You are here: HomeNews2017 03 29Article 523512

Trending GH: Who is the founder of Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (36)

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

Anyone or group of people cannot claim credit in Ghana's independence,except Dr Kwame Nkrumah.So anyone claiming credit in Ghana's independence except Nkrumah is a BIG FOOL.

• mandela 7 years ago

u people with ur pepe head u see everytn upside down. u awkward prez just said jesus founded christianity so is nkrumah.now nkrumah is God cos NDC n pepefuo were no where when de fight really begun nobody is discrediting nk ...

• KOFI AYIGBE 7 years ago

AS FOR GHANA, IT'S HOTLY CONTESTED BECAUSE OUR ANCESTORS HAD ALREADY FOUNDED OUR VILLAGES, RIVERS, MOUNTAINS, GRASS CUTTER HOLES EVEN BEFORE NKRUMAH WAS BORN. BUT AS FOR VOLTA REGION, WALAAHI TALAAHI, LET'S GIVE IT TO KWAME . ...

• King Lomotey 7 years ago

Extremely unfunny!

• Eric 7 years ago

I really do not see the relevance in this debate or discussion but for the purpose of allowing the facts to remain, i can say based on history that others deserve to be considered as founding fathers of Ghana. The struggle fo ...

• Simpa Panyin Nunoo M 7 years ago

Is Nelson Mandela the founder of South Africa? No. Is Mugabe the founder of Zimbabwe? No. Is Houphouet Boigny the founder of Ivory Coast? No. Is Nyerere the founder of Tanzania? No. So how can Nkrumah be the founder of ...

• NPPigs 7 years ago

Who scored the goal that won Ghana the cup?

• FAFRA 7 years ago

BRAINLESS AKYEMS AND NANA ONLY FEELS THEIR UNCLES FOUND GHANA. EVERY BABY KNOW DR. KWAME NKRUMAH IS THE MAN OF GHANA. EVEN ALL OVER THE WORLD. IF MENTION GHANA; THE ANSWER IS OHHH DR. NKRUMAHHHH.SHAME EVIL NANA BRAINLESS.

• mandela 7 years ago

see fraframan insulting Akyems with intellect u need more reading...oh wait just pick a cedi n u ll know there more of dis brainless heads on it WHERE IS UR FRAFRA ATONGO? EMOA DE BEA

• Haruna yussif 7 years ago

This is a useless debate. No matter how they tried Dr. Nkrumah will remain the founder of Ghana till thy Kingdom come.

Nkrumah never dies.

• Fataw Shani 7 years ago

Will the actual meaning of the word 'founder'support this? Big NO!.

Who was the founder of Ghana when it was called Gold Coast? My logic and and academic conscience can't fathom how.

• Kofi Nyante 7 years ago

Why are you debating this issue at all? Yes, Nkrumah was the first native President of Ghana (historical fact). But the founder of Ghana is/was the British. It was the Brits/English who on signing the so-called Bond of 1844 b ...

• Blackstars fan Togo 7 years ago

God is the founder of all nations.

• TOM SAWYER 7 years ago

1) Who was the first Executive President of Ghana?...... Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.
    2) Is it Dr. Kwame Nkrumah who founded Ghana?... No
    How come some people do not argue with facts?. Dr. Nkrumah is NOT older than the coubtry?...NO. ...

• TOM SAWYER 7 years ago

1) Who was the first Executive President of Ghana?...... Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.
    2) Is it Dr. Kwame Nkrumah who founded Ghana?... No
    How come some people do not argue with facts?. Dr. Nkrumah is older than the coubtry?...NO.
    S ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

IDIOT.COLLECTIVE-AS OTHERS WERE BEFORE NKRUMAH.
    BUT HE IS/WAS THE FLAGBEARER.
    SAY BOMB...DANQUAH.
    SAY CIA PAID AGENT...DANQUAH.
    SAY TRAITOR....DANQUAH.
    HOW COULD WE ASSIGNED FOUNDER TO THIS
    ELEMENT OF MATEMEHU'S WHO TOL ...

• Dr. Jay 7 years ago

GET SMART!G.H.A.N.A MEANS.

GOD. HAS. APPOINTED. NKRUMAH. ALREADY

CASE ALREADY CLOSED MORE THAN 60 YEARS AGO.

• FRANK, MATAHEKO 7 years ago

NKRUMAH NEVER DIES, AND EVEN IF YOU TRY HARD TO KILL HIM, HIS STATUE WILL RESURRECT IN ETHIOPIA LIKE IT HAS AT THE HEADQUARTERS OF THE O.A.U. DR KWAME NKRUMAH, AFRICA'S PERSONALITY OF THE THE MILLENNIUM.

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

NOW I UNDERSTAND WHY JOHN MAHAMA IS STILL AN IDIOT. FOR HIM TO SAY THAT NKRUMAH FOUNDED GHANA JUST AS JESUS CHAMPIONED CHRISTIANITY IS BLASPHEMY IN THE FIRST PLACE. THERE IS CHALLENGE ABOUT JESUS CHRIST AS THE SON OF GOD, BU ...

• op.ny 7 years ago

Is nkrumah God ,let think positively about the country ,he is dead and GONE

• Kwame Joe 7 years ago

Obviously it wasn't J.B. Danquah.

• Dr. Jay 7 years ago

GET SMART!

G.H.A.N.A MEANS.

GOD. HAS. APPOINTED. NKRUMAH. ALREADY

• Tompi 7 years ago

If u people like it or not, he is the father of Ghana and even Africa. Don't forget Dr Kwame Nkrumah is the smartest black man ever live.

• Michael K. Tettevi 7 years ago

The then Gold Coast was founded by the British colonial masters. The name was changed to Ghana by Kwame Nkrumah on 6th. March, 1957. What is the argument for?

• Rayons 7 years ago

We always give credit to Asamoah Gyan or Drogba or Messi o we most of time talk of King Pele, Maradona, George Weah etc... Each of them is a top goal scorer but they play in a team of eleven players.No way we can give the cr ...

• Jt 7 years ago

Somebody who can't summarize things or don't understand something very well would say let's celebrate all the six. Then let's celebrate the soldiers the demonstrators and Gbadema. We can remember them but someone was in charg ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

OTHERS WERE THERE BEFORE THE GREAT NKRUMAH.
    BUT IN ANY CASE THE PAID CIA AGENT,TRAITOR,BOMB-THROWER NEVER SIGNED THE TREATY WITH THE BRITISH.
    NKRUMAH SIGNED AND DECLARED OUR INDEPENDENCE.
    AS SUCH NOTHING MORE:
    NKRUMAH NEV ...

• John Ghanaba 7 years ago

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is our founding father because of the indelible mark he left on our history as a liberated independent progressive people. Who has been able to emulate this remarkable stalwart of a leader ever ...

• kaketonti 7 years ago

IS IT BY FORCE TO REWRITE HISTORY?
    IF NOT FOR PERSONAL EGO....WHAT ELSE?
    DANQUAH FAILED. DANQUAH NEVER A FOUNDER.NO AMOUNT OF REINSTATEMENT WILL HELP SEALED AKUFO ADDO USELESS FAMILY'S DREAMS'.
    NPP-KOOMSON SAID;CAN'T CLOSE ...

• nyame 7 years ago

Professor mike ocquaye should drink poison and die.he is too old and cant think far.he and his shallow minded npp believes the CIA agent jb danquah founded ghana.daddy u are very idiot.nkrumah founded ghana ooooo tom.foolish ...

• Kwesi 7 years ago

These shameless Matemeho, NLC, PP, NPP folks give meaning to the axiom; NKRUMAH NEVER DIES.

The Osagyefo's place in history is assured! His first place in Africa is unlikely to be challenged.

Kwame Nkrumah is an interna ...

• Paul 7 years ago

Where were the others on the eve of independence if they truly supported the independence of Ghana. They made some contribution but the real icon, in fact the human face of our independence is Nkrumah. Thus hatred for non ash ...

• ben 7 years ago

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kwame_Nkrumah

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

It's only in a banana republic like Ghana that we can expend so much good time on a useless debate about a so-called founding father! What is the use of this necessity when anybody with any modicum of sense would know that Gh ...

• Visionary 7 years ago

Akufo Addo should focus on what he promised to bring jobs to this country instead of this foolishness.
    Ignorant Speaker take this ; Michael Jackson was the best musicIan of all time.
    Did Michael plays all by himself ? Or ...

• Uncle Sam 7 years ago

Paa Grant we are told formed & funded the UGGC to fight for our Indelendence. The Big Six were part of the team but they failed their quest. Kwame Nkrumah broke away and formed the CPP and WON us Independence. CPP formed & le ...