You are here: HomeNews2017 03 22Article 520987

AMA embarks on massive demolition exercise today

Read Comments Comments (37)

• Nii 7 years ago

Well done. Let us have law and order back and sanitation and illegal squatters back under control. Accra must look and feel like a capital.

• Ataa 7 years ago

Ensure violators pay for the rectification exercise.

• BOAFO 7 years ago

Good to hear that you want to work. That is really encouraging!

• ASEM BEBA DABI 7 years ago

OKO VADERPOYE IS A GREAT MAN WHEN HE STOOD TALL AND DEMOLISHED SODOM AND GO MORA AT ABOBLOSHIE, HE WILL ALWAYS REMAIN MY HERO
    WE HAVE TO CREATE SPACES IN THE CITY LIKE INDEPENDENT SHARE AREA TYPE
    WHERE PEOPLE CAN GO AND SIT ...

• ACCRA NEW TOWN, PLEASE 7 years ago

HANGING ON TO 4HE ONE THAT WAS BUILT IN THE NIDDLE OF THE ROAD
    I MEAN WE NEED A SPACE IN THE CITY
    LIKE THE TYPE OF INDEPENDENCE SQUARE TYPE WITH NICE MONUMENT AND STATUES
    I MEAN SOMETHING REFRESHING
    FOUNTAINS OR TYPES L ...

• SAQ 7 years ago

Make the owners of the structures pay for the demolition cost.
    For hawkers, create spaces called hawkers market and rent out spaces to the hawkers.

• kofi adu. 7 years ago

did you read the name? blafo.(executioner) asantifuor and akyem fuor go back home. blafo will kill you(executioner). or whatever the meaning I don't care.

• jennifer 7 years ago

THANK GOD ,I HOPE THIS TIME,THEY WILL ENFORCE THESE LAWS, AND ORDER AND NOT ONLY IN ACCRA, THESE PROBLEMS IS ALL OVER IN OUR CITIES,

• KAYAYEI 7 years ago

AFTER VOTING FOR NPP THIS IS WHAT WE GET?

• Nima 7 years ago

Pls this exercise is good for us all ok its not politics, this will keep da city clean

• losto 7 years ago

This is not about voting for NPP but common sense must prevail.

• Citizen 7 years ago

Please don't go there at all, you fool. Democracy isn't about blackmail. It's about the rule of law - law and order. We aren't in the jungle.

• Mimi 7 years ago

Stupid talk. Nonsense. So call kayayei

• ghanaman 7 years ago

WHAT GHANAIANS NEEDS MOST IS LAW ENFORCEMENT AND ORDER, AND THE TIME HAS COME TO IMPLEMENT THESE LAW IN OUR BOOK, TIME HAS COME TO DEBATE ISSUES THAT EFFECTS OUR LIVES , GHANA CANNOT CONTUINED WITH THESE IRRESPONSIBLE MIN ...

• Ronnie 7 years ago

Most those who voted against NDC in this area thought NPP will let them stay there permanently so they reconstructed their bunkers. Now is the reality at play.

• ISIAH OPOKU 7 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT IS DOING THAT FOR OUR OWN GOD.THE METEOROLOGICAL HAD WARN! THAT THIS YEARS RAINING SEASON WILL BE DISASTROUS THAT'S WHY THE GOVERNMENT IS DOING THIS TO PREVENT ANOTHER ACCIDENTS.SO GHANAIANS SHOULD SUPPORT THE ...

• Emmanuel 7 years ago

Starting well

• Opoku Alexander 7 years ago

Bravo AMA ...Accra is soo chock people what ever they like ...A M A keep it up

• Abdulai Awudu 7 years ago

no one is going anywhere, it was part of Npp campaign to reconstruct their structures if Npp come to power, do you think they are a fools like some of you to vote Ndc again.

• zavu 7 years ago

AFLAO IN THE VOLTA REGION SHOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR THIS OPERATION.THE TOWN IS JUST TOO UNKEMPT.

• Amankus 7 years ago

Good decision taken by AMA. Make sure the law works especially the captain.

• Auntie Martha 7 years ago

Oh "YES" the Ghanaians now will put their thinking cap on by obeying the LAW. Don't wait for disaster before you take action. Your vote won't stop what's right so I say put your thinking cap on and build your Nation.

• Leo 7 years ago

After the demolitions where will the squatters go? In every major city across the world there still slums.

• Nii 7 years ago

Same place they came from. Accra cannot be held to randsom with this tired old argument. Accra must be a capital city that we are all proud of with cleanliness and discipline.

• GREAT 7 years ago

GOOD JOB

• KWASI IN EUROPE 7 years ago

Did you provide the poor ones with alternative place to work? If no, then of course, they will come back.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

RID OF YOUR ......
    ** STRETCH MARKS,
    ** SCARS,
    ** ACNE,
    ** DARK SPOTS,(0572174551)
    ** DRY SKIN,
    ** SUNBURNS,
    ** RASHES & OTHER SKIN
    RELATED PROBLEMS USING OUR NATURAL PRODUCTS .0572174551
    ALSO GET PRODUCTS THAT BR ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

1.Burns Fats at the Tummy and the Arms.
    2.Blocks Carbohydrates and Fat Absorption.

3.Reduces the conversion of Carbohydrates into Fats.

4.Enhances Weight loss.
    5.It reduces ageing process helpi ...

• Sarpong 7 years ago

l am happy this plan is materialising. Good work done. This should not be related to politics. We need to keep our cities clean. pls do well to extend this to Takoradi.

• koo Daki 7 years ago

Madina Redco worst,abundant vehicles parked all along the big pot holes,the most surprising thing is most police personnel stays around but the do not care

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 7 years ago

No excuses this time, the nation's capital really needs a 'facelift'. Over the years politicians have played dirty politics by soliciting the votes from the people who have been squating on govt lands and property, selling on ...

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

Good move AMAI...continue demolition but try and provide alternative for them

• Kwaku 7 years ago

Most the people of operates on our pavements are NPP supporters. They march to Flagstaff house to be given freedom to sell on pavements just like Abossey Okai spare parts traders have been given freedom not to pay Tax because ...

• Silan 7 years ago

AMA planned action is justified.

• Jaja 7 years ago

Good move AMA..Long overdue!!

• Marcol 7 years ago

when ndc were demolishing such illegal structures the NPP were calling mahama all sort of names. So in Ghana if it wasn't you is never the right decision.

• Nii ayi miletse 7 years ago

AMA must go to mataheko where a single building in the middle of the road has been the cause of traffic congestion. It is facing the El Raphael clinic. Thnks