THE CRITERIA FOR MOST OF THESE RANKINGS HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE. FOR EXAMPLE, THE SIZE OF ACADEMIC STAFF, CAMPUS FACILITIES, INTERNATIONAL STUDENT NUMBERS, ETC ALL GO TO INFLUENCE THE JUDGES' DECISIONS . ON A LESSER NOTE, THE PORNO FACULTIES, SEX FOR GRADES CULTURE AT LEGON & TECH ALSO HURT THEIR STANDING.
JERRY 8 years ago
Ghanaians are known to be talkers and not thinkers. Ghanaians talk allday but achieve very little but choose to run down anyone else doing better than us, that is the typical character of an average Ghanaian, which is exhibited everyday of our life. Smaller countries of Rwanda, Uganda, Botswana, Angola, Kenya, etc have all made successful inroads in creating wealth that has produced Forbes recognised billionaires and yet we sit here in Ghana and engage in unproductive, self praise and empty talks everyday from morning till night. A people they say deserve the kind of leaders they get, unfortunately we have been blessed with a President whose passion is also to engage in empty talks that produces nothing but just "Empty Talks" The African Universities rankings speaks volume and teaches lessons, only if we'll use that to change the way we think about ourselves.
Edem Peki 8 years ago
U r perfectly ryt bro but mind u, kenya nd angola r nt smal countries as u said
munir 8 years ago
You are absolutely right, Ghanaian never help each other just pull him down, self praise and empty talk. thank
T and T 8 years ago
Productivity is very low in the country because of our primitive culture which can not change.
All over the world, culture changes as population, new technologies, new ideas, etc come, but in Africa and especially in Ghana, ... read full comment
Productivity is very low in the country because of our primitive culture which can not change.
All over the world, culture changes as population, new technologies, new ideas, etc come, but in Africa and especially in Ghana, we think culture must be the same all the time.
Take "funerals" for example: Waste of time and money, time to display wealth, look for love, party and get drunk.
Take chieftaincy: mismanagement of lands, leaving no spaces for water ways, parks and gardens, schools, etc. deforestation spreading like bush fire but they are too blind to see. They pronounce U guilty, there is no appeal.
This is not a curse, but we will remain 3rd world(less intelligent people) till thy kingdom come unless we start to make changes in our culture, not continue to do things same way as when the population was about 2 million etc.
Sakawa Churches 8 years ago
What English is this?: "Only Kenya and Egypt have representatives in the Top 10 with the list dominated by South Africans."
Ghanaian "journalists"! This is what you produce copying someone else's report?!
This is why Gh ... read full comment
What English is this?: "Only Kenya and Egypt have representatives in the Top 10 with the list dominated by South Africans."
Ghanaian "journalists"! This is what you produce copying someone else's report?!
This is why Ghana is outside this Top 20.
21st century boy 8 years ago
NOT NO. ONE IN AFRICA SELF NO 21 . ONLY NKRUMAH HELP GHANA. FOR THIS AKYEMS ONLY DOG MEAT THEY CAN CHOP WITH BEER.
Sigma, London 8 years ago
Yeah typical Ghanaian. Instead of being self critical we are wallowing in complacency and arrogance. Ghanaian students boast of competence in pigeon English especially at university campuses. Arrogant lectures and arrogant students. What a shame! Is this our Nkrumah Ghana for its premier university to rank 21 in Africa? I am sure it will be ranking somewhere in the thousandths when it is placed in the world rankings.
Amarteye 8 years ago
where is cape coast university
Sammy 8 years ago
Hmm...what our Ghanaian universities know best are leaking a porn movies and suicides.
Ghana man 8 years ago
Bad rankings... hmmm...
francis 8 years ago
Amarteye, you are right to ask. " where is University of Cape Coast." I even consider the Capevars to be the best in terms of academic standard. Nobody knows the criteria used indeed.
. ..AGBESI KWESI 8 years ago
Cape Coast University is the most useless university in the world. Which university would admit into Masters degree program to some one who never had first degree. Impossible. Only Cape Coast university will do that.
Stephen Donkor, NewYork 8 years ago
Listen we need a sweeping reforms in our secondary and tertiary institutions, I hope the so called self acclaimed " OLD JACKS IN THE HORSE RACE " on the field of education are reading this report. The government should take measures to address what seems to be dwindling our educational standards in an unprecedented fashion.
ARLEX 8 years ago
Probably Nana Akuffo Addo's free SHS will correct the downward trends in the quality of our tertiary education. Bad news indeed, even Ugandan Makerere University is ahead of all Ghanaian University. Uh! Ghanaians, we talk tooo much.!!!
X-ray 8 years ago
Are you an old student of ucc? I had a mate there called Stephen Donkor at Oguaa Hall.
ghanaman 8 years ago
Go tell this to (Ashesi President) Patrick Awuah!
Nana441 8 years ago
This is rubbish. Should we start citing the work of any idiotic institution that comes out with university rankings now? Go and check Times Higher Education (THE) rankings one of the most reputable in terms of world university rankings and see how they ranked University of Ghana, Legon. Legon is ranked joint 6th on the African continent with a few other universities. Follow this link to see for yourself https://www.timeshighereducation.com/student/best-universities/best-universities-africa
K Appiah 8 years ago
Times rankings the most credible.
BERNARD 8 years ago
RID OF YOUR ......
1).STRETCH MARKS,
2).SCARS,
3).ACNE,
4).DARK SPOTS,(0572174551)
5).DRY SKIN,
6).SUNBURNS,
7).RASHES & OTHER SKIN
RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
ALSO GET PROD ... read full comment
RID OF YOUR ......
1).STRETCH MARKS,
2).SCARS,
3).ACNE,
5).DRY SKIN,
6).SUNBURNS,
7).RASHES & OTHER SKIN
ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT BRINGS OUT THE BEST OF YOUR SKIN'S COMPLEXION.0572174551
BERNARD 8 years ago
1).Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
2).Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.
3).Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.
4).Enhances Weight loss.
5).It reduces ageing process ... read full comment
4).Enhances Weight loss.
5).It reduces ageing process helping you to look more younger than your age
(0572174551)The Unique thing about our products is that, It has adaptogenic properties that allows it concentrate at areas where there is high fat concentration in your system and fights it out, so if you have more belly fat or arm, etc it gets rid of it.It helps to control your appetite by Acting as an appetite suppressant, it helps you to inhibit the production and storage of excess fat in your system, it also helps you to Block carbohydrates and fat absorption in your system and aid excess fat burns.0572174551
majesty 8 years ago
Bogus - this is WEB-BASED NON-ACADEMIC RANKING. It is just about the beauty and visibility of your university. Ghsnaweb should check on other ranking methods.
NPONG T Y OLIVER 8 years ago
where is University of Education, Winneaba? I can't believe this
Miracle 8 years ago
There was absolutely no need for that self Government now, if after 60 years nothing seem to be working in Ghana.
Its a shame. This is what happens when corruption become institutionalized and the new normal.
We need the Br ... read full comment
There was absolutely no need for that self Government now, if after 60 years nothing seem to be working in Ghana.
Its a shame. This is what happens when corruption become institutionalized and the new normal.
We need the British back.
BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI. REQUIREDSv 8 years ago
IT IS A TRITE KNOWLEDGE THAT ASSESSMENTS ARE DONE BASED UPON DEFINED CATERIA AS A YARDSTICK CUT ACROSS THE BOARD. THEREFORE, WHAT CRITERIA BASED WAS USED TO ASSESS AND RANK UNIVERSITIES IN AFRICA? THAT GHANA UNIVERSITIES TO SEE THE ASSESSMENT AS A WAKE UP CALL OF ADOPTING OBJECTIVITY OF HARD ACHIEVEMENTS AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS OF THOSE THEY ENGAGED AND THOSE THEY AWARD HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREES AND THOSE THEY ENGAGED FOR ACADEMICS AND EVENTS LECTURES. THAT GOOD NAMES ACCOMPLISHED ARE CARRIED WITH THE UNIVERSITIES THEY ASSOCIATED WITH. THAT GHANA UNIVERSITIES SHOULD ADOPT ACADEMICS AND PROFESSIONALS HONESTY AND INTEGRITY SINCE THEY PAID HIGH DIVIDENDS. RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED. VERY TRULY YOURS, BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, INTERNATIONAL LAWYER/LEGAL
ATP 8 years ago
which institutn is uniRank?.where is it located? ..At least, it should ve told us the criterion or criteria used. how could release such an outcome without telling your procedure(s) employed. it should learn from THE rankings. uniRank pls come again.
K Appiah 8 years ago
We are de best. Ibadan cant be ahead of Legon !
Zienaa 8 years ago
Ghanaian university dons lack vision. They are self centred. Do not have strong linkage with industry. Students graduate and can not contribute meaningful to the economy. They become arm chair graduates. Let us work hard to collaborate more with industry and the sky will be the limit.
Nkrumah 8 years ago
No one in Ghana should be surprised at all. UG has been going downhill for the past twenty years. Lots of negative and unprogressive factors have been at interplay for a long time, especially funding, selection of the right candidates for admission and calibre of teaching personnel and POLITICS. It is about time the government and politicians stop interfering in the administration and governance of this once proud institution and give it the free hand to operate independently, the way a truly international university is run.
obese 8 years ago
Shame if report in Ghana and you don't know the full name of knust.
Wiseman 8 years ago
Oh my alma mata, UG..!! How can you fall from 7th position to 21st. How and Why? Can't you meet these 5 criterion:
1. Teaching (the learning environment)
2. Research (volume, income and reputation)
3. Citations (researc ... read full comment
Oh my alma mata, UG..!! How can you fall from 7th position to 21st. How and Why? Can't you meet these 5 criterion:
3. Citations (research influence)
4. International outlook (staff, students and research)
5. Industry income (knowledge transfer)
Stabiloo 8 years ago
hmmmm.....
hmmmm.....
What about useless University of Cape Coast? 200th position abi. Useless university. You award Masters Degree to people who never passed ssce or o level or a level or HND or first degree. Bloody useless University of Cape Coast.
kalika papaya 8 years ago
Gh universities only best gay and lesbian
Okponglo Guy 8 years ago
UniRank ranks universities based on website popularity.
You just cost the Ghana universities millions with your stupid publication.
Okponglo Guy 8 years ago
GhanaWeb start rejecting fake news
adomakoh froboo 8 years ago
Look, I teach in one of the higher institutions here, though am a Ghanaian. I can safely say that some white secondary schools are better equipped than our varsities. Besides, varsities here are autonomous. Salaries of staff members are determined by their Senates. Payments emoluments and pensions are the prerogative of the institutions themselves. Of course they receive grants from the state
Gaining admission to do Master degree in a serious university, one must first hold first degree at least 2nd class lower.But in Cape Coast university, any idiot could gain admission to do Masters degree program? How could you admit someone who never had even wassce or a level to do Masters degree program? Someone who dropped out of middle school to do masters programme? Administrators of University of cape coast are crazy
tuga 8 years ago
legon ... Ekoraa mo abon!!!!!!
Adugu Foster Emmanuel 8 years ago
Ghana Universities administrators do not think of infrastructure development. All they know is charging of huge fees to enrich themselves
Adugu Foster Emmanuel 8 years ago
Ghana universities administrators do not think of infrastructure development. All they know is charging of huge fees to enrich themselves.
Okponglo Guy 8 years ago
This is misinformation. Readers don't be so gullible! Aba! Ghanafuo!
Kwabena 8 years ago
Napo has a lot to do than just insulting parliamentarians .
DR JOHN ANSU MENSAH, UK 8 years ago
If you have certain Asantefo ruling the country, you'll always have poor educational system. These people are always into business and have neglected investment in the educational sector.
OSONOBA 8 years ago
Credible university rankings use criteria such as Phd holders to student ratio, amount of research work published in journals, Nobel Laureates, diversity of student population, diversity of academic staff, pass rates, employability of graduates, number of international collaborations, research funding received from sponsors, among many others such as infrastructure, teaching equipment, currency of texts, etc
Asante Maxwell 8 years ago
UCC is rank 104
Yaw 8 years ago
Look at all other factors. Not only qualification of lecturers.
Kenny 8 years ago
Rankings to me not true reflection of standards. most best stidents in DA from Zimbabwe but University of Zimbabwe not rated. Most lecturers in SA are whites and the few blacks include Ghanaians. We need to assess criteria for rankongs.
Ernie 8 years ago
There is no university called Cape Coast University...... it is University of Cape Coast.
CITIZEN One 8 years ago
I'm not surprised at all. All the University Lecturers (and Students) are doing Galamsey for quick money.
THE CRITERIA FOR MOST OF THESE RANKINGS HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE. FOR EXAMPLE, THE SIZE OF ACADEMIC STAFF, CAMPUS FACILITIES, INTERNATIONAL STUDENT NUMBERS, ETC ALL GO TO INFLUENCE THE JUDGES' DECISIONS . O ...
Ghanaians are known to be talkers and not thinkers. Ghanaians talk allday but achieve very little but choose to run down anyone else doing better than us, that is the typical character of an average Ghanaian, which is exhibi ...
All over the world, culture changes as population, new technologies, new ideas, etc come, but in Africa and especially in Ghana, ...
This is why Gh ...
Yeah typical Ghanaian. Instead of being self critical we are wallowing in complacency and arrogance. Ghanaian students boast of competence in pigeon English especially at university campuses. Arrogant lectures and arrogant st ...
Bad rankings... hmmm...
Listen we need a sweeping reforms in our secondary and tertiary institutions, I hope the so called self acclaimed " OLD JACKS IN THE HORSE RACE " on the field of education are reading this report. The government should take ...
Probably Nana Akuffo Addo's free SHS will correct the downward trends in the quality of our tertiary education. Bad news indeed, even Ugandan Makerere University is ahead of all Ghanaian University. Uh! Ghanaians, we talk too ...
This is rubbish. Should we start citing the work of any idiotic institution that comes out with university rankings now? Go and check Times Higher Education (THE) rankings one of the most reputable in terms of world universit ...
RID OF YOUR ......
1).STRETCH MARKS,
2).SCARS,
3).ACNE,
5).DRY SKIN,
6).SUNBURNS,
7).RASHES & OTHER SKIN
ALSO GET PROD ...
4).Enhances Weight loss.
5).It reduces ageing process ...
We need the Br ...
IT IS A TRITE KNOWLEDGE THAT ASSESSMENTS ARE DONE BASED UPON DEFINED CATERIA AS A YARDSTICK CUT ACROSS THE BOARD. THEREFORE, WHAT CRITERIA BASED WAS USED TO ASSESS AND RANK UNIVERSITIES IN AFRICA? THAT GHANA UNIVERSITIES TO S ...
which institutn is uniRank?.where is it located? ..At least, it should ve told us the criterion or criteria used. how could release such an outcome without telling your procedure(s) employed. it should learn from THE rankings ...
Ghanaian university dons lack vision. They are self centred. Do not have strong linkage with industry. Students graduate and can not contribute meaningful to the economy. They become arm chair graduates. Let us work hard to c ...
No one in Ghana should be surprised at all. UG has been going downhill for the past twenty years. Lots of negative and unprogressive factors have been at interplay for a long time, especially funding, selection of the right ...
3. Citations (researc ...
hmmmm.....
What about useless University of Cape Coast? 200th position abi. Useless university. You award Masters Degree to people who never passed ssce or o level or a level or HND or first degree. Bloody useless University of Cape Coa ...
Look, I teach in one of the higher institutions here, though am a Ghanaian. I can safely say that some white secondary schools are better equipped than our varsities. Besides, varsities here are autonomous. Salaries of staff ...
Gaining admission to do Master degree in a serious university, one must first hold first degree at least 2nd class lower.But in Cape Coast university, any idiot could gain admission to do Masters degree program? How could you ...
Credible university rankings use criteria such as Phd holders to student ratio, amount of research work published in journals, Nobel Laureates, diversity of student population, diversity of academic staff, pass rates, employa ...
UCC is rank 104
Rankings to me not true reflection of standards. most best stidents in DA from Zimbabwe but University of Zimbabwe not rated. Most lecturers in SA are whites and the few blacks include Ghanaians. We need to assess criteria fo ...
Kindly check the source of this news.