You are here: HomeNews2017 03 29Article 523483

Don’t hang Opuni yet; he may have deserved GHS75,000 – Kufuor

Read Comments Comments (82)

• FAFRA 7 years ago

BUT YOUR NANA WANT TO HANG THAT GUY JUST FOR THE SEEK OF POLITIC. EVEN YOUR OLD HACKMAN CORRUPT OLD MAN ALSO MAKING NOISE.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (INVISIBLE FORCE) 7 years ago

AUTHOR: OSONO ------- I'm glad Mahama lost.Ghana would have collapsed if the ndc won.The special prosecutor must start working immediately. Get these stupid thieves in jail now.With the numerous problems confronting cocobod,i ...

• hmmmm, na wo see sen? 7 years ago

Frafra,luk @the substance nt de heading, oh shallow minded Ndc man,I pity 4 U guys who read but nt understand... Bonde

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 7 years ago

I leave everything to God he is the only one that can be judged you all. You are so wicked people. Aaaba!

• Prince Abibirim 7 years ago

Anyone who expected anything else from kuffour is a damn fool. He is in agreement with every govt. tiefman in Ghana.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 7 years ago

Who earn that much in Ghana? Just hang him. How much do doctors and surgeons earn?

• KOFI AYIGBE 7 years ago

HOW MUCH ARE THE COCOA FARMERS GETTING? COCOBOD & GOVERNMENT ARE THEN CHEATING OUR FARMERS, IF KUFUOR SAYS WHAT WHAT WHAT. BECAUSE COCOBOD IS A MONOPOLY. IT SETS IT'S OWN PRICE FOR THE POOR FARMERS & SELLS WITHOUT ADDING ANY ...

• Bb 7 years ago

Go and ask all the CEO of banks how much ther staff earns relative the the CEO'S salary. Hypocrites, ask your emplyers that same question

• king kong 7 years ago

the fact that its being done doesnt make it right

• Mensah Abrampah 7 years ago

Right. Kuffuor is not the man I thought he was. He's shady. I don't trust Kuffuor. He caused the Asante and Akyem divide in the party that caused them two Elections. He favored Alan Kyeremanten over Nana Akuffo Addo because N ...

• Boat 7 years ago

In the real world a company has to make billions before you can justify paying CEO's such offensive amounts. Kuffuor should stop always explaining corruption and greed

• Bb 7 years ago

you dont event understand the corporate world...who told you CEO' s are paid after declaring Profit?

• FAFRA 7 years ago

WHO APPROVE THAT CASH ; IS TOO MUCH THOUGH.

• MANNY 7 years ago

WHAT ABOUT COCOBOD LOSSES THAT GHANAIANS DON'T UNDERSTAND? DID OPUNI AT ANY TIME EXPLAIN TO GHANAIANS HOW HE WILL ADDRESS THOSE LOSSES? LOSSES WENT ON FOR YEARS...

• Nii Kantinka 7 years ago

this should not be a matter of taking a second look, the gov't should as a matter of national security investigate this asap. How and who set up the emolument should be investigated. Cocobod is not a Private Enterprise so how ...

• Miracle 7 years ago

Former President Kufuor please Don't defend this.

• Smart Frempah, Uk 7 years ago

I am disappointed in you Mr. Kuffour. How can you justify these wages? The company went on losing money year after year. What was he doing at the time? Wrong wrong wrong!!

• D DAY 7 years ago

NOT IN HIS GOVERNMENT SO MUST LOOK AT PRIVATE ENTITY OR THE INDUSTRY TO GENERATE THEIR WEALTH - PERIOD

• D DAY 7 years ago

MUST LOOK AT PRIVATE ENTITY OR THE INDUSTRY TO GENERATE THEIR WEALTH not his Govt - PERIOD

• Bb 7 years ago

fool did he justfy it or was asking to investigate whether hes due or not. mediocrity will kill you guys

• Agya Kwabena 7 years ago

The Board chairman of Cocoabod during the time of Opuni was Ibrahim Mahama. He set the salary of Opuni.

• Hackman adanfo 7 years ago

Thanx kuffour but in Ghana some leaders are too greedy and ordinary Ghanaians are suffering, look at what farmers go through in Ghana and so for one man to wage that much is very bad. In some places in Ghana some people strug ...

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

What conceivable reason can Kuffour offer to justify this? He is always trying to find a happy medium in every situation. This led him to confer awards to Mills in the heat of the 08 elections and contributed to Nana's defeat ...

• ACCRAMAN 7 years ago

He, Kufuor is trying to condone the fact that the cocoabod executive is justified for the $75,000 per month salary. Na waoooo!!!

Ghana CocoaBod is a public or national company/asset. Why on earth will an employee of a publ ...

• KUFOUR KRONFUOR 7 years ago

KUFOUR KRONFUOR

• Jos 7 years ago

How come a former president say this.
    Thieves

• Raymond Abbiw 7 years ago

I can't seem to understand this idiot Kufuor.
    What's is justification of paying this guy that huge sums of money ?
    We us a country have over the year allowed these selfish individuals economic rapist destroy our country.

THIS SHOULD NOT SURPRISE ANYBODY COMING FROM MR KUFFOUR.
    AS A PRESIDENT, MR 50 CENT KUFFOUR, DECORATED HIMSELF WITH 50,000 DOLLAR CHAINS TO REWARD HIMSELF FOR "GOOD GOVERNANCE" AND TAKING THE COUNTRY TO HIPC. ALL THIS WHEN H ...

• Bb 7 years ago

kwasea

• Adinkra 7 years ago

*NPPs attempt to cover the Delta force atrocities by disclosing the salary of the CEO of COCOBOD*to score cheap partisan points against the immediate past Govt, has suffered as progressive Ghanaians are asking questions:

D ...

• Nii Amusey, Accra 7 years ago

How can Opuni deserve that amount. That is nonsense !

• NPPigs 7 years ago

How can anyone justify this gargantuan sum as someone's monthly salary in Ghana?

900,000 Ghana Cedis per year or 206,868 US Dollars per year!

Folks why won't the hungry take to galamsey? The privileged ones are raping t ...

• Forgive Attipoe 7 years ago

Eiiii African leaders,God is watching you guys.hmmmmmmm I blame the stupid big six who fought for the independence.Stupid leaders

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

Hehehehe,you got a point,Atipoe.

• Roger 7 years ago

There is no fairness in Ghana at all. People who worked for thirty to forty years as teachers or civil servants do not even take half of that amount as their end of service gratuity. He is allowed to take that in a month as s ...

• Daddy JOE. 7 years ago

President,pls pls,with all due respect,My question to Mr K.A Kuffour,how much did you earn a month when you was President ?,lnfact we hv to be careful the way we as Ghanaians and society operators do their job for the nation, ...

• Bb 7 years ago

he earned wo gbemo s))me Kwasea

• AZAA 7 years ago

Blacks quickly jump to conclusions without using their brains to think. I think K4 has a very good point here. Investigate first to know his contributions to the industry before condemning him. Kudos Prez K4. You have been th ...

• Yoo 7 years ago

Nonesense!!

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

There's nothing to investigate here,fool.The conditions of the cocoa Farmers is enough evidence that he Opuni shouldn't be taking such a salary.

• Yaw Antwi 7 years ago

Thats the father of corruption speaking...

• Kodjo 7 years ago

Ghanaians are funny, we can pay a second rate coach $50,000 per month but are in uproar when we pansy the CEO of the one of largest state/private institutions $16,000 per month!!! Petty mindedness indeed. Thank you Mr. Kuffou ...

Thats why rawlings hate this kuffour, there is no justification for that salary. For the past 5 years cocoa production in the country has been going down so what is the justification.

• Trust 7 years ago

What records of increased revenue for Cocoa board can Dr. Opuni show for a monthly Salary of about $17,000 a month?

• Ama 7 years ago

You not been spared. You dupe Ghana in spending our limited resources on ghana@50. You looted Ghana left right and centre with your team of people. What do you want again. We will hang Opuni because he does not deserve 750000 ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

You have given him the title and combined 100people salaryfor him.Creating a myth economy is as prepared own obituaries.If we are not yet for CEO title,let us stay where it is .Now you are "crying wolf"

• booooooo 7 years ago

Please give us a break. You are the house of ghanas current problems.had it not been your tribal sentiments. Christo Asafo begged you to helped them raised $2million to enable buy engines block machines yet you helped Ibrahi ...

• Odikro Mununkum 7 years ago

So Mr Kufuor under some circumstances think the man deserve this chubby salary and I dare you the man has free car and a driver, accommodation, etc meaning the money was just a pocket money. Meanwhile the government is cryi ...

• dan 7 years ago

jail uppuni immediately

• J A KUFOUR 7 years ago

LEAVE THE MAN ALONE CORRUPTION STARTED FROM ADAM.I SAID IT BEFORE AND I WILL CONTINUE TO SAY IT.

• hmmmm, na wo see sen? 7 years ago

Jimmifo,empty barrel,continue making noise foool.

• KSK 7 years ago

Schools in cocoa growing areas are very bad. Cocobod scholarships are also given to non cocoa farmers wards. No bonus to cocoa farmers. I'm highly disappointed in Kufour for defending this wickedness. If you know how cocoa fa ...

Kuffour, as for this it cannot be justified. It makes no sense.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 7 years ago

Is this man talking sense? This is not a private company but rather a state institution which in no other terms, I think the President,s salary should be higher than that of any public servant if the constitution spells so.

• Yaaaaa 7 years ago

Am surprised people who do not know how Executive compensation is determined are making so much noise about this issue.
    The question is was due process followed in arriving at his salary?
    Was his compensation a function of ...

• Ama. 7 years ago

What is wrong is wrong, no matter how you justify it . And, Ghanaians as well as cocoa farmers have every right to know. Opuni's salary was ridiculous. Opuni was not afraid to take a huge salary and so he should not be embar ...

• SOCRATES 7 years ago

COCOBOD IS HAVING IT EASY BECAUSE THE OVERWHELMING MAJORITY OF COCOA PRODUCERS ARE ILLITERATE ASSHOLES WHO DRINK TO FORGET THEIR WOES INSTEAD OF ENGAGING COCOBOD IN A RATIONAL CONFRONTATION; E.G. WHY ISN'T BOTH NPP & NDC GOVE ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 7 years ago

Socrates, cocoa farmers are not assholes as you think them to be. They are illiterates who are working tirelessly for the development of the country and giving majority of Ghanaians education out of their sweat.

Their woe ...

• Charles 7 years ago

These people never cease to amaze . Typical African greed. Kuffour supported Mahama keeping the vice President's house and now Opuni's outrageous salary. No wonder they have all become mining consultants (galamsey). Please ch ...

• nyame 7 years ago

Well said prez kufour.tell that your clueless short ugly dwarf jonkey lair sakora akuffo addo to learn some sense from ndc

• Ama. 7 years ago

You do no do not deserve to use the name 'Nyame' because you are insulting the very Essence that created Nana Akufo-Addo- it is called blasphemy. Remember, thou shalt not use God's name in vain . Pray for forgiveness.

• Afi 7 years ago

Very surprising that Mr Kufuor is saying this. I'm really shocked! Is he saying apart from this huge salary, Mr Opuni didn't do any shady deals? I'm even thinking that beside the salary, he was having a free accommodation, ...

• CONCERN GHANAIAN 7 years ago

With all the due respect I defer on this issue from Ex-President Kufuor. No way paying one this high salary while the rest of the country is suffering. These outrageous salaries is causing Ghana downfall. These positions do n ...

• Kick Out 7 years ago

Kufuor, is the most corrupt president in Ghana followed by recent Mahama lead administration... This Kufuor man is the cost of Ghanaians suffering today.. Why did he changed the currency immediately he took office? He woul ...

• Yussif 7 years ago

Someone should tell Mr Kufour that it's not force to comment on an issue if he has nothing to say,he should remember that at 93 Mugabe is still president of Zimbabwe and even attended our 60th anniversary celebrations.Is he s ...

• FACT 7 years ago

This amount the slashing doesn't even merit a debate. The moment you see something like that the first and only thing you do is to slash it, wham wham like that, you slash it faster than the speed of light before you even ope ...

• AKWE 7 years ago

BE WISE

• My Opinion 7 years ago

Please President Kuffour stay out of this and enjoy your retirement. My question to you though is, how much did the CEO of Cocobod receive during your tenure in office as president? And based on what criteria did you pay that ...

• REGINA 7 years ago

HOW CAN YOU SUPPORT THAT KUFUOR

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Mr president,I beg to differ here,is opuni a professional manager or a simple doctor who was pushed into that post out of whom you know?Did we get value for the 70k salary? Please let's face facts!This is crook and stupid,onl ...

• Kufour 7 years ago

Ex -president Kufour is the only sensible person in NPP

• Bb 7 years ago

You are right Ex President Kuffour. The foolishness exhibited by some politicians has undermined the progress of this nation. How much was Avran Grant earning as Black Stars Coach? so so stupid brainless

• Bb 7 years ago

when Kwesi Appiah coached the Black Stars he was earning about $ 6,000 but when we brought in a whiteman he was earning $50,000. Arent we our own enemies, Abeyifo))) nkoaa

• sam 7 years ago

Is Kufour serious ??????
    In this poor country a CEO of such an institution gets 70000Ghc and there is a good reason for that?
    We need to know how much all these CEOs in other govt and govt assisted companies are paid

• Apple sauce 7 years ago

If this guy is not a relation of Kuffour he might be a closest friend

• Apple sauce 7 years ago

Kuffour wish Akuffo Addo will fail as a President

• Dan Buduh 7 years ago

Mr Former President, what is needed to ascertain is whether it is true that the man took that salary. If it is found to be true there is nothing else that makes it that he deserves it. He deserves it on what grounds? No way h ...

• king kong 7 years ago

i will want to disagree what at all does a ceo do to merit that amoxnt

• Lopez 7 years ago

My question is does the CEO of cocobod and other government agencies deserve all these huge salaries when their performances are below par especially when he is corrupt as Dr Opun? With all due respect former president Kuffou ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

Folks,Kufour has not spoken on this saga to endorse Opuni lootings.This writer is an NDC who want NDC bootlick tag Kufour as corrupt.

• John kwakye 7 years ago

Give a dog a bad name and hang it. Is Opuni salary the highest in similar positions. Such exaggerations doesn't help. Hackman must not hide there and cancel contracts since the country is tired of useless Judgement Debts. Tru ...

• Ama 7 years ago

You cut consultant doctors salaries down hecausevit was too high, and was less than 5000 at that time so the doctor saw this opportunity and took it!! Politicians bevfair