You are here: HomeNews2017 04 06Article 526379

Rape has nothing to do with girls' dressing - Ama Ata Aidoo to Otiko

Read Comments Comments (78)

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

After all, Man no be wood.

• KOFI AYIGBE 7 years ago

ATTA AIDOO HAS BEEN TOO LONG AWAY FROM HOME. SHE COMES BACK WITH A WESTERN VIEW THAT IS TOTALLY UNHELPFUL. OR, IS SHE TRYING TO GET ATTENTION LATELY? DID SHE WANT OTIKO'S MINISTRY? AHHH.....ISN'T IT THE RESPONSIBILITY OF EVER ...

• Adona 7 years ago

There is nothing more annoying than a fool who thinks he knows it all. Listen to AMA Atta Aidoo. You'll learn a thing or two

• Langa 7 years ago

Adona, your Professor-kin writes like it is she's an "intern ghost-writer"!

Read her useless post again!

• Frais how some isnk Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

For once Otiko is right and only fools will not admit. Even the way people dress make police see them as possible criminals.
    The way women dress sometimes make them attractive to men. Men who cannot contain themselves then r ...

• jay 7 years ago

I think there is nothing to learn from her if she thinks the mode of dressing of a girl can not cause rape.

• Esi 7 years ago

What about those who rape little girls and boys? Is it because babies expose themselves to them? There is a breakdown of law and order in Ghana. Anyone does whatever they want. There is no leadership. The government is corrup ...

• KOFI AYIGBE 7 years ago

"WE" HAVE, OUT OF NOSTALGIA PERHAPS, MADE HER WHO SHE FEELS SHE IS. "WE" NEEDED OUR NGAIO MARSH TO BRAGG ABOUT BUT TRUTHFULLY, HER BEST BOOK IS SHIT & NOWHERE NEAR ACHEBE. MAYBE YOU WANT TO GLAMOURIZE BEING TRANS, QUEER OR GA ...

• KB 7 years ago

it looks like you have a personal problem with the woman...your comments sound so personal

• Boat 7 years ago

There's a thing or 2 we can learn from this lady. Ghana is far behind, and who are all these trolls who seem to know nothing but keep putting women down. Ghanaian women do not do that to the men, but they keep disrespecting ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 7 years ago

not "minister"material

• VOLTAGE 7 years ago

OTIKO HERSELF ALSO BEEN DRESSING LIKE THAT BEFORE WHY THEY NEVER RAPE HER.

• Forgive Attipoe 7 years ago

Any sensible person will agree with with the minister.

• Paapidi 7 years ago

A fool like you will agree with the minister. Girls wearing pairs of jeans are raped all the time and what do you say about that? Pure and simple, rape is violence against girls and women and there is no justification, WHATSO ...

• Hesse 7 years ago

That otiko has no sense..she has shaved half her brains away to talk like that

• SAKAPIA 7 years ago

Mama, then you have got it wrong. Decent dressing is not likely to receive rape attempt. I thought you will either advice our young ladies to adhere to what the Hon Minister said rather than condemning it. Their dressing is n ...

• NAK 7 years ago

A MADMAN RAPE A WOMAN IN THE MARKET BECAUSE OF HER MODE OF DRESS.THE SAID WOMAN BEND DOWN TO BUY SOME FOOD ITEMS AND BECAUSE THE DRESS IS TOO SHORT HER 'THIS THING' WAS EXPOSED,AND THAT ATTRACTED THE RAPE.THE HON MINISTER IS ...

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

So now you liken yourself to a madman. So other people should not wear what they want because you can't control your animalistic and mad tendencies. You come across as a potential rapist who will plead insanity. Stop the mad ...

• Ogboo NAna 7 years ago

Will u rape a girl because she is wearing a short skirt? Do u think it is normal to forcefully penetrate a girl without her consent all because she is not wearing the right cloths/? This mentality is the reason why ghana is i ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Teach them ooo, teach them some. Too many simpletons with loud mouths in the system la.

• Kapeh 7 years ago

Some men rape babies and you do hear about that. Do the babies also wear mini skirts and skinpy dresses?

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Rape is sexual violence and he must retract those statements. She should stop digging in. Retract and move on.

• Steve 7 years ago

Oh ama are you serious.

• Trust 7 years ago

My Learned Prof. should proved it with data and some analysis. Let the ladies learn to cover their nakedness well in public

• The Don of K 7 years ago

Kwasia you think ghana is saudia Arabia ? Women can wear whatever they want if u have a problem with that dose your eyes. Stop making Ghana into a religious state or equivalent to an Islamic country. This is a free country. I ...

• The Don of K 7 years ago

That minister is out of her mind. Men who cannot control themselves blame women for rape. And thisuneducated minister is helping them with their sick behavior. How stupid is a woman when she wants girls to take repsosiblity f ...

• NAK 7 years ago

YOU MAD

• Yaa 7 years ago

Yes, rape has a lot to do with girls dressing. It a girl dresses provocative, thus inviting rape. I agree strongly with Otiko

• Dr Diasempa 7 years ago

Any reasonable person will agree with Otiko and not seek to undermine such a good counsel. Note, Ama Ata Aidoo that Wher3ma na 3twetwe ndwom 3ba!
    Your Ndclike dislodge of Otoko's well-intended advice is not only myopic and d ...

• Kaakie 7 years ago

This woman shock me rufff!!! Aaaaaaa at her age she cldnt decode the sense in wht Otiko said. Ama Ata Aidoo, u r a disappointment. Better sit down quietly n think far n outside the box then u will understnd n decode the wisdo ...

• TAWIAH BOYE 7 years ago

CONFIRMED. OTIKO DJABA IS UNFIT TO BE A MINISTER. SHE CUTS AVERY POOR AND DIRTY PICTURE OF HERSELF, SO SHE CAN'T BE MINISTER. NPP DOESN'T APPEAR TO HAVE THE OYE LITHUR TYPE, WHO IS SOLID AND INTELLIGENT, NOT THIS FIANGLE GIRL ...

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Stop politicising everything. I thought whn someone grows he/she gets more wisdom. Is a pity. Very disappointing! smh

• Kotey Hemingway 7 years ago

In Saudi Arabia and other Muslim countries they blame women for rape. That is why they have women wearing burqa as if they are some property that needs to be covered. Ghana is not a religious or an Islamic country. Respect ou ...

• The Black 7 years ago

So how does the children under 10 years dress to be raped.The minister got her message wrong m

• papa ghana think Good 7 years ago

Just common sense and some people still don't get it.she was talking about decent dressing. Abaaa

• Matete 7 years ago

You are right madam

• Silan 7 years ago

You ladies have the power to entice men and our clothing is one way of that act. Ama please allow Otiko is advising girls please allow an experience lady to share that experience to girls.

• Mac 7 years ago

Come again mama. You didn't think far on this one.

• AZAA 7 years ago

After all an Octogenarian is more more more sensible than the Prez choice to represent him at this ministry. Where is Ghana heading to folks.

• Kins 7 years ago

You're as foolish as the old lady. How many right thinking members of the society will comment in favor of this stupidity. Ama atta Aidoo tell your grand daughters to wear panties and walk on the streets

• AZAA 7 years ago

Otiko's hairdo attempts me to take an opportunity to advance...............

• TWEAA dc 7 years ago

Ama Ata Aidoo...why is it that girls are not encouraged to dress anyhow....no one answer please....Otiko's view could be one of them....so she is right to warn them.

• Kotey Ankrah 7 years ago

so if a 10 year old girl wear a short knicker gets raped, it is her fault? gyimimi gyimi in Ghana is getting out of hand

• Jamiu 7 years ago

Oh, Amma Atta Aidoo, you have disappointed many Ghanaians with this comment. If a girl's dressing cannot attract rape, what else can do that? It is a major factor. You have brought politics into this. You simply hate Otiko. W ...

• Dundu Banza 7 years ago

Not all the time,but don't encourage our girls to come out almost nude. Afterall you are a woman. You don't know how men feel. Is it wrong to dress modesty?

• Steve 7 years ago

A woman talking like this shocking

• Sweet Ghana 7 years ago

Madam Proffesor, even though dressing might not necessarily be the cause of rape since the phenomena is as rife in Moslem countries as it is everywhere, the admonishing wasn't out of place since the animalistic instincts to l ...

• Kweku trouble 7 years ago

Haaba!!! How can any sane person justify rape? Are you animals? Guys stop the bullshit.

• Jake 7 years ago

Seeing is believing!

• Fineboy 7 years ago

My Allah save us from this kind of women is very clear this woman is one of the irresponsible parents who always allow their wards to promote prostitution and indecent behavior

• francis 7 years ago

Ama Ata Aidoo is these days not the Aka Ata Aidoo we knew. She doesn't make sense these days. Is she not the person who angrily walked away from a program because her name had wrongly been spelt ? Minister Otiko was damn rig ...

• Dundu Banza 7 years ago

The eye gate is very potent. If you only hear about a lion close by,you are less likely to react than when you SEE A LION. indecent exposure will likely lead to indecent behaviour. Men,please learn to hold your guns by lookin ...

• fiko 7 years ago

All i think aa strongly against de act but how can u claim it has nothin to do wid dressin ???? ....am a bit surprised !

• Jeremiah 7 years ago

Oh Auntie Ama. I expected better. I thought you'd assist in teaching our up and coming generation to dress decently. Not just about rape but about societal decadence..

• Abotsi 7 years ago

Ama Aidoo is out of touch with reality

• Lori 7 years ago

Where from this woman? Is she aware that there are sex addicts in our society? The least exposure of sensitive parts of both men and women attracts these sex addicts. Yes, most men and women who exposed their sensitive bodies ...

• Lori 7 years ago

Where from this woman? Is she aware that there are sex addicts in our society? The least exposure of sensitive parts of both men and women attracts these sex addicts. Yes, most men and women who exposed sensitive parts of th ...

• Ghana Ba. 7 years ago

Dear readers please read the Bible 2 Samuel Chapter 11 verses 2-5.
    When the eye sees it communities with the brain. If the person does not have self control then action follows. It was when David saw the woman bathing and ...

• Bibi 7 years ago

Foolish old lady. What is weong with what the minister said? Let your daughters wear short skirts around men and see what will happen to them. Whoever gave you that professor title should take it back because you are not qual ...

• Rasco 7 years ago

Have u ever raped a woman? How do u know the fillings of men. A man's filling is always in his eyes. Immediately a man sees some naked part of a woman he begins to think how she will be in bed. It's a fact.

• John 7 years ago

Tell Ama Ataa that when women dress provocatively,they become vulnerable

• Adu 7 years ago

That's your view. Some thoughts triggered by provocative dressing whilst others rape thoughts are influenced by evil lustful imaginations....

• GHANABA 7 years ago

Ama is absolute right and Otiko is wrong. There is no proof that girls Rape have something with the way they dress. There are tribes in Africa and South America who only cover their private parts and have less rape. What Ghan ...

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Mini skirts arouse sexual feelings in men. This is a fact. This is the reason why it is banned in some countries.Infact. Girls who wear mini skirts are looked upon as prostitutes by the society. Only fools will disagree with ...

• Aforo Kyei 7 years ago

how does a sane person justify rape? unless yu want to tell us that u have a mental problem. if you are normal human being you will nt attribute mini skirt to rape unless you have raped someboody before? what if u ave a siste ...

• bhk 7 years ago

I believe the minister is not far from right. It's evident that some so called fashion are just not different from dressing of prostitutes.

• ametepe 7 years ago

It is only in Ghana that we can have otiko as a minister

If your dressing can't attract rapists then we shld take that out of our syllabus cos in B6 Citizenship Education, it's part of how girls can manage adolescent problems.

• ametepe 7 years ago

otiko is not a ministerial material, is this the people npp say they have. When did building walls become a policy. Square peg in an oval hole.

• Prince Charles 7 years ago

Otiko needs a good fuck; that's what she needs to keep her mouth shut.

• BJ 7 years ago

THE FACT THAT YOU LEFT YOUR DOOR UNLOCKED DOES NOT ENTITLE A THIEF TO ENTER AND STEAL. BUT COMMON SENSE TELLS US TO LOCK OUR DOORS SO THAT THE THIEF WILL NOT HAVE EASY ACCESS OR BE EASILY ATTRACTED TO ENTER AND STEAL. GIRLS U ...

• FRANK , MARYLAND 7 years ago

That's true OJ. I think therefore that Prof Aidoo is right. Otiko is not intellectually sophisticated enough. She's too much of a simpleton. That's why she'll give such advise to our girls.

• Scriptures Ofori 7 years ago

it really really matters, mama.

• James K. Ewudzie 7 years ago

Has a Ministet of State no right to dress well? Is it out of place for her to link exposed thighs and breats to rape?
    Ama Ata Aidoo, a radical feminist, thinks that is bad. Why? Because it 'suppresses' the girls. Hmmmm. Fals ...

• James K. Ewudzie 7 years ago

Has a Minister of State no right to advise school girls to ...

• KB 7 years ago

it seems you have a personal problem with the woman

• Kapeh 7 years ago

Some men rape babies and you do hear about that. Do the babies also wear mini skirts and skinpy dresses? come on!

• exgratia 7 years ago

Stop insulting her every body is entitled to his view