You are here: HomeNews2017 04 25Article 531911

It's not EOCO's job to retrieve our money from Ibrahim Mahama - GRA

Read Comments Comments (111)

• FRANCIS 7 years ago

All these state Agencies, especially GRA ARE VERY CORRUPT. SO CAN GRA CLARIFY TO GHANAIANS THAT BANKERS DRAFT OR CHEQUES ARE ALLOWED SO THAT OTHER GHANAIANAS CAN USE THAT METHOD. WHY THESE DOUBLE STANDARD. JUST BECAUSE SOMEON ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Any Ghanaian with information of corruption can appeal to EOCO for investigation. The tax owed by Ibrahim is for Ghana and not EOCO. Some people at EOCO including this commissioner need to be fired. How do you accept 44 dud c ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 7 years ago

This Robert Mensah is talking from his ass. These 44 checks were issued way back in 2015 and when they were presented to the Bank it was also found that Mr. I. Mahama had closed the said account. What blocked GRA to not repor ...

• Ghana's Bright Future 7 years ago

Would Ibrahim Mahama issue come out if notorious and nation wrecker NDC were in power. So many thievery went on during slick John Mahama administration that Ghanaians didn't know.

NDC, May not this evil party come to powe ...

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

INDEED, THIS IBRAHIM MAHAMA-GRA ISSUE WOULD NEVER HAVE COME OUT IF CORRUPT, UNPATRIOTIC AND GREEDY NDC WERE STILL IN POWER. THANK HEAVENS FOR GHANA!

• AMUZU 7 years ago

IF IT'S NOT EOCO's JOB TO RETRIEVE OUR MONEY FROM IBRAHIM MAHAMA,WHY EOCO THEN ARRESTED KENPONG UNDER PRESIDENT JOHN D.MAHAMA GOV'T.BECAUSE KENPONG HAD OFF SHORE ACCOUNTS?HEPOCRITIES.

• ST. SIMON 7 years ago

THIS ROBERT MENSAH MAN SHOULD BE SHOWN THE EXIT IMMEDIATELY. THE GOVT SHOULD NOT COMPROMISE ON THIS SORT OF REVENUE LOSS TO THE STATE. THE GOVT NEEDS EVERY CEDI TO FUND ITS NUMEROUS FLAGSHIP PROMISES, HEALTH INSURANCE, FREE S ...

• Jerry 7 years ago

Robert Mensah deserves to be fired forthright for denigrating the constitutional powers of the EOCO.
    He is the type of Officer in GRA who would put individual interest above that of the State.If they have been arranging with ...

• T and T 7 years ago

Crime has been committed and punishment must follow. If we want progress, we must not allow any individual to float above the law.

• fafa 7 years ago

IS IT THE JOB OF THIS FUCKING WRITER'S FUCKING MAMA TO GET OUR MONEY BACK FROM THE THIEVING MAHAMBOLES?

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London 7 years ago

Ibrahim mahama must pay the money and yet he should also go for jail. Blessed be unto Ken Agyapong Amen!!!

• Life 7 years ago

So long as their bribery cheques cleared , mother Ghana's did not matter.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 7 years ago

THE Special or Independent Prosecutors Office should be set up now or never, these thieves should never be allowed to walk on the streets of Accra or anywhere in Ghana freely with this magnitude of corruption allegations han ...

• JJ UK 7 years ago

You are right.

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

10 million is nothing for Ibrahim to pay. He get money paaa.GRA done chop dem own,and de profit done make, so Ibrahim no go reach jail,ken halfapong must prepare to kill himself

• STEVE. CT 7 years ago

LEARN TO WRITE ENGLISH BEFORE YOU POST HERE, FOOLISH MAN, GO AWAY.

• Benard mensah 7 years ago

please take it easy because you've make meaning to him before his comments is been posted

• Evil NDC 7 years ago

Prince Abibirim tell your tin god to pay his debts if his a genuine rich businessman to avoid humiliation and disgrace like this. It is better to be poor and have peace of mind than force yourself to be rich by duping the st ...

• OBREMPON N.Y USA 7 years ago

Since 2015 why did GRA not pursue the
    collection of those 44 cheques payments
    from IBRAHIM ? Did this body know that
    there were dishonest cheques ? And if
    so why waiting till today. I bet you, t ...

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 7 years ago

You are talking rubbish why should you collect over forty cheques before realizing that they are dubious? You all needs to be fired, stupid talk.

• SETORDZIE. 7 years ago

Would GRA allow any business to issue dud cheques and close their account without being dragged to court? This Mensah guy needs a probe himself.

• JT 7 years ago

This is pure incompetence and all the GRA officers involved in this saga should be fired and surcharged for the loss to the state

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 7 years ago

Stupid talk who should you collect over forty cheques before realizing that they are dubious you all needs to be fired stupid talk.

• Kaas 7 years ago

We must respect structures and stop this idiocy of political equalisation. Althoigg Iam against these duld cheques,GRA is doing their work

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 7 years ago

What do you mean by "stop this idiocy and political equalization?" Look these checks were issued in 2015 and when GRA presented to the Bank, Mr. I. Mahama had closed that particular account. Do you think if GRA had been a Pu ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

GRA doing their work? Kept accepting dud checks up to 44 from the same person and never reported to have him arrested because he is the brother of the president? Is this how the GRA works? Doing their work indeed.

• Oye Onye Kwasi Atta 7 years ago

Rumours about bounced cheques are speculations as of now. So EOCO should also come out to tell the public their version of their case. Otherwise all of you must shut up. Be civil because this can happen only in Ghana to save ...

• Joyce 7 years ago

Thank you.The accounts for the cheque had even been closed

• Joyce 7 years ago

What kind of work are you talking about?. Not until now who knew about these dubious transaction.If it wasnt Ken Adjepong nothing would have been done.GRA is just making it sound lke they were dealing with the situation

• NATIVE 7 years ago

Kass you are an amazing idiot!
    Your logic is autistic I am sorry to say.
    Go read as Dr Bawumis advised some stupid politicians. Yes we have respected structures and have Woyome literally steal our money and not paid it des ...

• k kumi 7 years ago

This PRO should be sack as soon as possible, people like him are those who can be easily compromise in fraudulent activities

• PATRIOT 7 years ago

GRA assistant commissioner for communications, Robert Mensah, let me tell u : U ARE CROOKED; UR OUTFIT IS CROOKED.

U ARE PART OF D PROBLEMS GHANA FINDS HERSELF IN. YES, U GUYS ARE SO RICH, U DON'T CARE IF MOTHER GHANA BLE ...

This sound very interesting. GRA should let us know that we pay our duties with arrengment.
    All those guys are to be jailed instead of Ibrahim

• ghanani 7 years ago

THE NPP is just using EOCO to witch-hunt and victimise Ibrahim Mahama.Now the cat is out of the bag.The EOCO should stop interfering in the work of the GRA.If it has become the prosecuting arm of the NPP it should let Ghanaia ...

• BB 7 years ago

What is the work of EOCO then? Don't be stupid. You should think before you text

• adanko[the digger] 7 years ago

Fuck ECOCO!! It is just doing NPP'S work of victimising and witch-hunting its enemies.It has no right to tell GRA how it should do its work.

• Socrates 7 years ago

What is the work of EOCO then? Don't be stupid. You should think before you text. You must be and idiot or mentally challenged to think Ibrahim did nothing wrong. Can you point out what exactly EOCO is doing wrong and illegal

• Mb 7 years ago

You have sat down since 2015 and taken no action for the payment of the money because you were afraid of him kwasia.

• KUTRIKU 7 years ago

IT WILL BE QUITE "STUPID, AND NONSENSICAL" FOR THIS NDC THIEF ROBERT MENSA TO TALK LIKE THAT. DOES HE THINK THE GRA BELONGS TO THE EMPLOYEES AND MANAGEMENT. NOT ONLY WILL THE MONEY BE RETRIEVED BUT IBRAHIM WILL GO TO JAIL AS ...

• ken 7 years ago

Who will trust your organisation again. Useless and not fit for purpose type of organisation. Director or CEO deserve to be sacked on this?

• More saquestions 7 years ago

Foolish man keep mute

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Is a Criminal offense,Ibrahim Mahama Should face justice.Bring him to Supreme court for accountability

• krista 7 years ago

Kennedy agyapong go n buy ur poisonous drug cos is time for u to go down six feet as u promised else u will join the ladies.hahaha

• Fine boy 7 years ago

This GRA guys are not fet to do the job they must be fire with imediate effect. How on Earth a well sound serious manager of an institution take 44 dud cheques and you keep mute until now. If GRA was you private company wi ...

• Zargon 7 years ago

GRAhas not reported anything you EOCO so why investigate the man??? It is pure witch hunting by the npp who refuses to follow structures whenever they are in power.. shameful party

• Socrates 7 years ago

So you think you are wise or possess some amount of common sense? The police or authorities do not need victims to report before is can be investigated. All they need is evidence. Example. The lady that was beaten and strippe ...

• Zargon 7 years ago

Where is the crime? And on what basis is he being investigated

• joojo 7 years ago

Heads must roll at GRA. THEY ARE CORRUPT

They colluded with him to dupe the state . The asst commissioner must go home. When from 2015

• Edem 7 years ago

Are you still at post after this gross incompetence?God save Ghana

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Stupidity! Corrupt GRA do you own the port and therefore have bonafide property to taxes.
    Shut-up and wait for you turn at EOCO.

• Oboy 7 years ago

You people are stupid paa wat abut some people who don't have money why don't you do the same to them

Now can they leave the GRA to do its work?

• Keane 7 years ago

Fuck off you crooks ...how many other criminals have you given credit for two years to?

• Aba 7 years ago

This man should be sacked.

• Nana Mensah 7 years ago

EOCO should allow GRA to do their work and stop the personal issue of Kennedy and the NPP, we all live to see,God Bless Our Home Land Ghana

• Kwabena Omari 7 years ago

Nana EOCO came in after the GRA had been unsuccessful in taking back our money.

• Kwabena Omari 7 years ago

Mr. PRO of GRA the said money belongs to the good people of Ghana and not the institution which you are only privileged to be working for. I maintain that heads must roll in your institution including yourself. For as long ...

• Samuel Aboagye 7 years ago

GRA This is a STUPID and bafoonery talk. The revenue you collect is not yours, but for Ghana. You are all thieves.

• KANAWU 7 years ago

THIS MR MENSAH NEED TO BE JAILED, BECAUSE HIS STATEMENT SHOWS THAT THEY ARE RUNNING DEALS OVER THERE. HOW CAN YOU MAKE SUCH COMMENT FROM YOUR ASS? IT IS EVERY BODY HAVE GIVEN SUCH CHANCES? HOW CAN SOMEONE GIVE 44 CHE QUES AN ...

• dunaa 7 years ago

Mr. Mensah is wrong. The Economic and Organized Crime Office has wide jurisdiction to look into activities which tend to corruption and financial malfeasance. If the GRA was engaged in activities which suggest it's integrity ...

• JJ UK 7 years ago

So what where you guys doing 3 years without taking the money from him?you guys have to sit up in Ghana. Do you know how hard we work to make 7.5 an hour in the UK?

• Justice Kolingo 7 years ago

YOUR MONEY IN DEED!

• egya ekobokyi 7 years ago

What is this nonsense this PRO is uttering? From 2015 till now, what was the Customs Division doing with these dud cheques? Will this have come to light if the NDC were still in power? People like this PRO are nation wreckers ...

• ODUMJA 7 years ago

NANA please clean up the top executive ranks of GRA. Most are corrupt and have no integrity. This Assistant Commissioner Mensah is talking rubbish. All civil servants who have fiduciary responsibility to safeguard the publ ...

• EDEM 7 years ago

THE MONEY DOES NOT BELONG TO THE GRA. IT IS FOR THE PEOPLE OF GHANA. EVERY MONTH, MY SALARY IS TAXED FROM SOURCE. NOBODY WORKS OUT AN ARRANGEMENT FOR ME TO PAY AT MY CONVENIENCE WHY SHOULD IBRAHIM MAHAMA NOT DO SAME?

• MIKE 7 years ago

PROBE THE IDIOT.HE IS AN ACCOMPLICE.

Listen to that opportunistic GRA official who should have been on retirement by now.
    Defending stupidity? Mensah stop making noise and allow EOCO to execute the job senselessly done by your outfit.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1*. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA have a special property which enhanc ...

• IQ ( Asiedu Nkate3) 7 years ago

Base on your action now, and inaction then, one can conclude that you has hands in the dealings of the 44 dud cheques. it shows how corrupt, inexperienced, incompetent, disservice and a very extremely liability you are to the ...

• SIMPLE IKE 7 years ago

IT IS NOT EOCO'S JOB BUT WHO? IT IS THE WORK OF YOUR MOTHER OR YOUR WIFE TO RETRIEVE SUCH MONEY. CORRUPT MAN WITHOUT SHAME.YOU NEED TO BE JAILED.

• Ugly akufo addo 7 years ago

Useless old man want JM to help him fool

• Dickson 7 years ago

Idiot. I was with the view to expect people like you to talk some sense , instead. ....... I just wanted to know if we're all allowed to clear goods from the port after issuance of cheque as means of payment

• EDDY 7 years ago

GRA HAS MOUTH TO TALK NOW. IDIOTS DID THIS HAPPEN LAST YEAR.?
    CORRUPT BUNCH OF THIEVES.

• Abeiku SW2 London 7 years ago

GRA officials need to be investigated thoroughly as well ... how long was it going to take you to retrieve Ghana's money from him ?? Over 40 cheques and keeps closing his accounts then you want to tell Ghanaians it's not EOC ...

• Mac 7 years ago

I think this guy should be transferred coz he is liability to the position he s occupying.For all we know he must be an Ndc man in that position spewing this stuff.He should be immediately.thats all.

Its interesting Nana Akufo-Addo's government will soon use jet fighters to collect even electricity and water bills.
    So things that the noise and foolishness is all over the place have not even been discharged from the habo ...

• Honesty - the best policy! 7 years ago

Shame on you blood-thirsty hounds in a great hurry for the blood of innocent Ghanaians. You will not succeed with your vindictive and evil quest. God is certainly on the side of the defenseless. God will expose and disgrace y ...

• Sam 7 years ago

God detest thieves like your Ibrahim.

• Paa willie 7 years ago

Amazingly shocked! GRA should be seriously investigated. Someone is unable to pay few ghc to clear his gds from the port and forfeits them. Awuradze b3gye steer no fir GRA hon nsam

• KKKABOBO 7 years ago

Hmmmm Ghana for Robert Mensah,sitting on your ass for someone to issue 44dud cheques and now you have the right to come to the public to issue such an unfortunate statement.For some one to issued such cheques without reportin ...

• Justice 7 years ago

Evil person calling someone evil. be wise enough to discuss issues at stake.The whole issue about the good Ibrahim is witchhunting. plan by akofo addo.

• Dan 7 years ago

Hmmmm lost of words, purely witch hunt can't think far destroying our fellow brother bcos of jealousy why not d government pay him what it owns Ibrahim 4 him Ibrahim to pay d govt what he also owns d state. Foolish politician ...

• Yollow man 7 years ago

Eoco has been collecting money from traders for tax evasion in cape coaet

• Derick shake 7 years ago

Ghana is Ghana this nonsense will remain in ghana. If they have some internal mechanism to collect the money why all this time? If Ken did not bring this to light who will know this mother fucker thing ibrahim was doing. We s ...

• George Nutsugah 7 years ago

John Mahama is a thief and Ibrahim Mahama is a criminal. I suspect that their family has a history of stealing and other criminal activities.

• JDM,NDC KLIIED MILLS 7 years ago

USELSEE MAN IBRAHIM HAVE NO HART FOR GHANIANS,KILLERS,GOD WILL PUNISH THEM ALL ONE BY ONE FOOOLS

• Agengo 7 years ago

The GRA boss and that of Assistance Commissioner (Mensah) should be fired. Thank God this issue have come out now.

• Moses 7 years ago

It's rather disgraceful that the Revenue Service of Ghana is gone political. What they are doing is not right. I worked outside Ghana in the Revenue and post-dated cheques are allowed in payment of taxes under the tax laws. U ...

• Natse 7 years ago

Its unfortunate people who are to know better are blinded by political colour by not condemning these dastardly act perpetrated by brother of former president of Ghana
    The during which Ibrahim ,s company with held to pay th ...

SO WHAT EXACTLY WAS THE GRA WAITING FOR BEFORE THE CHANGE OF GOVERNMENT TO RETRIEVE THE MONEY FROM IBRAHIM MAHAMA? DOES IT MEAN THAT IF EOCO SUCCEEDS IN RAKING IN
    THE MONEY, GRA WOULD REFUSE IT? WHAT CHILDISH NONSENSE? SORR ...

SORRY FOR THE TYPOS IN THE TITLE TO MY REJOINDER. THANKS.

• Galley Dzokoto 7 years ago

Hey, Mr. Robert Mensah, it's not eoco's responsibility to retrieve state money when it finds that something is fishy at the GRA ? Are you to explain to eoco their job? Please eoco, go on & probe GRA first, then I Mahama. More ...

• Galley Dzokoto 7 years ago

If the NPP got continues with this rythme I predict that they will rule Gh for the next 30 yrs & usher GH into the group of best 20 world economies.

• Sankofa 7 years ago

If Ibrahim Mahama has not cleared his imported goods from the port, why is it being claimed that he cleared goods without paying the required duty?

• critical man 7 years ago

masa stop that stupid things that u are saying you don't even know your work

• Coffie 7 years ago

EOCO has never retrieve any money for GRA but it only retrieve Government money for the Government anytime somebody defrauds the government. The GRA man is calling a spade a big spoon.

• afia kobi 7 years ago

do not back track... you should all bury your heads in shame..

• starbuoy 7 years ago

Stupid Ghanaians siafuoor...what do you know about the current situations, is your father part of those who took the claimed dud cheques? Poverty is a diseases and thats what making you fools having hatred for the gentle man ...

• BNQ 7 years ago

An Idiot

• Abeeku 7 years ago

Say it loud to the witch hunters.

Kennedy Agyapong I am coming for your funeral next month.

• Passer By 7 years ago

On Adom TV, I heard Alhaji saying even Ghana Government do issue cheques to contractors that bounces and said numerious bounced cheques are still with contractors. Mr. Alotey Jacobs also said bounce cheques in Ghana is like " ...

• Kwame Barima 7 years ago

George Mensah of G.R.A, 'ayekoo'. It's not the duty of EOCO to collect money for your outfit. Why haven't you taken the action of retrieving the money since all this while until just two months ago when NPP came to power. Geo ...

• P. OSEI 7 years ago

FIRE THAT MENSAH, PERIOD

• God bless our motherland. 7 years ago

I can't think far and i can't madness abt this.Which foollsh person would even believe you? Robert Mensah respect yourself and take our money from ibra.You sat there for different organisation to do your wrk show how incompet ...

• Daamango 7 years ago

A day late and 1 Cedi short!

• Dboy 7 years ago

This Mensah man is STUPID and a nation wrecker. EOCO is not doing the job of the GRA if this man doesn't know.

Foolish talk

• The young shall grow 7 years ago

It's good we all share our thoughts on these new developments in our nation Ghana,
    I have listened and read all comments over this issue but never have I heard or read anywhere that the goods we are all talking about is sti ...

• sir_riscky 7 years ago

Its obvious that abt half of our populatn stnd illetrates bt it as if the so called literates are increasing the numbers. Wht is de job of EOCO? if u dnt knw den y nt check rather than spk frm ur inner most part. Evn thieves ...

• Rhandy 7 years ago

Mr. GRA Man,

What you are saying is absolutely Rubbish. You are ALL Corrupt and Thieves!Do you think Ghana is for you? and that, you can take Ghanaians for a ride after such lengthy period of default?
    You should be asham ...

• Aban 7 years ago

In fact the country Ghana has a huge problem which sometimes need to be solve by only soldiers. Who is that stupid Robert Mensah? Does this man know how to retrieve money from a fraudster like Ibrahim Mahama? Why is he now ac ...