Are they PAs or interns? I don't know of anywhere that interns are put on regular salaries. they may be given some meager allowances because as interns, you are still learning and have not been qualified as PAs.
Awurah Adwoa Agyekum 8 years ago
Even the so called meager allowances you are talking about are not given. It is very disheartening for people to be working their ass off without any remuneration.
Benedicta Addo 8 years ago
Mr Frank Agyena-Karikari please a P.A intern is one who has written the medical and dental council examination and has passed successfully and is registered with a provisional license. A P.A intern is not a student. So they are qualified as P.A's and deserve to be paid. They are not demanding to be put on regular salaries but to be given the better renumeration as they deserve.Thought you needed to be briefed on this. Thank you.
Bettylove 8 years ago
Please kindly enquire well before u put ani ignorant comment..Thnks
Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago
Call me ignorant. You are rather uneducated on this issue. That is how the system works. Find out how many National Service people who are professionals but are put on allowances. Are some National Service people not Chartered Accountants, Secretaries, teacher, engineers but are not salaried? Don't let us be emotional. If they are interns, despite passing their final exams, they do not even qualify to prescribe any form of medication. This can only happen in Ghana.
Anonymous. 8 years ago
And no this is standard practice in West Africa and beyond. Interns in the hospital setting are the hardest workers and are officially paid according to the health system pay scale. This is not peculiar to GH so don't say what you don't know.
Nana Yaa 8 years ago
It is not a final exam, it's a license exam which gives us the right to work. If you don't pass you don't get to work as a PA. So we are allowed to prescribe and treat cases. Get your facts right.
Samuel 8 years ago
Wait until when u have an emergency at night and the person there to save u is a PA intern, then u will understand the subject.
Samuel Kofi 8 years ago
This I personaly think is a dehumanising.How can they work without being paid for.Drastic measure must be put in place to address this unsounding challenge
Kofi, they are interns and at the learning curve. Under normal circumstance they have to operate under Medical Doctors. When I needed my certification to teach at ATL, GA, I had to work for free for two months though I had passed the standardized test required of me and any other requirements. Yes, they are still learning and cannot be salaried. Times are hard in Ghana but they cannot be salaried. Regular allowances can be contained but not salaries. Have they even passed their evaluation exams?
Pk 8 years ago
I suggest you find out more about the process before you comment, which evaluation, these are people who have passed their licensing exam and given license by the Ghana Medical and Dental council to practice medicine, these are people who run morning, afternoon, night, weekends and holiday duties and are paid nothing, not even 1ghc. So please find out more before you comment, Are rotation nurses not even paid close to a 1000ghc, and rather the one that see the patient and admit for the nurse to see is paid nothing
I understand their hardship but are they qualified to be PAs or interns. I have been in their situation before but until they become certified PAs, they cannot be salaried. They should rather fight for allowances and not salaries.
As interns, they should not work without a Medical Doctor's supervision. That is against medical ethics. They can refuse to work if there is no Doctor present. Again, they are interns and not PAs.
Rotation nurse have been qualified to do what they do but these are not. Intern nurses cannot think of salaries but only allowances.
I have kids in medical schools on internship and are not given allowances. The hospital administration may give them allowance but they are not entitled to.
Massa if you don't understand the system better keep quiet.. How can you compare two months to a year of starvation.. My brother think twice
Ask your friends and family relations elsewhere in the world if interns are salaried before you make such a comment. Even some medical students have to comb everywhere before they can get a place for internship. I know it because it affected my kids before. The interns can be given allowances and not salaries. Is this difficult to understand? Let them be certified as PAs and they can talk about salaries.
NANA QUESI 8 years ago
Senior relax .u not getting the whole scenario. The interns are not still in school. They done With school and sat for the MDC LICENSE N are qualified to practice Medicine.... Its the same as housmanship for medical doctors and its the same as national service for non medical Field.. So jux imagine after school doing nationalservice with no allowance and not even 1gh given to u by the government. .. Ask your self this question. If your children are done with school and licensed to practice medicine and doing thier housemanship with nothing from the government. How will u feel and how will your children also feel. Jux analyze the whole scenario senior .... Doing housmanship for one year with no money and allowance as well.. Ask your children if they were not placed on salary structure when they were doing thier housmanship
Anonymous. 8 years ago
I think your problem is with the word "intern" which is a coinage of the West African medical training system. It's not exactly the same as that of the corporate world. Hospital interns are provisionally registered professionals who are at entry level on the health system pay scale. They're called interns because they get the permanent license after that period(1-2 years). This is standard practice across West Africa in the health professional training system. Let me add that when you rush to a tertiary hospital, the first person likely to take care of you is an "intern" before a more senior professional arrives.
David Duodu Darkwah 8 years ago
Mass..if you don't have in-depth knowledge about this issue,you better keep quiet and stop those silly remarks. You have worked free for two months and so you are expecting them to also work for free.....Medicine and teaching ,are they the same ? .Do you know the risks involved in medicine.?.....masa don't annoy people here.
Frempomaa 8 years ago
The MOH,labour commision and other stakeholders should do better. Cos if they were PAs being treated like this, they wouldn't be happy. Its very sad.
Very very sad
OTIKO 8 years ago
MORE STRIKES ON THE WAY SINCE THE COUNTRY IS NOW MORE HAD. HARDER THEY COME.!!!!
Gunison 8 years ago
Pay the interns their due cos they are rendering essential services to the Dear people of Ghana and must be remunerated as such.
Should they be salaried while they are interns?
Yussif Razak 8 years ago
People go out of the country to Ukraine, China and other countries to read medicine without the schools they attend paying any tax to the government of Ghana yet when they come n sit for license exam which is organized by d medical counsil n passed, they re posted to do an internship which they call house job n do I know how much they take??
Please dnt talk about wht u dnt know.
Bettylove 8 years ago
So disheartening after being put on call duties,consulting,night n other duties yet not being given a penny...
Tee 8 years ago
Frank u may not know all the fact
But they're interns just like how a Dr, Pharmacist, nurses,etc just complete school and is posted for training at the health facilities. I can tell u f a fact that there u may not easily be able to distinguish PA from Dr interns if not by Tag bcos almost similar job n trainings. They're not posted by NSS but by MOH. Yet the MOH n other responsible bodies affiliated to this PA program hv neglected them for over 3 yes once they MOH started posting them perhaps bcos most of them attended the private universities. But r they not Ghanaian training n helping in the Ghanaian facilities . until recently most of the PA were either graduate of other programs, workers with families n sometime u may leave your previous job to pursue this program only to b posted with any allowance.
Tell me if it's fair. Even the previous MOH, honorable segbefia was shock to know this was happening to PAs but now there's a change of govt
Must poly always go on strike bf the right things r done
Aaaaaba
Don't get me wrong. If we use the term intern, they must work with a Medical Doctor or stay at home. Interns are not supposed to work on their own.
There is no way an intern can be salaried so they can also refuse to work if ... read full comment
Don't get me wrong. If we use the term intern, they must work with a Medical Doctor or stay at home. Interns are not supposed to work on their own.
There is no way an intern can be salaried so they can also refuse to work if there is no medical Doctor on duty. That is plain and simple. It is wrong to put interns on call. It is not acceptable anywhere. In ATL, GA, qualified PAs have to operate under a medical Doctor, even though they know what they are doing.
If they want to be salaried, then the term intern should be taken from them and be made qualified PAs
Pk 8 years ago
Aahhh but you, is this ATL,
Is the practice in ATL the same in Ghana, we talking about current issues happying in Ghana and you keep saying ATL
Is this a problem in ATL
Is the practice in ATL the same in Ghana, we talking about current issues happying in Ghana and you keep saying ATL
Is this a problem in ATL
Tell me where interns are salaried. I want them to be given money but not salaried. If they are interns, they have to be given allowances and on call duties but cannot be salaried. How many nurses, accountants and engineers who are interns are salaried?
Joel Padi 8 years ago
A physician assistant intern is not a student,he is someone who has completed years of education at a university or an accredited institution and has written and passed the licensing exams organized by the medical and dental council of Ghana, this person is then inducted by the same regulatory body,MDC and is given the license to undertake a 1yr mandatory internship/housemanship as in the case of House officers, so before you say a physician assistant intern is a student please get your facts right
Thank you.
Joel, from what I know, interns are not supposed even to work without a Medical Doctor. I understand they may do a lot of work but so long as they are INTERNS, they cannot be salaried.
I came out of university a long time ag ... read full comment
Joel, from what I know, interns are not supposed even to work without a Medical Doctor. I understand they may do a lot of work but so long as they are INTERNS, they cannot be salaried.
I came out of university a long time ago, taught two "A" level classes but was not salaried but was on allowances though I did more than the regular teachers. That is how the system works until it is changed.
Anonymous. 8 years ago
I know because I'll soon be a doctor "intern" or "houseman". They earn salaries all over the world including that your America. You don't understand how this thing works. Please find out more before you talk authoritatively.
Ras 8 years ago
It will surprise you to know that about 90% of the 'doctors' in the consulting rooms on ward rounds are actually PAs. Go to any Hospital and do a head count of PAs against doctors and you will understand their plight.
M ... read full comment
It will surprise you to know that about 90% of the 'doctors' in the consulting rooms on ward rounds are actually PAs. Go to any Hospital and do a head count of PAs against doctors and you will understand their plight.
MOH should know that a hungry man is an angry man.
Yussif Razak 8 years ago
This isn't fair at all....from the little I know most cases re been seen by the Physician assistants at the district and some regional levels. This really puts the average Ghananain who is seeking care at a great danger. This must be resolved bcos I know the rotational nurses re being paid
Kwabena Adjei 8 years ago
I have younger sister who read same program and we all thought n expected that after she has passed her license exam n has even done a year internship; going on 12 hour duties n wht she called on call duties. We expected for her to be posted n start working but she is still in the house, frustrated n sometimes say she knew she wouldn't ve sch at all.
Meanwhile there re various health facilities lacking practitioners n some been managed by a community nurse. What Country re we into?? Hmm.....if care is not taking, wht Dr Nkrumah once said is going to happen.
asem 8 years ago
don't forget government paid for your training, look at them
myk 8 years ago
For your information, government does not pay a pesswas. Even if government pays for training of physician assistants in universities like central, Pentecost and the likes does that make physician interns slaves? Even slaves have to eat. Government pays teachers and nurses allowances during training but they are still paid salaries as rotation nurse....what about that?
Nana Frimpong Jnr 8 years ago
my boss, government doesn't pay a peswa in PA training. aside Kintampo and Allied Science, all other PA students are from private institutions and they pay huge sums. the lowest u can get in the country is abt 7000cedis per year.
Samuel 8 years ago
Why neglect them. They must be paid a fair amount.
Sabbah O. Stephen 8 years ago
physician Assistant interns are licensed practitioners who diagnose , manage & treat major medical conditions just like doctors do. In fact they form more than 80% of clinicians in rural Ghana. Some are found in district hospitals as well as teaching hospitals . Not paying such cadre of professionals is a gross breach of their fundamental human rights . It is inhumane, humiliating & lugubrious .Health is well, pay the interns now!!!!
Nyanoh 8 years ago
@Frank Karikari , I wish you had a brother as one of this P.A interns then you will understand what it means to graduate and having your Housemanship without a peny .I don't think you understand what it means by being a P.A intern.
yang muluo 8 years ago
good effort. if they are good leaders they will hear your cry.
Nana Frimpong Jnr 8 years ago
Uncle Frank, The PA interns are not asking for salary or be paid as a PA. All they are asking for is conditions for for their services. House Officers(those who we call Jnr Doctors and pharmacy interns) have conditions of service. they are given accommodation, allowances and renumeration at the end of each month. PA interns perform similar task as as House Officers but watch something here: A PA intern has to rent his own apartment, pay his utility bails, feed himself and cater for other needs and above all are at risk. they work on call duties and at the end of the month, nothing is given to them. Mr. Frank, I don't think you would have been happy if you pay huge sums of fees for your child to be a PA n then he is treated like this. the most painful aspect is The PA interns are not even absorbed and given jobs after their painful and Payless work for one year whiles some health facilities jungle for medical practioners. MOH and the President should do something abt it. They deserve better
Gator 8 years ago
"Interns" are not asking for too much, we are superior to nurses on the field hence at the end of tte month nurses take close 1000 cedis. Is an insult to our profession, when we sit down there,,do close to what what Drs do and at the end of the month and on weekly bases call our parents we are broke. All that we want is our efforts as interns must be seen and as such valued and appreciated.
Mr Frank Agyena-Karikari please a P.A intern is one who has written the medical and dental council examination and has passed successfully and is registered with a provisional license. A P.A intern is not a student. So they a ...
Call me ignorant. You are rather uneducated on this issue. That is how the system works. Find out how many National Service people who are professionals but are put on allowances. Are some National Service people not Chartere ...
And no this is standard practice in West Africa and beyond. Interns in the hospital setting are the hardest workers and are officially paid according to the health system pay scale. This is not peculiar to GH so don't say wha ...
Kofi, they are interns and at the learning curve. Under normal circumstance they have to operate under Medical Doctors. When I needed my certification to teach at ATL, GA, I had to work for free for two months though I had pa ...
I suggest you find out more about the process before you comment, which evaluation, these are people who have passed their licensing exam and given license by the Ghana Medical and Dental council to practice medicine, these ...
I understand their hardship but are they qualified to be PAs or interns. I have been in their situation before but until they become certified PAs, they cannot be salaried. They should rather fight for allowances and not sala ...
Ask your friends and family relations elsewhere in the world if interns are salaried before you make such a comment. Even some medical students have to comb everywhere before they can get a place for internship. I know it bec ...
Senior relax .u not getting the whole scenario. The interns are not still in school. They done With school and sat for the MDC LICENSE N are qualified to practice Medicine.... Its the same as housmanship for medical doctors ...
I think your problem is with the word "intern" which is a coinage of the West African medical training system. It's not exactly the same as that of the corporate world. Hospital interns are provisionally registered profession ...
Mass..if you don't have in-depth knowledge about this issue,you better keep quiet and stop those silly remarks. You have worked free for two months and so you are expecting them to also work for free.....Medicine and teaching ...
Very very sad
People go out of the country to Ukraine, China and other countries to read medicine without the schools they attend paying any tax to the government of Ghana yet when they come n sit for license exam which is organized by d m ...
But they're interns just like how a Dr, Pharmacist, nurses,etc just complete school and is posted for training at the health facilities. I can tell u f a fact that there u may not easily be ...
There is no way an intern can be salaried so they can also refuse to work if ...
Is this a problem in ATL
Tell me where interns are salaried. I want them to be given money but not salaried. If they are interns, they have to be given allowances and on call duties but cannot be salaried. How many nurses, accountants and engineers w ...
A physician assistant intern is not a student,he is someone who has completed years of education at a university or an accredited institution and has written and passed the licensing exams organized by the medical and dental ...
I came out of university a long time ag ...
M ...
This isn't fair at all....from the little I know most cases re been seen by the Physician assistants at the district and some regional levels. This really puts the average Ghananain who is seeking care at a great danger. This ...
I have younger sister who read same program and we all thought n expected that after she has passed her license exam n has even done a year internship; going on 12 hour duties n wht she called on call duties. We expected for ...
For your information, government does not pay a pesswas. Even if government pays for training of physician assistants in universities like central, Pentecost and the likes does that make physician interns slaves? Even slaves ...
my boss, government doesn't pay a peswa in PA training. aside Kintampo and Allied Science, all other PA students are from private institutions and they pay huge sums. the lowest u can get in the country is abt 7000cedis per y ...
physician Assistant interns are licensed practitioners who diagnose , manage & treat major medical conditions just like doctors do. In fact they form more than 80% of clinicians in rural Ghana. Some are found in district hosp ...
@Frank Karikari , I wish you had a brother as one of this P.A interns then you will understand what it means to graduate and having your Housemanship without a peny .I don't think you understand what it means by being a P.A i ...
Uncle Frank, The PA interns are not asking for salary or be paid as a PA. All they are asking for is conditions for for their services. House Officers(those who we call Jnr Doctors and pharmacy interns) have conditions of ser ...
"Interns" are not asking for too much, we are superior to nurses on the field hence at the end of tte month nurses take close 1000 cedis. Is an insult to our profession, when we sit down there,,do close to what what Drs do an ...