You are here: HomeNews2017 03 24Article 521739

Bunsu youth threaten to block Accra-Kumasi highway

Read Comments Comments (16)

• Ck 7 years ago

Sad to loose a life. But the road primarily is for the motor vehicle. Pedestrians must therefore adapt and not the other way around. To cross a street, one must be careful and know the rules involved. Look right and left, etc ...

• DON'T CARE 7 years ago

THE PRIMITIVE PEOPLE HERE DON'T KNOW HOW TO CROSS A BUSY READ. THE MTTD COULD EDUCATE THSE STONE-AGE PEOPLE ABOUT 'THE SCIENCE OF ROAD CROSSING SO THAT THE DON'T WASTE OUR TIME. THE PEOPLE MAY RE-LOCATE DEEP INTO THE BUSH IF ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

The Highway Authority, if we have one !! have a duty of care to protect the people in that area.

We do not have laws that work so no-one knows whose duty/responsibility it is to protect life that is why you write like tha ...

• AMUZU 7 years ago

We can change Gov't at will but we need to change our lives to stay safe,have a look at G.W.Bush highway Accra and see how people have taken down nets,that will protect them from being kill by cars.

• Krakadii 7 years ago

Hahaha ,Luck of knowledge my peoples perish .
    That is a major road and is for motorist not for pedestrian

• Nicholas Kyeretwie 7 years ago

It is only in Ghana that bumps or whatever are constructed on major international roads.If people are knocked down by vehicles,it is because they are careless and do not care about their own lives. You need to educate your pe ...

• ASEM 7 years ago

IN GERMANY, THEY DON'T CONSTRUCT HIGHWAYS THROUGH THE CITY CENTERS. THEY SHOULD BE CONSTRUCTED OUTSIDE THE CITY LIMITS SO PEOPLE SHOULD TRAVEL FROM THE CITY TO JOIN THE HIGHWAYS.

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Unfortunately the City planners have ignored all that. WE didn't make allowance for expansion, influx of cars and even the population; and land earmarked for all of that has been sold to private individuals that is why we c ...

• Salifu 7 years ago

The road in question was constructed before the people started building houses .The Ghana situation can not be compared to Germany.In Germany people would not have been allowed to build close to the roads.Building Bumpers on ...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

Until the last 10-15 years, there was only a hamlet or little cottage at the K'dua side of the junction but once the road was modernised and re-directed from the Kibi side, then all these people migrated to the current juncti ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

You've made a sensible suggestion in the latter part of your comment but I don't understand you in the inital part of your comment.
    Is it an offence to identify a niche in the construction of the road by selling their wares ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Not "contruction"
    but the "strategic siting" for commercial purposes of the road

• Max 7 years ago

That so called hamlet or cottage u are refering to, is NEW NSUTAM. This settlements has been there since 1969 when Busia,s government decided to relocate the ppl of NSUTAM to that place due to the flood of the previous yr. T ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

There was a Police barrier on the other side of the road (towards Nkawkaw/Kumasi side) I don't know if it is still there

• Kwabena 7 years ago

The police service and Ministry of Road and Highways must must address this issue immediately.

• K. Anim 7 years ago

All lives are precious and all lives
    deserve to be protected and saved from needless road accidents.
    The Roads and Highways authorities must quickly find a feasible solution of either constructing a pedestrian tunnel or p ...