 7 years ago

I will begin teach my children french.

• OSEI-MENSAH 7 years ago

This is long overdue.I'm happy that Nana has the bravery to set the pace which should have been set in 1957
    Kudos,Nana!

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

Follow India, South Korea, China etc and make the most populous local language mandatory. Our children are already confused with all these foreign languages plus local dialects

• Kpapko 7 years ago

Sometimes I wonder if Ghanaians understand the meaning of EDUCATION. Just look at the comment responses; it is a SHAME to read these negativities. You are surrounded by three French speaking nations besides Ghana, Gambia, Lib ...

• Afrika Bravo 7 years ago

You would Never get a Knowledge in school to learn some one Language than your own Language. This is useless and Brainless Thinking.very poor Massage to Read.

• Asoreba 7 years ago

Mr president if you don't have any sensible plans for Ghana let me give you a tip. Reduce light bill, water bills. Create jobs, put systems in place. Not this Bullshit French thing . Ghanaians did not vote for you to impose a ...

• Sunkwa 7 years ago

All power to you---we should be able to communicate with our brothers/sisters in Francophone countries to facilitate smooth transition to prosperity---economic,social etc.
    Nana--I admire you greatly--where were you all these ...

• Joe Abugri 7 years ago

This is the BEST IDEA SO FAR. You are forwarding looking. Posterity will respect you.

• GHANABA 7 years ago

Is English compulsory in the French colonies? Why not Chinese?

• Village Lass 7 years ago

Majority of Ghanaians cannot speak,let alone write the English language well. How about focusing on adult education to help instead of French?
    It should be a choice not by force.

Focus on what matters most Sir.

• NPPigs 7 years ago

We will fight this at the Supreme Court. When I pay my child's school fees, you should not impose what she learns on her.

If indeed, you are forward looking, you will rather be calling for the study of the next big langua ...

• Fifi. 7 years ago

Why should french be made compulsory, the French speaking countries don't make English compulsory in their schools period.

• Fifi. 7 years ago

Why should French be made compulsory in our schools, French speaking countries don't make English compulsory in their schools period.

• Kwabena 7 years ago

My people let's think big for our future leaders my son is in college doing Chinese. Do you know why it is always good to understand people who've developed. We live with Togo, Burkina Faso and ivory coast where there will ...

• Alhmed 7 years ago

Where from this too Nana? Compulsory French for what???Nana Ado paa,do you think this's why we voted for you? We could have let Mahama be in office and walk to nearby countries for French lessons,how good are we in English l ...

• MARFO OBED 7 years ago

that is good for French as a subject in all schools